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Proposed Removal-Fill Program Fees in Oregon 

At-a-Glance: Five-Year Fee Schedule 
Program Area Fee Category/Tier Year 1 

July 1, 2025 
60% Cost 
Recovery 

Year 2 
July 1, 2026 

Year 3 
July 1, 2027 

Year 4 
July 1, 2028 

Year 5 
July 1, 2029 
85% Cost 
Recovery 

General 
Authorizations 

Submission Fee  $300   $341   $385   $430   $478  
Revise/Transfer Fee  $50   $66   $82   $99   $117  

Wetland 
Determinations 

On-Site Determinations  $450   $499   $550   $604   $660  
Off-site determinations will continue to be offered at no cost. 

Delineation Reports Tier 1 Report Review  $600   $761   $931   $1,108   $1,295  
Tier 2 Report Review  $1,200   $1,391   $1,592   $1,803   $2,024  
Tier 3 Report Review  $3,500   $3,938   $4,397   $4,879   $5,386  
Report Reissuance  $600   $761   $931   $1,108   $1,295  

Removal-Fill Permits 
Applicant Type 1 

Base Application Fee  $600   $656   $715   $777   $842  
Tier 1  $200   $341   $490   $645   $809  
Tier 2  $400   $551   $710   $877   $1,052  
Tier 3  $3,000   $3,544   $4,115   $4,714   $5,344  
Tier 4  $4,000   $4,594   $5,217   $5,872   $6,559  
Tier 5  $6,000   $6,694   $7,422   $8,187   $8,990  

Removal-Fill Permits 
Applicant Type 2 

Base Application Fee  $1,800   $1,969   $2,146   $2,332   $2,527  
Tier 1  $600   $1,024   $1,469   $1,936   $ 2,426  
Tier 2  $1,200   $1,654   $2,130   $2,630   $3,156  
Tier 3  $9,000   $10,631   $12,344   $14,143   $16,031  
Tier 4  $12,000   $13,781   $15,652   $17,615   $19,677  
Tier 5  $18,000   $20,081   $22,267   $24,561   $26,970  

Removal-Fill 
Permits: Other Fees 

  

Renewal  $400   $446   $495   $ 546   $599  
In-Water Work Variance  $100   $105   $110   $116   $122  
Modification/Transfer  $400   $446   $495   $546   $ 599 
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General Authorizations 
Oregon’s removal-fill law protects wetlands and waters by requiring a permit for most projects that add, remove, or move more than 50 cubic yards of 
material. Some protected areas require permits for activities that add or remove any amount of material. 

Removal-fill projects that are anticipated to have minimal impacts to wetlands and would not result in long-term harm to the water resources of this state 
could qualify for a General Authorization (GA) instead. Activities that would be eligible for a GA are those that cause minimal disturbance within essential 
salmonid habitats, projects that cause temporary impacts to wetlands and waterways, certain over-water structure activities, waterway bank 
stabilization using bioengineering, waterway habitat improvement, wetland ecosystem improvement, and non-motorized in-stream placer mining in 
essential salmonid habitats.  

Program Area Fee Category/Tier 60% - Year 1 
July 1, 2025 

Year 2 
July 1, 2026 

Year 3 
July 1, 2027 

Year 4 
July 1, 2028 

85% - Year 5 
July 1, 2029 

General 
Authorizations 

Submission Fee  $300   $341   $385   $430   $478  
Revise/Transfer Fee  $50   $66   $82   $99   $117  

 
What are the current fees in place? Currently, a $250 flat fee is required if there will be 50 cubic yards or more of removal and fill for Over-Water 
Structures Fill or Removal General Authorizations or Temporary Impacts to Wetlands and Waterways General Authorization. All other General 
Authorizations do not require a fee. Most GAs are provided at no cost to the applicant, which means the Department bears the cost of processing the GA 
notifications received by the Department. 

Proposed fee changes to rule OAR 141-089-0635 include: 

• Proposed fees which will cover the administrative cost of processing a GA notification. These fees were determined by calculating the average 
cost of staff time to process a notification.  

• Notices for voluntary habitat restoration projects that do not require a state permit will qualify for the same submission fee as a GA. 
• Remove language about GA fees from OAR 141-085-0545, to include only in OAR 141-089-0635. 

All rulemaking materials and public comment opportunities can be found at https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/Pages/rulemaking.aspx.  

 

 

  

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors196.html
https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/Pages/rulemaking.aspx
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Wetland Determinations and Delineations 
Wetland determinations identify if potentially jurisdictional wetlands or other waters, such as streams and ponds, are present on a parcel of land. In 
some cases, applicants may ask the Department to conduct an on-site determination. If an area has been determined to contain these wetlands or 
waters, then a wetland delineation report must be submitted. This report is necessary in order to receive a removal-fill permit, and it includes detailed 
mapping and documentation of the size, location and other qualities of the wetlands and waters. 

Program Area Fee Category/Tier 60% - Year 1 
July 1, 2025 

Year 2 
July 1, 2026 

Year 3 
July 1, 2027 

Year 4 
July 1, 2028 

85% - Year 5 
July 1, 2029 

Wetland 
Determinations 

On-Site Determinations  $450   $499   $550   $604   $660  
Off-site determinations will continue to be offered at no cost. 

Delineation Reports Tier 1 Report Review  $600   $761   $931   $1,108   $1,295  
Tier 2 Report Review  $1,200   $1,391   $1,592   $1,803   $2,024  
Tier 3 Report Review  $3,500   $3,938   $4,397   $4,879   $5,386  
Report Reissuance  $600   $761   $931   $1,108   $1,295  

 
What are the current fees in place? Currently, there is no fee for wetland determinations (neither on-site nor off-site), and as a result the cost of staff 
time and travel are subsidized by the statutory Common School Fund. The initial fee for a wetland delineation report review is $575, the cost of a 
resubmittal is $100, and there is no cost for a reissuance. The current fees for delineation reports do not support the time staff spend completing this 
work, some of which can be considerably lengthy due to the size of the study area and wetlands and waters present within the study area. 

Proposed fee changes to rule OAR 141-090-0032 include: 

• Adding a proposed fee for on-site wetland determinations which will cover the staff costs for on-site visits. Off-site wetland determinations will 
continue to be offered at no cost to the applicant.  

• Implementing a new three-tiered fee structure for wetland delineation reports that reflects the administrative cost of reviews based on the size of 
the study area and the area of wetlands present. 

• If the Department rejects a report (for example, technical requirements are not completed, on-site data was not collected, clearly erroneous data 
was included, or incorrect conclusions were made), then the applicant must correct the report and resubmit it as a new report. The current 
resubmittal fee of $100 does not cover the cost of a new review. Under the proposed rules, the new report will require a new tier fee. 

• Reviewed wetland delineation reports are valid for 5 years. A report can be reissued if the delineated boundaries remain unchanged. The 
reissuance of a wetland delineation report is now subject to a fee to cover the cost of reviewing the submitted request.  
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How were the tiers determined? The tiers were determined using staff time tracking for report reviews and wetland area sizes that align with removal-fill 
permits. Learn more in the data analysis and methodology overview (PDF). 

Delineation 
Report Tier Project Criteria 

Tier 1 Delineation report reviews with less than or equal to 0.2 wetland acres. 
Tier 2 Delineation report reviews with greater than 0.2 wetland acres. 
Tier 3 • Delineation report reviews with greater than 0.2 wetland acres, AND 

• The study area is in a west side county and the study area is greater than 
100 acres, OR 

• The study area is in an east side county and the study area is greater than 
200 acres. 

 

All rulemaking materials and public comment opportunities can be found at https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/Pages/rulemaking.aspx    

https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/LawsRulesDocuments/HB2238_Data%20Analysis%20Methodology%20for%20RAC.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/Pages/rulemaking.aspx
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Removal Fill Permits: Individual/General Permits and Emergency Authorizations 
Projects that add, remove, or move more than 50 cubic yards of material in wetlands or waters of this state require either an individual or general permit, 
or emergency authorization. 

• General permits are issued for projects with expected and predictable impacts to wetlands or waters. General permit projects are those with 
activities for transportation-related structures, minor-removal fill impacts, Jackson County vernal pools, maintenance drainage, maintenance 
dredging, and certain ocean renewable energy facilities.  

• Individual permits are issued for projects that do not qualify for a general permit. These are projects with expected substantial impacts to 
wetlands or waters, and may be complicated or involve several instances of removing or filling material.  

• Emergency authorizations are for immediate work needed to prevent irreparable harm to people or property during emergencies or disasters.  
 

Program Area Fee Category/Tier 60% - Year 1 
July 1, 2025 

Year 2 
July 1, 2026 

Year 3 
July 1, 2027 

Year 4 
July 1, 2028 

85% - Year 5 
July 1, 2029 

Removal-Fill Permits 
Applicant Type 1 

Base Application Fee  $600   $656   $715   $777   $842  
Tier 1  $200   $341   $490   $645   $809  
Tier 2  $400   $551   $710   $877   $1,052  
Tier 3  $3,000   $3,544   $4,115   $4,714   $5,344  
Tier 4  $4,000   $4,594   $5,217   $5,872   $6,559  
Tier 5  $6,000   $6,694   $7,422   $8,187   $8,990  

Removal-Fill Permits 
Applicant Type 2 

Base Application Fee  $1,800   $1,969   $2,146   $2,332   $2,527  
Tier 1  $600   $1,024   $1,469   $1,936   $ 2,426  
Tier 2  $1,200   $1,654   $2,130   $2,630   $3,156  
Tier 3  $9,000   $10,631   $12,344   $14,143   $16,031  
Tier 4  $12,000   $13,781   $15,652   $17,615   $19,677  
Tier 5  $18,000   $20,081   $22,267   $24,561   $26,970  

Removal-Fill 
Permits: Other Fees 

Renewal  $400   $446   $495   $ 546   $599  
In-Water Work Variance  $100   $105   $110   $116   $122  
Modification/Transfer  $400   $446   $495   $546   $ 599  
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What are the current fees in place? Currently, applicants are required to pay an application fee based on their classification as either a “Private 
Operator” or a “Public Body/Commercial Operator,” and whether the project is primarily intended for fill or removal. In addition to an application fee, 
applicants are charged a fee based on the amount of removal or fill volume proposed in the project, up to a maximum. The most a removal-fill permit 
currently costs is $1,027 for a private applicant or $1,635 for a public or commercial applicant. For comparison, see the current fees for 2025 here (PDF). 

Current fees do not cover the cost of administering this part of the removal-fill regulatory program, resulting in a significant subsidization of the program 
by the statutory Common School Fund. The proposed fees are expected to reduce the burden on the statutory Common School Fund and accurately 
reflect the amount of staff time to process and issue the permits.  

Proposed fee changes to rule OAR 141-085-0545 include: 

• The proposed fees will continue to differentiate between different types of applicants to account for the size and scope of projects and permit 
applications: 

o Applicant Type 1 applications are single household owners for projects that are not for profit and groups organized for habitat 
improvement for projects that are not for profit.  

o Applicant Type 2 applications are those that do not fall into the Applicant Type 1 categories.  
• A base application fee will be required for each application and covers the administrative costs of the 30-day completeness review. For projects 

that do not require a state permit, applicants will only pay the application fee.  
• Implementing a five-tiered structure that reflects impacts on waters of this state and the complexity and staff time needed to process an 

application. Higher tiers bear more of the cost both within and between cost recovery models. 

How were the tiers determined? The project tiers were created through extensive discussions with Department staff regarding elements that created 
complexity and added review time, as well as elements that reflect impacts on waters of this state. Tiers 1 and 2 are either for environmentally beneficial 
projects or those that have minimal impacts and are less complex to review. Tiers 3 to 5 reflect increasing environmental impacts and elements that 
increase the complexity of review. Learn more in the data analysis and methodology overview (PDF). 

  

https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/wetlands-waters/Documents/RemovalFillFees.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/LawsRulesDocuments/HB2238_Data%20Analysis%20Methodology%20for%20RAC.pdf
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Removal-Fill 
Permit Tier Project Criteria 

Base 
Application 

Fee 

All applicants are required to pay the base application fee at the time of submission. The remainder of project 
costs will be due before the Department issues a permit. 
 
When the Department finds a project does not require an authorization (no state permit required) only the base 
application fee is required. 

Tier 1 To qualify for Tier 1, a project must: 
 
Be for the primary purpose of voluntary habitat improvement of the ecological condition of a water of this state 
but an authorization is required, AND the project will not result in unacceptable individual or cumulative 
environmental effects or long-term harm to water resources of this state. 

Tier 2 To qualify for Tier 2, a project must be: 
 
A) A General Permit for Minor Removal-Fill Impacts to Certain Non-Tidal Wetlands 
 
B) A General, Individual, or Emergency Application that: 

• Does not require compensatory mitigation, OR 
• Permanent wetland impacts are 0.2 acres or less and compensatory mitigation is provided by using 

mitigation banks, in-lieu fee, or payment in-lieu; AND  
• Does not occur in an estuary (tidal waters), essential salmonid habitat, or a state scenic waterway; and 

does not have temporary or permanent impacts to an aquatic resource of special concern. 
Tier 3 To qualify for Tier 3 a project is limited to the following categories and does not include Tier 4 or 5 criteria: 

• Has impacts to wetlands totaling less than 2 acres, OR 
• Has permanent impacts to non-wetland waters, but not both. 

Tier 4 Tier 4 includes projects with the following categories, and does not include Tier 5 criteria: 
 
A) A Department of Environmental Quality Remedial Action Waiver  
 
B) General, Individual, or Emergency Application that meets the criteria listed in Tier 3 AND one or more of the 
following parameters: 

• More than one functional assessment is required. 
• Impacts 2 or more wetland acres. 
• Has temporary or permanent impacts to an aquatic resource of special concern. 
• Impacts, either temporarily or permanently, a compensatory mitigation site. 
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Removal-Fill 
Permit Tier Project Criteria 

• Project site involves an enforcement. 
• Project involves multiple phases (past or future) that need to be considered in the Application review. 
• The project occurs in the Pacific Ocean (Territorial Sea).  
• The project requires a minor exception to the Lower Willamette River Management Plan that is not pre-

approved by the Director. 
• Application (required information) is 150 or more pages. 
• Substantive comments are received and results in a design modification. 
• Requires more than one public review.  
• Application takes more than 12 months to issue due to resolution of project elements or requests for 

extension. 
• Requires formal coordination with other local or state entities, Tribal governments, the federal 

government, and/or other interested stakeholders, such as multiple communications, meeting(s), or 
formal consultation.  

• Requires more than one site visit or coordination meeting with the applicant, either pre- or post-
application submittal. 

• The permit will include an Adaptive Management Plan. 
 
DSL maintains the ability to charge for staff time beyond the project fee listed. If the project occurs in phases, 
DSL has the ability to enter into a contract with the responsible party. 

Tier 5 Tier 5 includes projects that meet one or more of the following of the following criteria: 
 
General, Individual, or Emergency Application that: 

• Requires more than one public meeting. 
• Requires a major exception to the Lower Willamette River Management Plan. 
• Requires a Joint Agency Review Team meeting under the Territorial Sea Plan. 
• Is a new linear facility (as defined in OAR 141-085-0510(53)). 

 
DSL maintains the ability to charge for staff time beyond the project fee listed. If the project occurs in phases, 
DSL has the ability to enter into a contract with the responsible party. 

 

All rulemaking materials and public comment opportunities can be found at https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/Pages/rulemaking.aspx  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=257172
https://www.oregon.gov/dsl/Pages/rulemaking.aspx
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