Overview of House Bill 2420

Jennifer A. Woodward
State Registrar
Center for Health Statistics



Oregon's Vital Records and Statistics System

Oregon law (ORS 432) requires every vital event that occurs in Oregon be recorded and retained permanently.

Vital events are births, deaths, marriages, divorces, or fetal deaths.

Oregon's vital records and statistics system is 120 years old:

Birth records (1903 – Present)

Death records (1903 – Present)

Marriage records (1906 – Present)

Fetal death records (1919 – Present)

Divorce records (1925 – Present)

Oregon Registered Domestic Partnerships (2008 – Present)



Oregon's Vital Records and Statistics System

Why is our collective work important?

- Vital events are legal records of the event.
- Oregonians need certified copies of these records to complete essential life tasks. You need
 a birth certificate to establish your identity, get a job, driver's license, benefits, into school, or
 a passport. You need a death certificate settle the affairs of a loved one who has died.
- Information from vital records is foundational for understanding the health of a population. Vital statistics data is used to examine health disparities by race, ethnicity, age, marital status, gender, and education.
- A modern vital records and statistics system collects and reports vital statistics information in "real time" so we can quickly assess the health and wellbeing of our population to address health inequities.
- The vital records system depends on and is utilized by partners throughout the state including county vital records offices, funeral directors, county clerks, circuit courts, medical examiners, birth information specialists and midwives.





Oregon's Vital Records and Statistics System

State and county vital records offices rely on vital records fees to be operational.

State and county vital records offices keep the fees for the certificates they sell.

First Six Months

Birth and death certificates can be purchased from the county where the birth or death occurred.

Receive \$25/certificate fee.

After Six Months

Birth and death certificates must be purchased from the state vital records office.

Receive \$25/certificate fee.





HB 2420 Introduced and Amended

To increase accessibility to vital records, HB 2420 proposed removing the time and place restrictions on counties issuing birth and death certificates.

Any county vital records office would be able to issue any certificate, regardless of where and when it occurred.

There was concern that if too much revenue from certificates shifted to the counties, the state system would no longer be operational.

The bill was amended to instead convene a work group.



HB 2420 Enrolled

- (1) The Oregon Health Authority shall designate a work group comprised of representatives of county vital records offices, funeral directors, other partners and community members to propose options for equitable access to birth and death certificates throughout the state and equitable fee revenue to maintain and improve the state and county vital records system.
- (2) The authority shall report to an interim committee of the Legislative Assembly related to vital records on the options proposed by the work group no later than January 1, 2025.

