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Introduction
The Oregon working family household and dependent 
care (WFHDC) credit is a refundable credit available to 
low- and middle-income working families with qualifying 
expenses for household services or dependent care. You 
must have paid qualified expenses for one or more qualify-
ing individuals (generally a dependent under age 13, or any 
disabled dependent or spouse) so you (and your spouse, if 
filing jointly) could work, look for work, or attend school. 
The expenses can’t exceed $12,000 for one qualifying indi-
vidual, or $24,000 for two or more; and they can’t exceed 
your earned income if filing as single, or the lesser of each 
spouse’s earned income if filing jointly. For part-year and 
nonresidents, this credit is prorated based upon your Oregon 
percentage, line 35, on Form OR-40-N or Form OR-40-P.

Read the instructions below to see if you qualify, then com-
plete Schedule OR-WFHDC. You must include this schedule 
with your return to claim the credit.

The WFHDC credit is tied to Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
Section 21 (federal child and dependent care credit) with a 
few exceptions. You will need to fill out federal Form 2441, 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses, in order to complete 
this schedule, even if you don’t claim the federal child and 
dependent care credit.

You will need access to our WFHDC online calculator or 
Publication WFHDC-TB to complete the credit computation. 
Both can be found at www.oregon.gov/dor. If you don’t have 
access to the internet, contact us. See “Do you have questions 
or need help?” at the end of these instructions.

Read these instructions carefully. A penalty of up to 25 
percent of the amount claimed may be charged if you 
knowingly claim or knowingly assist someone in claiming 
this credit falsely. The penalty is in addition to the credit 
being adjusted or denied. 

General information
You can claim this credit if all of the following are true: 

1.	 You incurred dependent care expenses so you (and your 
spouse, if filing jointly) could work or look for work. How-
ever, if you looked for work but didn’t find employment, 
and you (including your spouse, if filing jointly) don’t have 
earned income for the year, you can’t claim the credit. The 
expenses may be allowed if you (or your spouse, if filing 
jointly) qualify as a disabled individual or a student. Refer 
to the “Disability” section on page 2 and the “Attending 
school” section on page 3.

2.	 Your filing status is single, head of household, qualifying 
surviving spouse, or married filing jointly. However, if 

your filing status is married filing separately, you may 
qualify in certain circumstances.  See “Married persons 
filing separately” on page 4. 

3.	 The care is for one or more qualifying individuals. 
4.	 The person who provided the care isn't your spouse, the 

parent of your qualifying individual, or a person whom 
you can claim as a dependent. If your child provided the 
care, they must have been age 19 or older by the end of 
2023 and can’t be your dependent.

5.	 Form OR-40 filers, your adjusted gross income (AGI) on 
Form OR-40, line 7, is less than the limit for your house-
hold size. Forms OR-40-N and OR-40-P filers, the greater 
of your federal AGI on Form OR-40-N or Form OR-40-P, 
line 29F, or your Oregon AGI on Form OR-40-N or Form 
OR-40-P, line 29S, is less than the limit for your household 
size.

Household size AGI limit
2 $59,160
3 $74,580
4 $90,000
5 $105,420
6 $120,840
7 $136,260

8 or more $151,680

Definitions

Qualifying individual
A qualifying individual is:

1.	 A qualifying child under age 13 whom you can claim as a 
dependent. If the child turned 13 during the year, they are 
a qualifying individual for the part of the year they were 
under 13. If you were divorced or separated, see “Special 
rule for children of divorced or separated parents” below. 

2.	 Your disabled spouse who wasn’t physically or mentally 
capable of self-care and lived with you for more than half 
of the year.

3.	 Any disabled person who lived with you for more than 
half of the year, wasn’t physically or mentally capable 
of self-care and could be claimed as your dependent, or 
could be claimed as your dependent except:

	 a.	 They had gross income of $4,700 or more;
	 b.	 They filed a joint return; or 
	 c.	 You (or your spouse, if filing jointly) could be claimed 

as a dependent on another taxpayer’s 2023 return.

Special rule for children of divorced or separated parents. 
Even if you can’t claim your child as a dependent, they are 
treated as your qualifying individual if: 

•	The child was a qualifying individual; and 
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•	You were the child’s custodial parent. The custodial par-
ent is the parent with whom the child lived for the greater 
number of nights during 2023. If the child was with each 
parent for an equal number of nights, the custodial par-
ent is the parent with the higher AGI. For details and an 
exception for a parent who works at night, see federal 
Publication 501.

The noncustodial parent can’t treat the child as a qualifying 
individual even if that parent is entitled to claim the child as 
a dependent under the special rules for a child of divorced 
or separated parents. 

Example 1. Hilda and Roberto are divorced with two chil-
dren. The children live with Hilda in her home for more than 
half of the year. The children stay with Roberto on certain 
weekends, holidays, and one month during the summer. 
Hilda pays child-care expenses for 11 months during the 
year. Roberto pays child-care expenses for the one month 
in the summer when the children are with him. Hilda 
releases the exemption for one child to Roberto. Only Hilda 
may claim the WFHDC credit because the children are her 
qualifying individuals. Roberto may not claim the WFHDC 
credit for the month he had the children and worked because 
he doesn’t have a qualifying individual. 

Example 2. Jaxon and Brenda live together but aren’t mar-
ried. They have a child together who lives with them. Based 
upon the special rules for divorced or separated parents, 
Jaxon qualifies to claim the child as a qualifying individual 
(even if he decides to let Brenda claim the child as a depen-
dent). Jaxon will include the child in his household size 
calculation; Brenda will not. They can't split the exemption 
or WFHDC credit.

Disability
An individual is disabled if they are physically or mentally 
incapable of self-care as a result of a physical or mental 
impairment that causes the individual to be incapable of 
caring for their hygiene or nutritional needs, or requires 
full-time attention of another person for their own safety or 
the safety of others. 

The inability of an individual to engage in any substantial 
gainful activity or to perform the normal household functions 
of a homemaker or care for minor children by reason of a 
physical or mental impairment doesn’t by itself establish that 
the individual is physically or mentally incapable of self-care.

If you are disabled, you may still qualify for the credit even 
if you had no earned income. See the "Earned Income" sec-
tion on page 4.

Qualified expenses
Qualified expenses include amounts you paid for house-
hold services and care of the qualifying individual(s) while 
you worked or looked for work. The expenses may also be 
allowed if you (or your spouse, if filing jointly) attended 
school. If your filing status is married filing joint, both of you 

must be working, looking for work or attending school at the 
time the expenses were incurred for the expenses to qualify.  

Generally, if you worked or actively looked for work during 
only part of the period in which you incurred the expenses, 
you must figure your expenses for each day worked. How-
ever, there are special rules for temporary absences or part-
time work. See IRS Publication 503 for more information.

Note: You may be asked for proof that you worked or looked 
for work. You can provide time sheets and pay stubs to show 
when you were working. You can show your efforts to find 
work with written communication from prospective employ-
ers, as well as details about where and when you applied for 
work and the results.

You may include only the expenses you actually paid. Your 
actual expenses can include up to $5,000 ($2,500 if mar-
ried filing separately) of pre-tax dependent care benefits 
described under IRC Section 129. For the purposes of the 
WFHDC credit, the following dependent care benefits are 
considered as being paid by you:

•	Amounts the employer paid directly to you or to the care 
provider for the care of the qualifying individual(s) while 
you worked;

•	The fair market value of care in a daycare facility provided 
or sponsored by the employer; and

•	Pre-tax contributions you made under a dependent care 
flexible spending arrangement (FSA).

Note: The dependent care benefits will be included in the 
total expenses you paid; however, the expense limitation 
($12,000 for one qualifying individual or $24,000 for two or 
more qualifying individuals) will be reduced by the pre-tax 
amount (line 17).

You can’t claim expenses that are paid by someone else, such 
as a state assistance agency, family member, or the child’s 
other parent. 

Qualified expenses don’t include amounts you paid for: 

•	Public or private school (K–12).
•	Summer school or tutoring.
•	Sports.
•	Overnight camps.
•	Child support payments.
•	Food, lodging, gas, or supplies.
•	Late payments and most fees (see federal Publication 503 

for more information).

For expenses for after-school activities and boarding school, 
only the portion that is for dependent care is eligible for this 
credit. The dependent care portion of the expenses must be 
listed separately to qualify. 

Medical expenses. If you itemized your deductions 
for Oregon, some disabled spouse and dependent care 
expenses may qualify as medical expenses. You can use 
these expenses for either the WFHDC credit or as a medical 
expense deduction, but not both. If your expenses qualify 
as both, see the instructions for Schedule OR-A for more 
information. 
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Provider
A provider is an individual or organization that provides 
household services or care for the qualifying individual. 

The person who provided the care can’t be your spouse, the 
parent of your qualifying individual, or a person whom you 
can claim as a dependent. If your child provided the care, 
they must be age 19 or older by the end of 2023, and they 
can’t be your dependent. 

If the provider is a dependent care center, the center must 
meet all applicable state and local regulations. A dependent 
care center is a place that provides care for more than six 
people (other than people who live there) and receives a fee, 
payment, or grant for providing services for any of those 
people, even if the center isn’t run for profit. 

Household services
Household services are services needed to care for the quali-
fying individual, as well as to run the home. They include, 
but aren’t limited to: the services of a cook, maid, babysitter, 
housekeeper, or cleaning person if the services were partly 
for the care of the qualifying individual. Don’t include ser-
vices of a chauffeur or gardener. You can also include your 
share of the employment taxes paid on wages for qualifying 
child and dependent care services.

Care of the qualifying individual
Care includes the cost of services for the qualifying indi-
vidual’s well-being and protection. It doesn’t include the 
cost of food, lodging, education, clothing, or entertainment.

You can include the cost for care provided outside your 
home for your dependent child or for any other qualifying 
individual who regularly spends at least eight hours a day 
in your home. 

You can include amounts paid for items other than the care 
of your child (such as food and schooling) only if the items 
are incidental to the care of the child and can’t be separated 
from the total cost. You can include the cost of a day camp, 
even if it specializes in a particular activity, such as com-
puters or soccer. See "Qualified expenses" in the definition 
section for more information on what can be included.

Proof of qualifying individual’s care expenses
You must be able to prove that you paid qualified expenses 
in order to claim this credit. Legible proof of both the pay-
ment and the receipt are required for each expense paid. 

Note: The level of evidence we require increases when pay-
ments are made in cash or when the provider is a relative 
or someone with whom you have a personal relationship 
with, such as a friend. Those who pay child-care expenses 
by check are generally better able to prove that they paid the 
expenses claimed. Acceptable proof of payment includes, 
but isn’t limited to:

•	Cancelled check (front and back).

•	Money order stub, along with a corresponding bank state-
ment showing the withdrawal.

•	Cashier’s check, along with a corresponding bank state-
ment showing the withdrawal.

•	Duplicate check, along with a corresponding bank state-
ment showing the withdrawal.

•	Bank statement showing the cash withdrawal, along with 
receipts or detailed year end statement. 

•	Electronic history report or statement showing money 
was sent by you, to whom it was sent and indicate what 
the payment was for.

Acceptable receipts must be received at the time of pay-
ment, must match the proof of payment, and must include 
the following: 

•	Qualifying individual’s full name.
•	Dates of care.
•	Date and amount paid.
•	Name of the person or agency paying.
•	Provider’s name, address, and phone number.
•	Provider’s SSN, individual taxpayer identification number 

(ITIN), or federal employer identification number (FEIN).
•	Method of payment (check, money order, cash, etc.).

If you have more than one qualifying individual, be sure the 
information is listed separately for each.

Important: We may ask that your provider fill out Form 
OR-PS to verify the amount you paid. Documents provided 
won’t be returned. Ask for a signed receipt from your pro-
vider each time you pay for care.

Example 3. Mary has two children and works full-time. 
Mary’s friend, Connie, is her child-care provider. Mary pays 
Connie $500 a month in cash. During the processing of her 
tax return, Mary was asked for proof of expenses. She didn’t 
provide receipts or other proof of payment, so her credit was 
denied. Mary filed a written objection and provided receipts 
that Connie filled out after the credit denial. Mary can’t be 
allowed the credit because the receipts weren’t provided to 
her at the time of payment and she has no other proof that 
she paid Connie.

Submitting proof of qualified expenses. If we ask for proof 
of your qualified expenses, you can submit your documents 
online. Visit www.oregon.gov/dor and look for Revenue 
Online. You also have the option to mail your documents. 
Follow the instructions included in the letter requesting the 
information.

Attending school
You (and/or your spouse, if filing jointly) are considered a 
student if you enrolled and attended school as a full or part-
time student in a degree-seeking program and qualified for 
financial aid.  A school doesn’t include an on-the job training 
course, correspondence school, training center or a school 
offering courses only through the internet.   We may request 
a copy of your school records.  

You may still qualify for the credit even if you had no earned 
income. See the "Earned Income" section below.
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In order to qualify as a student, your Oregon AGI on Form 
OR-40, line 7, must be less than the limit for your household 
size.  Forms OR-40-N and OR-40-P filers, the greater of your 
federal AGI on Form OR-40-N or Form OR-40-P, line 29F, or 
your Oregon AGI on Form OR-40-N or Form OR-40-P, line 
29S, must be less than the limit for your household size. 

Household size AGI limit
2 $21,692

3 $27,346

4 $33,000

5 $38,654

6 $44,308

7 $49,962

8 or more $55,616
  

Financial aid. You must have qualified to receive financial 
aid as either a full-time or part-time student. However, to 
qualify, you are not required to have received the financial 
aid. If you do not qualify for financial aid, you cannot claim 
WFHDC for the dependent care expenses when you were 
attending school.  

For more information, see Schedule OR-WFHDC-ST 
Instructions.

Earned income
Generally, the earned income amounts for the WFHDC 
credit are tied to IRC Section 21. Earned income amounts 
are reported on federal Form 2441, lines 4 and 5. If you did 
not qualify for the federal credit because of your non-taxable 
dependent care benefits, your earned income amounts are 
reported on Form 2441, lines 18 and 19. 

Forms OR-40-N and OR-40-P filers, only consider the 
amounts that are taxable to Oregon when calculating your 
earned income. Earned income taxable to Oregon includes 
income earned while working in Oregon as a nonresident 
plus all earned income earned while a resident (if applicable), 
unless the income is exempt from Oregon tax.

Your earned income must be greater than $0 to claim this 
credit unless you (or your spouse, if filling jointly) qualify 
as a student or are disabled.

Disabled. If you’re married filing jointly and you or your 
spouse were disabled, you may count $250 ($500 if two or 
more qualifying individuals were cared for) per month 
towards earned income for each month or portion of a month 
that the qualifications for being disabled are met. These 
amounts are already included in federal Form 2441, lines 
4 and 5 or lines 18 and 19. Only one spouse may qualify as 
being disabled each month.

Married persons filing separately. Generally, married per-
sons must file a joint return to claim the WFHDC credit. If 
your filing status is married filing separately and all of the 
following apply, you’re considered unmarried for purposes 

of this credit and may claim the credit if all other credit 
requirements are met:

•	You lived apart from your spouse for the last six months 
of 2023;

•	Your home was a qualifying individual’s main home for 
more than half of 2023; and

•	You paid more than half of the cost of keeping up that 
home for 2023.

See IRS Publication 501 for information and a worksheet for 
keeping up a home. Note: We may ask for proof that your 
qualifying individual lived with you or that you and your 
spouse lived apart.

Example 4. Andrew separated from his spouse in March. 
He isn’t separated under a divorce decree or separate main-
tenance agreement. Andrew maintains a home for himself 
and Logan, his disabled brother. Logan is permanently 
and totally disabled and goes to an adult care center while 
Andrew is at work.

Andrew can’t claim Logan as a dependent because Logan’s 
gross income is more than $4,700. Because Andrew isn’t able 
to claim Logan as a dependent, and he is still married as of 
the end of the year, he can’t use the head of household filing 
status. Andrew will instead file as married filing separately. 

Andrew is able to claim the credit with Logan as his qualify-
ing individual, even though Andrew uses the married filing 
separately filing status, because: 

•	He didn’t live with his spouse for the last six months of 
the year;

•	He has maintained a home for himself and Logan (a 
qualifying individual) since he separated from his spouse 
in March; 

•	He maintains his own household and provides more than 
half of the cost of maintaining that home for himself and 
Logan; and 

•	Andrew pays an adult care center to care for Logan to 
allow him to work. 

Form instructions
You must complete the entire schedule and submit it with 
your Oregon return. Failure to include a completed schedule 
may result in both a delay and denial of your WFHDC credit. 
Your refund may take longer to process when claiming 
this credit. 

Check the boxes
Attending school. Check this box if you or your spouse, if 
filing jointly, qualify as a student and paid care expenses 
while attending school. We may request a copy of your 
school records. For requirements, see “Attending school” in 
the definition section.

Disabled. Check this box if you’re married and either you 
or your spouse weren’t physically or mentally capable of 
self-care. Only one spouse can qualify as disabled. The 
other spouse must still work or be looking for work. We 
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may request proof of the disability. For requirements, see 
“Disability” in the definition section. 

Example 5. Jean and Glen are married and have three chil-
dren in child care. Jean works full time and Glen doesn’t 
work or attend school and is receiving disability payments. 
Despite his disability, Glen is physically and mentally able 
to care for himself. Jean and Glen can’t claim this credit for 
their child-care expenses because Glen didn’t work, look 
for work, or go to school; and he is able to care for himself.

Section 1—Providers
Enter the provider's full name or  business name and com-
plete address. Enter the rest of the provider’s information. 

If you have more than three providers, fill out and include 
an additional page 2 of Schedule OR-WFHDC. Add the total 
from the additional page onto line 4 of the original page 2.

Provider’s SSN, ITIN, or FEIN. You must enter your pro-
vider’s Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number (ITIN) in the “Provider’s SSN” box or 
enter the Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) in 
the “Provider’s FEIN” box.

If the provider is a tax-exempt organization, leave these two 
boxes blank and have the provider fill out federal Form W-10. 
If you file electronically, submit federal Form W-10 with 
the Oregon return or as a PDF attachment. If you don’t file 
electronically, include federal Form W-10 with your return 
and keep a copy with your records.

Provider’s phone. Enter a daytime phone number for the 
provider. We need a current phone number to contact the 
provider; otherwise, your refund may be delayed.

Qualifying individual to provider relationship code. 
Identify the relationship of the qualifying individual to the 
provider using the code from the relationship code table.

Amount you paid to provider. Enter the total amount of 
qualified expenses (see page 2) you paid in 2023 to the pro-
vider. Don’t include amounts someone else paid for you.

Relationship code table
Title Code Relationships included
Son/Daughter SD Son, daughter, adopted child.
Stepchild SC Stepson, stepdaughter.
Foster child FC Foster child.
Sibling SB Brother, sister, half‑brother, 

half‑sister, stepbrother, stepsister, 
brother‑in‑law, sister‑in‑law.

Parent PT Father, mother, stepfather, 
stepmother, father‑in‑law, 
mother‑in‑law.

Spouse SP Husband, wife.
Grandparent GP Grandmother, grandfather.
Grandchild GC Grandson, granddaughter.
Aunt/Uncle AU Aunt, uncle.
Niece/Nephew NN Niece, nephew.
Other relative OR Son‑in‑law, daughter‑in‑law, cousin, 

etc.
No relation NR Any other qualifying individual.

Section 2—Qualifying individuals
List each qualifying individual in order from youngest to 
oldest. Enter their full name, SSN or ITIN, relationship to 
you (using the codes from the relationship code table), and 
date of birth. Check the box if the qualifying individual is 
disabled. Don’t list anyone who isn’t a qualifying individual 
even if you paid for their care.

If you have more than three qualifying individuals, fill out 
and include an additional page 3 of Schedule OR-WFHDC. 
Add the totals from the additional page onto lines 8, 9, and 
10 of the original page 4.

Lines 5h, 6h, and 7h. Enter the total amount of expenses paid 
for each qualifying individual in lines 5h, 6h and 7h. Include 
all expenses that would be considered a qualified expense 
even if you didn’t pay for them yourself.

Lines 5i, 6i, and 7i. Enter the portion of expenses that were 
paid by someone else on your behalf, such as the Employ-
ment Related Day Care program, a family member, the 
child’s other parent, etc. 

Lines 5j, 6j, and 7j. Enter the portion of total expenses that 
you paid or that were deducted from your salary. These are 
your qualified expenses (see page 2).

Limitation on qualified expenses. Enter the maximum 
amount of expenses that will be allowed on line 16. Enter 
$12,000 for one qualifying individual or $24,000 for two or 
more qualifying individuals. 

The limit doesn’t need to be divided equally between the 
qualified individuals. For example, if you paid $2,000 for the 
care of one qualifying individual and $13,000 for the care 
of another qualifying individual, you can use the total of 
$15,000 to figure your credit. It’s also possible one qualifying 
individual could have no expenses and a second qualify-
ing individual could have expenses exceeding $12,000. You 
should list 0 for the first qualifying individual and the actual 
amount for the second qualifying individual. The $24,000 
limit is still used to figure your credit. 

Example 6. Lois works for a company that offers dependent 
care benefits. She contributes $4,000 pre-tax to a flexible 
spending arrangement. Lois’s employer reports the $4,000 of 
dependent care benefits in box 10 of her W-2. Lois also paid 
$1,000 with after-tax dollars for qualified expenses. Lois will 
enter $5,000 on line 5h for the total expenses. She will enter 
$0 on line 5i and $5,000 on line 5j for the amount she paid. 

Example 7. Thalia receives government assistance to pay 
her child-care expenses. The child-care provider charges 
Thalia $600 per month to care for her qualifying child. Of 
the $600 per month, the state paid $450, and Thalia paid a 
co-pay of $150. Thalia’s credit will only be based upon the 
amount she paid herself. Thalia will enter $7,200 ($600 x 12) 
on line 5h for the total expenses paid. She will enter $5,400 
($450 x 12) on line 5i for the state assistance that was paid 
on her behalf. She will enter $1,800 ($150 x 12) on line 5j for 
the amount she paid. 
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Example 8. Wally and Donna are married and have two chil-
dren, Amy and Jim. Wally works full time. Donna is unable 
to work because of an illness that renders her physically 
and mentally unable to care for herself. A home care worker 
comes to their home daily to take care of Donna while Wally 
is at work. Wally and Donna pay $750 a month for child care 
($450 per month for Amy’s care and $300 per month for Jim’s 
care). They also pay $800 a month for Donna’s care. 

Wally and Donna will enter $5,400 ($450 x 12) on lines 5h and 
5j for Amy’s care. They will enter $3,600 ($300 x 12) on lines 
6h and 6j for Jim’s care. They will enter $9,600 ($800 x 12) 
on lines 7h and 7j for Donna’s care. For their total qualified 
expense on line 8 and line 10, they will enter $18,600 ($5,400 
+ $3,600 + $9,600). 

If you paid for the expenses in a different year than the 
care was provided, claim the credit in the later year in 
which expenses were paid or care was provided. See below 
to ensure you claim the credit in the correct tax year. 

•	If the expenses were paid in 2022 for care provided in 2023, 
claim the expenses in 2023.

•	If the expenses were paid in 2023 for care provided in 
2022, see the instructions for line 28 (under the Section 4 
instructions).

•	If the expenses were paid in 2023 for care provided in 2024, 
claim the expenses in 2024.

•	If the expenses were paid in 2024 for care provided 
in 2023, claim the expenses in 2024, using Schedule 
OR-WFHDC-PR.

Example 9. In December 2023, Jayne pays for the care of her 
disabled mother, who qualifies as her dependent, for the 
services that will be provided in January 2024. Jayne may 
only claim these expenses in 2024, the later of the years in 
which the expenses are paid or the services are performed.

Section 3—Household size calculation
Lines 11–15. Generally, your household size is the number of 
people who qualify as your dependents and can be claimed 
as an exemption on your 2023 Oregon tax return, who are 
related to you by blood, marriage, or adoption, and live in 
your home. 

Household size can include your child for whom you have 
primary custody, even if you allowed the child’s other par-
ent to claim the exemption on their tax return. It can also 
include disabled qualifying individuals who are not related 
to you or whom you couldn’t claim on your return because: 

•	They had gross income of $4,700 or more; or
•	They filed a joint return; or
•	You (or your spouse, if filing jointly) could be claimed as 

a dependent on another taxpayer’s 2023 return.

Household size can also include your spouse, if you: 
•	Filed a joint federal return;
•	Filed separately for Oregon because your residency status 

is different; and
•	Lived together for the majority of the year.

Line 14. Enter the number of people you claimed on your tax 
return who didn’t live with you in your home for more than 
half of 2023. A person can’t be counted in the household size 
calculation on more than one return. 

Example 10. Eduardo and Paula are unmarried and are the 
parents of two children: Vivian and Nicolas. They maintain 
separate households and have joint custody of the children. 
Because the children live with Paula more than half the year, 
they are her qualifying individuals even though she releases 
the exemption for Vivian and allows Eduardo to claim her 
instead. Only Paula may claim the credit based on the child-
care expenses she paid because she is the custodial parent.

Paula’s household size is three (herself and both children). 
She will enter “2” on line 11, “1” on line 12, and “3” on lines 
13 and 15.

Example 11. Justin and Cortney have never been married 
and have two children: Kyle, who lives with Justin all year, 
and Michael, who lives with Cortney all year. In the summer, 
each child spends one month with the child’s other parent 
and sibling. Both Kyle and Michael live with Justin in July 
and both children live with Cortney in August. In addition 
to the child care for the child that lives with them, each par-
ent also has daycare expenses during those months where 
both children are living in the parent’s home.

Justin may claim one qualifying individual because Kyle 
lives with him. He may claim the expenses he paid for 
Kyle. He may not claim the child-care expenses he paid for 
Michael because Michael is Cortney’s qualifying individual, 
not Justin’s. Cortney may claim one qualifying individual 
because Michael lives with her. She may claim the expenses 
she paid for Michael, but she may not claim the child-care 
expenses she paid for Kyle because Kyle is Justin’s qualifying 
child. Justin and Cortney each have a household size of two. 
They will each enter “2” on lines 11, 13, and 15.

Example 12. Jessica and Jay have three qualifying children. 
They also support Jay’s parents who live in Mexico. They 
claim seven exemptions on their tax return. Jessica and Jay’s 
household size is five, because only five individuals live in 
their home. They will enter “7” on lines 11 and 13, “2” on 
line 14, and “5” on line 15. 

Example 13. Dominic and Quentin are brothers. They live 
together with their disabled mother, Jenny. Jenny’s care 
expense for the year is $4,600. Dominic and Quentin each 
pay half of the care expense. Either Dominic or Quentin can 
claim the dependency exemption for Jenny, but not both. 
They agree that Dominic will claim Jenny as his qualifying 
individual; therefore, Quentin can’t claim her. Dominic may 
claim the WFHDC credit based on $2,300 of care expenses 
he paid, and a household size of two. Even though Quentin 
paid for care, he may not claim the WFHDC credit because 
Jenny isn’t his qualifying individual. 

Section 4—Computation of credit
Line 16. If you’re claiming one qualifying individual, enter 
$12,000. If you’re claiming two or more qualifying individu-
als, enter $24,000.
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Line 17. Enter the amount of dependent care benefits as 
reported on federal Form 2441, line 28. Use this amount even 
if you didn’t claim the federal child and dependent care 
credit on your federal return. If this amount is more than 
line 16, you can't claim this credit.

Line 20 and 21. If filing jointly, figure your and your 
spouse’s earned income separately. On line 20, enter your 
earned income as reported on federal Form 2441, line 4. If 
you did not qualify for the federal credit because of your 
non-taxable dependent care benefits, use the earned income 
amount from Form 2441, line 18. Don’t enter any amount less 
than zero. If you were a student, use the Student imputed 
income worksheet below.  

On line 21, if you are filing jointly, enter your spouse’s 
earned income from federal Form 2441, line 5. If you did not 
qualify for the federal credit because of your non-taxable 
dependent care benefits, use the earned income amount 
from Form 2441, line 19. Don’t enter an amount less than 
zero. If your spouse was a student, use the Student spouse 
imputed income worksheet below. If you aren’t filing jointly, 
enter the amount from line 20 on line 21 also. 

Students. If you (or your spouse, if filing a joint return) were 
a full-time student for some part of 5 calendar months dur-
ing the tax year, you are allowed to add $250 (or $500 if you 
have two or more qualifying persons) per month in imputed 
income to the amounts listed on federal Form 2441, lines 4 or 
5.  (See the instructions for federal Form 2441 for more infor-
mation.) If you or your spouse added this imputed income 
to federal Form 2441, lines 4 or 5, complete the applicable 
worksheet(s) below to determine the amount you must claim 
on Schedule OR-WFHDC, lines 20 and 21. 

Student imputed income worksheet:

1.	 Enter the earned income reported on
	 Form 2441, line 4 (or if applicable, Form
	 2441, line 18).	 1.___________

2.	Enter the amount of imputed income
	 for being a student that was included
	 on Form 2441, line 4 (or if applicable,
	 Form 2441, line 18). Do not enter imputed
	 income for being disabled.	 2.___________
3. Line 1 minus line 2. This is your earned
    income. Enter this amount here and on
    Schedule OR-WFHDC, line 20.	 3.___________

Student spouse imputed income worksheet:

1. Enter the earned income reported on Form
    2441, line 5 (or if applicable, Form 2441,
    line 19).	 1.___________

2. Enter the amount of imputed income
    for your spouse for being a student that
    was included on Form 2441, line 5 (or if
    applicable, Form 2441, line 19). Don't enter

    imputed income for your spouse for
    being disabled.	 2.___________
3. Line 1 minus line 2. This is your spouse's
    earned income. Enter this amount here
    and on Schedule OR-WFHDC, line 21.	 3.___________

Line 23. Your credit percentage is based upon your 
household size (line 15), your AGI, and the birthdate of 
your youngest qualifying individual. Form OR-40 filers, 
your AGI is the amount on Form OR-40, line 7. Forms 
OR-40-N and OR-40-P filers, your AGI is the larger of 
line 29F or line 29S on your Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P.  
To determine this percentage, use our WFHDC online calcu-
lator or Publication WFHDC-TB.  You can find the publica-
tion at www.oregon.gov/dor or you can contact us to order it.

Line 25.  If you (or your spouse if married filing jointly) are 
a qualifying student (see Attending School section above), 
complete Schedule OR-WFHDC-ST.  Enter the amount from 
Schedule OR-WFHDC-ST, line 34. Otherwise, enter 0. 

Line 27. Form OR-40 filers, enter the amount from line 26. 
Forms OR-40-N and OR-40-P filers, multiply the amount on 
line 26 by your Oregon percentage (Form OR-40-N or Form 
OR-40-P, line 35). The amount on line 27 will never be more 
than the amount on line 26.

Line 28. If you had qualified expenses for 2022 that 
you d id n’t  pay u nt i l  2023,  you may be  able  to 
increase the amount of credit you can take in 2023. 
To determine your el igibi l ity, complete Schedule  
OR-WFHDC-PR, then enter the result on line 28. Keep Sched-
ule OR-WFHDC-PR with your records.

Example 14. In 2022, Jan and Steve had child-care expenses 
of $4,600 for their disabled 10-year old child. Of the $4,600, 
they paid $4,000 in 2022 and $600 in 2023. Their AGI for 2022 
was $52,000. Steve’s earned income of $20,000 was less than 
Jan’s earned income. Their 2022 WFHDC percentage was 
0.30 (30 percent). A credit for their 2022 expenses paid in 2023 
wasn't allowed for tax year 2022. It is allowed for the 2023 
tax year, but they must use their 2022 WFHDC percentage 
and AGI to compute the amount.

Jan and Steve will enter $180 ($600 x 0.30) on Schedule OR-
WFHDC-PR , line 13 and on Schedule OR-WFHDC , line 28.

Example 15. This is the same scenario as Example 14, except 
Jan and Steve are part-year Oregon residents. Their 2022 fed-
eral AGI was $52,000 and their 2022 Oregon AGI was $41,600. 
Their Oregon percentage is 0.8 (80 percent). 

Jan and Steve will enter $144 ($600 x 0.30 x 0.8) on line 15 
of Schedule OR-WFHDC-PR, line 15 and on Schedule OR-
WFHDC, line 28.

Line 29. Add lines 27 and 28. This is your WFHDC credit 
amount. Form OR-40 filers, enter the result on Schedule OR-
ASC, Section F, using code 895. Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P 
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filers, enter the result on Schedule OR-ASC-NP, Section H, 
using code 895.

Penalty
You may be charged a penalty if you knowingly claim or 
knowingly assist someone in claiming this credit falsely. The 
penalty is up to 25 percent of the amount claimed and is in 
addition to the credit being adjusted or denied.

If you assist someone in claiming this credit, complete 
Schedule OR-WFHDC-CL. This checklist can be found at 
www.oregon.gov/dor/forms. You are responsible for review-
ing the supporting documentation to verify credit eligibility 
and for asking clarifying questions to ensure false informa-
tion isn’t supplied. Also, inform the taxpayer a penalty may 
be assessed if they knowingly claim the credit falsely.

Additional resources
For additional information refer to the following publications: 

•	Schedule OR-WFHDC-ST, Oregon Working Family Household 
and Dependent Care Credit for Students form.

•	Schedule OR-WFHDC-ST Instructions, Oregon Working 
Family Household and Dependent Care Credit for Students 
instructions.

•	Schedule OR-WFHDC-CL, Due Diligence Checklist for 
Claiming the Working Family Household and Dependent Care 
(WFHDC) credit.

•	Federal Form 2441, Child and Dependent Care Expenses, and 
instructions.

•	Federal Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s Identification 
and Certification.

•	Federal Publication 503, Child and Dependent Care Expenses.
•	Federal Publication 501, Exemptions, Standard Deduction, 

and Filing Information.

Do you have questions or need help?
www.oregon.gov/dor
503-378-4988 or 800-356-4222
questions.dor@​dor.oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in other 
languages.


