

Agricultural Insect Pest Prevention & Management Program

635 Capitol St, NE, Salem, OR 97301-2532

Frequently asked Questions

Oregon's apiary registration rules and regulations

I own bees in Oregon, am I required to register my hives?

• Every person who owns, or is in charge of, five or more colonies of bees located within the state or Oregon, must register their hives each year with the Oregon Department of Agriculture. If you currently own less than five hives you are not required to register your bees at this time.

I own five or more colonies of bees; how do I register them?

- The form needed to register colonies is located at:
- https://www.oregon.gov/oda/shared/Documents/Publications/IPPM/ApiaryRegistrationForm.pdf
- In person by visiting: 635 Capitol Street NE, Salem, OR, 97301

How much will hive registration cost me?

The current cost of apiary registration is \$10 with an additional charge of \$0.50 per colony for five or more hives.
 After July 1, the registration fee will increase to \$20. The fee per hive remains at \$0.50 per colony for five or more hives.

The number of colonies I own fluctuates throughout the year, how do I calculate the number of colonies to register?

• The number of colonies that must be registered is equal to the highest number of full-strength colonies managed within the state at any point during the previous year, prior to the registration deadline of June 1.

How does the state of Oregon define a colony?

• The State of Oregon defines a colony as any receptacle or container made or prepared for the use of bees, or box or similar container taken possession of by bees, with the exception of nucleus hives. Nucleus hives do not require registration at this time.

How will the funds generated by apiary registration be used?

 All money collected from apiary registration shall be spent on research at the OSU Bee Lab that is predominantly focused on honeybees. http://honeybeelab.oregonstate.edu

Sept 2024 1

What is the cause of the recent changes made to apiary registration rules in Oregon?

Over the last few years, we have seen an increase in bee hive losses due to multiple factors. The honeybee
industry approached the state legislature to adapt new statutes supporting bee research. The change to our
apiary registration rule was a collaborative effort between Oregon State University honeybee researchers, the
honeybee industry, environmental organizations, and the Oregon Department of Agriculture with the objective
to protect bees in Oregon.

Where can I find Oregon's apiary statute and rules?

- This information can be found online.
 - o Statute: https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors602.html
 - o Rules: https://oregon.public.law/rules/oar_chapter_603_division_55

Other Useful Links

• https://www.oregon.gov/oda/programs/IPPM/InsectsSpiders/Pages/BeesApiaries.aspx

Sept 2024 2