
 

 

 

  

           
   

     

       
         

    

       
  
  

      

Ordering Preadoption 
Birth Certificates 

by Mail or Drop Box 

  

To receive a certificate, you must:

 

Sign the completed form.

Include the payment for your order.

Include a copy of your current ID (words must be legible and photo must be clear).
Tip: Take a photo of your ID and print it instead of using a copy machine. 
Visit bit.ly/OR-Eligibility for a list of acceptable ID.

Helpful Hints for Completing the Preadoption Birth Certificate Order Form:
• If possible, type in the answers before printing the form. If completing by hand, print clearly.

• Indicate how many certificates you would like to order at the top of the form.

• Provide all names (first, middle and last) in their complete and legal form. Do not shorten the names or
use initials unless they match what is on the record.
(Example: Thomas Example Smith  -NOT-  Tom E. Smith)

• Note: Information provided should be of names on the record AFTER the adoption occurred.

Please do not staple any documents or checks to the order form. 

Be eligible to receive the certificate and, if necessary, provide proof of eligibility.
Only the adoptee may order their preadoption birth record. 

     Adoptee must be born in Oregon.
     Adoptee must be 21 years of age or older.

All others wishing to order a preadoption certificate must obtain a court order from an 
Oregon court.

$  
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1. Full name on record: (first) (middle) (last) 
    (after adoption)

2. Date of birth:   (mm/dd/yyyy) 3. Sex: 4. Place of Birth: (city) (county) 

5. Adoptive Mother/Parent A’s legal name      (first) (middle)  (last name at mother’s/parent A’s birth) 
at their birth/prior to first marriage:

6. Adoptive Father/Parent B’s legal name      (first) (middle)    (last name at father’s/parent B’s birth) 
at their birth/prior to first marriage:

7. Your relationship to person named in line 1:
          Self  (Adoptee, 21 years or older)                 Other-Requires a court order (specify):
8. Reason for needing certificate:

9. Daytime phone
number:

10. Email:

11. Name of person ordering:

12. If mailing to someone (name of other person, company, or organization) 
other than yourself:

13. Mailing address: (street address or PO box)
Certificates 
will be 
shipped to 
this address.

14. Mailing City/State/ZIP:

15.          Person ordering: Include legible copy of current, valid photo ID. See page 2 for alternative ID options.
 Include additional eligibility documents (if needed.) Visit bit.ly/OR-Eligibility for more information.

16. Required signature of person ordering:

Oregon

How 
many?

Preadoption Birth Certificate:
-$30 for each certificate 

Preadoption Birth Certificate 
Order Form

Warning: Providing false information is a felony under ORS 432.993.
Only an adoptee age 21 or over is eligible to receive their preadoption birth certificate. All other persons may order only 
with a court order from an Oregon Court. (ORS 432.380).

$30 fee for the initial record search includes one  
certificate. Each additional copy is also $30.  

The fee is non-refundable once the search for the record has been 
completed. (Oregon Administrative Rule OAR 333-011-0340(1)).

Mail to: 
Oregon Vital Records 
PO Box 14050 
Portland OR 97293-0050

Drop Box Location: 
800 NE Oregon St 
Portland OR 97232

Make checks/money orders payable to: 
OHA/Vital Records 
Payments must be in U.S. Dollars 
Please Do Not Send Cash

A penalty, not to exceed $35, may be assessed for 
Non-Sufficient Funds checks per ORS 30.701(5).

See page 2 of form for additional information.
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}

This form is available in alternate formats. See page 2 for details.

https://bit.ly/OR-Eligibility
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors432.html
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https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors030.html
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You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille, or a format your 
prefer. Contact 971-673-1190 (voice), email CHS.VitalRecords@oha.oregon.gov, 
or fax 971-673-1203. We accept all relay calls or you can dial 711.

Eligibility to Order: By law, only the Adoptee age 21 and over may request a preadoption birth 
record. Other family members must obtain a court order from an Oregon court to open the adoption 
sealed file for the documents in it to be released. 

When ordering a preadoption birth record, applicants must provide proof of their identity and 
may need to provide additional documents to prove their eligibility.

Alternative identification you can send with your mail or drop box order: 
If you don’t have a valid driver’s license, ID card, or passport, send photocopies of three (3) different 
documents that include your name. At least one document must list your current address. 
Suggested documents are listed below:

Documents such as the following must have a current mailing address and can be no 
more than 30 days old:

• Utility bill (for example, telephone, gas, electric, water, garbage removal) or other bill
• Insurance statement, medical statement, or paycheck stub

Other documents such as the following may be used, but may not be expired:
• Court or parole documents
• Valid work ID, unemployment statement, food stamp, or other benefit cards (copy both sides)
• Permit for firearms, fishing, hunting, or other license
• Vehicle registration, title, or insurance statement

For a full list of documents, visit the Preadoption Certificate webpage accessible from the
       "Order a Certificate" menu at www.HealthOregon.org/chs or call 971-673-1190. 
If you are the adoptee and you have no ID or other documents in your legal name after 
adoption, you will need to request your current legal birth record and obtain ID before placing 
an order for your preadoption birth record. An immediate family member can help you order your 
current legal birth record. Immediate family members include a child’s mother and the mother’s 
parents, a child’s father and the father’s parents (if father is listed on the birth record), and the adult 
children of the person named on the birth record. The current legal birth record may also be requested 
by a legal representative of an immediate family member or a government agency representative.  
How long does it take to receive a copy of this form when ordered by mail or drop box? 
Processing times vary depending on workload. See the "Order a Certificate" menu at 
www.HealthOregon.org/chs or call 971-673-1190 for the latest processing times. Times that are posted 
are for orders that do not have any issues. The following scenarios may also cause further delays: 1) 
Missing payment  2) Missing ID 3) Missing eligibility documents  4) Inaccurate or incomplete order 
form information  5) The record is not on file. Note: Processing time includes ordering files stored off-
site, and sometimes ordering more than one file to locate the first birth record filed.
If something additional is needed from you, we will reach out to you by mail or secure email.
Orders for a preadoption birth record must be completed by mail or drop box. There is no option 
to order this certificate on the web or by telephone. We also do not recommend that this record be 
ordered in person as it cannot be immediately produced from the system and needs to be mailed to 
the applicant after the order has been received.
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See the "Order a Certificate" menu at www.HealthOregon.org/chs for more details.
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