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General Information 

 
The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners 
The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners was founded by the Legislature in 1973 to protect the 
public by regulating tax professionals, conducting examinations of candidates before licensure, 
and ensuring that practitioners receive annual continuing education. Through these activities and 
compliance enforcement, the Board achieves its mission: protecting Oregon consumers by 
ensuring Oregon tax practitioners are competent and ethical in their professional activities. 
There are approximately 3,500 tax professionals and 1,200 tax preparation businesses licensed 
by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners. The agency is funded entirely by exam fees, license 
fees, and civil penalties. The Oregon Legislature approves the Board’s budget every two years. 

 
Types of Licenses 

Tax Preparer: This is an entry-level license that enables individuals to prepare personal income 
tax returns in Oregon for a fee. All Tax Preparers must work under the supervision of a licensed 
Tax Consultant. Tax preparer licenses expire every year on September 30th. 

 
Tax Consultant: This license allows individuals to prepare personal income tax returns in 
Oregon for a fee as a self-employed or independent tax practitioner. Licensed Tax Consultants 
may also supervise licensed Tax Preparers. Every tax preparation office registered with the 
Board is required to have a licensed Tax Consultant on site. Tax Consultant licenses expire every 
year on May 31st. 

 
Tax Preparation Business Registration: Any business or branch office that prepares personal 
income tax returns for a fee must be registered with the Board. Each location must also have a 
licensed Tax Consultant on site. Business and branch registrations expire annually on either June 
15 or October 15. 

Exempt Individuals: Certain individuals are exempt from licensure by the Oregon Board of Tax 
Practitioners. These include attorneys-at-law, certified public accountants (CPAs) and employees 
of attorneys and CPAs. 

 
Enrolled Agents: This is a national certification administered and regulated by the Internal 
Revenue Service. This certification gives the holder the right to represent taxpayers before the 
IRS. Enrolled agents must obtain an Oregon Tax Consultant license if they wish to 
prepare personal income taxes in Oregon. Applicants must submit a copy of a current 
Treasury card, take the Oregon exam and pass with a score of 75%. Additional 
information on Enrolled Agent requirements may be found on the IRS website here: 
https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agent-information 

https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agent-information
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Initial License Requirements 

All licensees must: 
• Be 18 years of age or older 
• Possess a high school diploma or have passed an equivalency examination (GED) 
• Possess a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) issued by the IRS 
• Pass a state-administered exam with a score of 75% or higher 

 
Licensed Tax Preparers must: 

• Have successfully completed a Board-approved 80-hour personal income tax course 
 

Licensed Tax Consultants must: 
• Have 1,100 hours of work experience as a tax preparer within at least two of the past five 

years* 
• Completed 15 hours of continuing education within the past 12 months 
• Pass a state-administered licensing exam with a score of 75% or higher 

*Enrolled agents are exempt from the work experience requirement if they hold a valid and signed 
Treasury Card 

 
 

Please note: You may wish to contact the Board before applying for licensure if you answer 
“yes” to any of the following questions: 

 
1. Has a license in any other occupation or professional capacity issued in your name by any 

governmental entity ever been refused, suspended, revoked, or restricted, OR have you 
ever voluntarily relinquished a professional license? 

2. Are you aware of any current, proposed, pending or threatened professional complaints 
or civil or criminal action against you? Have you been convicted of, OR are you now 
under indictment for any criminal offense(s) of which an essential element is dishonesty, 
fraud or deception, per ORS 673.700(4)(b)? 

 
3. Have you ever been required to appear before or been sanctioned by any professional 

body or federal or state agency for alleged misconduct? 

If your answer is yes to any of these questions, you will be required to supply an explanation and 
provide date(s), location(s), and nature of the infractions(s). 
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Examinations 

 
The tax preparer and tax consultant exams cover personal income tax law, theory and practice. 
Exam questions are a combination of true/false, multiple-choice and scenario-based mini- 
problems. Approximately 75% of the questions are on federal personal income tax law. Twenty- 
five percent of the questions are on Oregon personal income tax law and Oregon tax practitioner 
administrative rules. 

All exams are administered by PSI in an electronic format at various testing locations across 
Oregon. A passing score on all exams is 75% or higher. Examinees receive their score 
immediately upon completion of their exam. There is no limit on the number of times an 
individual may attempt an exam, nor is there a mandatory waiting period between exam 
attempts. Exams are updated annually with new exams released on October 1st. Exams taken on 
or after October 1, 2023 will cover 2022 tax law. 

 
Tax Preparer Examination 
This is an “open-book” exam consisting of 163 questions. Four hours are provided to complete 
the exam. The exam is mostly true/false and multiple choice, with approximately 19 scenario- 
based mini-problems that require some basic calculations. All schedules, worksheets, and forms 
needed to solve the mini-problems are available on the Board’s website and must be downloaded 
prior to your exam. All documents must be printed double-sided. The 80-hour basic 
tax course provides the information and experience necessary to pass this exam. No prior tax 
preparation experience is required. 

 
Tax Consultant Examination 
This is a “closed-book” exam that contains 200 questions. The only document allowed in the 
exam room is IRS Publication 850. Examinees are given five hours to complete the test. 
Questions are much more complicated and advanced than those in the tax preparer examination. 
The tax consultant exam requires significant experience and knowledge gained from preparing 
personal income taxes over several years. 

 
Enrolled Agent State-Only Examination 
This “closed-book” exam consists of 50 questions with a 90-minute time limit. Only Enrolled 
Agents with valid Treasury Cards are eligible to take this exam. This exam covers Oregon 
personal income tax law and Chapter 800 of the Oregon Administrative Rules, which cover 
licensing requirements and the code of conduct. The only document allowed in the exam is IRS 
Publication 850. 

 
Exam Fees 
There are two fees associated with the Board’s licensing exams. The first is a $60 application 
fee that is payable to the Board with submission of the initial exam application. The second fee 
is an exam administration fee that is paid directly to PSI for each exam scheduled. The exam 
administration fee for the tax preparer exam is $50. The exam administration fee for the tax 
consultant exam or Enrolled Agent state-only exam is $85. Fees are non-refundable and "no- 
shows" will forfeit any fees paid. 
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Exam Applications 
Applications are available on the Board’s website here: 
https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx. It is very important that all fields on the 
application be completed legibly. Incomplete or illegible applications will not be processed. An 
email address is required. 

 
Approvals / Notifications 
Exam applications are typically processed within three business days. You will be notified by 
the Board via email whether your application has been approved or if additional information is 
required. Your approval to sit for an exam is valid for 60 days. You may take the exam as many 
times as necessary within 60 calendar days of the date on your approval email from the Board 
(you must pay PSI for each exam taken). If you have not passed your exam within 60 days, you 
need to re-apply to the Board and pay the $60 application fee. If you have not received a 
response from the Board within four business days of submitting your application, please call the 
Board at 971-701-1544 or email tax.bd@tax.oregon.gov. 

 
Scheduling Your Exam 
Within 24 hours of receiving the Board’s approval notice, you should receive an email from PSI 
with instructions on how to pay for and schedule your exam. PSI has testing centers in the 
following cities: Aurora, Baker City, Bend, Eugene, Independence, Medford, Portland, and 
Wilsonville. Exams can be scheduled online at PSI’s website Test-takers.psiexams.com, or by 
calling PSI at 855-746-8173 (Please call Monday through Friday between 4:30 am and 7:00 pm, 
and Saturday-Sunday between 8:00 am and 2:30 pm, Pacific Time.). Note: the exam fee must 
be paid to PSI before you can schedule an exam. Please contact the Board if you did not 
receive an email from PSI within two days after receiving an approval notification from the 
Board. 

 
Testing Centers 
You should arrive at the testing site 30 minutes before your scheduled exam time. You must 
have a valid government-issued identification or you will not be allowed to test. Arriving 
early will ensure there is ample time to confirm your eligibility, verify your identity, and 
familiarize yourself with the testing procedures. All exams are administered electronically on a 
personal computer. Examinees will receive an overview of the testing procedures, including the 
opportunity to view and answer a few sample questions before the exam begins. 

 
Items Not Allowed in the Exam Room (All Exams) 
• Electronic devices of any type, including cellular or mobile phones, recording devices, 
electronic watches, cameras, pagers, laptop computers, tablet computers (e.g., iPads), music 
player (e.g., iPods), smart watches, radios, or electronic games. 
• Other personal items, including purses, backpacks, and non-transparent bags or containers, 
notebooks, briefcases, wallets, food or drinks. 
• Programmable calculators 

Retake Examinations 

There is no limit on the number of times an individual may retake an examination, and there is 
no waiting period before rescheduling an exam. Applicants within the 60-day Board-approval 
period may reschedule an exam directly with PSI. Applicants outside the 60-day Board- 
approval period must re-apply to the Board and be re-approved before scheduling an exam.

http://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx
mailto:tax.bd@tax.oregon.gov
mailto:tax.bd@tax.oregon.gov
http://www.psiexams.com/
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Tax Preparer Exam Test-Taking Tips 
 

 
Step 1: 144 questions (not including the mini problems)  
 
On your first run-through, read the question, and if you know the answer without looking it up, 
answer it quickly, and move on.  If you don’t know it quickly without looking it up, you may 
make a guess, but don’t dwell on it.  Just mark the question to come back to it later and move on.  
Spend no more than 5-10 seconds on each question.  This will enable you to get a chance to answer 
all the “easy ones” and not run out of time.  
 
At this point, you should be around the half-hour mark. (144 questions @ 10 seconds = 24 
minutes) 

 
Step 2: mini-problems:  
 
There are 19 mini-problems. You will get four to six scenarios, each with three to five questions.  
For example, you may get the details for a Schedule A, and it will ask you what’s on specific 
lines of the Schedule A.  
 
First, skip the scenario and read the question. If it’s only asking about charitable donations and 
medical expenses, there’s no reason to read about the interest and taxes paid, right? Don’t fill 
out the entire schedule if you don’t need to. Only do enough of the problem to answer the 
questions asked.  
 
If you work through a question, and your answer doesn’t match any of the options, don’t dwell 
on it. Pick the answer that’s closest, mark the question for further review, and move on to the 
next one.  
 
Now you should be anywhere between one hour to 1.5 hours in. 
 
Step 3: second pass (whole exam):  
 
Okay, it’s time to go back over the first 144 questions, just looking at the ones you marked to look at 
again. The index and table of contents of the Pub 17s are very helpful at this point. And don’t forget 
to utilize those cheat-sheets we give you, and the back page of the OR-17. And charts and tables, plus 
any notes you took throughout the course.  
 
Once you find the correct answer, select it, unclick the “mark” so you don’t have to go back, and 
move on. You can take more time on each question, but there are still some important rules:  Don’t 
spend too much time on any question. If you’re feeling frustrated by a question, leave it marked and 
move on.  
 
Do the same for the mini-problems. The change in scenery may help you answer some questions you 
missed before. 
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Step 4: final pass: 
 
Okay, we’re on the final stretch. At this point, if you have more than an hour left, AWESOME! 
You’ve got time to stretch a little, maybe grab a quick bathroom break. Now. The ones that are still 
marked: Read those questions very slowly. See what you may have missed the first two times. See if 
you read something in answering other questions that may have helped. Can you eliminate some of 
the questions? See some of the general tips below.  
 
If you have less than an hour, you’ll have to run this last step a little more quickly. I’d do more 
guessing and less careful reading. Look for questions that you think you can find. You’ve read 
everything at least twice now, so you should have a sense of what you know you know, and  what you 
know you don’t know. Try to answer as many of the remaining marked questions as quickly as 
possible. 

 
Step 4: final pass: 
 
• Make sure you’re prepared. Bring everything you’re supposed to bring, and nothing 

you’re not supposed to bring. Double- and triple-check the list of allowed documents.  
Make sure you leave plenty of time to get there. Get a good night’s sleep before, have 
a good meal and stay hydrated. All of these things will help you perform better on the 
exam. 

 
• Don’t spend too much time on any one item. If you come up with an answer that isn’t 

one of the options, don’t dwell on it. Mark it and come back to it later. 
 

• Read each question thoroughly. Don’t dwell on the problem, but don’t skim it, either.  
Many students have found that they missed a problem because they didn’t read it 
carefully, and thought it was asking something else. 

 
• If you can eliminate one or two of the options, guessing is not a bad strategy. There is 

no penalty for wrong answers (a wrong answer is no more wrong than a blank 
answer), so you have a better chance of getting it right if you guess something than if 
you leave it blank. 

 
• We are not trying to trick you. Some of the questions are hard, but they are not 

“gotcha” questions. Every year we try to make the language as clear as possible, 
because we want you to perform well if you know the material. 

 
•  Trust your gut. The answer is often the first thing you think it is. So many students 

change their answer, and then find out they had it right the first time. 
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2023 Tax Preparer Exam Source Documents 

All Questions on the Tax Preparer Exam are based on These Documents 

Federal 
• Publication 17 – Your Federal Income Tax for Individuals 
• Publication 54 – Tax Guide for U.S. Citizens and Resident Aliens Abroad 
• Publication 225 – Farmer’s Tax Guide 
• Publication 334 – Tax Guide for Small Business 
• Publication 463 – Travel, Gift and Car Expense 
• Publication 501 – Dependents, Standard Deduction, and Filing Information 
• Publication 502 – Medical and Dental Expenses 
• Publication 503 – Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
• Publication 504 – Divorced or Separated Individuals 
• Publication 523 – Selling Your Home 
• Publication 524 – Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled 
• Publication 526 – Charitable Contributions 
• Publication 531 – Reporting Tip Income 
• Publication 547 – Casualties, Disasters and Thefts 
• Publication 550 – Investment Income and Expense 
• Publication 551 – Basis of Assets 
• Publication 561 – Determining the Value of Donated Property 
• Publication 575 – Pension and Annuity Income 
• Publication 587 – Business Use of Your Home 
• Publication 596 – Earned Income Credit (EIC) 
• Publication 850 – English-Spanish Glossary of Tax Words and Phrases 
• Publication 936 – Home Mortgage Interest Deduction 
• Publication 946 – How to Depreciate Property 
• Publication 970 – Tax Benefits for Education 
• Publication 974 – Premium Tax Credit 
• Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets) 
• Form 6251 Instructions 
• Form 8615 Instructions 
• Form 8867 Instructions 
• Form 8995A Instructions 

Oregon 
• Publication OR-17 – Individual Income Tax Guide 
• Oregon Income Tax Full-Year Resident Form OR-40 and Instructions 
• Oregon Income Tax Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Form OR-40N and OR-40P 
• OR-A Instructions 
• OR-WFHDC Instructions 
• Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800: 800-010-0015 through 800-030-0050 
• Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673: 673.605 through 673.740 
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2023 Source Documents Allowed in the Tax Preparer Exam 
 

Federal (These may contain notes and highlighting) 
• Publication 17 – Your Federal Income Tax for Individuals 
• Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets) 
• 2023 Quick Reference Sheets (from the Board’s website) 

 
Federal (These must be completely blank with no markings or highlighting 
whatsoever) 

• Form 1040 – U.S. Individual Income Tax Return 
• Form 1040 Schedules 1, 2, and 3 (forms only) 
• Form 1040 Schedules A, B, C, D, E, and SE (forms only) 
• Form 4137 – Social Security and Medicare Tax on Unreported Tip Income 

(form only) 
• Form 8829 – Expenses for Business Use of Your Home (form only) 
• Publication 850 – English-Spanish Glossary of Tax Words and Phrases 

 
Oregon (These may contain notes and highlighting) 

• Publication OR-17 
• Oregon Income Tax Full-Year Resident Form OR-40 (instructions only) 
• Oregon Income Tax Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Form OR-40N and 

OR-40P (instructions only) 
• Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800: 800-010-0015 through 

800-030-0050 
• Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673: 673.605 through 673.740 

 
Oregon (These must be completely blank with no markings or highlighting 
whatsoever) 

• Form OR-40 
• Form OR-40N 
• Form OR-40P 
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Tax Preparer Examination Outline 
 

Federal 
 

How to file -- 10% 
Filing status 
Dependents 
Filing requirements 
Income -- 11.5% 
Earned income 
Tips 
Interest 
Dividends 
Business, farm 
Schedule C Income 
Retirement, pensions 
Rentals Income 
Depreciation 
Social Security Income 
Investment Other income 
Assets -- 8.5% 
Capital/ordinary 
Basis 
Sale of capital assets 
Sale of Stock 
Personal residence 
Adjustments -- 5% 
IRA, SEP, Keogh, simple 
Alimony 
Married Filing Separately 
Student Loan Interest 
Self-employed health-
insurance 
Self-employment tax 
Penalty on early withdrawal 

 
 
 

Itemized deductions -- 10% 
Medical 
Taxes 
Interest 
Contributions 
Casualty 
Credits -- 10% 
Child care 
Health care 
Elderly, disabled 
Earned income 
Education 
Child tax 
Adoption 
Other credits 
Other Taxes -- 2.5% 
Self-employment 
Alternative minimum 
Averaging/lump sum 
Tax computation 
IRAs and other retirement plans 
Other 
Payments -- 2.5% 
Estimated 
Excess FICA 
Other 
Federal and State Mini Problems -- 12% 
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Oregon 
 

How to file – 4% 
Filing status 
Filing requirements, Non- 
resident status 
Additions -- 4% 
Interest 
Taxes 
Other 
Subtractions -- 8% 
Taxes 
Interest 
Military 
Federal pensions 
Social Security/railroad retirement 
Oregon refunds 
American Indian 
Lottery winnings 
Domestic partner benefits 
Special medical 

 
Deductions -- 2% 
Standard 
Itemized 
Credits -- 3% 
Retirement income 
Political 
Working family household an  
dependent care 
Earned income 
Exemptions 
Residential energy 
Other 
Payments -- 1% 
Estimates 
Tax computation 
Tax Payments on Real 
Property Conveyances 
Oregon License Law -- 6% 
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Tax Preparer Examination Sample Questions 
 

1. Ryan is single. His only income is self-employment. Ryan’s business had $15,000 income 
and $20,000 in expenses, creating a net loss of $5,000. Ryan does not have to file a tax return. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
2. Which one of the following children will not meet the age test for a qualifying “child”. 

A. Sally, age 17 
B. Miles, a full-time student age 23 
C. Cory, age 34, who was in an accident that left him permanently disabled. 
D. Susie, age 22, a full-time student for 3 months of the year 

 
3. Louise’s employer forgives her loan of $1,000. Louise will report this as income. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
4. You babysit your sister’s child while she takes classes at the local community college. She 
pays you $1,300 and does not claim the child care credit. Because this is a relative, you do not 
have to declare it as income. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
5. A taxpayer inherits 1,000 shares of stock from her grandmother. The grandmother 
purchased the stock for $1,200. The fair market value of the stock was $1,800 when the 
grandmother passed away. The taxpayer sold all the shares for $6,800. What is the taxpayer’s 
reportable gain? 

A. $3,800 
B. $5,000 
C. $5,600 
D. $5,800 



pg. 14  

6. Which of the following is not deductible on Schedule A? 
A. State income tax 
B. Personal property tax 
C. Property tax on a rental property 
D. Property tax on a personal residence 

 
7. Which is an allowable medical expense? 

A. Funeral expenses 
B. Life insurance 
C. Cosmetic surgery 
D. Stop-smoking program 

 
8. Joe took out a Home Equity Line of Credit for $50,000. He spent the money on the 

following: New carpet ($10,000); New car ($20,000); New roof ($20,000). He paid $350 
in interest. He can deduct the full $350 of interest on Schedule A. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
9. Which of the following is not taxable on a federal return? 

A. Interest on tax refunds 
B. Fair market value of gifts for opening a savings account 
C. US Treasury bond interest 
D. State municipal bond interest 

 
10. You have one child who qualifies for the $2,000 Child Tax Credit. Your tax on Form 

1040, Line 16 is zero. You cannot claim the Child Tax Credit to reduce your tax, but you 
do qualify for a refundable credit of $1,000 - 50% of the qualifying Child Tax Credit. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
11. Generally, estimated taxes do not need to be paid throughout the year if the amount due, 

after applying withholding and refundable credits, is less than $1,000. 
A. True 
B. False 

 
12. A taxpayer is a full-year Oregon resident. She marries a full-year California resident on 

December 31 of the tax year. They will file a joint federal income tax return. They are 
required to file a joint Oregon tax return. 

A. True 
B. False 
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13. A taxpayer earned the interest below. What is the taxpayer’s Oregon addition? 
$500 US Treasury T-Bills 
$20 California Municipal Bond 
$75 City of Chicago, Illinois Bond 
$1,000 City of Portland, Oregon Bond 

A. $95 
B. $595 
C. $1,095 
D. $1,590 

 
14. A taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is composed of the following. What is 
their Oregon subtraction? 

$50,000 Pension 
$15,000 Social Security 
$30,000 Capital Gains 

A. $7,500 
B. $15,000 
C. $45,000 
D. $50,000 

 
15. Sam, 67, and Betty, 61, file a joint return. They have $5,000 in medical bills. They may 
use it all to compute their Oregon special medical subtraction. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
16. Joe and his spouse, Susan, are active duty members of the military and are domiciled in 
Oregon. Joe earned $10,000 out of state and $14,000 in Oregon. Susan earned $3,000 in 
Oregon and $20,000 out of state. What is their Oregon active duty military pay subtraction? 

A. $9,000 
B. $30,000 
C. $39,000 
D. $47,000 
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17. Winnings from the Oregon lottery totaling $600 or less and included in your Federal 
return may be subtracted on your Oregon return. 
A. True 
B. False 

 
18. An Enrolled Agent is authorized to prepare personal income tax returns for valuable 
consideration within the state of Oregon. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
19. A tax professional licensed by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners is typically required 
to have hours of annual continuing education. 

A. 16 hours 
B. 30 hours 
C. 32 hours 
D. 72 hours 

 
20. Licensees may complete their continuing education hours for the prior enrollment period 
after renewing their license. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
21. Pamela's husband left three years ago and she hasn't heard from him since. She and her 4- 
year-old twins moved in with her aunt, where she pays exactly half the cost of utilities and food 
and no rent. Her aunt owns the home. Her filing status is 

A. Single. 
B. Married Filing Separately 
C. Head of Household 
D. Qualifying Surviving Spouse 
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Mini Problem - Schedule A 
George and Stella, both 62, file a joint return. Their adjusted gross income (AGI) totaled 
$82,055 for the tax year. They paid the following expenses: 

$2,857 Medical expenses 
$430 for George’s hospital expenses 
$6,206 Medical insurance premiums 
$19 Over-the-counter vitamins 
$950 Prescribed stop-smoking program for Stella 
$1,784 Gym memberships for George and Stella 
$7,200 Mortgage interest paid to bank 
$3,610 Real estate taxes on their residence 
$500 Contributions to church 
$7,385 Oregon withholding 
$602 Credit card interest 
$215 Federal excise tax 

 
 

22. What is the amount on Schedule A, Line 4? 
A. $4,289 
B. $6,092 
C. $6,154 
D. $10,443 

 
23. What is the amount of deductible taxes on Schedule A, Line 7? 
A. $7,385 
B. $10,000 
C. $10,995 
D. $11,210 

 
 

 
Answer key 
1 = B 
2 = D 
3 = A 
4 = B 
5 = B 
6 = C 
7 = D 
8 = B 
9 = D 
10 = B 
11 = A 

 
12 = B 
13 = A 
14 = B 
15 = B 
16 = C 
17 = A 
18 = B 
19 = B 
20 = B 
21 = B 
22 = A 
23 = B 
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2023 Tax Consultant Exam Source Documents 
Federal 
• Pub. 3 – Armed Forces’ Tax Guide 
• Pub. 17 – Your Federal Income Tax 
• Pub. 225 – Farmer’s Tax Guide 
• Pub. 334 – Tax Guide for Small Business 
• Pub. 463 – Travel, Gift, and Car Expenses 
• Pub. 501 - Dependents, Standard Deduction, and Filling Information 
• Pub. 502 – Medical and Dental Expenses 
• Pub. 503 – Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
• Pub. 504 – Divorced or Separated Individuals 
• Pub. 517 – Social Security and Other Information for Members of the Clergy & Religious Workers 
• Pub. 523 – Selling Your Home 
• Pub. 525 – Taxable and Nontaxable Income 
• Pub. 526 – Charitable Contributions 
• Pub. 527 – Residential Rental Property 
• Pub. 531 – Reporting Tip Income 
• Pub. 535 – Business Expenses 
• Pub. 536 – Net Operating Losses (NOLs) for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts 
• Pub. 537 – Installment Sales 
• Pub. 544 – Sales and Other Dispositions of Assets 
• Pub. 547 – Casualties, Disasters and Thefts 
• Pub. 550 – Investment Income and Expenses 
• Pub. 551 – Basis of Assets 
• Pub. 561 – Determining the Value of Donated Property 
• Pub. 575 – Pension and Annuity Income 
• Pub. 587 – Business Use of Your Home 
• Pub. 590A-Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements 
• Pub. 590B-Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements 
• Pub. 596 – Earned Income Credit 
• Pub. 925 – Passive Activity and At-Risk Rules 
• Pub. 936 – Home Mortgage Interest Deduction 
• Pub. 946 – How to Depreciate Property 
• Pub. 970 – Tax Benefits for Education 
• Pub. 972 – Child Tax Credit 
• Pub. 974 – Premium Tax Credit 
• 1040 Booklet - Instructions 
• Form 6251 - Instructions 
• Form 8615 - Instructions 
• Form 8839 - Instructions 
• Form 8995A - Instructions 
Oregon 
• Pub. OR-17 – Individual Income Tax Guide 
• 2023 Oregon Income Tax Form OR-40 Instructions Full-Year Resident 
• 2023 Oregon Income Tax Form OR-40-N and Form OR-40-P Instructions Nonresident/Part-Year Resident 
• OR-Estimate Instructions 
• OAR Chapter 800 
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Tax Consultant Examination Subject Outline 
 

Federal 
How to file -- 4% 
Filing status 
Filing requirements 
Dependents 
Earned income -- 2.5% 
Wages 
Tips 
Fringe benefits 
Interest -- 2% 
Taxable 
Exempt 
OID 
Dividends -- 2% 
Ordinary 
Nontaxable 
Capital gain 
Business income, deductions -- 8% 
Passive activities, rentals -- 7% 
Farms -- 1.5% 
Pensions & annuities -- 3% 
Social Security -- 1% 
Depreciation -- 4% 
Sales of property -- 16% 
Basis 
Capital assets 
Business property 
Residence 
Installment and repossessions 
Depreciation recapture 
Involuntary conversions 
Nontaxable exchanges 

 
 
 

Continued on next page… 

 
Miscellaneous income -- 3% 
Itemized deductions -- 5.5% 
Medical 
Taxes 
Interest 
Contributions 
Casualty losses 
Miscellaneous deductions 
Credits -- 4% 
Child care 
Child tax 
Earned income 
Education 
Other 
Estimated payments -- 1% 
Self-employment tax -- .5% 
Alternative minimum tax -- .5% 
Other taxes -- 3% 
Lump sum distributions 
Penalties 
Tips 
Household employment 
Net operating losses and 
at-risk amounts -- 1% 
Amended returns -- 1.5% 
Adjustments -- 3% 
IRA, SEP, KEOGH 
Alimony 
Other 
Qualified Business Income Deductions – 
1% 
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Oregon 
 

How to file -- 3% 
Filing status 
Requirements 
Non-residents 
Exemptions 
Additions -- 3% 
Municipal bonds 
Other 
Subtractions -- 4% 
Taxes 
Interest 
Military pensions 
Other pensions 
Other subtractions 

 
 

Deductions -- 2.5% 
Standard deduction 
Itemized deductions 
Oregon medical 
Credits -- 4% 
Political 
Exemption credits 
Retirement 
Working family 
Other 
Payments -- 1% 
Estimated 
Part year/non-resident -- 2% 
Oregon License law -- 5.5% 
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Enrolled Agent State-Only Exam Outline 

 
Oregon 

 
How to file -- 12% 
Filing status 
Requirements 
Non-residents 
Exemptions 
Additions -- 12% 
Municipal bonds 
Other 
Subtractions -- 16% 
Taxes 
Interest 
Military pensions 
Other pensions 
Other subtractions 
Deductions -- 10% 
Standard deduction 
Itemized deductions 
Oregon medical 
Credits -- 16% 
Political 
Exemption credits 
Retirement 
Working family 
Other 
Payments -- 4% 
Estimated 
Part-year/non-resident -- 8% 
Oregon License law -- 22% 
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Tax Consultant Examination Sample Questions 
1. Which of the following fringe benefits is included in gross income? 

A. Free use of company software 
B. Free parking 
C. $25 Walmart gift card 
D. Christmas goose 

 
2. Jacob is a self-employed landscaper. One of his clients offered to exchange a painting for 
Jacob’s services in March. The client paid $300 for the painting, but the two agreed that the 
fair market value of the painting was now $400. Jacob’s other clients paid him a total of 
$17,000 during the year. Jacob’s income from self-employment is: 

A. $17,000 
B. $17,300 
C. $17,400 
D. $17,700 

3. Catherine owns and operates a magazine store at the airport. This tax year she purchased 
$12,000 in magazines for sale. $150 of these magazines were pulled for personal use. $75 in 
magazines were returned for various reasons. Her inventory at the beginning of the year was 
$2,890. Her inventory at the end of the year was $3,010. Her expense for cost of goods sold 
was: 

A. $11,380 
B. $11,655 
C. $11,730 
D. $11,805 

4. Ed, a self-employed sole proprietor, has two separate businesses. One business is in 
accounting and the other is in auto repair. Each business may use a different accounting 
method. 

A. True 
B. False 

5. Excess capital loss may only be carried over for a maximum of 10 years. 
A. True 
B. False 

 
6. A taxpayer lost two cows that were born and raised on his farm. The cows were valued at 
$500 each. The taxpayer may claim a $1,000 deduction on Schedule F for the loss. 

A. True 
B. False 
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7. A taxpayer retired during the tax year and received a total distribution of $10,200 from her 
pension plan. The distribution includes $3,000 from post-tax contributions, $7,000 from 
employer contributions, and $200 of earnings. What is the taxable amount the taxpayer has to 
report on her return? 

A. $200 
B. $7,000 
C. $7,200 
D. $10,200 

 
8. A qualified charitable distribution generally is a nontaxable distribution made directly by 
the trustee of your Individual Retirement Arrangement to an organization eligible to receive 
tax-deductible contributions. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
9. Rob borrowed $10,000 from his employer-sponsored 401(k) plan. He quit his job six 
months later. He is required to do the following: 

A. Pay back the borrowed funds within 90 days 
B. Continue to make payments on the loan until it is paid off 
C. Treat the loan balance as a distribution or pay it back within 60 days 
D. Do nothing 

10. David and Sarah are a married couple who lived together all year. David’s only income is 
his Social Security and a small pension. In addition to her Social Security, Sarah inherited an 
estate from her deceased mother. The couple chose to file separately this year. What 
percentage of David’s Social Security will be subject to tax? 

A. 0% 
B. 50% 
C. 85% 
D. 100% 

 
11. A taxpayer had a rental house for 15 years and then moved into it as his primary residence. 
The taxpayer lived in the house for five years. The home was converted back into a rental this 
tax year. What is the class life of the current rental? 

A. 7 ½ 
B. 12 ½ 
C. 27 ½ 
D. 31 

12. Taxpayers spent $12,000 to upgrade the flooring in the dance studio they lease. 
The taxpayers may elect to use Section 179 on this asset. 

A. True 
B. False 
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13. Taxpayer bought a new executive desk for her Schedule C business. The desk was 
delivered on January 1 of the tax year and it cost $3,000. Assuming the taxpayer does not 
elect out of bonus depreciation and the desk has a seven-year class life, what is the taxpayer’s 
depreciation for the tax year? 

A. $429 
B. $1,500 
C. $1,929 
D. $3,000 

 
14. A taxpayer traded a shipping truck used exclusively for business for a $2,500 trade-in- 
value on a new truck. The adjusted basis in the truck was $1,000. The new business truck’s 
contract price is $26,000. What is the taxpayer’s basis in the new truck? 

A. $24,500 
B. $25,000 
C. $26,000 
D. $28,000 

 
15. A taxpayer has a rental property. What type of asset can the taxpayer use for a like-kind 
exchange? 

A. Rental equipment 
B. A business-use truck 
C. Equivalent value in mutual funds 
D. None of the above 

 
16. A taxpayer sells his commercial rental at a loss. The taxpayer is providing financing for 
the sale. The taxpayer may report the sale as an installment sale. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
17. A married couple sold their principal residence of 10 years for $250,000. They bought the 
home for $135,000. They have an office in the home that takes up 25 percent of the space. 
Depreciation for the office up to the date of sale is $15,000. What are the tax consequences 
of the sale? 

A. $0 of recognized gain per Section 121 
B. $15,000 of unrecaptured Section 1250 gain taxed as ordinary income and $0 
recognized gain per Section 121 
C. $15,000 of unrecaptured Section 1250 gain taxed as ordinary income and $26,250 
in long-term capital gains 
D. $130,000 long-term capital gain 

18. A single taxpayer bought her first home for $200,000. She used it as her primary 
residence for 20 months and was then forced to sell it due to a change of employment. The 
home sold for $240,000 with no expense of sale. What is the taxpayer’s maximum allowable 
excludable gain under Section 121? 

A. $0 
B. $33,333 
C. $40,000 
D. $208,333 
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19. Mary makes quilts for a hobby and sells them to her neighbors and friends. Her sale price 
for one quilt is $100. Her cost of goods sold was $50. How much does Mary report on Schedule 
1, Line 8Z, for the sale of the one quilt? 

A. $0 
B. $50 
C. $100 
D. $150 

 
20. John borrowed $100,000 from Bank USA to purchase a luxury car. In the middle of the 
five-year loan term John loses his job and defaults on the loan. Bank USA cancels the 
remaining $30,000 loan balance, repossesses the car with a $12,000 fair market value, and 
sends him a Form 1099-C for $30,000. How much does John have to claim as taxable income from 
this event? 

A. $0 
B. $12,000 
C. $18,000 
D. $30,000 

 
21. Sam, age 41, withdrew $20,000 from his 401(k) to buy a car. He qualifies for an exception 
to the 10% early withdrawal penalty. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
22. Mary, age 35, withdrew $10,000 from her 401(k) to pay medical bills of $25,000. She may 
qualify for an exception to the 10% early withdrawal penalty. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
23. Social Security received is not used to calculate income for repayment of the Premium Tax 
Credit. 

A. True 
B. False 

24. Which of the following are limitations on the qualified business income deduction? 
A. The type of trade or business 
B. The amount of W-2 wages 
C. A Taxpayer’s taxable income 
D. All of the above 

 
25. If you and your spouse file a federal joint return but each of you has a different residency 
status, you can choose to file two Oregon seperate returns. 

A. True 
B. False 
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26. If you withdraw funds from an Oregon 529 College Savings Network account to pay tuition 
at a K-12 school, you must report the amount used as an addition on Schedule OR- ASC. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
27. If you take the standard deduction on your federal return, you must take the standard 
deduction on your Oregon return. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
28. Jane is claimed on her parents’ return. She can take the Personal Exemption Credit. 

A. True 
B. False 

 
 

Answer Key 
1 = C 
2 = C 
3 = C 
4 = A 
5 = B 
6 = B 
7 = C 
8 = A 
9 = C 
10 = C 
11 = C 
12 = A 
13 = D 
14 = C 
15 = D 
16 = B 
17 = B 
18 = D 
19 = C 
20 = C 
21 = B 
22 = A 
23 = B 
24 = D 
25 = A 
26 = A 
27 = B 
28 = B 
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Applying for Licensure 
 

Applications for licensure may be found on the Board’s website here: 
https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx 

 
Before submitting your license application, you must obtain a Preparer Tax Identification 
Number (PTIN) from the IRS. You may apply for and obtain your PTIN online at the IRS’s 
website here: https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/ptin-requirements-for-tax-return-preparers. 

 
Initial Tax Preparer License Application: Please complete all sections legibly and submit a 
copy of your Basic Tax Course Completion Certificate. If you answer “yes” to any of the 
compliance questions, please call the Board at 971-701-1544 before submitting your application 
to discuss the issue with Board staff and obtain information on what backup documentation may 
be required. The fee for an initial Tax Preparer’s license is $85. All Tax Preparer licenses expire 
on September 30. 

 
Initial Tax Consultant License Application: Please complete all sections legibly. If you 
answer “yes” to any of the compliance questions, please call the Board at 971-701-1544 before 
submitting your application to discuss the issue with Board staff and obtain information on what 
backup documentation may be required. The fee for an initial Tax Consultant’s license is $125. 
However, current Licensed Tax Preparers may obtain a Tax Consultant’s license for $95. All Tax 
Consultant licenses expire on May 31. 

 
Business Registration / Combination License and Registration Application: If you would 
like to operate a tax preparation business, it must be registered first with the Oregon Secretary of 
State and then the Board of Tax Practitioners. You may register your business with the Secretary 
of State here: https://secure.sos.state.or.us/cbrmanager/index#stay. You will need the Secretary 
of State registration number for the Board’s registration application. Also, your business must 
have a Licensed Tax Consultant on site to supervise tax preparation activities. Please contact 
Board staff at 503-378-4034 if you have any questions. There is a $50 discount if you register a 
new business with the Board while applying for individual licensure. All business registrations 
expire on June 15 (except Tax Preparer-owned businesses, which expire on October 15). 

 
If your business will have more than one location (e.g. branch offices), please submit a separate 
branch registration application for each additional office. Also, each location must be supervised 
by a Licensed Tax Consultant. The branch registration fee is $30. 

https://www.oregon.gov/obtp/Pages/Forms.aspx
https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/ptin-requirements-for-tax-return-preparers
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/cbrmanager/index#stay
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