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How to participate

Your camera and microphone will not be on.
Use Q&A to ask questions for presenter to answer.

Use chat function to communicate with other attendees.
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Personal Income Tax



HB 4034: Federal
reconnect date

December 31, 2023

e Static tie: All federal laws not related to
definition of taxable income

* Applies to all programs



SB 1520: New subtractions

Wildfire litigation settlement or judgment:
Income and legal fees
 Civil action arising from wildfire

o Governor-declared state of emergency; or

o Inarea where Emergency Conflagration Act
invoked; or

o Federally-declared disaster

e Declared 2018 through 2025
o Amend 2018 — 2020 by May 15, 2025



SB 1520: New subtractions (continued)

Settlement or judgment income subtraction:
* Included in federal taxable income

* Not for losses, expenses, or other damages for which compensation received
from insurance, etc.

e Subtraction code 312

Legal fees subtraction:
 Amount exceeding 2 percent of adjusted gross income (AGlI)
* Not already deducted
e Subtraction code 313



First-time Home Buyer Savings Accounts
(FTHBSA) — What are they?

e Support first-time home buyers

* Allow contributions and earnings to be
subtracted from Oregon income when filing

state return
* Funds must be used within 10 years

* Addition and penalty for nonqualified
withdrawal



How is the
subtraction changing?

Beginning with 2024, subtraction
limits adjusted for inflation

* New OAR 150-316-0608

and your federal AGl is: then your
maximum
allowable
If your filing but less FTHBSA
status is: At least — than — subtraction is:
0 $149,000 S$11,865
$149,000 $158,000 $9,495
;‘_’I'?"iec' $158,000 $167,000 $7,120
iling
jointly $167,000 $176,000 S4,750
$176,000 $187,000 $2,375
$187,000 or more 0
0 $104,000 S5,935
$104,000 $111,000 S4,750
$111,000 S$117,000 $3,560
All others
$117,000 $123,000 $2,375
$123,000 $131,000 $1,190
$131,000 or more 0




SB 1527: FTHBSA changes

Eliminates requirements for financial institutions

Taxpayers designate account at any financial
institution as FTHBSA

May designate beneficiary to receive funds

One FTHBSA at a time for both taxpayer and
beneficiary

Begins January 1, 2025



Form OR-HOME

* Designate account as
FTHBSA

* Designate beneficiary to
receive funds

* Do not file - keep with tax
records

e Continue to claim
subtraction using code 361



HB 2071 (2023): New credit

Publicly-supported housing (PuSH) sales

 Owner sells PuSH to buyer who agrees to
continue for 30 years

* Buyer reserves credit at Oregon Housing and
Community Services (OHCS)

 Seller claims certified credit — code 875
o Percentage of sale price
o Three-year carryforward
o Prorated for nonresident/part-year

www.oregon.gov/ohcs/rental-housing/housing-development/development-resources/pages/push-seller-tax-credit.aspx



http://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/rental-housing/housing-development/development-resources/pages/push-seller-tax-credit.aspx

HB 2009 (2023): New credit

Semiconductor research
* Research and development activities

* Available to individuals or owners of
pass-through entities

More information from Corporations and
Estates Division



SB 1526: Applicability date corrections

e Short line railroad
e Pass-Through Entity Elective Tax (PTE-E)
e PuSH credit



Other 2024 legislative changes

* SB 1526: Kicker percentage and guidance deadlines
 HB 4010: Physician Assistant changed to Physician Associate

* SB 1595: Increased protections from some types of garnishment



Inflation adjustments for 2024

New: Maximum FTHBSA subtraction:
Married filing jointly (MFJ) (joint account
holders): $11,865

Non-joint: $5,935

Exemption credit: $249
Federal tax liability subtraction: $8,250

Standard deduction:

* MFJ/Qualifying surviving spouse (QSS): $5,495
* Single/Married filing single (MFS): $2,745

* Head of household (HH): $4,420

529 or ABLE deposit credit:

* S360 MFJ

e 5180 all others

Oregon Kids Credit:

* Modified adjusted gross income (AGlI)
phaseout: $25,750

¢ Maximum credit: $1,000
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Tax Education for Students
Department of Revenue (DOR) staff presenting in high schools through spring 2025

Learning objectives:

e Purpose of income tax

How to file a return

How credits and subtractions work
Withholding and Form OR-W-4
How to contact DOR



Direct File Options

Direct File Oregon

Free and secure way to electronically file a
return with DOR

Available for full-year Oregon residents
File both original and amended returns
Available on Revenue Online

For more information, see our Direct File
Oregon webpage: S
www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/individuals/p

ages/direct file or.aspx

IRS Direct File

Free and secure way to electronically file a
return with the IRS

Limited based on income type, credits, and
deductions claimed

If you have a Revenue Online account, you
can transfer your federal return information
to Direct File Oregon to help prepare your
Oregon return

For more information, see IRS Direct File
webpage: www.irs.gov/filing/irs-direct-file
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https://www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/individuals/pages/direct_file_or.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/individuals/pages/direct_file_or.aspx
https://www.irs.gov/filing/irs-direct-file

Questions about Personal Income Tax?



SB 1 (2023)

Voluntary
Self-ldentification
of Race and Ethnicity



Voluntary
Self-
l[dentification
(VSI) overview

ORS 305.686 through
305.688; ORS 316.366

* New form for collecting race and
ethnicity info

e Filed with 2024 returns

* Oregon is first to do this



VS| purpose

* Help understand impact of state tax
policies on all Oregonians

* Inform legislative decisions based on
data



Form OR-VSI

ORS 316.366, 314.688

No name or taxpayer ID
o First four letters on paper - keep
pages together during processing

Uses Oregon Health Authority’s race,
ethnicity, language, and disability
“REALD” categories

Joint filers complete separate forms



Form OR-VSI

Instructions
24 languages



No filing requirement?

ORS 316.366 (3)

Enter information through Revenue Online
* Logged in or non-logged in

No separate paper forms accepted

Use Revenue Online to change information filed with return



VS| data storage

Strict requirements — ORS 305.686
* Form and data not saved with return

e Data matched to return info within
system during processing

Access tracked and limited to:
DOR Research staff with need to know
Other DOR staff by necessity
(mail room, IT, etc.)

Legislative Revenue Office

Office of Economic Analysis




VS| data storage and use

Strict limitations — ORS 305.686

Tax practitioners and software vendors:

* May use and retain data only to extent necessary
to assist taxpayers in preparing and filing returns

e Cannot use or allow use for any other reason

Refer to Code of Professional Conduct for guidance




PRORIBITED uses

ORS 305.686; notes following ORS
305.688

Data cannot be shared with:

* DOR Audit or Collections staff
e “Commercial interests”

 The IRS



VS| data usage

Limited use — ORS 305.687
* Develop racial impact statements

* Analyze proposed administrative rules and
budget requests

* Respond to information requests from
legislature

Data in reports must be:
e Aggregated

* Anonymous



VSl annual report

* Notes following ORS 314.688

* DOR to report to legislature each September:

* Implementation status

* Use of data collected

* Effectiveness of data security measures

* September 2024 report: www.oregon.gov/dor/pages/leg-reports.aspx
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https://www.oregon.gov/dor/pages/leg-reports.aspx

How to help with participation

e Beinformed

e Inform clients

e Respect client’s choice

e Don’t make decisions about participation on client’s behalf
e Ensure clients understand your role and rules about usage

e Share concerns with DOR: orvoluntary.selfid@dor.oregon.gov



Questions about VSI?

www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/individuals/pages/self-

identification.aspx
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Corporations and Estates



SB 498 (2023):
Estate tax exemption

* ORS 118.145

* Natural resource property
* Farming, forestry, or fishing business

* Decedent passed away on or after July 1, 2023

* New OAR 150-118-0115

* Qualifying property, estate
* Transfers
* Material participation

e Contact us: estate.help.dor@dor.oregon.gov



mailto:estate.help.dor@dor.oregon.gov

HB 2009 (2023): New credit

Semiconductor research ORS 315.518 - 315.519
* Increased research and development activities

 Qualified semiconductor business

Based on Internal Revenue Code section 41

Certified by Business Oregon

Tax years beginning on or after 1/1/2024

Five-year carryforward, partially refundable
OAR 150-315-0195

Contact us: corp.help.dor@dor.oregon.gov



mailto:corp.help.dor@dor.oregon.gov

HB 2009 (2023): New credit (continued)

Schedule OR-RESEARCH
Must be filed with return



Questions about Corporations and Estates?



Break time



Agricultural Employer Overtime
Tax Credit



HB 4002 (2022):
Mandatory overtime for
agricultural employees

* Third year of phase-in period

* ORS 653.272: Overtime (OT) must be paid for
hours worked over threshold per week

» Tax credit to offset costs during phase-in
(code 901)

 HB 2058 (2023): Repayable award for qualifying
ag employer (must qualify/apply for credit) —
www.oregon4biz.com



http://www.oregon4biz.com/

About the Agricultural Employer Overtime
Tax Credit

* North American Industry Classification System
(NAICS) code 111 or 112

* Percentage of OT wages paid to qualifying employees
* Decreases over phase-in period

* S55 million total credit available per year

e Apply through Revenue Online in January only
o Set up account early (if don’t already have one)



About the Agricultural Employer Overtime
Tax Credit (continued)

Automatic filing extension for all applicants, not and extension to pay
* Allows time to process applications
* If more than S55 million claimed, all credits reduced
* Letter of Acknowledgment mailed out by June 1

Credit percentage based on industry sector and number of full-time equivalent
(FTE) employees

Credit amount based on OT portion of wages paid for hours worked beyond
threshold by qualified employees



Agricultural Employer Overtime
Tax Credit: Who doesn’t qualify

Workers who don’t qualify:
 Employer’s parent, spouse, child, other immediate family
» Office, retail, other administrative employees
* Individuals described in ORS 653.020 (1) (workers who aren’t subject to state
minimum wage standards)
Employers who don’t qualify:
e Farm labor contractors (FLCs) who don’t have their own farming operation
* No OT wages paid in NAICS codes 111 or 112



Agricultural Employer Overtime

Tax Credit table

Tax credit as a percentage of overtime paid

Vear Overtime More than 26 to 50 FTE* & dairies with Not more than D:qi(r)ireestvr\]/:: ;;)t
threshold 50 FTE* more than 25 FTE* 25 FTE FTE
2023 | 55 hours 60% 75% 90% 100%
2024 | 55 hours 60% 60% 80% 100%
2025 | 48 hours 45% 60% 80% 100%
2026 | 48 hours 30% 50% 60% 100%
2027 | 40 hours 15% 50% 60% 100%
2028 | 40 hours 155 50% 60% 100%

*FTE is full-time equivalent
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Agricultural Employer Overtime Tax Credit
Application

Revenue Online — link available January 1 under Account or View More

Look for the
Application Link or “View More”



What to have on hand

 Tax information

* Information about farming business

o Federal employer identification number (FEIN),
NAICS code, license number

* Employee information
o Number of employees
o Regular and overtime hours worked
o Wages paid for overtime worked
= Over 55 hours per week in 2024



Understanding base wages vs. OT wages

Many applications filed with base wages included in eligible OT wages
OT portion is the .5 of the 1.5 wages

Example:

The regular rate paid to an employee is S15 an hour. Collectively, employees
worked 1,000 regular hours and 100 overtime hours. Overtime is calculated as
S15 (regular rate) times 1.5, which equals $22.50. The overtime portion is
calculated as $22.50 minus $15 = $7.50. The overtime portion is $7.50 times
100 overtime hours, which equals $750. For this question you will enter $750.



Understanding FLC wages

FLC wages included in eligible wages

* Employers that also do business as an FLC included all OT wages

* Hours and OT wages need to be separated if work is not performed on their
farm

* Employers using the FLC will claim the hours and OT wages paid in their
application



Understanding ROL account access

PTE account access

 Must have a prior year tax return, or letter

issued to entity

 PTEs do not have prior year income tax

return
* PTEs need to request an introduction letter

* Mailing time can take a week or more



Application Section F for PTEs

PTE named PTE as recipient of pass-through credit
 PTEs completed Section F, PTE members and shareholders, with filing entity’s
name
 Complete Section F with member or shareholder information only
* |f member or shareholder information not available, file Form OR-TFR



Application attachments section

* You hired or contracted employees with H2A Program
* You contracted with FLCs

* Any documents you would like the department to consider



Submitting your application

e Submit button will become active
e Click submit button



-Or more
information

* Webpage
* Email updates
* Social media

* In-person events
in 2025



Communicating with the agricultural OT Team

Tax credit questions can be sent to: Ag.Overtime@dor.oregon.gov

External Webpage:
www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/ag-overtime

(From our main page, click the Businesses section and follow the link under
Resources)

Subscribe to Agricultural Overtime Update emails: www.oregon.gov/dor

(Under Contact and Follow Us at the bottom of the page)

Wage and hour questions can be sent to: Ag.Overtime@boli.oregon.gov
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mailto:Ag.Overtime@dor.oregon.gov
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http://www.oregon.gov/dor
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Questions about the Agricultural Employer
Overtime Tax Credit?




On the horizon

* Kicker treatment
* Federal changes



Surplus refund (kicker) treatment in rules

Rule amendment in 2024

Credit for income taxes paid to another state — OAR 150-316-0084

e Added kicker to list of items not included in net tax amount



Surplus refund (kicker) treatment in rules

Pending rule amendments in 2025

Surplus refund rule — OAR 150-291-0300
e SB 1526 changed October dates to November
e Last amended 2013 - includes outdated information

* Will be brought up to date with current procedures



Surp
Penc

us refund (kicker) treatment in rules
ing rule amendments in 2025 cont.

Interest on underpayment of estimated tax — OAR 150-316-0493
* Mechanism: Credited to taxpayer or State School Fund by DOR

* Not like ordinary tax credit

* Not included in calculation of required annual payment



Kicker — final notes

Return for 2025 or later: separate section for kicker line
Reminder: Form 1099-G issued in January 2025 if:
 Kicker claimed or donated on 2023 return AND

» Taxpayer itemized on 2023 federal return

Form 1099-G available on Revenue Online



Potential federal changes

Tax Cuts and Jobs Act — 2017
Expire after 2025 or extended?

Direct effect on Oregon taxable income:

 State and local tax deduction (SALT) cap
* Pass-through entity elective tax (PTE-E)
e Suspension of misc. itemized deductions
subject to 2 percent AGI floor

e Subtraction for wildfire
settlement/judgment legal fees



Potential federal changes

Direct effect (continued)

* Limits on personal casualty losses
 State-declared disaster subtraction (2023)

» Suspended overall limit on itemized deductions
* Limit on noncorporate business losses
e Opportunity Zone (deferred capital gains)

* Moving expense deduction/exclusion



Potential federal changes (continued)

Tax Cuts and Jobs Act — 2017

Indirect effect on Oregon taxable income
(federal tax subtraction)

e Zero personal exemption deduction
* |ncreased standard deduction
e Tax rates and brackets

 Child tax credit/credit for other dependents (except
dependents outside United States)

AGlI: Single, MFS < $75,000 MFJ, QSS < $102,000 HH < $90,000



Questions about potential changes?



Do you have questions or need help?
www.oregon.gov/dor

503-378-4988 or 800-356-4222
guestions.dor@dor.oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or
assistance in other languages.
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