

# **Oregon Public Health Division Reporting for Laboratories** | Oct. 2024

y law, Oregon laboratories must report all igcup human test results indicative of and specific for the diseases, infections, microorganisms, and conditions listed in Oregon Administrative Rules.<sup>1</sup> These results include microbiological cultures; assays for specific antibodies; and identification of specific antigens, toxins, or nucleic acid sequences. Laboratories should familiarize themselves with select biological agents and toxins that have potential to pose severe threats.<sup>2</sup> The laboratory reporting the result to the clinician is responsible for also reporting to public health, regardless of which lab performs the test.

Lab results for Oregon residents and people currently residing in Oregon must be reported within the timelines specified for each condition, typically immediately or within one working day.<sup>3</sup> Laboratories reporting an average of more than 30 records per month<sup>4</sup> must submit the data electronically, utilizing appropriate codesets and according to the standards in the Oregon Health Authority's (OHA) Manual for Mandatory Electronic Laboratory Reporting (ELR).<sup>5</sup> Laboratories reporting fewer than 30 records per month may choose to report results directly to the Local Public Health Authority (LPHA) of the patient's county of residence by fax or other approved option.<sup>6</sup> Laboratories required to report via ELR must have a state-approved continuity of operations plan to maintain reporting in emergency situations. These laboratories shall participate fully in OHA's Data Quality Control program.<sup>5</sup>

All reporting must include the patient's name, date of birth, county of residence, specimen type and specimen source site, collection date, lab test, result, and contact information for the ordering clinician and the lab.<sup>7</sup> Reporters are also encouraged to collect and submit patient race, ethnicity, gender, street address and phone number.

Please contact ACDP.Informatics@odhsoha. oregon.gov or call 971-673-1111 for ELR initiation or assistance.

# **Civil Penalties for Violations** of Oregon Reporting Law

A civil penalty may be imposed against a qualifying laboratory that fails to seek or obtain ELR approval,

- Report by phone to 971-673-1111 immediately, day or night. Reportables since February 2018 are highlighted.
- Report within 24 hours to <u>healthoregon.org/lhddirectory</u>. Note: Those items below without a symbol next to them require reporting within one LPHA working day.
- Porward isolate to the Oregon State Public Health Laboratory (OSPHL).
- Forward isolate if cultured; otherwise, send the test-positive specimen to OSPHL.

# **Bacteria**

Acinetobacter, carbapenem-resistant<sup>8</sup> 🕲 Anaplasma Bacillus anthracis<sup>2</sup> 💿 🚯 Bacillus cereus biovar anthracis<sup>2</sup> 🔁 🖪 Bordetella pertussis Borrelia Brucella (classical spp. only)<sup>2,15</sup> 💿 🚯 Burkholderia mallei² 💿 🕲 Burkholderia pseudomallei² 📀 🕲 Campylobacter Carbapenemase-producing, any organism 🕲 Chlamydia trachomatis Chlamydia psittaci Clostridium botulinum<sup>2</sup> 📀 Corynebacterium diphtheriae 💿 🕲 Coxiella burnetii<sup>2</sup> 💿 🤗 Cronobacter sakazakii in an infant <1 year of age 🕲 Ehrlichia

Enterobacterales order isolates, carbapenem-resistant<sup>8</sup> 🕲 Escherichia coli, enterotoxigenic Escherichia coli, Shigatoxigenic (E. coli O157 and other serogroups)<sup>9</sup> Francisella tularensis<sup>2</sup> 🔂 🚯 Grimontia hollisae 🕲 Haemophilus ducrevi Haemophilus influenzae 🔘 🤗 Legionella Leptospira Listeria monocytogenes<sup>10</sup> 🕲 Mvcobacterium bovis 🕲

Neisseria gonorrhoeae Neisseria meningitidis<sup>19</sup> 🕗 🤣 Rickettsia prowazekii<sup>2</sup> 💿 🤌 Rickettsia, non-prowazekii Salmonella10 也 Shigella<sup>10</sup> Treponema pallidum (syphilis) Vibrio cholerae<sup>10</sup> 🔂 🚯 Vibrio, non-cholerae<sup>10</sup> 🕲 Yersinia pestis<sup>2,10</sup> 💿 🚯 Yersinia, non-pestis<sup>10</sup> 🕲

### Fungi

Candida auris 🚯 Coccidioides 🕲 Cryptococcus 🕲

# **Parasites**

Amebic infections (central nervous system only)<sup>11</sup> Babesia Cryptosporidium Cyclospora Giardia Leishmania Plasmodium Taenia solium and undifferentiated Taenia spp. Trichinella Trypanosoma

### **Prion Diseases**

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (CJD), other prion disease

# **Viruses**

Arboviruses<sup>12</sup> Eastern equine encephalitis<sup>2</sup> 💿 🤗 Arenaviruses<sup>2,13</sup> 📀 🤗 Coltivirus (Colorado



healthoregon.org/ diseasereporting

Hepatitis B Hepatitis C Hepatitis D (delta) Hepatitis E Hemorrhagic fever viruses<sup>2,13</sup> 📀 HIV infection and AIDS Influenza, avian or novel strain<sup>14</sup> 🔂 🥝 Influenza, fatal case in person < 18 years<sup>17</sup> Measles (rubeola) 🤣 Mpox 🤗 Rubulavirus (Mumps) Newcastle disease virus (NDV) 🔂 🤗 Polio 🔂 🤗 Rabies 🔂 🤌 Rubella 🔁 🤌 SARS-CoV-1 (SARS)2,18 3 Variola major (smallpox) 💿 🤌 West Nile Yellow fever 💿 🤗 Zika

Hepatitis A

# **Other Important Reportables** Any infection that is typically arthropod vector-borne

Any "uncommon illness of potential public health significance" 📀 Any outbreak of disease 📀 Results of all blood lead testing should be reported within seven days unless they indicate a blood lead level of ≥3.5 µg/ dL, which must be reported within one LPHA working day. All CD4+ T-lymphocyte absolute

or against a clinical laboratory for failing to report a reportable disease according to Oregon Administrative Rules.<sup>1</sup>

Civil penalties shall be imposed as follows:

- First violation \$100
- Second violation \$200
- Third or subsequent violation \$500
- Each day out of compliance will be considered a new violation.



**Public Health Division** Center for Public Health Practice 971-673-1111 (phone) 971-673-1100 (fax)

healthoregon.org/acd

200-731350 (10/24)

Mycobacterium tuberculosis 🕲 Mycobacterium, other (non-respiratory only) 🕲



counts, % total lymphocytes, HIV nucleic acid (viral load) tests, & HIV drug resistance tests.

Please contact Oregon State Public Health Laboratory for questions about isolate or sample submission at healthoregon.org/labtests or call 503-693-4100.

#### **Endnotes**

- 1. Oregon Revised Statute 433.004; Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs) Division 333 Chapter 018; Failure to report OAR 333-026-0030.
- 2. Only unconfirmed select agent isolates must be sent to OSPHL: OAR 333-018-0018 and https://www.selectagents.gov/sat/list.htm 7 CFR Part 331, 9 CFR Part 121, 42 CFR Part 73).
- What is to be reported and when: OAR 333-018-0015. 3.
- 4. Electronic Laboratory Reporting requirements: <u>OAR 333-018-0013</u>. 15. Classical species of Brucella include melitensis, suis, abortus,
- 5. ELR Implementation Guide and Oregon ELR Manual.
- 6. Please see the 'Local Public Health Authorities' section of the Communicable Disease Rules and Reporting page for contact information at http://healthoregon.org/diseasereporting.
- Information required to be included in the report: OAR 333-018-0010. 7.
- 8. Resistant to any carbapenem antibiotic by current CLSI breakpoints. See OHA MDRO Poster: http://healthoregon.org/diseasereporting.
- 9. If isolates are not available, including specimens known only to test 17. positive for Shiga toxin, submit test-positive specimens or broths.
- 10. Submit all specimens that test positive by antigen-detection or nucleic acid testing for which culture has not been attempted.
- 11. For example, CNS infection by Acanthamoeba, Balamuthia, or Naegleria spp.
- 12. Any other arthropod-borne viruses, including but not limited to California encephalitis, Chikungunya, Colorado tick fever, dengue, 19. From normally sterile body sites only. Heartland virus infection, Kyasanur Forest disease, St. Louis

encephalitis, Western equine encephalitis, etc.

- 13. Hemorrhagic fever caused by viruses of the filovirus (Ebola, Marburg) or arenavirus (Lassa, Machupo) families and bunyavirus (Crimean-Congo, Rift Valley) order are immediately reportable.
- 14. Highly pathogenic avian strain; or influenza A virus that cannot be subtyped by commercially distributed assays.
- canis, ceti, and pinnipedialis. Do not report species formerly within the Ochrobactrum genus (e.g., anthropi, intermedium).
- 16. Most isolations of C. diphtheriae do not indicate true diphtheria. Report immediately if C. diphtheriae is cultured from a patient with a membrane of the nose, pharynx, tonsils, or larynx, or if the patient appears seriously ill; or if the isolate is known to be toxigenic. Otherwise, report next public health working day.
- Lab results from fatal cases of COVID-19, RSV and influenza in person <18 years of age must be reported. Only positive specimens and isolates from fatal influenza in person <18 must be forwarded.
- 18. SARS-CoV-1 is immediately reportable. COVID-19 (caused by SARS-CoV-2) is not reportable unless fatal case in someone <18 years of age

You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille or a format you prefer free of charge. Contact the Equity and Inclusion Division at languageaccess.info@odhsoha.oregon.gov or 1-844-882-7889. We accept all relay calls.