Rehabilitating Oregon’s Forestlands...

Timber Salvage after Wildfires

Wildfires burn thousands of acres each year on lands protected by the
Oregon Department of Forestry and the Forest Protective Associations,
spurring many landowners to begin timber salvage operations. The
following information should answer many of the questions you, as a
landowner, may have about salvaging timber from burned areas.

Salvage projects should be carefully planned, and
should be part of each landowner’s overall plan for
meeting landowner objectives, legal requirements,
and restoration needs for water quality, and fish and
wildlife habitat. As you plan your work, you need to
be aware of the following:

B Oregon Forest Practices Act requirements (notification, reforestation, leave tree retention, stream
and wetland protection, and others) apply to salvage operations.

B Fire prevention and suppression requirements apply to salvage operations.

B Financial assistance is limited in its availability and not all salvage operations are eligible.
Investigate whether your planned salvage operation may be eligible for financial assistance before
starting timber salvage work.

REMEMBER:
Always gather information AND:
and plan ahead before starting Always contact the Oregon
timber salvage work. Department of Forestry before
4 starting timber salvage work.
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1 What are the notification requirements for salvage plans?

B As a landowner or representative, you must file a Notification of Operations with the Oregon
Department of Forestry at least 15 days before starting salvage work. Other requirements for
written plans and waiting periods apply for work near fish streams or other resource sites (see
OAR 629-605-170(1) through (7)).

B All notifications must clearly describe the operation area, including any streams or other known
resources protected under the Forest Practices Act. Because fire severity and damage vary
across burned areas, it may be appropriate to have a single notification for large acreages, or to
have a series of notifications, with each covering a smaller area. Landowners should work with
the local Stewardship Forester (with the Oregon Department of Forestry) to determine which
alternative is appropriate.

2 What is the timing for review of a salvage plan?

B If there aren’t any plans for alternate practices, written plan requirements for fish streams or
other protected resources (see OAR 629-605-170(1) through (7)), and/or requests for
determining eligibility for financial assistance with reforestation expenses, operations can begin
after 15 days have passed after submitting the Notification of Operations. Always check with
the local Stewardship Forester to see if waiting periods are required.

B If there are plans for alternate practices or written plan requirements, the time needed for review
depends on the complexity of the salvage plan, the presence of protected resources, current
workloads, and other factors. Stewardship Foresters work to review plans in a timely manner
within those constraints.




3 Do reforestation requirements apply to salvage harvests?

B The reforestation rules in the Forest Practices Act apply to salvage harvests the same as for
other kinds of harvests (see OAR 629-610-0020(1)). Stewardship Foresters are available to help
landowners determine where reforestation is required.

B Reforestation is not required on lands with unproductive soils (those not capable of growing at
least 20 cubic feet of wood per acre annually). See OAR 629-610-0010(1).

B Financial assistance for reforestation and other work may be available for qualifying salvage
harvests. Contact the local Stewardship Forester with questions about assistance programs
before starting salvage harvesting (also, see the Planning, Assistance, and Taxation section later
in this note).

4 Can the reforestation requirements be modified for salvage harvests on areas burned by
wildfire?

B Yes. To account for catastrophic occurrences such as wildfire, the reforestation rules allow the
Oregon Department of Forestry to approve different stocking levels and/or extended times to
accomplish reforestation (see OAR 629-610-0020(10) and 0040(6), (7), and (8)). Landowners
may choose natural reforestation methods; an approved plan for an alternate practice is required
(see OAR 629-610-0030).

B The Oregon Department of Forestry may approve plans for alternate reforestation practices if
the plans will provide equal or better protection than the standard rules.

B Never assume that reforestation requirements are automatically relaxed or modified just
because an area has been burned. Always talk with the Stewardship Forester before starting
work to see how rule modifications or natural reforestation plans may be used.

5 Do the requirements to leave down wood and green trees or snags in harvest units apply to
salvage operations?

B Yes. When harvest type 2 or type 3 units exceed 25 acres (see ORS 527.676), the landowner
needs to work with the Stewardship Forester to ensure that down wood and green trees or snags
will be retained. This is especially important where the landowner has filed a notification
covering a large area.

B Fire-killed standing and downed trees may be abundant; landowners should consider how some
of these dead trees can be left to maintain wildlife habitat while meeting objectives for timber
salvage, fire prevention, forest health, and worker safety.

6 Do protection requirements for wetlands, streams, and wildlife sites apply to salvage
operations?

B Yes. Landowners must protect these resources during all forest operations. These resources
must be identified on the ground and on notification maps. Written plans with mandatory




waiting periods may be required. Before starting salvage work, contact the local Stewardship
Forester to help identify these resources and to determine how to meet protection requirements.

B Depending on the condition of a stream riparian management area, one or more of the following
management options will apply:

— Standard rule prescriptions. See OAR 629-642-0105 and 0110 for Type “SSBT”
(salmon/steelhead/bull trout) streams, OAR 629-642-0100 for Type “F” (fish) streams,
and OAR 629-642-0400 for Type “D” and “N” (domestic-use and non-domestic/non-
SSBT/non-fish) streams.

— Alternative Prescription 1 is designed for stream riparian management areas damaged by
wildfires or other catastrophic events. See OAR 629-642-0600(3).

- Landowners may propose site specific prescriptions in a plan for an alternate practice to
meet local situations. See OAR 629-642-0700.

7 Can harvest type 3 units (commonly known as clearcuts) on burned areas exceed the
120-acre limit described in ORS 527.7407?

B Yes. If the fire was beyond the landowner’s control and was severe enough to substantially
impair the growth potential of the forest, harvest type 3 units on burned areas can exceed the
120-acre limit. The landowner must obtain approval of a plan for an alternate practice from the
local Stewardship Forester before doing salvage harvesting that would result in a harvest type 3
unit larger than 120 acres. See ORS 527.740 (4).

8 Is there a special harvest type for salvage?

B There is an entry for “Salvage” on the Notification of Operations form, but there is not a special
harvest type for salvage in the Forest Practices Act. The definitions for harvest type 1, type 2,
and type 3 are based on the number, size, and condition of the trees that remain after harvest,
not on whether an area has been burned. See ORS 527.620 (8), (9), and (10).

9 What other forest practice requirements apply to salvage harvests?

B Most of the remaining requirements in the Forest Practices Act apply to salvage harvests, just as
they would on any other operation.

B |n most cases, landowners can propose plans for alternate practices to better fit local conditions.
The Stewardship Forester will evaluate the plans to determine if they will provide equal or
better protection than the standard requirements.




Fire Prevention & Suppression Liability

10 Do fire prevention requirements apply during salvage operations?

B Yes. The fire prevention requirements apply to all harvesting operations (and other operations)
on or near a Forest Protection District.

B |n some situations, the local Oregon Department of Forestry or Forest Protective Association
office may allow requirement modifications that are proposed by the operator, if the
modifications will provide equal or better fire suppression than would the standard
requirements.

B For more information, contact your local Oregon Department of Forestry or Forest Protective
Association office. Or, see Oregon Department of Forestry’s fire “Restrictions and Closures”
page here: https://www.oregon.gov/ODF/Fire/Pages/Restrictions.aspx.

B Landowners should not relax their vigilance. Just because an area is burned over does not mean
that it is fire safe—burned areas can and do reburn.

11 On salvage operations, does the landowner or operator have fire-cost liability for
wildfires that result from hot spots or other holdovers from the original wildfire?

B The landowner and operator are always responsible for taking immediate action to control and
extinguish any fire started in an active operation and any fire resulting from operation activity.

B In general, landowners and operators are not held responsible for fires they do not start, or that
do not start in an operation area. However, each case is different. For specific questions about
fire-cost liability, contact the local Oregon Department of Forestry or Forest Protective
Association office.

12 Are the fire suppression duties of the Oregon Department of Forestry, the U. S. Forest

Service, or other wildland firefighting agencies any different on forestland after it is
burned over?

B No. The fact that an area has been burned does not change the firefighting responsibilities of
any agency.

13 If a fire changes forest cover to range cover, does the type of forest patrol assessment change?

B No, not automatically. Long term cover changes must be discussed on a case by case basis with
the local Oregon Department of Forestry or Forest Protective Association office.



https://www.oregon.gov/ODF/Fire/Pages/Restrictions.aspx

Planning, Assistance & Taxation

14 Are programs available to help landowners with reforestation expenses on areas burned

by wildfire?

B Yes. Stewardship Foresters with the Oregon Department of Forestry provide technical advice
for the following financial assistance programs (funding agency in parentheses) that may be
available to qualifying landowners.

- Emergency Forest Restoration Program (Farm Service Agency)

— Farm Bill Conservation Programs (Natural Resources Conservation Service)
- Watershed Restoration Grants (Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board)

- Fuels Reduction Programs (Oregon Department of Forestry)

B Talk with your Stewardship Forester to learn more, or see the “After the Fire” assistance guide:
https://www.oregon.gov/ODF/Documents/WorkingForests/Assistance AftertheWildfire.pdf

15 How can landowners find out if they qualify for financial assistance programs?

B Eligibility requirements vary for the different programs and depend on ownership size, soil
productivity, availability of funds, and other factors. If you are planning to conduct a salvage
operation, contact the Oregon Department of Forestry (or the funding agency) before starting
any on-the-ground activities (including harvesting).

B |f reforestation will be required after a salvage harvest, to qualify for most assistance programs
the income from the harvest must be less than the total of logging costs, associated taxes, and
reforestation costs. In this situation, determining eligibility for financial assistance begins with
a request to the Oregon Department of Forestry for a Suspension of the Reforestation Rules
when the notification of operations is submitted (see Q&A 1). Contact the Department for
more information on the suspension process.

1 6Can landowners separate profitable and non-profitable salvage harvest units so that the
non-profitable areas will qualify for financial assistance for reforestation costs?

B Yes. Talk to your local Stewardship Forester during the planning stage to work this out on a
case-by-case basis.

17Are there other types of financial assistance programs such as tax credits?

B The federal reforestation tax allowance may be available. Consult a tax advisor.
B Oregon’s 50% Underproductive Forestland Tax Credit expired at the end of 2011. The
program is no longer available.



https://www.oregon.gov/ODF/Documents/WorkingForests/AssistanceAftertheWildfire.pdf

18What about property taxes and timber taxes for burned forestlands?

B [f a burned area is not reforested, it may no longer qualify for special forestland tax status, even
if there is no timber harvest. To be eligible for special forestland tax assessments, landowners
must maintain at least the minimum tree stocking levels described in the Forest Practices Act
(see OAR 629-610-0020). The Oregon Department of Forestry is required to report
understocked lands to county assessors. The county assessors determine whether the parcel can
continue under special forestland tax assessments.

B Harvest taxes are the same for salvage harvesting as for other kinds of harvesting.

CONTACT LIST

(See back page for Oregon Department of Forestry contact
information)

Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board
Local contact information is available from the state office
at (503) 986-0178 or http://www.oweb.state.or.us/.

U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources

Conservation Service
Local office locations are available from the state office at

(503) 414-3200 or http://www.or.nrcs.usda.gov/.

U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency
Local office locations are available from the state office at
(503) 692-6830 or http://www.fsa.usda.gov/state-

offices/Oregon.

Soil and Water Conservation Districts
Local office locations are available at 503-986-4700 or
http://www.oregon.gov/ODA/SWCD/Pages/index.aspx.
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http://www.oregon.gov/ODA/SWCD/Pages/index.aspx

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY CONTACT LIST

For more information about the Oregon Forest Practices Act, fire prevention, or technical or financial assistance, contact
the Forestry Department office listed below, the state office at 2600 State Street, Salem, OR 97310 (503) 945-7200, or go
to http://www.oregon.gov/odf/Pages/index.aspx. Note: If you are within the jurisdiction of a Forest Protective Association,
contact the local Forest Protective Association listed below for information on fire suppression and fire cost liabilities.

Eastern Oregon—Oregon Department of Forestry

3501 E 3rd, PriNEVIIIE 97754 ...ttt bbbtk skt bbbttt (541) 447-5658
3701 W 13th, The Dalles 97058.........ccouriueirireirisiee st (541) 296-4626
415 Patterson Bridge Road, JOhN Day 97845..........oooiiiiiiiiieiniee s (541) 575-1139
3200 DeLap Road, Klamath Falls 97601 .........ccccceieiiieiieiecieee ettt se e sresresreenaenes (541) 883-5681
2290 N 4th Street, LaKeVIEW 97630 .......c.ciiirireirisiee s (541) 947-3311
611 20th Street, La Grande 98750 .......ccuiiueiririeiiieieesiete sttt sttt ettt bbb e et (541) 963-3168
1055 Airport Road, Pendleton 9780L........ccoiviiiiiieie e e ettt st re e eesr e renneereenes (541) 276-3491
802 WesSt HWY 82, WallOWa 97885 ........ccuiieiiitiiieiiiie ettt ettt ettt eb e sn e eb e ene s (541) 886-2881
2995 Hughes Lane, BaKer City 97814 ..ottt (541) 523-5831

Eastern Oregon—Forest Protective Associations
Walker Range Patrol Association, 135393 Hwy #97, Crescent 97733 ......ccooveiveieeie e (541) 433-2451

Northwest Oregon—Oregon Department of Forestry

801 Gales Creek Road, FOreSt GrOVE 97116 .......cucviuiriiiiiirieieste ettt st e b e ene e (503) 357-2191
92219 HWY 202, ASEOMIA 97L03.....c ettt sttt etttk nr et n e nr s (503) 325-5451
405 E Street, Columbia City 97108 .......ciiiiiiiieieiiieieie ettt bbbt (503) 397-2636
5005 3rd Street, THHAMOOK G7LAL........ccoiiieiriiieiieiee ettt b et (503) 842-2545
14995 South Hwy 211, MOIAHA 97038 .......cocviiiiieiiisieisisieiret ettt (503) 829-2216
22965 North Fork Road SE, Lyons 97358 (Santiam UNIL) ........ccccoiiiiiiiiiiieeseneeseseese e (503) 859-2151
24533 Alsea Highway, PhIlomath 97370 .........ccoiiiiiiiiiiee e (541) 929-3266
825 0ak Villa, Dallas 97338 .........coeiieirieieieieee ettt sttt et et e st et e e e ne e saene e neenas (503) 623-8146
763 Forestry Road, TOIEA0O 9739L......cue ittt ettt be e be et e e raesreesreeneas (541) 336-2273

Southern Oregon—Oregon Department of Forestry

1758 NE Airport Road, ROSEDUIT 97470 ......cviiieiie ettt ettt et e s et e taesteeteenee s (541) 440-3412
63612 Fifth Road, CO0S BaY 97420 .......ccociiiiiieiiieiet ettt bbbt (541) 267-4136
4690 Highway 20, SWEEt HOME 97386.......c.eiuiriiiiiiiiiiitiitee et (541) 367-6108
3150 Main Street, SPringfield 97478 ........oooe e e re e sre s (541) 726-3588
87950 Territorial Highway, VENeta 97487 .........coeiiiiiiiereesie sttt st (541) 935-2283
2660 Kingwood Street, FIOTENCE 97439.......ooiiii ettt bbb e bbb (541) 997-8713
5286 Table Rock Road, Central Point 97502 (Medford UNit) ..o s (541) 664-3328
5375 Monument Drive, Grants PasS 97526...........cuiiriiiirieiiie ettt st st sbesre et e sne e (541) 474-3152
415 Redwood Street, BroOKINGS 97415, ... ..ottt ettt e bbb (541) 469-5040

Southern Oregon—Forest Protective Associations
Coos Forest Protective Association, 63612 Fifth Road, Co0s Bay 97420 .........ccccoceviiirenininiene e (541) 267-3161
Douglas Forest Protective Association, 1758 NE Airport Road, Roseburg 97470 .........ccoceveviienniineneennen, (541) 672-6507



http://www.oregon.gov/odf/Pages/index.aspx

