

Submit a public comment on a rule

Oregon Parks and Recreation Department

Commenter name (if provided): Date comment received:

Diane Lind November 24, 2024 11:34 AM

Commenter email (if provided):

dlind4390@yahoo.com

Location (if provided): Box Elder, SD

Public comment:

We used to stay in OR State Parks offen when traveling through the state. I think the 14 days per month to match our NPS is fair. It gives others a chance to enjoy your parks .

We've mostly stopped using them because of the penalty charge for out-of-state travelers. That is sad because they are some of the most beautiful in the US.



Submit a public comment on a rule

Oregon Parks and Recreation Department

Commenter name (if provided):

Date comment received:

Lonnie Morse

November 27, 2024 12:05 PM

Commenter email (if provided):

lonniemorse@gmail.com

Location (if provided): Portland, OR

Public comment:

Regarding class II e-assist throttle - "many" require it.

I have grave concern regarding the "mis-understanding" of the use of throttles on e-bikes. Throttles are very much necessary for the senior citizen demographic. Bike riding seniors require the throttle to get safely started through the two wheel bike "start wobble zone" - especially to get restarted at a up-hill stop sign or if stalled midway on any up-hill grade and or in soft surface i.e. sand. Example: - many assist systems require significant pedal pressure to activate/start the e-power motor. Some systems require the pedal crank arm to be turned 1/4- 1/2 turn before the e-power becomes engaged. This is where the throttle saves the day for senior or adaptive riders as well as parent riders of cargo bikes with children on board. Why? The class II throttle allows for instant soft graduated power activation to ride safely through the wobble zone of balance. Yes - the throttle can be used to provide un-peddled power when needed - fortunately for me - I had a throttle to get me 10 miles home due to severe cramping caused by Cardio Medication Drugs.

We have already been through this speed violation topic on open highways and urban streets. There is no reason to go through this again. Most E-bikes are already speed restricted via firmware. Restriction of throttle "will not stop" the crazy speeders who bypass the firmware and throttle abuse speed of 20 mph. Just like the open highway - there will be speeders regardless of regulations. Only a "Common Sense" park officer can regulate this. Making the throttle unlawful will do nothing but make senior/adaptive/cargo parental demographic "un-willfully" into law breakers. In most cases the average weak rider cannot ride a bike safely without occasional throttle assist. Unfortunately the question of throttle in class two is the very class that many seniors/adaptive riders need most - why - they need the "grunt power" of class II to carry their "weak strength/heavy body weight" safely. I am a "personal fit" assist installer for upright bikes/recumbent bike/trike riders. I provide those who need e-assist advice for both factory and DIY systems.

Note: - We have had an annual Recumbent "bike/trike" Retreat for 26 years now at Ft. Stevens State Park. This event is so traditional that park rangers have shared date/time with many park quest of our event as a family event. Why? We have a lighted parade of bikes/trikes that ride throughout the park. Lots of kids ride along with us as well as adults cheering, clapping hands as we ride by. Our "Recumbent Retreat" event attracted over 100 attendees this last Sept. from all over the nation. 70% of us are now aged into e-assist trikes. Of this group 50% are throttled for reasons I have mentioned. "IF" - the throttle is outlawed in Ft. Stevens State Park - it is very possible we will stop having our event that many local businesses gratefully support and appreciate. This is the largest and oldest event of its type in the USA.

Note: - There are two wooden arched bridges with in the Ft. Stevens State Park. "To get re- started" going up hill with "no throttle" - a weak/heavy rider has to be humanly pushed to get the "no throttle" class I system re-started for the rider. I have personally experienced this as a sweeper for group rides. Under this scenario a "no throttle" becomes a penalty to safety.

There has already been a facebook mention on our NWPRC club page from a California Recumbent Trike rider. She was firmly scolded for her trike having a throttle from a "lack of common sense" Park Ranger. How does a grandma riding an e-assisted trike become a safety concern with a rarely used throttle? The trail system is really "too root rough" to do any

speeding in this park nowadays. The story goes she really had to plead with a park ranger to NOT give her a ticket. This California woman will unlikely be returning to Ft. Stevens "for which - this" is the very demographic user the trail system attracts." Think - this is hardly a Community Commerce positive - don't you think?. Note: - This incident was not part of our Retreat. Her comment came to us after we posted the State Parks throttle notice on our fb group page.

Hopefully these comments are "missing data points" for average citizen's in need of Class II throttles.

Sincerely Lonnie Morse VP - Northwest Pacific Recumbent Club