TAKE A STAND TO KEEP **OREGON ROADS SAFE.**

It's up to all of us to get impaired drivers off the road. If you spot a car that you think may have an impaired driver, call this toll-free number to report it: -800-24-DRUNK (1-800-243-7865)

HOW TO SPOT AN IMPAIRED DRIVER

In person:

- Lack of coordination
- Difficulty walking
- Rambling conversation
- Slurred speech
- Bloodshot eyes
- Loud, aggressive behavior
- Overly friendly/annoying

On the road:

- Driving too fast or too slow
- Unusually wide turns
- Driving at night without lights
- Driving too close to shoulders or curbs
- Straddling the center line
- Weaving, swerving or drifting
- Windows down in cold, wet weather

For more info on the hazards of impaired driving, contact the Transportation Safety Division, ODOT at 1-800-922-2022. Or visit us on the Web at www.oregon.gov/odot/ts

737-3307 (5/12) SICS 33008

Drive Sober. The Way to Go. Transportation Safety – ODOT

IN OREGON, IMPAIRED DRVERS **FACE ONE BIG, EXPENSIVE** HANGOVER



Drive Sober. The Way to Go. Transportation Safety – ODOT

MAKE IT NONE FOR THE ROAD.







ALCOHOL AND DRUGS HAVE NO PLACE ON OREGON ROADS.

Every year in Oregon, impaired driving claims the lives of almost 200 people, and injures thousands more. The fact is, impaired drivers kill and injure more people than all other violent crimes put together. The cost to Oregon taxpayers is hundreds of millions of dollars each year. The cost in human suffering is even greater.

Impaired drivers have no place behind the wheel - or handlebars. Which is why Oregon's already tough DUII laws are getting even tougher.

More than a third of all traffic deaths in Oregon are alcoholrelated. Tragically, many involve children who are passengers in a vehicle operated by a driver who has been drinking.

REGON IS TOUGH ON IMPAIRED DRIVERS. HERE'S PROOF.

UNDER THE INFLUENCE, UNDER ARREST.

Here in Oregon, anyone with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher is legally "under the influence." Fail the breath test and you'll automatically lose your license for at least 90 days. Refuse the test and you'll lose your license for at least a year. You'll also be arrested, photographed and fingerprinted. Ditto if you refuse a urine test to determine whether or not you are under the influence of inhalants or other controlled substances.

THAT'S JUST FOR STARTERS.

If convicted in court, you'll spend at least 48 hours in jail or serve up to 250 hours of community service. (Can you say "jump suit"?) You'll also lose your license for a year or more. Add to that various fines, court fees, the cost of an alcohol treatment program, legal fees and higher insurance costs.

You'll also have to file proof of liability insurance with ODOT before a license or permit will be issued. And, before any hardship or probationary permit can be issued, you'll have to fork over a \$75 reinstatement fee. It all adds up to thousands of dollars.

GETTING A DUII REALLY BLOWS!

If arrested for DUII, Oregon law requires you to install an ignition interlock device in your car – even if you're a first-time offender. That means you'll have to blow into a tube to check your blood alcohol level every time you start your car and every few minutes thereafter to keep it running – won't your friends be impressed! The device costs about \$65 to install and another \$70 each month to maintain.

UNDER 21? DON'T Even Think About IT.

ПП

Oregon's tough DUII laws apply to twowheeled vehicles, too. So get a grip – always ride sober. Oregon has zero tolerance for underage impaired driving. If you're under 21, you'll automatically lose your license for at least a year if you're caught in

possession of alcohol or if a breath test shows any amount of alcohol above .00 percent. You'll also be fined up to \$300 and be hit with various other fees and court costs.

HELP PREVENT A TRAGEDY.

Always drive sober. And if you're with friends who are drinking, make sure there's a designated driver in the group. If you think a friend is impaired, take their keys. Call them a cab. Do something. Just don't let them drive impaired.

YOU DON'T HAVE TO BLOW .08 TO GET ARRESTED.

.08 percent is the level at which Oregon law says you are legally impaired to drive. But reaction time and judgement can become impaired after just <u>one</u> drink. (That's the

equivalent of one shot of 80-proof liquor, one 12 oz. beer or one 5 oz. glass of wine.) So even if you blow lower than .08 percent, you can still be arrested and convicted of DUII.

Commercial drivers face severe penalties for driving with a blood alcohol content level above .04 percent.

DE 0. 00 CRIMINAL PENALTY LICENSE SUSPENSION **FEES & FINES** JAIL TIME DRIVER IGNITION HARDSHIP PERMIT ARREST **INTERLOCK DEVICE** CHARGE WAIT PERIOD 1st Offense Min. 30 days/ Misdemeanor **Diversion Eligible** Failed breath test: 90 days \$150 screening fee Mandatory/Up to 1 year Up to 90 days Refused breath test: 1 year \$490 filing fee (up to \$925 a year) \$100 Program fee \$650 fine for breath test refusal 2nd Offense Misdemeanor **Court Conviction** \$150 screening fee Mandatory/1 year 48 hours/ Failed breath test: 1 year Min. 1 year/ Up to 3 years Refused breath test: 3 years \$1.000 fine (up to \$925 a year) Possible probation \$650 fine for breath test refusal Conviction: 1 year **3rd Offense** Misdemeanor **Court Conviction** Failed breath test: 1 year \$150 screening fee Mandatory/2 years Min. 1 year/ 48 hours/ Up to 3 years \$1,500 fine Refused breath test: 3 years (up to \$925 a year) Possible probation \$650 fine for breath test refusal Conviction: 3 years 4th Offense Misdemeanor \$150 screening fee 5 years if reinstated 90 days Court Conviction Failed breath test: 1 year Not eligible Refused breath test: 3 years \$2.000 fine \$650 fine for breath test refusal Permanent loss of license 5th Offense Felony **Court Conviction** Failed breath test: 1 year \$150 screening fee Not eligible up to 5 years 5 years if reinstated (min. 90 davs) \$125.000 fine Refused breath test: 3 years \$650 fine for breath test refusal Permanent loss of license

IT'S NOT JUST ABOUT ALCOHOL.

A DUII – Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants – also includes inhalants or other controlled substances such as prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications and other legal drugs. Mixing any or all of these is even worse. And be warned: Oregon now has hundreds of specially trained Drug Recognition Experts on the road who can spot all kinds of impaired drivers.