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General information
Use Schedule OR-A to figure your Oregon itemized deduc-
tions using federal definitions and limitations, with the 
modifications noted in these instructions. Generally, for 
Oregon, you’re allowed the larger of your itemized deduc-
tions or your standard deduction. 

Note: Your Oregon standard deduction will be zero if you 
are married filing a separate return and your spouse item-
izes, or if you are a non-U.S. citizen without permanent resi-
dent status.

If you itemize, you can deduct a part of your medical and 
dental expenses, amounts you paid for certain taxes, inter-
est, gifts to charity, and certain miscellaneous expenses. 
Don’t include items that you deducted elsewhere on your 
federal or Oregon tax return forms or schedules, such as 
Schedule C, C-EZ, E, or F. In some cases, you may have to 
add some deductions back or reduce some income items on 
your Oregon return. See the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
publications referred to in these instructions and Publica-
tion OR-17 for more information.

Medical and dental expenses

In general
You can deduct only the part of your medical and dental 
expenses that exceeds 7.5 percent of the amount of your fed-
eral adjusted gross income on Form OR-40, line 7, or Form 
OR-40-N or OR-40-P, line 29F.

Examples of medical and dental payments  
you can deduct
To the extent you weren’t reimbursed, and with certain lim-
itations, you can generally deduct what you paid for:

•	 Insurance premiums for medical and dental care, includ-
ing Medicare Parts B and D.

•	 Prescription medicines and insulin.
•	 Healthcare professionals, including medical doctors, 

dentists, physical therapists, and psychologists.
•	 Medical examinations, X-rays, laboratory fees, diagnos-

tic tests, and other services.
•	 Hospital care and nursing help.
•	 Ambulance service and other travel costs.
•	 Nicotine cessation, medical weight-loss, and addiction 

treatment.
•	 Hearing aids, eyeglasses, wheelchairs, guide dogs, and 

other medical aids.
•	 Lodging costs and travel for treatment away from home.

•	 Lactation supplies.

Examples of expenses you can’t deduct
•	 Elective cosmetic surgery.
•	 Over-the-counter medications.
•	 Drugs that are illegal under federal law.
•	 Funeral, burial, or cremation costs.

The above lists are not exhaustive. IRS Publication 502, Med-
ical and Dental Expenses, describes the types of expenses you 
can and can’t deduct in greater detail.  It also explains when 
you can deduct capital expenses and special care expenses 
for disabled persons. Note: You don’t have to reduce your 
expenses if you’re claiming the federal credit for business 
or health coverage. 

Whose medical and dental expenses  
can be included?
You can include medical and dental bills you paid in 2023 
for anyone who was one of the following, either when the 
services were provided or when you paid for them:

•	 Yourself and your spouse.
•	 All dependents you are claiming on your Oregon return, 

and any child you can’t claim as a dependent because of 
the rules for children of divorced or separated parents.

•	 Any person you could have claimed as a dependent on 
your Oregon return except that their gross income for 
2023 was $4,700 or more or they filed a joint return.

•	 Any person you could have claimed as a dependent 
except that you or your spouse (if filing a joint Oregon 
return) can be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 
2023 return.

Deceased taxpayer. Certain medical expenses paid out of a 
deceased taxpayer’s estate can be claimed on the deceased 
taxpayer’s final return. See IRS Publication 502 for details.

Coordination with the Working Family 
Household and Dependent Care (WFHDC) credit
Some medical expenses for the care of qualifying persons 
may also qualify as expenses for purposes of claiming the 
WFHDC credit. These expenses can be included in your 
itemized deductions or be used for the WFHDC credit, but 
they can’t be used for both. See “Additions” in Publication 
OR-17 for more information.

Lines 1 through 4

Line 1.  Medical and dental expenses. Enter the total of 
your medical and dental expenses, reduced by any pay-
ments you received from insurance or other sources. 
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Don’t include:

•	 Payments that your insurance company paid directly to 
the provider.

•	 Amounts that were paid through an employer-sponsored 
(cafeteria) plan, unless those amounts were included in 
box 1 of Form W-2.

•	 Expenses that you’re using for the WFHDC credit unless 
you also report any required add back.

Line 2. AGI. Enter the amount from Form OR-40, line 7, or 
Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P, line 29F.

Line 3. AGI threshold. Multiply line 2 by 7.5% (0.075).

Line 4. Medical and dental expense deduction. Subtract 
line 3 from line 1. If line 3 is more than line 1, enter 0.

Coordination with the special  
medical subtraction
If you or your spouse turned age 66 by the end of the tax 
year, and your federal AGI wasn’t more than $200,000 
($100,000 if your filing status is single or married filing 
separately), you may qualify for the special Oregon medi-
cal subtraction. You’ll need the information from Sched-
ule OR-A, lines 1 and 4, when you figure your subtraction 
amount. See “Special Oregon medical subtraction” in Pub-
lication OR-17 for more information. 

Taxes you paid

In general
You may deduct certain state or local income taxes or foreign 
income taxes you paid during the tax year, such as income 
taxes paid to a state other than Oregon, mandatory contri-
butions to certain employment-related programs in other 
states, and taxes on real or personal property located in the 
United States that are based on the property’s value (known 
as ad valorem tax). Income-based taxes paid to a local gov-
ernment within Oregon, such as Portland’s Arts Tax, may 
be deducted because they’re not paid to the State of Oregon.

Limitation on income and property tax 
The total amount of income and property taxes you can 
deduct can’t be more than $10,000 ($5,000 if married filing 
separately). 

Examples of taxes you can’t deduct
•	 Oregon income tax.
•	 Contributions to, or benefits from, Paid Leave Oregon.
• 	Charitable contributions claimed as payments of Oregon 

income tax.
• 	Income taxes paid to another state on which you’re bas-

ing an Oregon credit.
•	 Oregon statewide transit tax.
•	 Federal income tax.
•	 Sales tax.
•	 Tax on real property paid to a foreign country.

•	 Social Security, Medicare, unemployment, or railroad 
retirement tax.

•	 Gift tax.
•	 Estate tax, other than federal estate tax on income in 

respect of a decedent (see below).
•	 Customs duties.
•	 Gasoline tax.
•	 License fees.
•	 Assessments for property improvements.
•	 Taxes you paid for someone else.

Paid Leave Oregon contributions and benefits. Contribu-
tions to Paid Leave Oregon are considered to be a state 
income tax. You can’t deduct contributions you made 
through payroll deductions as an employee or payments 
you made if you’re self-employed. If you received benefits 
from Paid Leave Oregon, you can’t include any portion in 
your itemized deductions. However, you may be able to 
subtract some of the benefits if you’re including the entire 
amount in your federal income. See “Subtractions” in Pub-
lication OR-17 for more information.

Charitable contributions claimed as Oregon tax payments. 
You can’t deduct a charitable contribution for which you 
received an Oregon tax credit as a payment of Oregon 
income tax. See “Gifts to charity” and the “Credits” section 
of Publication OR-17 for more information.

Federal income tax. You can’t claim an itemized deduction 
for federal income tax paid during the tax year. However, 
see “Federal income tax liability” in Publication OR-17 for 
more information.

Income taxes paid to another state on mutually-taxed 
income. If you’re claiming a credit on your Oregon return 
for income taxes paid to another state, you must reduce 
your deduction by the amount of tax paid to the other state. 

Credit and deduction—same year. If you claimed a credit 
on an Oregon return for taxes you paid during this tax year, 
you must reduce your deduction by the amount of the other 
state’s tax liability or the amount you’re deducting, which-
ever is less. 

Example 1: Inga, an Oregon resident, paid $11,000 in 
income tax to Maine and $12,000 in income tax to Arizona 
this year. She’s claiming a credit for the taxes paid to Maine 
on this year’s Oregon return. She had $13,000 in Maine 
tax and $15,000 in Arizona tax withheld from her income 
during the year, for total income taxes paid to a state other 
than Oregon of $28,000 ($13,000 + $15,000). On Inga’s Maine 
return, her net tax liability is $12,000. She reduces her 
Oregon deduction for taxes paid to Maine by $12,000. She’ll 
report $16,000 ($28,000 – $12,000) on Schedule OR-A, line 5.

Credit and deduction—different years. You must reduce 
this year’s deduction for taxes you paid to another state if:

•	 You claimed a credit for taxes paid to the other state on 
an Oregon return for a prior year,

•	 The credit was based on tax you owed the other state for 
the year you claimed the credit, and

•	 This year, you paid the tax that you owed the other state 
for the prior year.
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Reduce your deduction by the smaller of:

•	 The other state’s tax for the year you claimed the credit, or
•	 The amount of the other state’s tax for that year which 

you paid this year.

The total amount of your reduction will equal the total 
amount of tax on which your credit was based.

Example 2: Peggy is an Oregon resident. She owes $3,000 to 
Iowa for 2023 tax on income that is also taxed by Oregon. 
She’s claiming a credit on her Oregon return that is based on 
her $3,000 Iowa tax liability. Peggy had $1,250 in tax with-
held from her Iowa income in 2023. She’s paying the remain-
ing $1,750 in April 2024 when she files her 2023 returns. 
Peggy’s deduction for tax paid to Iowa for 2023 is the $1,250 
in withholding, and if she itemizes in 2024, her deduction 
will be the remaining $1,750. For 2023, her Oregon itemized 
deduction for taxes paid to Iowa is reduced by $1,250, the 
tax she’s deducting on which her credit is based. If she item-
izes in 2024, she’ll reduce her deduction for taxes paid to 
Iowa by $1,750, the remaining portion of the tax on which 
her 2023 credit is based.

See “Income taxes paid to another state on mutually-taxed 
income” in Publication OR-17 for details about the credit. 

Sales tax. Oregon doesn’t allow a deduction for sales tax 
paid. Important: If you made the election on your federal 
Schedule A to deduct sales tax paid instead of income tax 
paid, you can’t deduct income tax paid on your Schedule 
OR-A. (ORS 316.821)

Lines 5 through 11

Line 5. State and local income taxes. Enter the total of the 
state and local income taxes you paid to a local govern-
ment or to a state other than Oregon, reduced as explained 
above for any credits you’re claiming for income taxes paid 
to another state. 

Note: If you deducted sales tax paid instead of income 
tax paid on your federal Schedule A, you must enter 0 on  
line 5. 

Line 6. Real estate taxes. Enter the state or local taxes you 
paid on real estate you own that wasn’t used for business, 
but only if the taxes are assessed uniformly at a like rate 
on all real property throughout the community, and the 
proceeds are used for general community or governmental 
purposes. See IRS Publication 530, Tax Information for Home-
owners, for more information.

Don’t include the following:

•	 Taxes on real property located outside the United States 
or its possessions.

•	 Itemized charges for services to specific property or per-
sons (for example, a flat fee charged by the county for 
mowing a lawn that has grown beyond the permitted 
height).

•	 Charges for improvements that tend to increase the 
value of your property, such as sidewalk assessments.

Line 7. Personal property taxes. Enter the state or local per-
sonal property taxes you paid that were:

• Based only on the property’s value (ad valorem) and
•	Imposed on a yearly basis.

Line 8. Reserved. 

Line 9. Total income and property taxes. Enter the total 
of lines 5, 6, and 7. Don’t enter more than $10,000 ($5,000 if 
married filing separately).

Line 10. Other taxes. List the type and amount of other 
deductible taxes that aren’t already included on lines 5, 6, 
or 7.  

Interest you paid
You may deduct the following interest on Schedule OR-A:
•	 Home mortgage interest. Interest paid on a home 

mortgage that is secured by your main home or sec-
ond home, including first and second mortgages and 
refinanced mortgages, including mortgage points. 
Don’t include interest paid on home equity loans. See 
IRS Publication 936, Home Mortgage Interest Deduc-
tion, for debt and income limits and other information. 
Note: If you had to reduce your deduction on your fed-
eral return because you claimed the mortgage inter-
est credit, you may subtract the reduction amount on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. See “Federal tax  
credits” in Publication OR-17 for more information.

•	 Mortgage insurance premiums. As of the last revised 
date of this publication, Congress had not extended 
the deduction for mortgage insurance premiums for 
tax years after 2021. If Congress extends the deduction 
for tax year 2023, see the 2021 edition of these instruc-
tions for information about claiming this deduction on  
Schedule OR-A.

•	 Investment interest. This is interest paid on money 
you borrowed to buy property held for investment. 
Your investment interest deduction is generally limited 
to the income, after other expenses, from the invest-
ments. Investment interest expense that exceeds the 
investment income may be carried forward to next year.  
Note: If the interest is allocable to income that is exempt 
from Oregon tax, you may have to modify the income 
on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. Unless an excep-
tion applies, if you are deducting investment interest, 
you must complete federal Form 4952, Investment Interest 
Expense Deduction. Keep a copy of this form with your 
tax records; don’t include it with your Oregon return. For 
more information, limitations, and additional require-
ments, see IRS Publication 550, Investment Income and 
Expenses, and the instructions for Form 4952. For more 
information about income with related interest expense, 
see Publication OR-17.

Lines 12 through 17 

Line 12. Mortgage interest and points reported on Form 
1098. Enter the home mortgage interest and points reported 
to you on federal Form 1098, Mortgage Interest Statement.     

Line 13. Mortgage interest not reported on Form 1098. 
Enter the home mortgage interest you paid to a recipient 
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who didn’t provide you with a Form 1098. If the recipient 
was the person from whom you bought the home, enter the 
person’s name, address, and Social Security number (SSN) 
(if an individual) or employer identification number (EIN) 
on the dotted line  next to line 13.

Line 14. Points not reported on Form 1098. Points are shown 
on your settlement statement. You may deduct points paid 
to borrow money but not for other purposes. Points paid to 
refinance a mortgage must be deducted over the life of the 
loan. See IRS Publication 936 for more information. 

Line 15. Reserved.

Line 16. Investment interest. Enter the interest you paid on 
money you borrowed to buy property held for investment. 
Use the amount you calculated using federal Form 4952, if 
applicable.

•	 Don’t include interest paid on money you borrowed to 
buy bonds issued by the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico 
or the territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, Samoa, or the 
Virgin Islands. Income from these bonds isn’t taxable 
by Oregon.

•	 If you’re deducting interest paid on money you bor-
rowed to buy U.S. bonds, notes, or other obligations, 
you’ll need to reduce your subtraction for this income 
on your Oregon return. See “Interest and dividends on 
U.S. bonds and notes” in Publication OR-17 for more 
information.

• 	You’ll have an addition on your Oregon return if you 
have income from bonds and notes issued by another 
state, or political subdivision of another state. The 
income from these bonds and notes isn’t subject to fed-
eral tax, but it is taxable by Oregon. However, you may 
reduce your addition by the amount of related invest-
ment expense that you couldn’t include in your federal 
itemized deductions. See “Interest on state and local gov-
ernment bonds of other states” in Publication OR-17 for 
more information.

Gifts to charity
You can deduct contributions or gifts you gave to orga-
nizations that are religious, charitable, educational, scien-
tific, or literary in purpose, including organizations that 
work to prevent cruelty to children or animals. See IRS 
Publication 526, Charitable Contributions, for limitations 
and other details.

Amounts you can deduct
Contributions can be in cash, property, or certain out-of-
pocket expenses you paid to do volunteer work for a chari-
table organization. Single gifts of $250 or more require a 
written statement showing the amount of cash contributed, 
description of any property you donated, and a description 
and estimated value of any goods or services you received 
in return. Be sure to keep records of all your contributions, 
including pay statements if you made cash contributions 
through payroll deduction, receipts, written statements 
from organizations, and any appraisals or other required 

documentation. Unless directed otherwise, keep all state-
ments and other documentation with your tax records; we 
may ask to see them later. See IRS Publication 526 for AGI 
limits and other restrictions, treatment of gifts for which 
you received a benefit, and additional information.

Amounts you can’t deduct
In general. You can’t deduct such things as political contri-
butions, dues paid to fraternal orders or similar groups, or 
the value of services you performed or benefits you received 
in connection with your contribution. For additional items 
that can’t be deducted, see IRS Publication 526.

Disqualified charities. If a charitable organization doesn’t 
spend at least 30 percent of its annual functional expenses 
for program services, you must add back your contribu-
tions to that organization on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-
ASC-NP. See the Oregon Department of Justice website,  
www.doj.state.or.us/charitable-activities, for a list of orga-
nizations that meet Oregon’s spending requirement. See 
“Additions” in Publication OR-17.

Contributions for disaster relief
Certain contributions made for relief efforts following 
a presidentially-declared disaster are subject to special 
treatment. See IRS Publication 976, Disaster Relief, for more 
information.

Coordination with Oregon tax credits
In general. If you’re claiming an Oregon tax credit that is 
based on contributions you made to a charitable organiza-
tion or fund, you must add back some or all of those contri-
butions if you’re claiming them as an itemized deduction. 

You must add back contributions you made to the follow-
ing if you include any amount as an itemized deduction 
and you’re claiming a credit for those contributions on your 
Oregon return:

•	 Oregon Production Investment Fund (Oregon Film & 
Video Office auction). 

•	 College Opportunity Grant Fund (Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission auction).

•	 University Venture Development Fund (various 
Oregon universities).

•	 Oregon IDA Initiative Fund.

Don’t deduct any charitable contributions that you’re 
claiming as a payment of Oregon income tax on your fed-
eral return.

See “Additions” in Publication OR-17 for more information. 

Lines 18 through 21 

Note: Limits to lines 18, 19, and 20 should be applied on 
each line individually. With limits already applied, line 21 
should be the true total of lines 18, 19, and 20. For limits, see 
the IRS guidelines under “Charitable Contribution Deduc-
tions” on the IRS website or IRS Publication 526.
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Line 18. Gifts by cash or check. Enter the total value of 
the gifts you made in cash or by check, including unreim-
bursed out-of-pocket expenses. 

Line 19. Gifts other than by cash or check. Enter the total 
value of your contributions of property other than by cash 
or check. For used items, such as clothing or furniture, you 
may deduct their fair market value at the time you donated 
them. Fair market value is what a willing buyer would 
voluntarily pay a willing seller for the item. If the amount 
of your deduction is more than $500 (before applying any 
income limits), complete federal Form 8283, Noncash Chari-
table Contributions. Keep a copy of this form with your 
Oregon tax records; we may ask for it later.   For additional 
requirements, see the instructions for Form 8283. 

Line 20. Carryover from prior year. Enter contributions 
that you couldn’t deduct in an earlier year because they 
exceeded that year’s limits. Your total contributions for this 
year, including any carryover amount, can’t exceed this 
year’s limits.

Other miscellaneous deductions
You may deduct certain other items that aren’t deducted 
elsewhere on the return or on other supporting schedules. 
These miscellaneous deductions include claim of right 
income repayments in excess of $3,000, gambling losses, 
and federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent. 
(Note: See these topics below for amounts you may need 
to add back on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.) If you’re 
deducting a casualty loss or theft related to a presiden-
tially-declared disaster, include the amount here. Don’t 
include miscellaneous deductions that are subject to the 
2 percent AGI limitation, such as employee business 
expenses or tax preparation fees. For more information 
about these and other allowable deductions, along with a 
list of items that aren’t deductible, see IRS Publication 529, 
Miscellaneous Deductions.  

Casualty loss from state-declared disaster. See “Subtrac-
tions” in Publication OR-17 if you have suffered a casualty 
loss due to a state-declared disaster. 

Claim of right income repayments.  In some cases, repay-
ments of more than $3,000 in income that you‘d included 
in a prior year’s taxable income under a claim of right may 
be included in miscellaneous itemized deductions. Oregon 
allows a credit for repayments over $3,000 if the income 
was previously taxed by Oregon. If you claim the Oregon 
credit, you must add back your itemized deduction for 
the repayment on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.  See 
Worksheet OR-CRC Instructions for more information. 

Gambling losses. Generally, you may deduct gambling 
losses up to the amount of your taxable winnings. How-
ever, Oregon doesn’t tax winnings of $600 or less from a 
single play or ticket from the Oregon Lottery. If you’re sub-
tracting Oregon Lottery winnings on Schedule OR-ASC or 
OR-ASC-NP, you’ll need to add back your gambling loss 
deduction by the amount of Oregon Lottery winnings that 
aren’t taxed by Oregon. See IRS Publication 529 for more 
information about gambling losses, including recordkeep-
ing requirements. See “Additions” in Publication OR-17.

Federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent (IRD). 
You may deduct federal estate tax that you paid on IRD if 
that income is taxed by Oregon. If only a portion of the fed-
eral estate tax is on income taxed by Oregon, you must add 
back the tax on the IRD that Oregon doesn’t tax. See “Addi-
tions” in Publication OR-17.

Line 22. Other miscellaneous deductions. List the type 
and amount of your miscellaneous itemized deductions, 
and enter the total on line 22. 

Oregon itemized deductions
Line 23. Add lines 4, 11, 17, 21, and 22. Enter the total on 
line 23 and on Form OR-40, line 16, or Form OR-40-N or 
OR-40-P, line 37.

To ensure processing isn’t delayed on your Oregon return: 

•	 Include Schedule OR-A with your return when you file.
•	 Ensure the tax year on Schedule OR-A is the same as the 

tax year  on your return. 

Do you have questions or need help?
www.oregon.gov/dor
503-378-4988 or 800-356-4222
questions.dor@​dor.oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in other 
languages.


