# BEFORE THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS STATE OF OREGON

# for the OREGON DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY ENERGY FACILITY SITING COUNCIL

In the Matter of the Application for a Site	) ORDER CONCLUDING CONTESTED
Certificate for the:	) CASE
	)
SUNSTONE SOLAR PROJECT	) OAH Case No. 2024-ABC-06529

## HISTORY OF THE CASE

On October 8, 2024, the Oregon Department of Energy issued a Public Notice of Proposed Order in the Matter of the Application for a Site Certificate (ASC) for the Sunstone Solar Project. In accordance with ORS 469.370 and OAR 345-015-0230, the Public Notice of Proposed Order provided that any eligible person interested in challenging the Proposed Order must have done so by submitting a written petition requesting party status in the contested case to the undersigned administrative law judge (ALJ) no later than 5:00 p.m. on November 7, 2024.

Now that the opportunity to submit petitions to the ALJ has closed, the following findings and conclusions are based on the record in this matter.

#### **FINDING**

No petitions for party status in a contested case proceeding were received by the November 7, 2024 deadline.

## **CONCLUSIONS AND ORDER**

*Based on the above Finding of Fact and pursuant to ORS 469.370(6):* 

- 1. The prehearing conference, tentatively scheduled for December 5, 2024, and the hearing scheduled in this matter are cancelled;
- 2. The contested case proceeding on the October 8, 2024 Proposed Order is concluded; and
- 3. The October 8, 2024 Proposed Order on the ASC for the Sunstone Solar Project may be forwarded to the Energy Facility Siting Council for its consideration.

Sunstone Solar Project; OAH Case No. 2024-ABC-06529 Order Concluding Contested Case

Page 1 of 5

It is so ordered this  $8^{th}$  day of November 2024.

Kate Triana

Senior Administrative Law Judge Office of Administrative Hearings

### **CERTIFICATE OF MAILING**

On November 8, 2024, I emailed the foregoing ORDER CONCLUDING CONTESTED CASE issued on this date in OAH Case No. 2024-ABC-06529.

By: Email to the following individuals:

Mike Brosnan **Butter Creek Spraying** brosnan19@yahoo.com

Tom Winn Winn Farming, LLC tomwinn0@gmail.com

Carol Dougherty brokenspoke2022@gmail.com manager@cityofheppner.org

Madison Rosenbalm Heppner Chamber of Commerce heppnerchamber@gmail.com

Kevin Payne Morrow Soil & Water Conservation District P.O. Box 127 Heppner, OR 97836

Tony and Gerald Ashbeck buttercreek@eoni.com

kevin.payne@or.nacdnet.net

James Anderson **IUOE Local 701** 555 E. First St. Gladstone, OR 97027 aurora@IUOE701.com John Doherty City of Heppner P.O. Box 756 Heppner, OR 97836

Paul Keefer City of Boardman P.O. Box 229 Boardman, OR 97818 HammondB@cityofboardman.com

Tucker Ruberti SOLV Energy tucker.ruberti@solvenergy.com

Nate Stokes **IUOE Local 701** 555 E. First St. Gladstone, OR 97027 aurora@IUOE701.com

Greg Smith Oregon Legislature P.O. Box 219 Heppner, OR 97836 Rep.GregSmith@oregonlegislature.gov Ken Daniel Blue Mountain Community College Foundation

2411 NW Carden Ave Pendleton, OR 97801 kdaniel@bluecc.edu

Cliff Bentz US House of Representatives 409 Cannon House Office Building Washington DC 20515

rocco.barbieri@mail.house.gov

Don Coats 2918 NW Century Dr Prineville, OR 97754

doncoats@hotmail.com

Ken Flint, TC Energy 201 West River Dr. Suite 505 Spokane, WA 99201 ken flint@tcenergy.com

Tiffany Wilkins **IUOE Local 701 IUOE Local 701** 555 E. First St. Gladstone, OR 97027 aurora@IUOE701.com

Ten Peaks Journal tenpeaksroad@gmail.com Brian and Peggy Doherty 70516 Hwy 207 Lexington, OR 97836 bpdohertyfarm@gmail.com Ken & Carri Grieb Grieb Farms, Inc. 72540 Alpine Lane Lexington, OR 97836 griebs@gotsky.com

Mike McArthur Frontier Advocates 93350 Foss Lane Wasco, OR 97065

frontieradvocates@gmail.com

Rylan Grimes

Daisy Goebel

P.O. Box 40

Kevin Gray Morrow County Grain Growers, Inc.

keving@mcgg.net Boardman, OR 97818

**Torrie Griggs** Boardman Community Development Association P.O.Box 1

torrie@boardmanchamber.org

IBEW Local 112 99504 N. Snively Rd. W. Richland, WA 99535 Rylang@ibew112.com

Senator Bill Hansell Oregon State Senate 900 Court St. NE, S-415 Salem, OR 97301

Sen.BillHansell@oregonlegislature.g

David Sykes Morrow County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 788 Heppner, OR 97836

Irrigon, OR 97844 dgoebel@co.morrow.or.us

Shane Matheny Matheny Properties, LLC 74596 Alpline Lane Lexington, OR 97839 mathenysh@hotmail.com

Brian Doherty 70516 Hwy 207 Lexington, OR 97839 bpdohertyfarm@gmail.com

tmabbott@co.morrow.or.us

Tamra Mabbott Morrow County Planning Department P.O. Box 40 Irrigon, OR 97844 tmabbott@co.morrow.or.us

Morrow County Planning Department

**Todd Cornett** Assistant Director of Siting Division Senior Policy Advisor Oregon Department of Energy Todd.cornett@energy.oregon.gov

Sarah Esterson Oregon Department of Energy Sarah.esterson@energy.oregon.gov

Christopher Clark Senior Siting Analyst Oregon Department of Energy christopher.clark@energy.oregon.gov

Tim McMahan Stoel Rives LLP 760 SW Ninth Ave. Ste. 3000 Portland, OR 97205 tim.mcmahan@stoel.com

Patrick Rowe, Assistant Attorney General Department of Justice Patrick.g.rowe@doj.state.or.us

# By: First Class Mail to the following individuals:

Rep Greg Smith Oregon Legislature 900 Court St. NE, H-482 Salem, OR 97301

Ken Grieb Grieb Farms, Inc. 72540 Alpine Lane Lexington, OR 97839 John Hanner LIUNA Local 737 PO Box 2751 La Pine, OR 97739

Donovan Percifield LIUNA Local 737 175 W Hwy 730 Irrigon, OR 97844

Daniel Percifield LIUNA Local 737 175 W Hwy 730 Irrigon, OR 97844 Elaine R. Albrich and Derek Green Davis Wright Tremaine LLP 1300 SW Fifth Avenue Suite 2400 Portland, OR 97201

Sunstone Solar Project; OAH Case No. 2024-ABC-06529

Order Concluding Contested Case

Page 4 of 5

Nick Edgmon SOLV Energy 2312 E. Faunhill Dr. Eagle, ID 83616 Donald Percifield LIUNA Local 737 17230 NE Sacremento St. Portland, OR 97230 Logan Stephens Pine Gate Renewables, LLC 130 Roberts St. Asheville, NC 28801

Irene Gilbert 2310 Adams Ave. La Grande, OR 97850

George Shimer Boardman Parks & Recreation District P.O. Box 8 Boardman, OR 97818 Mike Alldritt Iron Workers Local 29 145 W. Water St. Lexington, OR

Anesia N Valihov

Hearing Coordinator Office of Administrative Hearings