
Recertification
Once earned, certification is valid for up to 
five calendar years, ending Dec. 31 of the 
final year. 
Renew your certification by:
•	 Retaking and passing all required exams

or
•	 Attending approved recertification 

courses
	s A total of 40 hours are required during 

your certification period
	s 15 hours maximum per year
	s A list of classes is available on ODA’s 

website, https://oda.direct/Pesticides

The label
Read it ... 
Read the label before you purchase a 
pesticide product, each time you apply it, 
and when you store or dispose of it.

Follow it ...
Always follow label directions exactly. 
Wear required personal protective 
equipment, apply correct rates on listed 
sites, and observe all restrictions and special 
precautions.  

Avoiding problems
•	 Keep application equipment in good 

condition and calibrated correctly
•	 Prevent drift
•	 Avoid areas where runoff or drift into 

water is likely
•	 Protect local endangered species
•	 Be especially careful near sensitive crops, 

bee hives, and schools
•	 Wear required personal protective 

equipment (PPE)
•	 Make sure the producer knows the pre-

harvest intervals (PHIs), if any.
•	 Make sure the producer knows the 

restricted entry intervals (REIs), if any.
•	 Make sure the producer knows the 

associated plant-back restrictions.

Protecting Workers
Call OR-OSHA (800) 922-2689 for more 
information on:
•	 Worker Protection Standard (farm, forest, 

nursery, and greenhouse sites)
•	 Hazard Communication Standard
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Public Applicator
Is a person who is an employee of the 
State of Oregon, a federal agency, or a 
county, city, municipality, public utility, 
or other governmental body.  
•	 Applies pesticides to properties under 

the jurisdiction of the governmental 
agency, or under an order to remove 
noxious weeds

•	 Does not solicit or advertise for pesticide 
application business in areas outside 
governmental jurisdiction

•	 See ORS 634.116 for additional 
information

Commercial Applicator
Is a person who: 
•	 Applies pesticides for hire to someone 

else’s property (includes organic 
pesticides)

•	 Solicits to make pesticide applications on 
a no cost or cost recovery basis

•	 Uses or applies RUPs to their employers’  
non-agricultural property

•	 Must be employed by an Oregon licensed 
commercial operator

Licensing
Commercial and Public Pesticide 
applicators must take and pass the Laws 
& Safety exam and at least one category 
exam to qualify for a license. Commercial 
and Public Pesticide Applicators may only 
make pesticide applications under the 
categories on their applicator’s license.

Recordkeeping
Recordkeeping elements

•	 Customer name, address and phone 
number

•	 Address or geographical description 
where application was made.  Also 
include the size of the treated area, 
(acres, square feet, etc.)

•	 Date (M/D/Y), beginning and ending time 
of application(s)

•	 Product supplier
•	 EPA registration number or the FULL 

product trade name, formulation type and 
manufacturer

•	 Amount applied–use lbs., oz. or gal. of 
actual product per acre or concentration 
(lbs. or oz. product/gal.) and total gallons 
applied

•	 Application site or crop
•	 Equipment description, including FAA 

number if applied by air
•	 Full name and license numbers of all 

applicators, including apprentices and 
trainees who made pesticide application

•	 Records must be maintained for three 
years

•	 Records must be legible
•	 Provide records to ODA, Pesticide 

Analytical and Response Center (PARC), 
and/or licensed health care professionals, 
when requested

Supervising Trainees  
and Apprentices

•	 Trainees and apprentices may only 
make applications consistent with the 
supervisor’s license categories

•	 Supervising certified and licensed 
applicator must be on site at all times 
and not more than five minutes away 
from the specific point of pesticide 
use when supervising an Immediately 
Supervised Pesticide Trainee

•	 Supervising applicator must be in contact 
(in person, by phone or radio) with each 
Pesticide Apprentice

•	 Supervising applicator must provide 
training, including application 
instructions, to the Pesticide Apprentice 
or Immediately Supervised Trainee

•	 Supervising applicator is responsible 
for all pesticide-related activities of 
the trainee and apprentice, including 
proper pesticide use, recordkeeping and 
reporting

Preventing Drift
It is your legal responsibility to keep your 
application on the intended target site only.  
In addition to following label directions, 
these steps can help you reduce the 
potential for drift.
•	 Use the correct nozzle, droplet size, 

pressure and sprayer speed
•	 Use the lowest pressure setting possible 

and spray as close to the target while 
maintaining adequate coverage

•	 Use drift reduction nozzles and adjuvants
•	 Do not spray during temperature 

inversions, or during other unfavorable 
weather conditions


