Oregon
Public
Defense
Commission

PROCEDURE NAME: Schedule of Guideline Amounts Number: 404.060.002
(Credentials included)

RESPONSIBLE SECTION: Pre-Authorized Expenses Division Effectivw 1/2024

e ot

This document covers rates paid by the Oregon Public Defense Commission to vendors for
services provided in public defense cases and supersedes any previous memorandum or version
of the document.

INTRODUCTION

ATTORNEY FEES
(Temporary Hourly Increase for Unrepresented list)

Misdemeanor, contempt, and probation violation, any Class C $164/hr.
felony and felony drug possession soft cap $10k

Class A and B felony, juvenile dependency, termination of parental | $164/hr.
rights, juvenile delinquency, habeas corpus, post-conviction relief, | soft cap $50k
civil commitment, and Psychiatric Security Review Board cases
(PSRB), material witness, extradition/fugitive, appeals, waiver co-
counsel; discretionary co-counsel

Ballot Measure 11 and felony sex offenses (Class A, B & C) $175/hr.
soft cap $50k
Murder and Jessica’s law (including mandatory co-counsel and $200/hr.
cases subject to ORS 137.719 soft cap $75k
INVESTIGATION

(Temporary Hourly Increase for Unrepresented list)

All case types. No rate exception for bilingual $75/hr.
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ATTORNEY FEES
Effective date: 10/1/2023
(Applies to all appointments not subject to the Unrepresented list)

Tier 1 — Murder, JLAW, Measure 11, AFEL, $145/hr.
BFEL, Appeals, Habeas Corpus, Mandamus,
Post Conviction Relief and all Juvenile cases
Tier 2 — All other case types $130/hr.

ALL OTHER SERVICE PROVIDERS

Service Guideline Amount Hourly Required
Guideline Credentials

Accident Reconstruction $150/hr. - $325/hr. 20 hrs.

Accountant $200/hr. - $270/hr. Accountant or
forensic accounting
degree

Alternative Sentencing $40/hr. 7-12 hrs.

Evaluation (OPE)

$450/flat rate Flat rate
must be
approved
and is not
guaranteed.

Arson Expert $160/hr. - $515/hr. 20 hrs.

American Society for $435/flat rate QMHA/QMHP/CAD

Addiction Medicine C certification

(ASAM)/Drug and Alcohol

evaluation

Associate/Research Counsel | $145 or $130 20 hrs. J.D.

(Tier 1 or Tier 2)

Audio, Video, or Photo $165/hr. - $300/hr. 20 hrs.

Analyst Digital Forensic

Analyst
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Service

Guideline Amount

Hourly
Guideline

Required
Credentials

Ballistics/Firearms Expert

$165/hr. - $300/hr.

20 hrs.

AA or higher degree
in related field or
direct ballistics and
or firearm
investigation field
experience

Biomechanical Engineer

$165/hr. - $420/hr.
$5,400/flat rate

20 hrs.

Flat rate
must be
approved
and is not
guaranteed.

B.S., MSME, PhD,
MD (pay scaled to
degree)

Case Manager

$45/hr.

20 hrs.

-A Bachelor’s or
higher-level degree in
Social Work/Human
Services or a closely
related field; or

-A Bachelor’s degree
in a field not closely
related to Social
Work/Human
Services and one year
of Human Services
related experience; or
-A combination of
equivalent experience
(see Policy)

Chemist Expert

$40/hr.

20 hrs.

BA minimum

Criminalist Expert

$100/hr. - $220/hr.

20 hrs.

AA to BA education,
or DPSST
certification for law
enforcement
experience

DNA Expert

$190/hr. - $435/hr.

20 hrs.

Licensed professional

Doctor - General

$110/hr. - $270/hr.

20 hrs.

Licensed professional

Doctor - Specialist

$165/hr. - $380/hr.

20 hrs.

Licensed professional
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Service Guideline Amount Hourly Required
Guideline Credentials

Dual Diagnoses/Mitigation | $130/hr. 10 hrs. QMHA/QMHP and

reports for mental health CADC minimum

and drug addiction $1,300/flat rate Flat rate
must be
approved
and is not
guaranteed.

Eyewitness/Memory $165/hr. - $325/hr. 10 hrs. PhD or equivalent

Perception doctorate level
degree

File Conversion $27/per file varies

File Organization $45/hr. 10 hrs.

Fingerprint Analyst Expert | $245/hr. 20 hrs. BA or BS in relevant
field (forensic
science, biology,
criminal justice)

Forensic Expert $165/hr. - $300/hr. 25 hrs. BS in related field

Computer/Cellphone (computer science,

Analyst Expert $2,175 (per unit for computer forensics,

information extraction) cybersecurity)

Gang Expert $110/hr. - $270/hr. 20 hrs. PhD or engagement
experience

Guardian Ad Litem $130/hr. (attorney) 10 hrs. Attorney

$50/hr. (non attorney) non-attorney
providers

Geneticist $45/hr. - $320/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed Professional
(MD or PhD)

$1,090 - $3,265/flat Flat rate
rate must be
approved
and is not
guaranteed.
Handwriting Analyst Expert | $135/hr. - $165/hr. 10 hrs. Direct certification or

BA/BS in forensic
related field
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Service Guideline Amount Hourly Required
Guideline Credentials

Hematologist $380/hr. 10 hrs. Licensed professional

Interpreter/Translator and | $57/hr. — certified OPDC follows the

Assistive Communication $42/hr. — registered State Court

Devices (spoken languages) | $34/hr. — non-certified Administrator’s rates
and qualifications.

Interpreter - American Sign | $74/hr. - certified N/A ORS 45.291 and

Language — (OJD Certified) ORS 45.275

Investigator $55/hr. -monolingual Varies DPSST certification

$60/hr. -bilingual

Jury Consultant $50/hr. 10 hrs.

Law Student / Clerk $15/hr. - $30/hr. Varies

Legal Expert/Consultant $155/hr. JD

Attorney

Linguist Expert $110/hr. - $165/hr. 15 hrs.

Litigation Support Expert $70/hr. - $150/hr. 50 hrs.

Mitigation Specialist $70/hr. 25 hrs. Mitigators shall, at
the minimum, be
licensed by DPSST.

Neurologist (MD) $165/hr. - $435/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional

Neuropsychologist $165/hr. - $435/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional

(PhD/ PsyD)

$2,180 - $2,720/flat Flat rate
rate must be
approved
and is not
guaranteed.
Nurse $55/hr. - $135/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
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Service Guideline Amount Hourly Required
Guideline Credentials
Nurse Practitioner $110/hr. - $165/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
Occupational Therapist $220/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
Other Medically licensed $270/hr. - $410/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
Expert (MD, DO)
Paraprofessional Services $30/hr. - $55/hr. Varies
(Legal assistant, paralegal
and secretarial services)
Pharmacist $165/hr. - $325/hr. 20 hrs. PharmD
Physical Therapist $165/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
Plethysmography $315/hr. 20 hrs. OHA certification
Polygrapher $435/flat rate - DPSST certification
$545/flat rate
Process Server $35/per location N/A Service may be
effectuated by the
Sheriff pursuant to
ORS 21.300, an
investigator, or a
process server.
Psychiatrist (MD) $160/hr. - $380/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
Psychologist (PhD) 0-7 yrs. = $190/hr. 20-25 hrs. | Licensed professional
(Certified forensic) 8-15 yrs. = $200/hr.
16+ yrs. = $220/hr.
Rate is based on years of
experience Bilingual receives
$25/hr. more
Psychologist (PhD) 0-7 yrs. = $165/hr. 20-25 Licensed professional

(Non-certified forensic)

Rate is based on years of
experience

8-15yrs. = $175/hr.
16+ yrs. = $190/hr.

Bilingual receives
$25/hr. more
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Service Guideline Amount Hourly Required
Guideline Credentials
Radiologist $270/hr. - $380/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
Redaction/Document $40/hr. - $130/hr. 15 hrs.
processing
Sleep Pathologist $165/hr. - $520/hr. 20 hrs. Licensed professional
$2,015 - $6,050/flat Flat rate
rate must be
approved
and is not
guaranteed.
Social Worker $80/hr. - $110/hr. 10 hrs. MSW licensed
(forensic)
Speech Therapist Expert $95/hr. - $245/hr. 10 hrs. Licensed professional
Toxicologist $165/hr. - $545/hr. 20 hrs.
Traffic Engineer Expert $110/hr. - $190/hr. 10 hrs.
$4,320/flat rate Flat rate
must be
approved
and is not
guaranteed.
Transcriptionist $4.25 per page N/A Must have completed
(rate set by statute) a training program
through a court
reporting school,
approved by National
Court Reporting
Association (NCRA)
Transcriptionist/Translation | $34/hr. - $74/hr. 20 hrs. A forensic

transcription
translation will only
be provided if the
service is reasonable
and necessary.
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Use of Force Expert

$95/hr. - $325/hr.

30 hrs.

DPSST certification
for law enforcement;
JD for higher rate

Veterinarian

$165/hr. - $270/hr.

10 hrs.

Licensed professional

ROUTINE CASE EXPENSES FOR COUNSEL & INVESTIGATORS (PAE not required)

Blank CD/DVD, case, and label

$1.00 each

For media, case, and label

Discovery Actual cost Receipt required.

Mileage Mileage will be paid | Excludes counsel’s trips between
at the GSA rate at office and courthouse unless
the time of travel authorized.

OECI Searches $0.25 per minute of | When provider has subscription
usage for OECI

Parking Actual Cost Trip must qualify for mileage

payment. Receipt required if
over $25.00.

Photocopies, in-house, B&W
Photocopies, in-house, Color

Scanning, In-house

Mazx. $0.10 per page
Max. $0.50 per page
Max. $0.05 per page

Also applies to in-coming faxes.

Photocopies & Scanning by Vendor

Actual cost

Receipt required.

Photocopies, State Court/Other
Government entities

Actual cost

Certified copy costs also paid if
necessary. Receipt required.

Photograph production, in-house
and vendor

In-house: $0.40 for
3x5 or 4x6
$1.20 for full page

Actual cost if vendor

In-house must be produced on
photo quality paper, otherwise
1n-house color copy rate.

Receipt required if produced by
vendor.

Postage

First-class mail

No receipt required.
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Process Service

$35/per location

Service may be effectuated by
the Sheriff pursuant to ORS
21.300, an investigator, or a
process server.

Records

case types except
murder)

$500/per record
(any level of
murder)

$300/per record (all | See Routine Expense policy

ROUTINE CASE EXPENSES FOR COUNSEL & INVESTIGATORS (PAE not required)

Special Delivery UPS, Fed Ex, USPS | Receipt & explanation required.
Express mail,
messenger service
Telephone Actual Cost International charges, including
those for faxes, and charges for
collect calls from client at an
institution. Receipt required.
TRAVEL EXPENSES
Airfare Must be arranged through state contract. Contact Varies
information will be on the PAE Approval.
Meal Allowance: Breakfast: $14.00 (departure before 6 am) Travel times
Day Trips must be
Lunch:  $17.00 (departure before 6 am/ reported.
return after 2 pm)
Dinner:  $28.00 (return after 8 pm )
(Justification must be provided & distance
must be more than 100 miles one way)
Meal Allowance: First day: Dinner only: $28.00 No departure
Overnight or return
(no time Second & subsequent full days: $59.00 times
provided) provided

Last day: Breakfast & Lunch: $31.00
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Meal Allowance:

Departure time: | Return time:

Compact vehicle (unless otherwise }ire-au_thorized)
plus fuel with submission of original receipts.
Insurance costs will not be reimbursed.

Overnight Travel times
(time provided) Breakfast: $14.00 | Before 6:00 am | After 9:00 am must be
reported.
Lunch: $17.00 Before 11:00 am | After 2:00 pm
Dinner: $28.00 Before 5:00 pm | After 8:00 pm
Mileage See PAE & Routine Expense policies. GSA rates
apply
Parking Receipt required if over $25.00. Must have Actual cost
qualifying mileage.
Rental Car Varies
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