Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Requirements for Underground Storage
DEQ Tank Documentation at Inspections

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is required to conduct compliance inspections for every
regulated underground storage tank every three-years. You, as the owner or operator, can help expedite these
inspections by having the required documentation on-site or even providing those records ahead of the on-
site inspection. Missing documentation slows the inspection process and may result in violations with financial
penalties.

While most facilities are similar, it is important for you to understand what is required at your facility at which
the inspection is occurring. Here is a list of information you should have readily available for your facility:

e What is the DEQ facility number:

e What month and year were the tanks installed:

e What month and year was the piping installed:

¢ What model of tank gauge do | have:

e What method of leak detection does my system use

e Have there been any modifications to the system:

e Have there been any repairs to the system:

Now that you have some information about your facility, make sure to gather the required documentation for
the inspector.

In 2015, US EPA updated the rules that govern underground storage tanks. These current rules are intended to
keep tanks from leaking or spilling petroleum into the environment and require new tests on the systems
designed to prevent leaks and spills. Oregon adopted these rules in 2018 and began requiring the current tests
starting on Oct. 1, 2020. Since then, when DEQ inspectors perform a site visit, tank owners and operators have
had to provide documentation of all the required tests.

Required documentation

At a minimum, compliance paperwork must be available at the facility on the date of the on-site inspection.
Owners and operators can send documentation to the UST program before the site visit for inspectors to
review, which may expedite the on-site inspection. If you send the documentation ahead of time or provide it
when the inspector is on-site you must be able to show the inspector the following documentation:

e Monthly tank release detection records (the past 12-months)

e Yearly leak detector testing records (the past 3-years’ worth of records)

e Line testing records (the past 3-years’ worth of records)

e Annual Leak detection operability testing records sometimes referred as the Tank Gauge Certification
(the past 3-years’ worth of records)
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e Annual walkthrough inspection records (all since the last DEQ inspection)

e Triennial spill bucket integrity testing records (the past two testing records)
e Triennial overfill inspection records (the past two testing records)

e Monthly walkthrough inspection record (the past 12-months)

e Class A/B Operator training certificate

e Class C training documentation

e Financial responsibility records

e Documentation of any repairs to the UST system

If you have a metal tank and or piping, you must also provide the past two corrosion testing records. Note:
fiberglass and composite tanks do not require this testing. If your tank is lined, you must provide the last test of
the lining.

Testing documentation must include:

e The date the test was performed

e The testing method

e The details of the test results (measurements, times)
e Whether the test passed or failed

If your system fails a test, you must correct the problem and have the test performed again.

Providing documentation to the inspector

It's best to keep all of your test results on site to have them available during the inspector. Keep in mind,
missing records on the day of the inspection is a violation. But if a particular document is not available, the
inspector may extend the inspection to give you the opportunity to provide the missing documentation within
5 calendar days. After that time, the inspector will make a compliance determination. Missing records may
result in a violation, a penalty and corrective action.

Any documents submitted after that five-day approved extension will instead be evaluated as a
corrective action and may satisfy actions necessary to return to compliance but will not negate the
violation.

When an inspector is on site, they record the condition of your equipment and whether or not you have testing
documentation available. If there are problems with the equipment or the inspector cannot review the testing
documentation, these are violations that can lead to enforcement and penalty.

Contact

Diana Foss (she/her)

Senior Policy Analyst, Underground Storage Tanks

DEQ Headquarters, Land Quality Division

700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite 600, Portland OR 97232-4100
Phone 503-869-0770

Non-discrimination statement
DEQ does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age or sex in administration of
its programs or activities. Visit DEQ’s Civil Rights and Environmental Justice page.
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