Fire Policy Committee Minutes
February 22, 2023

The Fire Policy Committee (FPC) of the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training
(Board) held a regular meeting on November 30, at 9:00 a.m. in the Boardroom at the Oregon
Public Safety Academy located at 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, Oregon. The meeting was
called to order at 9:00 a.m.

Committee Members:

James Oeder, Chair, Oregon Volunteer Firefighters Association
Sara Boone (Designee Ryan Gillespie), Portland Fire & Rescue
Darren Bucich, Oregon Fire Chiefs Association

Rose Douglass, Oregon Fire Training Association

Tim Holschbach, Forest Protection Agencies

Mark Kreutzer, Oregon Fire District Director’s Association
Vacant, Oregon State Fire Fighters Council

Andre Lindauer, Public Member

TaiLese Swanson, Community College Fire Programs

Gert Zoutendijk, Oregon Fire Marshals Association

Absent Members:
Mariana Ruiz-Temple (Designee Claire McGrew), Oregon State Fire Marshal
Jim Adams, Oregon State Fire Fighters Council

DPSST Staff:

Julie Olsen, Fire Program Manager

Michael Anderson, Facilities & Fleet Manager
Jennifer Howald, Rules Coordinator

Kayla Ballrot, Fire Certification Supervisor
Brooke Bell-Uribe, Fire Certification Specialist
Julia Budlong, Fire Program Support Specialist

1. Introductions
Introductions of members and staff were presented.



2. *Minutes
Approve the November 30, 2022, Meeting Minutes.

e TailLese Swanson moved that the committee approve the minutes of the November 30,
2022, FPC meeting. Mark Kreutzer seconded the motion. The motion passes
unanimously.

3. *Cantelon, Nicholas E. DPSST #32751
Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

The Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) received an E-1 Application
for Certification Eligibility Form (E-1 Form) for Nicholas Cantelon on September 2, 2021, and
later an application for certification. During their routine background and criminal history check
on E-1 Forms and applications for certification, DPSST staff found Cantelon had criminal
convictions in his history. On February 27, 2018, Cantelon plead guilty to and was convicted of
Assault in the Fourth Degree, Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 163.160(2), and Attempt to
Commit a Class C/Unclassified Felony, ORS 161.405(2)(d), both Class A misdemeanors in the
state of Oregon. These convictions carry a sentence of which more than 30 days but not more
than 364 days may be imposed. The presentation of this case was significantly delayed by the
request for police reports from the Portland Police Bureau which was understaffed and working
through a backlog of records requests.

Due to the misdemeanor conviction which occurred in the last five years and the underlying
conduct that involves violence against a person, this case requires review by the FPC.

Vote/Consensus Second Vote Outcome
Mark Kreutzer moved that the| Andre Lindauer | 9 ayes Motion passes
FPC adopt the staff report as unanimously

the record upon which its
recommendations are based.

be considered as an aggravating circumstance.

The FPC found that nature of the incident being violence against another individual with injury to

The majority of the FPC found that the length of time since the incident took place, letters of
support, and accountability for his actions to be considered as mitigating circumstances.

After considering the totality | Darren Bucich | 9 ayes Motion passes
of the case Andre Lindauer unanimously
made a motion moved to
recommend a vote of No
Action to the Board for
Cantelon’s application for
certifications.




4. *Moore, Skyler DPSST #42135
Presented by Brooke Bell-Uribe

DPSST received an application for certification for Skyler Moore on August 24, 2022. During
their routine background and criminal history check on applications for certification, DPSST
staff found Moore had a criminal conviction in his history. On November 5, 2021, Moore plead
guilty to and was convicted of Reckless Driving, ORS 811.140, a Class A misdemeanor in the
state of Oregon. This conviction carries a sentence of more than 30 days but not more than 364
which may be imposed.

Due to the misdemeanor conviction which occurred in the last five years and the underlying
conduct that involves property damage this case requires review by the FPC.

Vote/Consensus Second Vote Outcome
Gert Zoutendijk moved that | Tim Holschbach | 9 ayes Motion passes
the FPC adopt the staff report unanimously

as the record upon which its
recommendations are based.

The FPC found that his dishonesty with law enforcement, having passengers in the vehicle,
and being under 21 at the time of the incident to be considered as aggravating
circumstances.

The majority of the FPC found that the completion of the diversion program, understanding
the consequences of his actions, and his progress made since the incident to be considered as
mitigating circumstances.

After considering the totality | Andre Lindauer | 9 ayes Motion passes
of the case TaiLese Swanson unanimously
moved to recommend a vote
of No Action to the Board for
Moore’s application for
certifications.

5. * Proposed Rule Changes for Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 259-009-0120
Presented by Jennifer Howald

The Department will open a discretionary professional standards case when a fire service
professional has a conviction that falls within the scope of the standards adopted by the FPC
and the Board in Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 259- 259-009-0120 (3). These standards
include:



e Felony convictions that occur while certified as a fire service professional or within
the 10 years prior to an application for certification; and

e Misdemeanor convictions that occur while certified as a fire service professional or
within the 5 years prior to an application for certification AND the crime or the
underlying conduct have specific elements that are listed in the rule.

The rule does not use the terms “felony” and “misdemeanor” because a crime committed in
another jurisdiction may not be the same classification used in Oregon laws. However, most
jurisdictions use similar sentencing for terms of imprisonment. Felonies usually include
sentencing for more than one year and misdemeanors usually include sentencing for less than
one year.

The current rule language uses “a term of imprisonment of more than 30 days but not more
than 364 days” to identify convictions considered misdemeanors in Oregon and subject to
discretionary review by the FPC. Department staff, in consultation with the Department of
Justice, have determined that as written the following convictions are unintentionally excluded
from review.

e Convictions from a jurisdiction that allows a sentence of 365 days, exactly one year;
and

e Convictions resulting in a sentence of 30 days or less where the crime or the
underlying conduct includes dishonesty or deceit, a sexual offense, a drug offense,
discrimination, destruction of property, a crime against a public agency, illegal use or
possession of a deadly weapon, or violence, abuse or neglect against a person or
animal.

In Oregon, the maximum term of imprisonment for a misdemeanor is 364 days. Other
jurisdictions allow sentences of 365 days. Changing the “not more than 364 days” to “not
more than one year” will correct the unintended exclusion of a conviction occurring in another
jurisdiction that results in a sentence of exactly one year.

In Oregon, a term of imprisonment that is 30 days or less corresponds with a Class C
misdemeanor. In the past, the FPC only reviewed Oregon Class A and B misdemeanors, or the
equivalent from another jurisdiction. In recognition that the current standards consider the
elements of the crime and the underlying conduct, deleting the 30 days from the rule and
allowing review of Oregon Class C misdemeanors, or the equivalent, is not expected to
increase the number of professional standards cases the FPC reviews. This change will allow
consistent application of the standards to all misdemeanor convictions from all jurisdictions.

e The FPC affirms the fiscal impact statement presented by staff.

e Gert Zoutendijk moved to recommend that the Board approve filing the proposed
rule changes for OAR 259-009-0120 as a permanent rule. Mark Kreutzer seconded
the motion. Motion passes unanimously 9 to 0.



6. Agency Updates

Kayla Ballrot Presents:

e Maintenance Re-Certification entered and completed.
e 76 departments did not submit Maintenance Re-Certification documents.

e Fingerprint Audit complete. There will be an FBI Privacy Act Statement attached to
applications for certifications moving forward.

Julie Olsen Presents:

e A welcome to the new FPC Public Member, Andre Lindauer.

e A welcome to the new agency Director, Phil Castle.

e Moving forward with open recruitments for two coordinator positions and one trainer
position.

e Winter Fire School occurring on 2/25-2/26, and Spring Fire School occurring on 4/15-
4/16.

e Recognize Fallen Gresham Fire & EMS Firefighter, Brandon Norbury.

e Recognize Active-Duty Firefighter Death, Greg Backstrom.

e Money still available for delivery of Oregon State Fire Marshal (OSFM) grants.

e Tracking House Bill 2484-Urban Search and Rescue.

7. Next Fire Policy Committee Meeting — May 24, 2023, at 9:00 a.m.
Meeting is adjourned at 10:00 a.m.




