BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Sheryl Aldstadt, RN ) CIVIL PENALTY
)
License No. 200140617RN ) Reference No. 2024020015

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating, and disciplining certain health care providers, including RNs. Sheryl Aldstadt
Licensee was issued a RN license by the Oregon State Board of Nursing on May 18, 2001.

On or before December 26, 2023, Licensee should have renewed her RN license. Licensee failed
to timely renew, and the license expired on December 26, 2023.

From the date Licensee’s license expired on December 26, 2023, until the date the license was
renewed, Licensee continued to practice nursing at Redwood Terrace Assisted Living in Grants
Pass, Oregon.

On February 2, 2024, Licensee reported that she had been practicing nursing without a current
license. At that time, the Board requested additional information from Licensee and her
employer on which to base the assessment of the civil penalty.

On March 6, 2024, the Board received substantiated information from the employer establishing
that the licensee was practicing nursing a total of 35 days between the dates of December 26,
2023, and February 2, 2024.

By the above actions, Licensee is in violation of ORS 678.021, which provides as follows:

ORS 678.021 License required to practice nursing.

It shall be unlawful for any person to practice nursing or offer to practice nursing in this state or
to use any title or abbreviation, sign, card or device to indicate the person is practicing either
practical or registered nursing unless the person is licensed under ORS 678.010 to 678.410 at the
level for which the indication of practice is made, and the license is valid and in effect.

The foregoing is grounds for imposing a civil penalty pursuant to ORS 678.117 and OAR 851-
001-0009(2)(a) which read as follows:

ORS 678.117 Procedure for imposing civil penalty; amount; rules.

(1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing shall adopt by rule a schedule establishing the amount of
civil penalty that may be imposed for any violation of ORS 678.010 to 678.445 or any rule of the
board. No civil penalty shall exceed $5,000.

(2) In imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, the board shall consider the following factors:
(a) The past history of the person incurring the penalty in observing the provisions of ORS
678.010 to 678.445 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto.

(b) The economic and financial conditions of the person incurring the penalty.
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(3) Any penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon such terms and
conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the public health and safety.

(4) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.

(5) All penalties recovered under this section shall be credited to the special account described in
ORS 678.170.

OAR 851-001-0009 Imposition of Civil Penalties

(2) A civil penalty of up to $100 per day of occurrence is assessed for the following:

(a) Practicing as a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Registered Nurse (RN) , Nurse Practitioner
(NP), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS), Certified
Nursing Assistant (CNA), Certified Medication Aide (CMA) without a current license or
certificate or Board required concurrent national certification; or prescribing, dispensing, or
distributing drugs without current prescription writing authority, due to failure to renew and
continuing to practice.

Based on the evidence, Licensee was practicing nursing without a current license a total of 35
days between the dates of December 26, 2023, and February 2, 2024, equaling a total civil
penalty of $3,500.00 Based on the mitigating factors that Licensee has a record of timely
renewals, no prior disciplinary action and is experiencing financial hardship, the Board has
determined that the civil penalty may be reduced by 75% to $875.00.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Licensee:

That a civil penalty of $875.00 be accepted.

Licensee admits that the above statements are accurate, and that Licensee's actions constitute a
violation of the Nurse Practice Act.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty, Licensee waives the
right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or
appeal thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion
have been used to induce the Licensee to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.

Licensee shall make 24 payments of $36.45. The first payment is to be received by the Board by
the first day of the month following the Boards acceptance of this Stipulation and thereafter, a
payment on the 1st day of every month until the whole sum is paid. Please note that the payment
amount was rounded, which means that the final payment may be less or more than the monthly
payment listed above.

Payments shall be made payable to the Oregon State Board of Nursing at 17938 SW Upper
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Boones Ferry Road, Portland, OR 97224 by check or money order; alternatively, payment may
be made online by logging into the Oregon State Board of Nursing Licensing Portal and clicking
on Pay Civil Penalty Fees.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs this
Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty.

e

Sheryl Aldstadt, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

B [24
Aaron Greene, CI¥A Da/te /

Board President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Cheri Atkinson, RN ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
)
License No. 200740681RN ) Reference No. 2023060121

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses (RN).
Cheri Atkinson (Licensee) was issued an RN license by the Board on March 21, 2007.

On June 12, 2023, Licensee diverted controlled substances from the workplace. Licensee
attempted to cover up the diversion by asking a coworker to falsify documentation attesting that
the medications were going to be destroyed, when they were not.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and OAR
851-045-0070(1)(b), (4)(c)E)(e), and (8)(a)(k) and (1) which provides as follows:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested
case:

(1)Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of any
person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be placed
on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to such
condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be reprimanded or
censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Define

(Effective 08-01-2019 to 06-30-2024)

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(1) Conduct related to general fitness to practice nursing:

(b) Demonstrated incidents of dishonesty, misrepresentation, or fraud.

(4) Conduct related to communication:

(c) Entering inaccurate, incomplete, falsified or altered documentation into a health record or
agency records. This includes but is not limited to:

(E) Falsifying data;

(e) Directing another individual to falsify, alter or destroy an agency record, a client’s health
record, or any document to conceal a record of care;

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

(a) Aiding, abetting, or assisting an individual to violate or circumvent any law, rule or
regulation intended to guide the conduct of nurses or other health care providers;

(k) Possessing, obtaining, attempting to obtain, furnishing, or administering prescription or
controlled medications to any person, including self, except as directed by a person authorized by
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law to prescribe medications.
(1) Unauthorized removal or attempted removal of medications, supplies, property, or money
from anyone in the workplace.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter and voluntarily surrender their RN
License.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Board and is agreed to by Cheri Atkinson:
That the voluntary surrender of the RN License of Cheri Atkinson be accepted. If, after a
minimum of three (3) years, they wish to reinstate their License, they may submit an
application for reinstatement to the Board.

Licensee agrees that they will not practice as an RN from the date the Order is signed.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board for its approval and is
subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, they waive the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have been
used to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30

days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs this
Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

Cheri Atkinson Date
ORDER
1T IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

/] lo//ow

Aaron Green, CMA 2 Date/
Board President
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) FINAL ORDER OF REVOCATION
Alexa Benson, RN ) BY DEFAULT
)
License No. 202102011RN ) Reference No. 2024060176

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses (RNs)
pursuant to ORS 678.010 through ORS 678.448. Alexa Benson (Licensee) was issued a RN
License by the Board on March 3, 2021.

This matter was considered by the Board at its meetings on August 14, 2024, and November 20,
2024.

On October 5, 2024, a Notice of Proposed Revocation of Registered Nurse License was sent to
Licensee via certified and first-class mail to the address of record.

The Notice granted Licensee an opportunity for hearing if requested within twenty (20) days of
the mailing of the Notice. No such request for hearing has been received by the Board. The
Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of default.

NOW THEREFORE, after consideration of its records and files related to this matter, the Board

enters the following Order:

-1-
FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the evidence in the Board’s file in this case, the Board finds the following:

1. Licensee was issued a RN License in the state of Oregon on March 3, 2021.

2. On or about January 3, 2023, the California Board of Nursing disciplined Licensee’s
Registered Nurse license for failure to accurately document nursing interventions and nursing
practice implementation and for developing, modifying or implementing policies that
jeopardized client safety.

3. On September 20, 2023, the Board accepted Licensee’s Stipulated Order for Probation
requiring that Licensee complete six (6) months of nursing practice within twelve (12)

months, by September 20, 2024,

4. As of September 20, 2024, Licensee failed to complete six (6)
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months of nursing practice within twelve (12) months.

5. On October 5, 2024, Board staff mailed a Notice of Proposed Revocation to Licensee via
first-class and certified mail. The Notice granted Licensee twenty (20) days from the date of
the mailing of the Notice to request a hearing. The Notice also designated that the agency file
would be the record for purposes of default. The Board has not received a hearing request in
this matter.

- II-
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Board has jurisdiction over the Licensee, Alexa Benson, and over the subject matter of
this proceeding.

2. By failing to complete the required amount of nursing practice within the timeframe set in
the September 20, 2023 Stipulated Order of Probation, Licensee violated the terms and
conditions of that Order. By violating the terms and conditions of a Board order, Licensee
engaged in conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing pursuant to OAR 851-045-
0070(10)(e) and is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and (g).

3. Licensee defaulted on the Notice by not requesting a hearing within the allotted twenty (20)
days and, as a result, pursuant to ORS 183.417(3), the Board may enter a Final Order by
Default.

-III-
ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the Board being fully
advised in the premises, it is hereby:

ORDERED that the RN License of Alexa Benson is REVOKED.
DATED this Q O day of November, 2024

FOR THE BOARD OF NURSING OF THE STATE OF OREGON

Board President
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TO: Alexa Benson:

You are entitled to judicial review of this Order pursuant to ORS 183.482. Judicial review may
be obtained by filing a petition for review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within sixty (60)
days from the date of service of this Order.

If, after a minimum of three (3) years, you wish to reinstate your license, you may submit an
application for reinstatement to the Board.
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Christine Broxton, RN ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
)
Licensee No. 201705996 RN ) Reference No. 837083

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including RNs. Christine Broxton
(Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Board on July 31, 2017.

On or about June 1, 2021, the Board received information that Licensee was being disciplined by
another State Nursing Board. The Board opened an investigation into this complaint. The
investigation found the Licensee had diverted controlled substances for personal use.

On May 10, 2022, Licensee entered into a Stipulated and Final Agency Order with the Colorado
State Board of Nursing and agreed to participate in Peer Assistance Services for a minimum of
three (3) years. This program is approved by the Colorado State Board of Nursing.

On January 18, 2023, the Board accepted the Stipulated Order for Probation requiring that
Licensee, amongst several other requirements, complete twenty-four (24) months of monitored
practice.

On September 30, 2024, Licensee requested to surrender her Registered Nurse license as she no
longer wished to practice nursing and therefore would be unable to complete the required
twenty-four (24) months of monitored practice.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand or
censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case, and
except as provided in ORS 678.138:

(1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing may refuse to issue a license to practice nursing by
examination or indorsement or a nurse internship license or may revoke or suspend a license,
issue a limited license, censure or reprimand or place on probation, subject to any conditions
imposed by the board, a person issued a license, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

(g) Violation of any provision of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or rules adopted under ORS 678.010
to 678.448.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct derogatory to the practice of nursing is conduct that adversely affects the health, safety,
and welfare of the public; that fails to conform to OAR 851-045 scope and standards of practice;

Page 1 of 3 - Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender; 837083



or that fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession. Such conduct includes,
but is not limited to:

(10) Conduct related to the licensee’s relationship with the Board:

(e) Failing to comply with the terms and conditions of a Board order or stipulated agreement.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter and voluntarily surrender their RN
License.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to
by Christine Broxton:

That the voluntary surrender of the Registered Nurse License of Christine Broxton be
accepted. If, after a minimum of three (3) years, they wish to reinstate their License, they
may submit an application for reinstatement to the Board.

Licensee agrees that they will not practice as a Registered Nurse from the date the Order is
signed.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Christine Broxton waives the right to
an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have been
used to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions

(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs this
Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

10/21/24

Christine Broxton, RN Date
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ORDER

IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

[ /30 /2Y

Aaron Green, CNA Date / 4

Board President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR VOLUNTARY
Kaylie Clear, CNA ) SURRENDER OF NURSING ASSISTANT
) CERTIFICATE
)
Certificate No. 10031660 ) Reference No. 2024090246

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including CNAs. Kaylie Clear
(Certificate Holder) was issued a CNA certificate by the Board on August 21, 2024.

On or about September 25, 2024, Certificate Holder was observed displaying signs of
impairment while on duty as a CNA on September 25, 2024. The Board received confirmation
that Certificate Holder was unable to safely perform the duties of a CNA due to alcohol.

By the above actions, Certificate Holder is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.442 (2)(f)
and OAR 851-063-0090 (7)(b) which read as follows:

ORS 678.442 Certification of nursing assistants; rules.

(2) In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183, the board may revoke or suspend a certificate
issued under this section or may reprimand a nursing assistant for the following reasons:

() Conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant in the performance of duties.

OAR 851-063-0090 Conduct Unbecoming a Nursing Assistant

ORS 670.280 authorizes the Board to discipline nursing assistant certificates for conduct that is
not undertaken directly in the course of CNA duties, but that is substantially related to the fitness
and ability of the applicant or CNA to engage in activities of the CNA profession for which a
CNA certificate is required. Such conduct is considered to be conduct unbecoming a CNA, and
includes, but is not limited to:

(7) Conduct related to safe performance of authorized duties:

(b) Performing authorized duties when physical or mental ability to perform is impaired by use
of a prescription or non-prescription medication, alcohol, or a mind-altering substance[.]

Certificate Holder wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Certificate Holder states
that she no longer wishes to work as a CNA and requests to voluntarily surrender her CNA
certificate.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to
by Kaylie Clear:

That the voluntary surrender of the CNA certificate of Kaylie Clear be accepted. If, after a

minimum of three (3) years, she wishes to reinstate her certificate, she may submit an
application for reinstatement to the Board.
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Certificate Holder agrees that she will not practice as a CNA from the date the Order is signed.

Certificate Holder understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Certificate Holder understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, she waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Certificate Holder acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion
have been used to induce the signing of this Order.

Certificate Holder understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Certificate Holder understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse
actions (resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB)

within 30 days from the date the action was taken.

Certificate Holder has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely
signs this Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

I o

Kaylie Clear Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

/// ;lo// Y

Aaron Green, C Date
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Kate DeBellis, RN ) PROBATION
%
License No. 201909221RN )} Reference No. 2023080045

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating, and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Kate
DeBellis (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Board on October 14, 2019.

On June 22, 2023, Licensee twice mishandled medical waste by removing materials from a
sharps container.

On June 29, 2023, Licensee removed medications, some of which were controlled substances,
from the medication cart and placed the loose medication into their pants pocket. During an
interview with Board staff, Licensee admitted they sometimes also kept their personal
medication in the same pocket. Licensee acknowledged that potentially their personal
medications could be mixed in with the patient medications.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111 (1)(f)(g) and
OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a), (3)(2) and (8)(!) and which reads as follows:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested
case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of any
person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be placed
on probation for a period specified by the Orcgon State Board of Nursing and subject to such
condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be reprimanded or
censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

(g) Violation of any provision of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or rules adopted thereunder.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

[E(f 08-01-2019 to 06-30-2024]

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established.

(3) Conduct related to the client’s safety and integrity:

(a) Developing, modifying, or implementing policies that jeopardize client safety.

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

(1) Unauthorized removal or attempted removal of medications, supplies, property, or money
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from anyone in the workplace.

Licensce neither admits nor denies that the above allegations occurred. Licensce wishes to
cooperate with the Board in resolving the present disciplinary matter. The following will be
proposed to the Board and is agreed to by Licensee:

That the Registered Nurse license of Kate DeBellis be placed on Probation.

Licensee's compliance with this agreement will be monitored by the Board from date of
signature on the Stipulated Order. Licensee must complete a twenty-four (24) month period of
probation to begin upon Licensee’s return to supervised nursing practice at the level of a
Registered Nurse. Licensee must practice a minimum of sixteen (16) hours per week on average,
and no more than one (1.0) FTE in a setting where Licensee is able to exercise the full extent of
scope of duties in order to demonstrate whether Licensee is competent. Limited overtime may be
approved on occasion.

Licensee must comply with the following terms and conditions of probation:
1) Licensce shall not violate the Nurse Practice Act (ORS 678) or the rules adopted thereunder.

2) Licensee shall have thirty-six (36) months from Board’s acceptance of this Order to complete
twenty-four (24) months of monitored practice.

3) Licensee shall notify Board staff, in writing, prior to any change of contact information which
includes address, email address, and phone number.

4) Licensee shall maintain an active license.

5) Licensee shall inform Board staff in advance of any move from Oregon. If Licensee leaves the
state and is unable to practice in the state of Oregon, Licensee’s probationary status will be re-
evaluated. If monitoring is approved and transferred to another Board of Nursing, Licensee shall
successfully complete all requirements of the Board Order of the other jurisdiction. Licensee
shall be required to ensure the Board receives quarterly reports documenting the Licensee’s
compliance. Failure to comply with this reporting requirement shall be considered a violation of
this Order. While Licensee practices in another state, those hours will only be counted toward
licensee's Oregon probation if the position meets the monitoring requirements per line ten (10) of
this stipulated order.

6) Licensee shall maintain monthly contact by phone, electronic or virtual methods to designated
Board staff for interviews during the probationary period. Frequency or type of contact may be
reviewed and revised periodically at the discretion of Board staff. This includes being required to
attend an in-person meeting,

7) Licensee shall notify Board staff of any citations, arrests, or convictions for any offense,
whether felony, misdemeanor, violation, or citation within ten (10) days of the occurrence.

8) Licensee will not look for, accept, or begin a new nursing position without prior approval of
Board staff. This includes changes of the employer itself or changes within the facility or
institution.
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9) Licensee shall inform current and prospective employers of the probationary status of
Licensee’s license, the reasons for Licensee’s probation, and terms and conditions of probation.
If there is a Nurse Executive, that person is to be informed of Licensee's probationary status. The

Nurse Executive will receive a copy of the Stipulated Order for Probation when Licensee is
employed.

10) Licensee shall work under the direct observation of another licensed healthcare professional,
who is aware that the individual is on probation, who is working in the same physical location
(e.g. clinic, unit, building, etc.), is readily available to observe Licensee’s practice and provide
assistance, and who has taken the required Board approved Monitor/Supervisor training.
Licensee shall be employed in a setting where Licensee’s nursing supervisor agrees to submit
written evaluations of work performance (on forms provided by the Board) every three (3)
months during the probationary period. The quarterly evaluation is expected to be received by
Board staff within ten (10) days of the due date. If the evaluation is not timely received, Board
staff will contact the employer with a reminder. If Board staff is not in receipt of the report
within five (5) business days from the reminder date, Licensee may be restricted from practicing
as a nurse.

11) Between quarterly reporting periods, the Nurse Executive or a person designated by
Licensee’s employer, shall inform Board staff of any instance of Licensee’s non-compliance
with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order or of any other concern there may be
regarding Licensee’s work-related conduct or personal behavior that may affect Licensee’s
ability to perform the duties of a nurse.

12) Licensee shall notify Board stafl when there is a change in status of cmployment, including
resignations, disciplinary actions, and terminations. Licensee shall immediately notify Board
staff if they will be unable to meet the minimum monitored practice requirement of 16 hours per
week or 64 hours per month due to leave from work. The inability to meet the monitored practice
requirement due to leave may extend the probationary period.

13) Licensee: shall not have access to narcotics or controlled substances, carry the keys to
narcotics storage, or administer narcotics at any time or under any circumstances or until
Licensee receives written approval from Board staff.

14) Licensee shall not work in any practice setting when on-site monitoring is not available. This
generally includes home health agencies, traveling agencies, float pools, temporary agencies,
assisted living facilities, adult foster care, independent consulting contracts, home hospice, and
night shifts outside of acute care settings.

15) Licensee shall not be a nursing faculty member or an advance practice preceptor.

16) Licensee shall not be approved for enrollment in clinical practicum hours for the purposes of
obtaining an additional degree or license.

17) Licensee shall participate in and comply with any treatment recommendations set forth by 2
third-party evaluator approved by the Board. Licensee shall ensure that Board staff receive
monthly status reports from the treatment provider. Within fourteen (14) days of completing
treatment, Licensee shall submit to Board staff a copy of Licensee’s completion certificate or
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discharge summary. Licensee shall attend Narcotics Anonymous (NA), Alcoholics Anonymous
(AA) or similar recovery program on a weekly basis and provide proof of attendance to Board
staff. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to allow Board staff to

communicate with Licensee’s treatment provider and relcase Licensee’s treatment records to the
Board.

18) Licensee shall participate in the Board’s random drug testing program. Failure to comply
with random urine, blood, hair, nail, or any other requested drug test shall result in Licensee’s
immediate removal from nursing practice. Licensee shall submit to observed tests to determine
the presence of unauthorized substances immediately upon request by Board staff or Licensee’s
employer. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to ensure the Board will
receive the results of such testing, The presence of unauthorized substances may be considered a
violation of the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order. Upon request of Board staff,
Licensee shall obtain a substance use disorder evaluation by a Board approved third party
evaluator. Licensee understands that Licensee is financially responsible for any and all costs
related to testing and evaluating. Licensee’s failure to maintain an account in good standing with
the Board’s laboratory vendor shall be considered a violation of this Stipulated Order.

19) Licensce shall abstain from using alcohol and/or other intoxicating, mind altering, or
potentially addictive drugs, including over-the-counter or prescription drugs while participating
in the Board’s random urine drug testing program, except as provided in Section 20 below.
Licensee shall avoid any over-the-counter products and food items containing alcohol, THC
including CBD products, and poppy seeds.

20) Licensee may take medication for a documented medical condition, provided that Licensee
obtains such medication only by a legal prescription written by a person authorized by law to
write such a prescription. Licensee will notify Board staff within 72 hours in the event Licensee
is prescribed such medication and shall sign a release of information authorizing the prescribing
person to communicate with Board staff about Licensee’s medical condition, Licensee shall
produce the medical records pertaining to the medical condition and medication use. Licensee
will discard any unused prescription medications when it is no longer needed or expired.

21) Licensee shall cease practicing as a nurse upon the occurrence of a relapse, or at the request
of Board staff because of a relapse or relapse behavior. Practice may resume only when approved
in writing by Board staff, in consultation with Licensee’s employer.

22) Licensee shall notify any and all healthcare providers of the nature of Licensee’s diagnoses
to ensure that Licensee's health history is complete before receiving any treatment, including
medical and dental. Licensee shall provide Board staff with the names and contact information
of any and all health care providers. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to
allow Board staff to communicate with Licensee’s healthcare providers and release Licensee’s
medical and treatment records to the Board. Licensee is financially responsible for any costs
incurred for compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

23) Licensee shall notify Board staff at least three (3) business days prior to leaving town or
going on vacation, with the exception of a family emergency.

24) Licensee shall cooperate fully with Board staff in the supervision and investigation of
Licensee’s compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.
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Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this
Stipulated Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued,
constitutes a serious danger to public health and safety.

Licensee understands that in the event they engage in future conduct resulting in violations the
terms of this Stipulated Order and/or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further

disciplinary action against their license, up to and including revocation of their license to practice
as a Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, they waive the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183,540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have been
used to induce Licensee to sign this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order is a documcnt of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions

(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

IT IS SO AG E-D/':7

Kate DeBellis, RN Date |

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

/1) 30/ 1Y
atd /

Aaron Green, C D
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Phyllis Dodds, RN ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
)
License No. 090005204RN ) Reference No. 21-00856

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Phyllis
Dodds was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Board on August 20, 1991. On July 1,
2024, Phyllis Dodds inactivated her Registered Nurse License.

On or about January 3, 2022, the Board received information from that Licensee failed to
assess and initiate treatment to a resident JM resulting in death. An investigation was opened
into the matter.

Licensee was employed as a Registered Nurse at Pacifica Senior Living an assisted living
facility, from December of 2020 through September 21, 2023. On January 3, 2022, Licensee
was made aware that JM was complaining of abdominal discomfort and requested to be taken
to the hospital. Licensee did not send JM to the hospital and did not assess JM.

On August 22, 2024, Licensee was convicted of criminal Mistreatment in the first degree, A
Class C Felony, for unlawfully withholding physical care and or medical attention from JM, a
victim, for whom Licensee assumed care and or owed legal duty to provide care.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(a) (3)

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand or
censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(a) Conviction by the licensee of a crime where the crime bears demonstrable relationship to
the practice of nursing. A copy of the record of the conviction, certified to be the clerk of the
court entering the conviction, shall be conclusive evidence of the conviction.

(3) A license in inactive status may be denied, suspended or revoked for any of the reasons
stated in subsection (1) of this section.

Licensee agrees that the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing.
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That the voluntary surrender of the inactive Registered Nurse license of Phyllis Dodds be
accepted. If, after a minimum of three (3) years, they wish to reinstate their License they
may submit an application for reinstatement to the Board.

Licensee agrees that they will not practice as a Registered Nurse from the date the Order is
signed.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

 JEUVEVE

Phyllis Dodds, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

[ /0] 2

Aaron Green, C Date /
Board Presidefit

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of )} STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Wendy Johnson, RN )} CIVIL PENALTY
)
License No. 200441557RN ) Reference No. 2024060172

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Wendy
Johnson (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Board on July 27, 2004,

On or before October 22, 2023, Licensee should have renewed their RN license. Licensee failed
to timely renew, and the license expired on October 22, 2023.

From the date Licensee’s license expired on October 22, 2023, until the date the license was
renewed, Licensee unknowingly continued to practice nursing with an expired license.

The Board received substantiated information from the employer establishing that Licensee
practiced a total of 154 days between October 22, 2023, and June 12, 2024.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and ORS
678.117(1), (2)(a)(b), (3), (4), (5) and OAR 851-001-0009(1), (2)(a)(e) and OAR 851-045-
0070 (9)(b) which read as follows:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by endorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

ORS 678.117 Procedure for imposing civil penalty; amount; rules.

(1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing shall adopt by rule a schedule establishing the amount of
civil penalty that may be imposed for any violation of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or any rule of the
board. No civil penalty shall exceed $5,000.

(2) In imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, the board shall consider the following factors:
(a) The past history of the person incurring the penalty in observing the provisions of ORS
678.010 to 678.448 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto.

(b) The economic and financial conditions of the person incurring the penalty.

(3) Any penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon such terms and
conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the public health and safety.
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(4) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.
(5) All penalties recovered under this section shall be credited to the special account described in
ORS 678.170.

OAR 851-001-0009 Imposition of Civil Penalties

(1) Imposition of a civil penalty does not preclude disciplinary sanction against the nurse's
license. Disciplinary sanction against the nurse's license does not preclude imposing a civil
penalty. Criminal conviction does not preclude imposition of a civil penalty for the same offense.
(2) Civil penalties may be imposed according to the following schedule:

(a) Practicing nursing as an LPN, RN, NP, CRNA or CNS without a current license or certificate
or Board required concurrent national certification; or prescribing, dispensing, or distributing
drugs without current prescription writing authority, due to failure to renew and continuing to
practice $50 per day, up to $5,000.

(e) Unlicensed practice pursuant including using an expired limited license to ORS 678.021.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(9) Conduct related to licensure or certification violations:

(b) Practicing nursing without a current Oregon license or certificate.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Board and is agreed to by Licensee:

That the Board impose a civil penalty against the RN license of Wendy Johnson in the
amount of $3,850.00: $25.00 per day, per 154 incidents.

Licensee admits that the above statements are accurate, and that Licensee’s actions constitute a
violation of the Nurse Practice Act.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board for its approval and is
subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty, Licensee waives the
right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or
appeal thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress, or coercion
have been used to induce the Licensee to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.

This Civil Penalty shall become due and payable on the first day of the month following the date
this Stipulated Order is signed by the Board President.
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Payment shall be made payable to the Oregon State Board of Nursing at 17938 SW Upper
Boones Ferry Road, Portland, OR 97224 by check or money order; alternatively, payment may
be made online by logging into your Oregon State Board of Nursing Licensing Portal and
clicking on Pay Civil Penalty Fees.

Licensee understands that if payment is 90 days overdue from the date due as stated in this
Stipulation, collection of the Civil Penalty will be assigned to the Oregon Department of
Revenue. In the event any amount is assigned for collection, the Licensee may be subject to
further disciplinary action by the Board which could include suspension, revocation, or denial of
licensure.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs this
Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty.

Wendy Johnson, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

11/29/29

Aaron Green, C Date
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Heidi Lavoie, RN ) PROBATION
)
)
License No. 201604839RN ) Reference No. 2024040163

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating, and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Heidi
Lavoie (Licensee) was issued a/an RN license by the Oregon State Board of Nursing on July 7,
2016.

On or about 4/22/2024, the Board received information that Licensee had failed to complete
patient assessments, failed to complete thorough documentation and exhibited discrepancies
between her physical time with patients and what information was contained in her
documentation.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and OAR
851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b)(4)(a).

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of any
person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be placed
on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to such
condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be reprimanded or
censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established.

(3) Conduct related to the client’s safety and integrity:

(b) Failing to take action to preserve or promote the client’s safety based on nursing assessment
and judgment.

(4) Conduct related to communication:

(a) Failure to document the practice of nursing in a timely, accurate, thorough and clear manner
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Licensee admits that the above allegations occurred and constitute violations of the Nurse
Practice Act. Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in resolving the present disciplinary
matter. The following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by
Licensee:

That the Registered Nurse license of Heidi Lavoie be placed on Probation. The Licensee’s
compliance with this agreement will be monitored by the Oregon State Board of Nursing from
date of signature on the Stipulated Order. Licensee must complete a twelve (12) month period of
probation to begin upon Licensee’s return to supervised nursing practice at the level of a
Registered Nurse. Licensee must practice a minimum of sixteen (16) hours per week on average,
and no more than one (1.0) FTE in a setting where Licensee is able to exercise the full extent of
scope of duties in order to demonstrate whether or not Licensee is competent. Limited overtime
may be approved on occasion.

Licensee must comply with the following terms and conditions of probation:
1) Licensee shall not violate the Nurse Practice Act (ORS 678) or the rules adopted thereunder.

2) Licensee shall have twenty-four (24) months from Board’s acceptance of this Order to
complete twelve (12) months of monitored practice.

3) Licensee shall notify Board staff, in writing, prior to any change of contact information which
includes address, email address, and phone number.

4) Licensee shall maintain an active license.

5) Licensee shall inform Board staff in advance of any move from Oregon. If Licensee leaves the
state and is unable to practice in the state of Oregon, Licensee’s probationary status will be re-
evaluated. If monitoring is approved and transferred to another Board of Nursing, Licensee shall
successfully complete all requirements of the Board Order of the other jurisdiction. Licensee
shall be required to ensure the Oregon State Board of Nursing receives quarterly reports
documenting the Licensee’s compliance. Failure to comply with this reporting requirement shall
be considered a violation of this Order. While licensee practices in another state, those hours will
only be counted toward licensee's Oregon probation if the position meets the monitoring
requirements per line ten (10) of this stipulated order.

6) Licensee shall maintain monthly contact by phone, electronic or virtual methods to designated
Board staff for interviews during the probationary period. Frequency or type of contact may be
reviewed and revised periodically at the discretion of Board staff. This includes being required to
attend an in-person meeting. "

7) Licensee shall notify Board staff of any citations, arrests, or convictions for any offense,
whether felony, misdemeanor, violation, or citation within ten (10) days of the occurrence.

8) Licensee will not look for, accept, or begin a new nursing position without prior approval of
Board staff. This includes changes of the employer itself or changes within the facility or
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institution.

9) Licensee shall inform current and prospective employers of the probationary status of
Licensee’s license, the reasons for Licensee’s probation, and terms and conditions of probation.
If there is a Nurse Executive, that person is to be informed of Licensee's probationary status. The
Nurse Executive will receive a copy of the Stipulated Order for Probation when Licensee is
employed.

10) Licensee shall work under the direct observation of another licensed healthcare professional,
who 1s aware that the individual is on probation, who is working in the same physical location
(e.g. clinic, unit, building, etc.), is readily available to observe Licensee’s practice and provide
assistance, and who has taken the required Board approved Monitor/Supervisor training.
Licensee shall be employed in a setting where Licensee’s nursing supervisor agrees to submit
written evaluations of work performance (on forms provided by the Board) every three (3)
months during the probationary period. The quarterly evaluation is expected to be received by
Board staff within ten (10) days of the due date. If the evaluation is not timely received, Board
staff will contact the employer with a reminder. If Board staff is not in receipt of the report
within five (5) business days from the reminder date, Licensee may be restricted from practicing
as a nurse.

11) Between quarterly reporting periods, the Nurse Executive or a person designated by
Licensee’s employer, shall inform Board staff of any instance of Licensee’s non-compliance
with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order or of any other concern there may be
regarding Licensee’s work-related conduct or personal behavior that may affect Licensee’s
ability to perform the duties of a nurse.

12) Licensee shall notify Board staff when there is a change in status of employment, including
resignations, disciplinary actions, and terminations. Licensee shall immediately notify Board
staff if they will be unable to meet the minimum monitored practice requirement of 16 hours per
week or 64 hours per month due to leave from work. The inability to meet the monitored practice
requirement due to leave may extend the probationary period.

13) Licensee will complete the following continuing education courses within 6 months of
the date a Final Order is issued:

e Nursing CE — Nursing Documentation
e Nursing CE - Critical Thinking
ANA - Everyday Ethics: Guiding Nursing Practice

Should Licensee fail to complete these courses within the required time of 6 months,
Licensee shall be referred back to the Board for consideration of further disciplinary

action. Board staff may substitute a course comparable in cost and content if the assigned
course becomes unavailable.

14) Licensee shall not work in any practice setting when on-site monitoring is not available. This
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generally includes home health agencies, traveling agencies, float pools, temporary agencies,
assisted living facilities, adult foster care, independent consulting contracts, home hospice, and
night shifts outside of acute care settings.

15) Licensee shall not be a nursing faculty member or an advance practice preceptor.

16) Licensee shall not be approved for enrollment in clinical practicum hours for the purposes of
obtaining an additional degree or license.

17) Licensee shall notify Board staff at least three (3) business days prior to leaving town or
going on vacation, with the exception of a family emergency.

18) Licensee shall cooperate fully with Board staff in the supervision and investigation of
Licensee’s compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this
Stipulated Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued,
constitutes a serious danger to public health and safety.

Licensee understands that in the event Licensee engages in future conduct resulting in violations
the terms of this Stipulated Order and/or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further
disciplinary action against Licensee’s license, up to and including revocation of Licensee’s
license to practice as a Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have been
used to induce Licensee to sign this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order is a document of public record.
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Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions

(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

IT IS SO AGREED:

Heidi Lavoie, RN CNA Date
ORDER

IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

// /;U}/ 1

Date

Aaron Green, CN
Board President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) FINAL ORDER OF DENIAL OF
Eke Onuoha ) REGISTERED NURSE LICENSE BY
) DEFAULT
)
Registered Nurse License Applicant ) Reference No. 2023110050

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses and
Registered Nurse license applicants, pursuant to ORS 678.010 to 678.448. Eke Onuoha
(Applicant), applied for a Registered Nurse license in the state of Oregon in August 2023.

This matter was considered by the Board at its meeting on November 20, 2024.

On July 23, 2024, a Notice of Proposed Denial of Registered Nurse License was sent to
Applicant via certified and first-class mail to Applicant’s address of record.

The Notice granted Applicant an opportunity for hearing if requested within sixty (60) days of
the mailing of the Notice. No such request for hearing has been received by the Board. The
Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of default.

NOW THEREFORE, after consideration of its records and files related to this matter, the Board
enters the following Order:

I
FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the evidence submitted through the Notice and the agency file in this case, the Board
finds the following:

1. In August 2023, Applicant submitted an endorsement application for Registered Nurse
license.

2. The Board opened an investigation into concerns about the legitimacy and adequacy of
Applicant’s nursing education and school transcript. One of those concerns was whether
Applicant completed a final clinical practicum as per Oregon’s requirements.

3. On May 15, 2024, Board staff sent an email to Applicant’s address of record requesting they
schedule an interview and submit a written statement with information about their clinical

practicum.

4. On May 17, 2024, Board staff mailed a letter to Applicant’s address of record requesting they
schedule an interview and submit a written statement with information about their clinical
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practicum.

5. On May 31, 2024, Board staff mailed a second letter to Applicant’s address of record
requesting they schedule an interview and submit a written statement with information about
their clinical practicum. No response was forthcoming.

6. On June 10, 2024, Board staff called Applicant’s telephone number of record; however, an
automated message stated that the voicemail box had not been set up. No response was
forthcoming.

7. Applicant failed to complete a final clinical practicum as per Oregon’s requirements.

8. OnJuly 17, 2024, the Board voted to issue a Notice of Proposed Denial of Registered Nurse
License.

9. OnJuly 23, 2024, Board staff mailed a Notice of Proposed Denial of Registered Nurse
License to Applicant via first-class and certified mail. The Notice granted Applicant sixty
(60) days from the date of the mailing of the Notice to request a hearing. The Notice also
designated that the relevant portions of Board’s files would be the record for purposes of
default.

I
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the Board has jurisdiction over Applicant, Eke Onuoha, and over the subject matter of
this proceeding.

2. By failing to schedule an interview with the Board, Applicant engaged in conduct derogatory
to the standards of nursing under OAR 851-045-0070(10)(a) and is subject to denial pursuant
to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and (g).

3. By failing to submit the requested written statement, Applicant engaged in conduct
derogatory to the standards of nursing under OAR 851-045-0070(10)(a) and (c) and is
subject to denial pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and (g).

4. Due to the lack of the final clinical practicum, Applicant’s education does not include a
clinical component that meets the definitions in OAR 851-006-0030(5) and 851-006-
0140(15). Accordingly, Applicant’s education does not meet the requirements of ORS
678.040(2)(b) and the application may be denied pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(g).

5. That Applicant defaulted on the Notice by not requesting a hearing within the allotted sixty
(60) days and, as a result, pursuant to ORS 183.417(3), the Board may enter a Final Order by
Default.

III
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ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the Board being fully

advised in the premises, it is hereby ORDERED that the Application for Registered Nurse
license is denied.

INESYESS!

Date

FOR THE OREGON STATE BOARD OF NURSING

TO Eke Onuoha:

You are entitled to judicial review of this Order pursuant to ORS 183.482. Judicial review may
be obtained by filing a petition for review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within sixty (60)
days from the date of service of this Order.
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Cynthia Rabideau, RN ) REPRIMAND OF LICENSE
)
License No. 082012846RN ) Reference No. 2024050262

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including RNs.

Cynthia Rabideau (Licensee) was issued an RN License by the Board on March 16, 1983.

On or about May 23, 2024, the Board received information the Licensee was providing nail care
to residents in a long-term care facility without provider orders. Licensee stated she was unaware
she was practicing outside her nursing scope and therefore maintained no records of care
provided.

Licensee provided nail care for residents after her License had expired on July 16, 2023.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS. 678.158 and OAR 851-
045-0065(1)(a)(A)(B)(e)(A)(B)(E)(g)(5)(a)(b)(c)(9)(b)

ORS 678.158

Continuing authority of board upon lapse, suspension, revocation or voluntary surrender
of license or certificate

The lapse, suspension or revocation of a license or certificate by the operation of law or by order
of the Oregon State Board of Nursing or by the decision of a court of law, or the voluntary
surrender of a license by a licensee or of a certificate by a certificate holder, shall not deprive the
board of jurisdiction to proceed with any investigation of or any action or disciplinary
proceeding against the licensee or certificate holder or to revise or render null and void an order
of disciplinary action against the licensee or certificate holder. [2001 ¢.275 §6]

851-045-0065

Standards of Practice for the LPN and the RN

(1) Standards related to the licensee’s responsibility for self-regulation in the practice of nursing.
The licensee must:

(a) Practice:

(A) Within the laws and rules governing the practice of nursing applicable to one’s license type;
(B) In adherence with accepted and prevailing professional nursing practice standards;

(e) Maintain documented evidence of current competence relevant to:

(A) One’s nursing practice role; and,

(B) Activities and interventions performed in one’s practice role.

() Integrate ethics in all aspects of the practice of nursing;

(g) Promote and advocate for a practice setting that is conducive to health and safety;
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(5) Standards related to the licensee’s responsibility for documentation of the practice of nursing.
The licensee must document their practice of nursing:

(a) In a timely, accurate, thorough, and clear manner;

(b) Consistent with the context of care; and

(c) Using one’s name of record.

(9) Conduct related to licensure violations:
(b) Practicing nursing without a current Oregon license;

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by the Licensee:

That the Registered Nurse License of Cynthia Rabideau be reprimanded.

Licensee understands the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this Order are
considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a serious danger to
public health and safety.

Licensee understands in the event she engages in future conduct resulting in violations of law or
the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further disciplinary action against her license, up to
and including revocation of said license to practice as a Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval and is
subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands by signing this Stipulated Order, licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges no promises, representations, duress or coercion have been used
to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30

days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs this
Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

10/29/24

ynthia Rabideau, Date

ORDER
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IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

i/ aO// -1

Dat¢/

Board President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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