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LC 409: Oregon State Hospital Technical 

Fixes 

Several technical fixes relating to the Oregon State Hospital will align statutes and 

current hospital practices and reduce potential confusion for patients, staff, and the 

public, without substantive policy changes.  

Removing References to Age 

ORS 426 refers to two different processes for voluntary admission to Oregon State 

Hospital (OSH), one for patients 18 years of age and older and one for patients under 

18. However, currently no one under 18 years old is allowed to be admitted to OSH. 

The hospital’s children’s ward was closed in 2005, as part of a larger state policy 

conversation about the most appropriate care for young people. Thus, the hospital has 

not admitted youth in nearly 20 years, but the statutes were never updated. If these 

statutes are not updated to current standard, OSH will continue to be exposed to 

occasional pressure to admit a child to an institution that is not equipped to serve 

them. 

This bill removes references in ORS 426 to admitting a person under 18 years old to 

the Oregon State Hospital and clarifies that the Oregon State Hospital is an inpatient 

facility for the care and treatment of persons 18 years or older. 

Adding Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP)  

ORS 426.701 acknowledges only treatment received from a licensed psychiatrist. 

Often at OSH, a patient receives treatment from a psychiatric mental health nurse 

practitioner (PMHNP), not solely by psychiatrists. If the statute is not updated, the care 

a patient receives at OSH from a PMHNP would not be considered when determining 

if a patient qualifies for an extremely dangerous civil commitment under ORS 426.701. 

This bill adds psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners to ORS 426.701. 
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Hiring of Chief Medical Officer  

ORS 426.020 requires that, if the hospital superintendent is a licensed physician, the 

superintendent must also serve as the chief medical officer. OSH needs a separate 

chief medical officer regardless of whether or not the superintendent is a physician, 

due to the large workload created by the care environment of the state hospital. If this 

statute is not updated and OHA hires a new superintendent who is also a licensed 

physician, OSH would not be able to hire a chief medical officer and the new 

superintendent would be unable to effectively manage the workload of both extremely 

busy positions. 

This bill amends ORS 426.020 to allow the Oregon State Hospital to hire a chief 

medical officer regardless of whether or not the superintendent is a physician. 

Clarifying Certified Evaluator 

ORS 161.365 specifies that a certified evaluator must be used to perform initial 

evaluations. ORS 161.371 assumes that a certified evaluator must be used but does 

not specify the certification requirement in statute. If this statute is not updated, it will 

continue to allow for a vulnerability in the statute in the event that an uncertified 

evaluator performs an evaluation under ORS 161.371.  

This bill amends ORS 161.371 to clarify the requirement that evaluations are to be 

performed by certified evaluators. 

Symptomatology 

ORS 161.362 uses the word “symptomology”. However, the term that is actually used 

by physicians and psychologists for this concept is “symptomatology”. If this statute is 

not updated it could create confusion among physicians and psychologists who are 

interpreting the law and providing care to their patients. 

This bill amends ORS 161.362 to replace the term “symptomology” with 

“symptomatology”. 
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You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille, or a format you 

prefer free of charge. Contact Sarah Herb at Sarah.Herb@oha.oregon.gov or (971) 

372-9887 (voice/text). We accept all relay calls. 


