_() reg O n State Marine Board

435 Commercial St NE, Suite 400
PO Box 14145

Salem, OR 97309-5065

Main: 503-378-8587

Tina Kotek, Governor

Guide Advisory Committee Meeting

Wednesday, August 14, 2024 Fax: 503-378-4597
Virtual Teams Meeting Boat.Oregon.gov
5:00pm (o2N.S)
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1. Introduction
a. New member
Attendance
Approval of minutes of the previous meeting 05/14/2024
Renewal Update

vk wN

Enforcement Update

a. OSP update

b. lllegal guiding signage
6. Old Business

a. OG Fee Restructure —LC0344

7. New Business
ODFW meeting
Southern Resident Orcas — Oregon Endangered Species changes
Outfitter Guides as Booking Agents
Outdoor Recreation Summit Presentation

o 0 T W

8. Round Table
Next Meeting

Adjourn



ATTENTION

UNLICENSED GUIDES

YOU ARE BEING
WATCHED

REPORT UNLICENSED GUIDES
TIP LINE (800) 452-7888

outfitter.guide@boat.oregon.gov

VIOLATORS WILL BE PROSECUTED ORS 704.020



REGISTERED

iz OG Fee Restructure

GUIDE

I— Legislative Concept

Discussion




Problems Trying
To Solve

OG program expenditures continue to exceed
revenues

Fee changes (increase, restructuring) requires
revisions to statute (legislation)

Current non-resident Outfitter & Guide fee
structure (reciprocity) does not align with
interstate commerce laws which has blocked
outfitter guide statute changes in past

State is prohibited from preferentially charging
less to its own residents in the pursuit of a
common occupation, to the detriment of their
non-resident competitors



* ORS 704.020(4)(b).... distinctions in fees or charges based
on the type of outfitter and guide service performed....
apply those same distinctions and require the nonresident

ReCip rOCity & applicants to pay the corresponding fees or charges
Non-resident
* Oregon OG Fees:
FeeS * Resident $150
» California $652

» Washington (Fishing Below Longview Bridge)  $2,575
* Washington (Fishing Above Longview Bridge)  $1,490
(

* Washington (Fishing Non-Navigable) $760
» Washington (All other services) $150
* Arizona (Hunting & Fishing) $300
* Nevada (Hunting & Fishing) $250
* Nevada (Other services) $150

* Other states not listed (any service) $150




Non-resident
Reciprocity
Equals Budget
Majority

2021
* 6.9% (95) guides paid more than $150
» 44% of total OG income ($152,869)

2022
* 6.8% (100) guides paid more than $150
» 44% of total OG income ($162,458)

2023
* 6.8% (104) guides paid more than $150
* 42% of total OG income ($166,195)



Solutions To
Interstate
Commerce Legal
Barrier

Oregon resident and non-resident Outfitter Guide
registration fee adjusted to be the same amount

Add fee for Outfitter Guide employees (currently $0),

Non-resident Hunt Tag Program fee increases and adding per
unit certification fee (currently $0)

Resident registration fee will need to be increased to offset
the revenue gap created by higher fees currently in place for
non-residents

Previous OG legislative concepts stopped due to interstate
commerce laws misalignment



* “Deck Hand” crew member designation/classification (2023)

* Charter boat operated by Outfitter Guide (2023)

Previous OG
legislative
concepts blocked

* Hunting guide surety bond requirement to $10,000 (2023)
* Motorboat definition, regarding motor in use (2023)

* GAC membership, selection not just associations (2023)
* TIP Program participation (2023)

* Proof of worker compensation for employees

* Add “arrested and cited” in background disclosures

* Add out-of-state “convictions and felonies” in background
actions equivalent to Oregon convictions




| support a resident guide fee of $350 but | would like to
keep the reciprocal out of state fee currently being used.

Gl‘"de Ad\"sory * Yes. Thatis a reasonable amount and is fair across-the-
Committee board. Also, would make it much simpler.
Feedback * Yes. It’s finally a fair and balanced rate for both resident
Do you support the proposed OG and non-resident OR/WA fishing guides.
fee restructuring where all . -
resident and non-resident Yes. Itjust makes sense.
;%%ﬁgi[edyggl/%e:g:%ul?e%?é$350 * Yes, the fee structure needs to be consistent with the cost
explain.y. £ of administration.

* Yes

* No, | do not support a few restructure where all guides

pay $350

Yes 82% * Yes, for youth guiding companies like ours, a $350 would

not impact our budget significantly.




Guide Advisory
Committee
Feedback

Would you support a separate fee
for employees who are not
required to be individually
registered. Currently there is no
fee but requires measurable
processing per employee? Y/N
and please explain.

Yes 63%

| support a separate fee to help offset the extra processing
cost caused by the employees.

* No. Deckhands should not have a fee. They are often very
short term or fill in help. *

* No, | feel that deckhands on sportfishing guided vessels
should NOT need to be full USCG certificated. *

* Yes. | think fishing deckhands should be structured the
same also.

* Yes, and they should pay for it.

* Y, it seems like some increase based on tiers of staff size would
make sense.

* A separate fee is not viable for small businesses.

* Yes, this creates a more individualized and equitable fee
structure for small guiding vs. larger guiding companies,
I.e. large guiding companies have larger budgets that can
better absorb these costs.

* incorrect assumption in what question was asking, there was previous leg concept (2023)
that was to define employee and deck hand/crew member to align with industry input



Guide Advisory
Committee
Feedback

Currently all fishing guide
employees must be individually
registered as an OG, paying the
same fee as the employer. Should
that remain the same? Y/N and
please explain.

Yes 18%

Yes
No. Deck hands should not be regulated by a such a fee

No. They also should NOT have to pay to be put under the
current guides’ state license.

No. It's definitely too steep a cost at $350 and is unfair.

| believe a fee less than the employers should be
considered, perhaps can be structured to not over burden
the employer or the staff.

No opinion

No, because this is not fair across all aspects. Hunting,
rafting, birdwatching etc...guides who work under and
employer do not need an outfitter/guide license, that
would be the same for a fishing guide too.

No, if we enact a per employee fee.



Guide Advisory
Committee
Feedback

Should we require any other
guided services to have their
employees individually register as
OG? Y/N and please explain.

Yes 25%

Yes

No. | can’t speak to other types of guides, butin the
Outfitted fishing business deck hands should never have
a fee, license or such. Their employment should be at the
discretion of the guide.

No.

No. Unless fishing guide deckhands stay structured as
they are now.

| don't believe so at this time.

N, if each employee had to individually register it would
be more difficult to attract short term seasonal
employees.

All tour activities should carry a guide license.

No, but again would defer to group consensus.



Guide Advisory
Committee
Feedback 8.5

On s ol ot 140 ow supportve was
average
Ves 85% response




Outfitter & Guide Annual Registration (Resident)

OG FEE RESTRUCTURE PRELIMINARY DETAIL REPORT

Any Oregon resident who provides
Outfitter and Guide senices in Oregon

Increase

2014

100

150

350

200

Total
2023-25
Revenue

Projected
2025-27
Transactions
with New Fee

Impact on
2025-27
Revenue

Total
2025-27
Revenue

417,750

2,785

557,000

974,750

Outfitter & Guide Annual Registration (Non-resident from a state
that charges a fee)

Any non-resident from a state that
charges a fee who provides Outfitter and
Guide senices in Oregon

Decrease

Annually 10/1

Varies

Varies

350

Varies

359,799

220

(300,789)

77,000

Outfitter & Guide Annual Registration (Non-resident from a state
that does not charge a fee)

Any non-resident from a state that does
not charge a fee who provides Outfitter
and Guide senices in Oregon

Increase

2014

100

150

350

200

49,500

330

66,000

115,500

Outfitter & Guide Duplicate Registration Fee

Current registered Outfitter and Guides
that need to replace the original
registration that has been lost, stolen or
mutilated

Increase

2011

15

10

1,760

352

3,520

5,280

Outfitter & Guide Employee Registration Fee

Outfitter and Guides who employ
individuals that directly assist in
physically providing Outfitting and Guiding
senices in Oregon

Establish

N/A

25

25

N/A

440

11,000

11,000

Non-Resident Hunt Tag Certification Application Fee

Outfitter and Guides seeking to
participate in the ODFW allocation of non-
resident Hunt tags

Increase

1997

75

75

150

75

675

675

1,350

Non-Resident Hunt Tag Certification Application Renewal Fee

Outfitter and Guides seeking to
participate in the ODFW allocation of non-
resident Hunt tags

Increase

1997

25

25

50

25

2,200

88

2,200

4,400

Non-Resident Hunt Tag per Unit Certification Fee

Outfitter and Guides seeking to
participate in the ODFW allocation of non-
resident Hunt tags pay fee per unit
certified

Establish

N/A

N/A

2,325

11,625

11,625

Outfitter & Guide Civil Penalties (First Violation)

Penalties for first violations of ORS
704.020, 704.021, 704.030, or 704.065

Increase

2016

200

200

400

200

200

200

400

Outfitter & Guide Civil Penalties (First Violation of ORS 704.070)

Penalty for the first violation of 704.070

Increase

2016

250

250

500

250

250

250

500

Outfitter & Guide Civil Penalties (Prior Violations)

Penalties for violations of ORS 704.020,
704.021, 704.030, or 704.065, when a
person has previously been found guilty of
a violation

Increase

2016

400

400

800

400

400

400

800

Outfitter & Guide Civil Penalties (Prior Violations of ORS 704.070)

Penalty for a violation of 704.070, when a
person has previously been found guilty of
a \iolation

Increase

2016

500

500

1,000

500

500

500

1,000




 LC 0344 has been conditionally approved by Governors
Office and CFO; and currently being drafted by
Legislative Counsel

* Marine Board voted in favor of supporting the legislative
concept during the July quarterly board meeting

* Board has directed agency staff to continue moving
forward with OG Fee Restructure as a Policy Option
Package

* This concept allows agency to restructure fees,
maintain current service levels (CSL) of a mandatory
program, maintain CSL of enforcement contract, and
allow opportunity for future leg concepts




Oregon Fishing Outfitter Guides

The Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB) registers Outfitter Guides - in brief, those who provide outdoor recreational
activities for compensation on water or land they do not own or control. They are registered annually and have totaled
approx. 1300-1500 for the last 10 years. The number of guides who state they provide fishing services has remained
consistent at approx. 81 percent of the total registered guides. These fishing guides range from bank fly fishermen, to

whi'tewa’fer guides assi.s‘%'ing their cIientsj with ﬁshi'ng along their % of Fishing Guides by State
rafting trip, to the traditional coastal guide operating a boat

searching for salmon or steelhead. Over the last 6 years we’ve :25
seen 9.7% growth in the number of fishing guides. CA
co
During that same 6-year period, the number of non-resident mID
guides has remained steady at about 13% of the total guide :mTD
population, with Washington, California and Idaho providing HNJ
consistently the most non-resident Oregon Outfitter Guides. :m\'\/ﬂ
mOR
B TX
Types of Operator Credentials =g
NON-MOTOR - | ———
MPBOC | Of these fishing guides, currently there are slightly
LIMITED | more guides with no operator credential (non-
INLAND |y motorized or non-boating) than those with US Coast

oceAN | Guard Ocean/Near-Coastal endorsements. Those are

0 50 100 150 200 250 300 350 400 450 500 550 followed far behind by Inland and then by Limited
endorsements and state-issued non-navigable only

@ NonRes Fishing OG WAl Fishing OG
MPBOC certifications.

Guides with operator certifications are issued
decals that they must display on their guide
boats, noting their operator credentials

Guide Boat Decals Issued

(Ocean, Inland, Limited, and Non-navigable Vgg )

only) and maximum number of passengers. W

While there has been a 9.7% growth in the D

number of fishing guides in 6 years, there has DOC

been a 17% growth in decals issued. By far, CA

the majority of decals issued are to Oregon A . - - - w .

guides with USCG Near Coastal
endorsements.

[OMPBOC [ElLimited MElInland @ Ocean

Growth of New Fishing Guides

New guides are quick to be blamed for over-
crowding. However, data shows that they’ve

&3 h I remained consistent over the past five years at

2 h : approx. 11% of fishing guides being newly registered

2021 | : that year. Previously, guides had been thought to stay
2020 h s in areas close to their residences. With the advent of
2019 h - social media and easily shared information on fishing

conditions, we see that fishing guides are much more
nomadic and often set up temporary homes in

0 200 400 600 800 1000 1200



Attrition Rate for New
Guides

18

2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
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WA & CA Fishing Guides
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e=@== Outfitter Guides ==@==Fishing Lower Columbia*

* |ssued decals that allow them to be in the LCR

18.68% of new guides do not register for more
than one year.

If you remove the 500+ guides that have been
registered 10+ years, the average tenure of a
fishing guide is 4 years.

Statute - ORS 704

e Definition of Outfitter Guide, Outdoor
Recreational Activity, Outfitting and Guiding
Services, Trip-Sharing

e Annual registration requirement and fee

e First Aid/CPR, Ins and Operator Cert (MMC or
MPBOC), employee requirements

e “Description of” outfitting and guiding services,
geographic areas, experience

e Background Affidavit

e |ssuance of decals & certificate of registration
and requirements to display

e Reciprocity

e Revocation/restriction responsibilities and
Opportunity for Hearing

e Non-Resident Hunt Tag Program authority

e Class lll whitewater training, PFD requirements,
helmets, safety gear requirements

Rules - OAR 250-016

e Definition of Resident, Serious & Repeated,
Ouftfitter and Guide Hunt

e Employee registration/recordkeeping

e Incident Reporting

e Registration documentation & Motorized
Passenger Boat Operator Certification

e Proof of registration requirements &
cancellation/reinstatement

e Non-Resident Hunt Tag program

e Ethics & Professional Standards

o Safety & Equipment Requirements for
whitewater, inland & non-boating guides




Columbia R Buoy 10 case study
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The Columbia R Buoy 10 (B10) fishery is very popular with anglers but is limited by allowed
mortalities on ESA-listed salmon stocks.
Conflicting goals: Federal ESA limits vs target season length (OAR) vs angler satisfaction
(hatchery only Chinook regulation slows fishery but reduces angler satisfaction with fishery)
Guides are very efficient; harvesting a bigger % of B10 Chinook catch over time.
o OR now harvesting about 75% of B10 catch. WA not thrilled with that.
Guides are also mobile so can follow fish up the system.
Segment of public believes something needs to be done to control guides in Columbia
o Ideas have included some sort of limited entry (like Deschutes or high lakes?) or
geographic limitation.
= East/West
= A-B-Clicense (A=B10-Longview, B=Longview-Bonneville, C=above
Bonneville). Would need something for CR tributaries, coast/ocean
o Moratorium onissuing new licenses
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