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“Operation Ship Shape” Targets Lapsed Boat Registrations 
 
The Oregon State Marine Board, in partnership with 
32 county sheriff’s offices and the Oregon State 
Police, will be out in force August 3-4, looking for 
expired boat registrations as part of “Operation Ship 
Shape.”   
 
“We want boaters to look at their boat’s decals, the 
registration numbers, and their registration card and 
make sure they’re up-to-date,” says Randy Henry, 
Boating Safety Program Manager for the Marine 
Board.  “Make sure you’ve renewed your registration, 
and make sure you’ve put the decal on your boat, or you could face a $265 citation.”   
 
The Marine Board is funded by registration, title fees and marine fuel taxes paid by motorized 
boaters.  No lottery, general fund tax dollars or local facility parking fees are used to fund agency 
programs.  These fees go back to boaters in the form of boat ramps, docks, trailered parking spaces, 
restrooms, construction and maintenance, and for boating safety, marine law enforcement services. 
 
“Any boat that is powered by a motor – electric, gas, diesel or steam, and all sailboats 12 feet and longer 
-must be currently registered when on the water, even when docked or moored,” said Henry.  This 
includes inflatable rafts with an electric motor, even a standup paddleboard or float tube with an electric 
motor.  Henry added, “Each boat registration brings in additional funds from motorboat fuel tax and 
federal boating dollars.  Registering a 16 foot boat provides $77 of funding, but results in additional 
matching funds of nearly $190, so that $77 registration fee results in $267 of revenue available to fund 
facilities and marine enforcement.” 
 
Motorboat registrations are $4.50 per foot, rounded up, plus $5 which fund invasive species inspection 
stations.  Registration fees will increase to $5.95 per foot, plus $5 in 2020, so Henry suggests that if your 
boat registration lapsed, register now at the current fee, which is valid for two calendar years.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://marineboard.wordpress.com/
https://twitter.com/marineboard
https://www.facebook.com/boatoregon/


 
Boaters can renew their boat registration online at www.boatoregon.com/store, or can visit their local 
registration agent.  Boaters can print off a temporary permit after successfully completing their 
transaction online or will be issued a temporary permit through an agent for an additional fee.  If you 
need assistance renewing online, please contact the Marine Board at marine.board@oregon.gov or  
503-378-8587. 
 
For a list of registration agents, visit http://www.oregon.gov/osmb/title-registration/Pages/Where-to-
Register.aspx. 
 

### 

The Marine Board is funded by registration, title fees and marine fuel taxes paid by motorized boaters.  No lottery, general 
fund tax dollars or local facility parking fees are used to support the agency or its programs.  Boater-paid fees go back to 
boaters in the form of boating safety services (on-the-water enforcement, training and equipment), education/outreach 
materials and boating access facility grants (boat ramps, docks, parking, construction and maintenance).  The Aquatic 
Invasive Species Prevention Permit program is dedicated funding to pay for border inspection stations, decontamination 
equipment, inspectors, and signage/outreach materials.  The Mandatory Education Program is self-supporting and revenue 
helps pay for education materials and boater education cards.  For more information about the Marine Board and its programs, 
visit www.boatoregon.com.   
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