Application for Authorization to Volunteer Practice in Oregon
Without Remuneration

Revised 10/2024

Physicians and physician associates/assistants licensed in another state may be authorized to provide volunteer medical
care in Oregon for up to 30 days each calendar year without compensation. This temporary authorization terminates
effective the end date noted below.

Applicant Information

Last Name First Name Middle Initial DOB NPI Number
(mm/dd/yy)

Name of Medical School/Training Prog Professional Degree Degree Year

Current Mailing Address City, State, Zip Code Current Home Phone

Current Out of State Practice Address City, State, Zip Code Current Work Phone

Primary Contact Primary Contact Phone Primary Contact E-Mail

O I am applying to voluntarily practice in Oregon without compensation under OAR 847-010-0200:

1. Name and address of hospital, clinic, medical practice, public health organization, or other equivalent entity
in Oregon where volunteer services will be provided:

2. Start Date: End Date:

3. The Oregon hospital, clinic, medical practice, public health organization, or other equivalent entity in
Oregon, must submit a request regarding the need for your medical services to the address or fax provided
below or to https://omb.oregon.gov/LicensingFiles. This request must include the exact start and end date
for your services.

4. Attach government-issued photo ID (driver’s license or passport)
5. Complete the information on state of current, primary medical licensure.

State: License #:

| certify that | meet the qualifications to practice in Oregon; that | have completed all areas of this form; and that the
information is complete and accurate. | agree to practice without compensation during the authorized dates only. | will
practice within the scope of practice as authorized by my out-of-state license and will provide services pursuant ORS
chapter 677 and Board rules, whichever is more restrictive, including other applicable federal and state laws.

Signature Date
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Application for Authorization to Volunteer Practice in Oregon
Without Remuneration
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Physician and Physician Associate Volunteer Practice

Oregon Administrative Rules

847-010-0200
Physician and Physician Associate Volunteer Practice

(1) For the purpose of this rule “health care practitioner”
means a physician, physician assistant, or physician associate
authorized to practice in another state or United States
territory.

(2) For the purposes of ORS 677.190 and ORS 677.205
“registration” includes volunteer authorizations.

(3) Under the provisions of this rule, a health care
practitioner may practice in Oregon in connection with a
coordinating organization or other entity without
compensation for up to 30 days each calendar year if
approved to do so by the Oregon Medical Board.

(4) A health care practitioner must submit the following to
the Oregon Medical Board, at least 10 days prior to
commencing volunteer practice in this state:

(a) Proof that the health care practitioner is in good standing
and is not the subject of an active disciplinary action in any
jurisdiction in which the health care practitioner is authorized
to practice;

(b) An acknowledgement that the health care practitioner
may provide services only within the scope of practice of the
health care profession that the health care practitioner is
authorized to practice and will provide services pursuant to
ORS chapter 677 and Board rules, whichever is more
restrictive;

(c) An attestation that the health care practitioner will not
receive compensation for practice in Oregon;

(d) The name and contact information of the coordinating
organization or other entity through which the health care
practitioner will practice; and

(e) The dates on which the health care practitioner will
practice in Oregon.

(5) The Oregon Medical Board will provide approval and
confirmation of authority to practice as a volunteer within 10
days of receiving the information described in section (4) of
this rule.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 677.265 & OL 2022, chapter
62 (HB 4096)

Statutes/Other Implemented: OL 2022, chapter 62 (HB 4096)

Oregon Medical Board | 1500 SW 15t Ave, Suite 620 | Portland, Oregon 97201
971.673.2700 or 877.254.6263 | www.Oregon.Gov/OMB

Page 2 of 2


http://www.oregon.gov/OMB

	Last Name: 
	First Name: 
	Middle Initial: 
	DOB: 
	NPI Number: 
	Name of Medical SchoolTraining Prog: 
	Professional Degree: 
	Degree Year: 
	Current Mailing Address: 
	City State Zip Code: 
	Current Home Phone: 
	Current Out of State Practice Address: 
	City State Zip Code-0: 
	Current Work Phone: 
	Primary Contact: 
	Primary Contact Phone: 
	Primary Contact EMail: 
	I am applying to voluntarily practice in Oregon wi: Off
	Textfield: 
	2 Start Date: 
	End Date: 
	State: 
	License: 
	Textfield-1: 


