



550 Capitol St. NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: 503-378-4040 Toll Free: 1-800-221-8035 FAX: 503-373-7806 www.oregon.gov/energy

То:	Energy Facility Siting Council	www.oregon.
From:	Todd Cornett, Siting Division Administrator and Council Secretary	
Date:	June 7, 2024	
Subject:	Agenda Item F (Action Item): Hearing Officer Appointment for Proc Sunstone Solar Project for the June 14, 2024 EFSC Meeting	eedings on:
Attachments:	Order Appointing Replacement Hearing Officer	

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

The Oregon Department of Energy (Department) recommends that the Energy Facility Siting Council (Council or EFSC) appoint Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Kate Triana as the hearing officer for EFSC proceedings for the Sunstone Solar Project.

BACKGROUND

In accordance with Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 345-015-0023 and 345-015-0220, the Department requests that Council appoint a hearing officer to conduct the public hearing for the draft proposed order (DPO) on the Application for Site Certificate (ASC) and the contested case proceeding on the proposed order for the Sunstone Solar Project, a proposed 1,200 megawatts (MW) solar facility, to be located in Morrow County, Oregon. The public hearing on the DPO is anticipated to occur in July or August 2024, following release of the DPO. A contested case proceeding is a required process step by Council's rules for all ASCs and will proceed following release of the Department's proposed order.

HEARING OFFICER EXPERIENCE AND QUALIFICATIONS

ALJ Triana received a bachelor's degree in psychology from Colorado State University, and a J.D. from Willamette University College of Law. She is an active member of the Oregon State Bar. Before joining OAH in 2013, she worked as a law clerk for a solo practitioner and as an adjudicator for the Employment Department. She has extensive experience conducting contested case hearings for OAH with various state agencies, boards, and commissions, including the Department of Human Service, the Oregon Health Authority, the Employment Department, the Oregon Department of Transportation, the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, the Department of Education, the Department of Revenue, the Department of State Lands, the Public Employees Retirement Board, the Department of Forestry, the Department of Consumer and Business Services, the Board of Pharmacy, the Oregon Youth Authority, and the Environmental Quality Commission.