PROPOSED OUTFITTER & GUIDE FEE RESTRUCTURE – HB 2558

CURRENT CHALLENGES

- The Outfitter and Guide (OG) Program expenditures continue to exceed revenues and is limiting current service levels including decreased funding for OG enforcement.
- Non-resident fee structure does not align with interstate commerce laws. The state currently charges less to residents in pursuit of a common occupation license (OG registration) to the detriment of some non-resident competitors who pay more.
- Current fee structure misalignment with interstate commerce laws has blocked past proposed OG legislation in ORS 704 requested by the guide community.

PROPOSED LEGISLATION

- Restructure fees so that an annual Outfitter Guide registration is the same for an Oregon resident and non-resident. The annual fee proposed is \$350.
- Establish a \$25 annual registration fee for an Outfitter Guide employee credential to offset agency processing costs of guide employees, currently no fee collected.
- Increase Outfitter Guide civil penalties for first and subsequent violations.

Which fees are affected by the proposed OG fee restructuring (HB 2558)?						
	Current Fee Structure				Proposed Fee Structure	
	OG Resident	OG Non- Resident Fee	Charter Boat		OG \$350 Fee	OG \$25 Employee Fee
An Oregon 6-pk Fishing guide	/				/	
A WA or CA 6-pk Fishing guide		/			/	
An OR employee (fishing)	/				~	
A WA or CA employee (fishing)		/			/	
An Oregon non-motorized Fishing guide	/				/	
A Charter vessel (7+ pass)			<			
A Rafting guide	/				/	
A CA Rafting guide providing fishing		/			~	
A Hunting guide	/				~	
All other guides (and employees providing fishing) per State ID	/	/			~	
All guide employees (non-fishing)						~