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Starting on January 1, 2020, changes to federal tax laws
mean that federal Form W-4 may not provide the correct
withholding for Oregon taxes. Department of Revenue
(DOR) has created Form OR-W-4 to help determine
correct allowances for Oregon. For more information in
this section, see DOR on page 2.

What wages are subject to Oregon
withholding?

e Salaries, commissions, bonuses, wages, tips, fees,
prizes, separation allowances, guaranteed wages pay-
ments, and vacation and holiday pay.

e Payments by a corporation to a corporate officer for
services.

® Remuneration paid in an employer-employee rela-
tionship with spouses, domestic partners, or a parent
and child.

A list of exempt wages can be found in the Oregon
Employer’s Guide.

What form do my employees use to claim
allowances for Oregon?
Form OR-W-4 if they are claiming or changing their

withholding after January 1, 2020 or they revise their
federal Form W-4 after January 1, 2019.

If they’ve filed an “Oregon-only” federal Form W-4 or
Form OR-W-4 before January 1, 2019, they don’t need to
change their allowances for Oregon.

Who needs to file Form OR-W-4?
Employees who:

® Were hired on or after January 1, 2020.

¢ Have had a financial situation change.

* Want to change their withholding amounts.

¢ Want to claim exemption from their Oregon
withholding.

* Have relocated from another state.

Can an employee have different withholding
amounts for state than for federal?

Yes, Form OR-W-4 is for Oregon withholding only. Fed-
eral Form W-4 is for federal withholding.
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How do I calculate withholding tax?

To calculate the amount of tax to withhold from an
employee’s wages:

e Use the Oregon Withholding Tax Tables if:
0 The employee’s wages are less than $50,000 annually,
o The employee’s federal withholding is determined
using a 2019 or earlier federal Form W-4, and
o The employee is claiming the same marital status
and number of allowances for both federal and
state withholding.
e Use the Oregon Withholding Tax Formulas in all other
situations, including computer payroll systems.

If any of the following apply, withhold at 8 percent,
instead of using Form OR-W-4 or federal Form W-4:

* Your employee claims exempt status for Oregon only,

* DOR or IRS tells you not to permit allowances,

® The employee claims an exempt status and the
employer determines the employee does not meet the
exemption requirements provided in OAR 150-316-
0237, or

* The employee’s exemption status expired, and they
didn’t submit a new Form OR-W-4.

You must withhold tax from employee wages (including
draws) at the time employees are paid. Taxes are with-
held and reported in the quarter the employee is paid.

When can an employee claim exempt?

An employee can claim exempt from Oregon withhold-

ing if:

e Their compensation is exempt under a provision of
federal or state law.

® They had a refund of all state income tax withheld
from the previous tax year and expect to have a refund
of all state income tax withheld for the current year.

An employee must provide a new Form OR-W-4 to
claim an exemption for each year. Exemptions expire
on February 15 for the prior year. Exemptions on
IRA’s, annuities, and compensation plans don’t expire
until revoked.

What authority does DOR have to request
employee’s personal information?

DOR is authorized to request information to adminis-
ter Oregon tax laws (ORS 314.425). Oregon law requires
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withholding of tax from the employees” wages by their
employer (ORS 316.167).

What if | receive a Determination letter for an
employee?

A determination letter requires you to withhold based
on the department’s assessment that the employee’s
withholding is materially deficient. You will need to
change the employee’s withholding accordingly. The
employee will also receive a copy of the letter.

The determination stays in effect until you receive a new
determination letter or the employee files a new Form
OR-W-4 increasing their withholding. If the employee
wants to lower their withholding, they need to follow
the instructions included with the Form OR-W-4 for a
re-determination of withholding by the department.

Do | withhold differently for employees who
are nonresident aliens?

Generally, no. However, if the IRS grants the employee
an exemption, DOR will honor the exemption. To
receive an exemption, the employee must file federal
Form 8233 with you. If any portion of the employ-
ee’s wages are not exempt, use the employee’s Form
OR-W-4 elections to withhold on those non-exempt
wages. Advise employees to follow the instructions on
Form OR-W-4.
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Do | withhold differently on IRA’s, annuities,
and compensation plans?

If you pay for commercial annuities, employer-deferred
compensation plans, or retirement plans you must
withhold tax, unless the employee or payee chooses to
have no withholding.

The employee or payee must provide a filed federal
Form W-4P (if filed prior to 2019), or Form OR-W-4
for you to determine the withholding amount, even if
they choose no withholding. Withhold as if the pay-
ments were wages. You must withhold $10 or more per
employee or payee.

Oregon withholding isn’t required for a rollover from
one qualifying plan to another. Oregon doesn’t follow
the federal backup withholding rules for pension and
annuities distributions.

You are required to use a different BIN than your pay-
roll account BIN because these are not payroll wages.
You will need to issue 1099s to employees and payees at
the end of the year and file 1099s electronically through
iWire.

Do you have questions or need help?

www.oregon.gov /dor
503-378-4988 or 800-356-4222
questions.dor@dor.oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in
other languages.
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