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414-210-0100  Definitions  

The following words and terms within these rules have the following meanings: 

(1) "Applicant" means an individual who submits the child care license application to operate 
a registered family child care in their home and in whose name the registration will be 
issued. 

(2) "Behavior and Guidance" means the on‐going process of helping children develop self-
regulation and assume responsibility for their own behaviors and actions. 

(3) "Business Day" means Monday through Friday, but does not include any holiday as 
defined by ORS 187.010 and ORS 189.020, or any day that the central office of CCLD is 
closed. 

(4) "Capacity" means the total number of children allowed in care at the registered family 
child care or in care away from the home at any one time. 

(5) “Caregiver” means any person, including the provider, who cares for the children in the 
registered family child care home and works directly with the children, providing care, 
supervision and guidance. 

(6) "CBR" (Central Background Registry) means CCLD’s Registry of individuals who have 
been approved to be associated with a child care facility in Oregon pursuant to ORS 
329A.030 and OAR 414‐061‐0000 through 414‐061‐0120. 

(a) "CBR Enrollment" means approval for a five year period to be enrolled in the CBR 
following an Oregon State Police criminal records check, child abuse and neglect 
records check, checks of adult protective services and foster care certification, and 
an FBI records check. 

(b) "CBR Conditional Enrollment" means temporary approval to be enrolled in the CBR 
following an Oregon State Police records check and child abuse and neglect 
records check but prior to receipt by CCLD of the results of the required FBI records 
check. 

(7) "CCLD" means the Child Care Licensing Division in the Department of Early Learning and 
Care. 

(8) "Child Care" means the care, supervision, and guidance on a regular basis of a child, 
unaccompanied by a parent, guardian, or custodial parent, during a part of the 24 hours 
of the day, with or without compensation. 

(9) “Child Care Child” means any child six weeks of age or older and under 13 years of age, 
or a child who is under the age of 18 with special needs or disabilities and who requires a 
level of care that is above normal for the child’s age, for whom the provider has 
supervisory responsibility in the temporary absence of the parent.  

(10) "Child with Specific Needs" means a child who requires specialized supports or other 
accommodations including some adaptation of the registered family child care's 
standard program of care, activities or equipment to accommodate a physical, 
developmental, behavioral, mental or medical condition or disability which is either 
permanent or temporary. 

(11) “Civil Penalty” means a fine imposed by CCLD on a provider for violation of these rules. 
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(12) "DELC" means the Department of Early Learning and Care. 

(13) "Developmentally Appropriate" means: 

(a) Caregivers interact with each child in a way that respects the child’s unique abilities; 

(b) Caregivers have knowledge about how children grow and learn; 

(c) Activities, materials, and curriculum reflect the interests and abilities of a specific 
child or group of children being served; and 

(d) Equipment is appropriately sized or adapted so that each child can participate fully 
and safely. 

(14) "Disinfect" means to destroy or inactivate all germs from an inanimate surface. 
Disinfecting involves cleaning and rinsing the surface, by the followed by applying a 
disinfectant, such as: 

(a) A chlorine and water solution following the manufacturer's instructions; or 

(b) An EPA registered disinfectant, used according to the manufacturer's  instructions 
including, correct concentrations, contact time, drying or rinsing requirements and 
suitability for the surface.  

(15) "Family" means a group of individuals related by blood, marriage or adoption, or 
individuals whose functional relationships are like those found in such associations. 

(16) "Field Trip" means an excursion or program activity with a specific destination away from 
the home that begins when caregivers and children leave the premises, whether by 
vehicle or by walking. It does not include neighborhood walks, routine school or home 
pick-up and drop-offs provided by the registered family child care. 

(17) "Fire Code Official" means a Fire Inspector II, Fire Marshal, Deputy State Fire Marshal or 
designated person defined by ORS 476.030, ORS 476.060 and OAR 837-039-0016. 

(18) "Hazard" means anything that may inflict injury or cause harm. 

(19) "Inaccessible to children" means method to prevent a child from reaching, entering, 
using or getting to items, areas, or materials of a registered family child care by one or 
more of the following means: 

(a) Secured with a child safety device, such as a child safety cupboard lock or 
doorknob device: 

(A) A device specifically manufactured as a child safety product; or 

(B) For a product not manufactured as a child safety product, the device must 
have a multi-step opening process, or require two hands to open. 

(b) Locked, such as in a locked room, cupboard, or drawer; or locks that do not use a 
key or combination, such as a deadbolt or hook-and-eye latch, only if they are 
installed at least 60 inches high; 

(c) Behind a properly secured child safety gate; or 

(d) In a cupboard or on a shelf that is not within reach of any surface from where a 
child could stand or climb. 
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(20) "Infant" means a child who is 6 weeks to 12 months of age. 

(21) "Infestation" means the invasion of insects and worms that causes a disease to the host. 
These insects can be mites, ticks, fleas or lice. Worms can be roundworms, pinworms, 
flatworms or other helminths. 

(22) "License" means the document that is issued by CCLD to a registered family child care. A 
license may also be referred to as a registration. 

(23) "Licensing period" means the 24 months for which a registered family child care license is 
issued.  

(a) For an initial license, the licensing period begins the day the regular license is issued 
and ends the same day two years after. For example, if a registered family child 
care is issued a license on July 6, 2024, the licensing period is July 6, 2024 through 
July 6, 2026. 

(b) For a renewal license for which the provider submitted a timely renewal 
application, the licensing period begins the day the prior licensing  period ended 
and ends the same day two years after, regardless of the date the renewal license 
is issued, unless the provider and CCLD agree to change the licensing period to 
begin on a different date.  

(24) "Lockdown" means restricted to an interior room with few or no windows while the 
facility or building is secured from a threat. 

(25) "New Application" means a registration application that has been filed by an applicant 
who has never had an active registration. 

(26) "Night Care" means care given between 9:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. or when any enrolled 
child sleeps for more than 3 hours at the registered family child care. 

(27) "Oregon Registry" means the voluntary registry at the Oregon Center for Career 
Development in Childhood Care and Education at Portland State University that 
documents the training, education and experience of individuals who work in childhood 
care and education. 

(28) "Oregon Registry Online" (ORO) means the statewide database that stores all submitted 
training and education to be verified for use by CCLD. 

(29) "Parent" means a child’s parent, a guardian, or a person 18 years of age or older with 
supervisory responsibility of the child in the absence of the child’s parent. 

(30) "Physical Restraint" means purposely limiting or obstructing the freedom of a person's 
bodily movement. Physical restraint does not include: 

(a) Holding a child to comfort the child when in distress; 

(b) Holding a child to move them safely from one area to another without the use of 
force (e.g. redirecting a toddler to another activity); 

(c) Assisting a child to complete a task, if the child does not resist the physical contact 
(helping a child to tie their shoe or hold a pencil or tool, bottle feeding, etc.); or 

(d) Any prohibited discipline or action listed in OAR 414-210-0710. 
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(31) "Play yard" means a framed enclosure with mesh or fabric sides. A play yard is intended 
for sleeping and playing accommodations. 

(32) “Potentially hazardous food” means any food or beverage containing milk or milk 
products, eggs, meat, fish, shellfish, poultry, cooked rice, beans or pasta, and all other 
previously cooked foods, including leftovers.  

(33) “Premises” means the physical location used by a registered family child care to provide 
care subject to regulation or investigation by CCLD, including all indoor and outdoor 
areas not directly used for child care if the provider, child care staff, or child care children 
have actual or potential access to the areas.   

(34) "Preschool‐Age Child" means a child who is at least 36 months of age but not yet eligible 
to be enrolled in kindergarten or above, before the first day of the current school year. 

(35) “Provider" means a resident of the registered family child care home who is responsible 
for the children in care; is the children's primary caregiver; and the person whose name is 
on the certificate of registration. The provider is the person responsible for the overall 
operation of the home and who has the authority to perform the duties necessary to 
meet registration requirements.  

(36) "Registered Family Child Care Home" means the residence of the provider, who has a 
current Family Child Care Registration at that address and who provides care in the 
family living quarters. References in these rules to “registered family child care home” or 
“home” refer to the provider or any agent, including a substitute provider, operating 
under the registration.  

(37) "Registration" means the document a registered family child care provider is issued by 
CCLD to operate a registered family child care home where care is provided in the 
family living quarters of the provider's home pursuant to ORS 329A.330 and OAR 414-210-
0100 through 414-210-1620. 

(38) "Renewal Application" means a registration application that has been filed by a currently 
registered family child care provider who wishes to continue registration. 

(39) “Reopen Application" means a registration application that has been filed by an 
applicant whose registration is expired or closed, including those closures resulting from 
an address change. 

(40) "Restrictable Disease" means an illness or infection as identified by the Public Health 
Division in OAR 333-019-0010 that would prohibit the child from attending child care. 

(41) "Sanitizing" means using a treatment that provides enough heat or concentration of 
chemicals for enough time to reduce germs to a safe level on utensils, equipment,  toys, 
or other non-porous surfaces. 

(a) An appropriate test kit or strips are required to measure the concentration of 
sanitizing solutions. 

(b) Any sanitizer used on food contact surfaces and toys must be labeled “safe for 
food contact surfaces.” 
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(42) "School‐Age Child" means a child eligible to be enrolled in kindergarten or above on or 
before the first day of the current school year (also see ORS 329A.250(12)). This includes 
the months from the end of the prior school year to the start of the kindergarten school 
year. 

(43) "Serious Injury or Incident" means any of the following:  

(a) Injury requiring surgery;  

(b) Injury requiring admission to a hospital;  

(c) Injury requiring emergency medical attention;  

(d) Choking and unexpected breathing problems; 

(e) Unconsciousness;  

(f) Concussion;  

(g) Poisoning;  

(h) Medication overdose; 

(i) Broken bone or joint dislocation;  

(j) Severe head or neck injury;  

(k) Chemical contact in eyes, mouth, skin, inhalation or ingestion;  

(l) All burns;  

(m) Allergic reaction requiring administration of Epi‐Pen;  

(n) Severe bleeding or stitches;  

(o) Shock or confused state; or 

(p) Near‐drowning. 

(44) “Serious Complaint” and “Serious Violation” means an allegation or finding of 
noncompliance in which:  

(a) Children are in imminent danger;  

(b) There are more children in care than allowed by licensed capacity;  

(c) Disciplinary methods prohibited under OAR 414-210-0710 are being used;  

(d) Children are not being supervised;  

(e) Multiple or serious fire, health or safety hazards are present in the registered family 
child care;  

(f) Extreme unsanitary conditions are present in the registered family child care;  

(g) Adults are in the home who are not enrolled in the CBR; or  

(h) A home is providing child care without the appropriate certification. 

(45) "Shelter-in-Place" means caregivers and children staying at the home due to an external 
threat such as a storm, chemical or gas leak or explosion, or other event that prohibits 
the occupants from safely leaving the building. 
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(46)  “Substitute Provider” means a person who acts as the children’s primary caregiver in 
the registered family child care home in the temporary absence of the provider. 

(47) "Supervision" means the act of caring for a child or group of children. This includes 
awareness of and responsibility for the ongoing activity of each child. It requires physical 
presence, knowledge of children's needs, and accountability for their care and well‐being. 
Supervision also requires that caregivers be near and have ready access to children in 
order to intervene when needed. 

(48) "Technical Assistance" means consultation and advice given to providers to assist them 
in maintaining compliance. 

(49) "Toddler" means a child who is 12 months of age to 36 months of age. 

(a) "Younger Toddler" means a child who is 12 months of age to 24 months of age. 

(b) "Older Toddler" means a child who is 24 months of age to 36 months of age. 

(50) "Unsupervised Access to Children" means contact with children that provides the person 
opportunity for personal communication or touch when not under the direct supervision 
of a qualified child care provider or caregiver with supervisory authority. 

(51) "Visitor" means someone who is at the home for a single event, including but not limited 
to: a repair person, privately contracted professional working with an individual child, or 
librarian visiting the program. Visitors are not potential employees and are not counted in 
ratio. 

(52) "Volunteer" includes any person who provides labor or services to a child care home but 
is not compensated with employment pay or benefits. 

414-210-0110  Purpose 

(1) A registered family child care home is defined as a child care facility that is registered to 
provide child care for a number of children up to the maximum capacity in a residential 
setting. 

(2) The purpose of OAR 414-210-0100 through 414-210-1620 is to protect the health, safety, 
and wellbeing of children when cared for outside their own homes by providing 
requirements for inspecting, registering, monitoring and otherwise regulating care in a 
registered family child care home.  

(3) An individual may not operate a registered family child care home without a valid 
registration issued by CCLD, unless providing care not requiring a license as provided in 
OAR 414-075-0250.  

414-210-0130  Application Process 

(1) An applicant must submit an original and complete application for registration on the 
forms provided by CCLD:  

(a) For the initial registration;  

(b) For the renewal of the registration;    
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(c) Whenever the provider moves to a new location; or  

(d) When re-opening after a lapse in registration.  

(2) An applicant must submit a non-refundable filing fee with the application. For a registered 
family child care home the application fee is $30. The applicant may submit 
documentation that the applicant’s income is below 100% of the Federal Poverty Level, the 
fee may be reduced or waived. This fee is required with:  

(a) Initial application;  

(b) Renewal application;  

(c) Re-opening of a home registration after a lapse in registration; or   

(d) A change in location.  

(3) A registered family child care must complete and submit an application to CCLD at least:  

(a) 45 days before the planned opening date of a new registered family child care 
home or change of location; and  

(b) 30 days prior to the expiration of the registration for a renewal.  

(A) If an application for renewal and payment of the required fee is received 
at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the current registration, the 
current registration unless officially revoked, remains in force until  CCLD 
has acted on the application for renewal and has given notice of the action 
taken.  

(B) If an application for renewal and payment of the required fee is not 
received at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the current 
registration, the registration will expire and the registered family child care 
must cease operations unless the renewal is completed prior to the 
expiration date.  

(4) An applicant must provide the following items with the application for an initial 
registration, or change of address:   

(a) Initial or current lead testing results for each source of drinking water, as required 
in OAR 414-210-0820; and  

(b) Verification that the provider has met the initial training listed in OAR 414-210-
0370(1).     

(5) An application for renewal of a registered family child care may be approved by CCLD 
upon successful completion of CCLD’s Health and Safety inspection with CCLD staff and 
verification that the provider has met ongoing training requirements identified in OAR 414-
210-0380.  

(6) An applicant must pay in full all civil penalties established by final order against the 
applicant or be compliant with a CCLD approved payment plan before CCLD will process 
an initial or renewal application.  
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(7) If CCLD has not approved, issued a notice of intent to deny, or issued a final order by 
default or after a contested case hearing denying an application within 12 months of the 
date the application was submitted to CCLD, the application may be closed, subject to 
the applicant’s right to submit a new application at any time. This rule does not apply if:   

(a) The application is a timely renewal application; or  

(b) CCLD has issued a notice of intent to deny the application that has not resulted 
in a final order or withdrawal. 

 414-210-0140  Issuance of Registration 

(1) Upon receipt of a completed application, a registered family child care will be evaluated 
by a representative of CCLD to determine if it meets all registration requirements.  

(2) CCLD will issue a regular registered family child care registration when the home is 
determined to be in compliance with all of these rules.   

(3) For a registered family child care home, a registration is valid for no more than two (2) 
years.  

(4) A registered family child care registration will be issued in the name of the provider.  

(5) A registered family child care registration cannot be transferred to any other location or 
to another organization or individual.  

(6) Registration is limited to one provider per household. 

(7) The home in which child care is provided must be the residence of the provider. 

414-210-0150  Registration Process 

(1) A provider must comply with the conditions of the registration when admitting children, 
including, but not limited to, capacity, hours of operation, age range, and special 
conditions.  

(2) If an applicant or a registered family child care provider is also a certified foster care 
parent, they must inform CCLD. CCLD may communicate with  the Oregon Department 
of Human Services (ODHS) regarding the child care license. 

(3) A provider must allow representatives of all agencies involved in licensing process to have 
immediate access to all areas of the home and premises when child care children are 
present, including:  

(a) Areas deemed inaccessible to children, including rooms not typically used for child 
care, second floors and other structures on the premises;   

(b) Records of children enrolled in the registered family child care home, and all 
records and reports related to the child care operation regarding compliance with 
these rules as required in OAR 414-210-0255; and   

(c) All caregivers.  
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(4) If there is a structural or maintenance problem or remodeling that CCLD determines could 
present a health or safety hazard to children, CCLD may request that the provider have 
the home inspected by the appropriate authority and the provider shall comply with the 
request. The provider must provide CCLD with a copy of the inspection report from such 
authority immediately upon receipt.  

(5) A registered family child care registration may be denied, suspended or revoked if the 
provider has been removed, denied or suspended from the CBR.  

(6) If a complaint alleges that a provider is not in compliance with these rules, CCLD will 
conduct an investigation and assessment as provided in OAR 414-075-0130.    

(7) CCLD may conduct unannounced monitoring visits of a registered family child care at 
least annually for the purpose of determining compliance with these rules and terms and 
conditions of registration. 

(8) In connection with a monitoring or investigation visit, CCLD may offer technical assistance 
when appropriate to assist a provider in complying with these rules and provide technical 
assistance when requested by the provider. 

(9) Information provided by or on behalf of the provider to CCLD on applications, in records 
or reports, or any other written or verbal communication must be current, complete, and 
accurate.   

(10) Parental request or permission to waive any of the rules applicable to a registered family 
child care does not give a provider permission to do so.  

(11) CCLD registration records are open to the public on request, including findings of 
complaint investigations. However, information protected by state or federal law and the 
names of children and adults will not be disclosed.  

(12) To determine if requirements are met, a provider may be required to supply additional 
information or permit CCLD, a fire marshal, or a public health official to assess the home 
and review child care records. 

(13) The name, address, telephone number, and registration status of providers is public 
information. However, CCLD may withhold from the public a provider's address and 
telephone number if the provider makes a written request documenting that disclosure of 
the address and/or telephone number would endanger them or a family member living in 
the home (OAR 137-004-0800). The request must be on a form supplied by CCLD. 

414-210-0160  Exceptions to Rules 

(1) A provider may request an exception to a rule on a form provided by CCLD for a specified 
period of time when: 

(a) A requirement does not apply to the registered family child care; or 

(b) The intent of the requirement can be met by a method not specified in the applicable 
rule. 

(2) An exception request must include: 

(a) A justification for the requested exception; and 
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(b) An explanation of how the provider will meet the intent of the rule. 

(3) An exception request will not be granted: 

(a) To waive the onsite review for applicants applying for an initial registration or renewal 
of a registration; or 

(b) If the health, safety, and well‐being of the children or consumer interests of the parents 
of children in care cannot be ensured. 

(4) A provider must remain in compliance with the rule as written until CCLD approves the 
exception request. 

(5) In certain circumstances, a provider may be granted an ongoing exception that will be 
reviewed annually to confirm the provider is in compliance with all exception 
requirements.  

(6) Each exception request is unique to the applicable registered family child care and is 
evaluated on its own merits.  The granting of an exception to a rule does not set a 
precedent. 

(7) CCLD may withdraw approval of an exception at any time, to ensure the health, safety 
and well‐being of the children. 

414-210-0200  Policies 

(1) A provider must have written information and policies identified in OAR 414-210-0200(1)(a) 
though (g) and provide them to substitute providers, parents, and volunteers. Information 
must be provided at the time of enrollment and when information changes. 

(a) Name, business address, and business telephone number of the person(s) who has 
immediate responsibility for the daily operation of the home; 

(b) Parent responsibilities for providing current required information and what parents are 
expected to provide; 

(c) Emergency preparedness and response plan (also see OAR 414-210-0210, Emergency 
Preparedness and Response); 

(d) Information on transportation, when provided by the provider or other caregiver; 

(e) Behavior and guidance policy; 

(f) Prevention of and duty to report suspected child abuse and neglect; and 

(g) Night care, if provided. 

(2) As required by state and federal civil rights laws and the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA), a provider cannot discriminate against any child on the basis of race, religion, color, 
national origin, gender, marital status of parent, or because of a need for special care.  

(a) Suspected violations will be reported to the overseeing agency, with whom CCLD may 
share any information available to it.  



414-210-0210  Emergency Preparedness and Response 

Registered Family Child Care Rules | CCLD-0086 | pg.14 
 

(b) CCLD may deny an initial or renewal application or revoke a registration if a provider is 
determined to have discriminated in violation of this requirement by any authority with 
jurisdiction to make the determination. 

(3) A provider’s decision whether to provide or continue care for a child known to have 
specific needs must be made after an individualized assessment is completed. The 
assessment must be based on information from parents, professionals who are 
knowledgeable about the child’s care needs, and the provider. The assessment must be 
documented for each child and must include:  

(a) Reasonable accommodations the provider made to support the individual child’s 
participation in the program, or an explanation of why the provider could not make 
reasonable accommodations;  

(b) Reasonable modifications the provider made to their policies and practices to fully 
integrate the child into the program or an explanation of why the provider could not 
make reasonable modifications; and  

(c) If applicable, any direct threats to the health and safety of others posed by the child’s 
presence at the home. 

414-210-0210  Emergency Preparedness and Response 

(1) A provider must have a written plan for emergency preparedness that addresses 
evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place and lockdown procedures, and responding to 
medical emergencies and other incidents. The plan must be followed, unless otherwise 
instructed by emergency personnel. 

(2) The plan must include a provider’s procedures for: 

(a) Responding to a lost or missing child; 

(b) Ensuring that all children in attendance are supervised and accounted for during 
and after an emergency; 

(c) The way that caregivers and children are alerted of the emergency; 

(d) Notifying emergency authorities, including the poison control center, when 
necessary; 

(e) Evacuating children to a designated safe area or relocating children to alternate 
shelter. Designated safe areas and alternate shelters must be a minimum of 50 
feet from the home being evacuated; 

(f) Moving children to a designated location in the home for sheltering-in-place 
and lockdown emergencies; 

(g) Responding to natural and human-made disasters including power outages; 

(h) Responding to serious illness, serious injury or death of a child or caregiver; 

(i) Responding to incidents involving a hostile intruder; 

(j) Addressing the needs of individual children, including children with disabilities or 
other specific needs, and children with chronic medical conditions; 
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(k) Ensuring children’s emergency contact information and medical authorization 
and caregivers' emergency contact information is accessible during and after 
an emergency; 

(l) Notifying parents after the emergency ends and how children will be reunited 
with their families as the evacuation, relocation, or sheltering/lockdown is lifted; 

(m) Maintaining continuity of care after a natural or human-made disaster, including 
access to copies of records, documents, and computer files necessary for 
continued operation stored in either a portable file or at an off-site location; 

(n) Ensuring pool and swimming safety if applicable (also see OAR 414-210-1300, 
Swimming and Water Activities); and 

(o) The plan must identify a licensed physician, hospital, or clinic to be used for 
emergency medical care.  

(3) A provider must observe weather conditions and other possible hazards to take 
appropriate action for child health and safety. Conditions that pose a health or safety 
risk may include, but are not limited to: 

(a) Heat in excess of 100°F, or pursuant to advice of the local authority; 

(b) Cold less than 20°F, or pursuant to advice of the local authority; 

(c) Lightning storm, tornado, hurricane, or flooding if there is immediate or likely 
danger; 

(d) Earthquake; 

(e) Air quality emergency ordered by a local, state, or federal authority on air 
quality or public health; 

(f) Lockdown notification ordered by a public safety authority; and 

(g) Other similar incidents. 

(4) A provider must have an emergency light source, such as a flashlight, in working 
condition, stored in an easily accessible location.  

(5) A provider must review the written plan and all emergency procedures: 

(a) At least once per licensing period and update the procedures as needed. 

(b) With caregivers at least once per licensing period and whenever the plan is 
updated.  

414-210-0220  Children’s Records 

(1) A provider must obtain the following information for each child, in paper or electronic 
format, prior to the first day of attendance that includes a parent’s signature: 

(a) The child’s name, date of birth, and home address; 

(b) Date child entered care; 
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(c) Name(s), home and business address(es) and telephone number(s) of the 
custodial parent(s) or legal guardian(s); 

(d) Name and contact information of the person to be called in an emergency if the 
parent(s) cannot be reached; 

(e) Name and telephone number of person(s) to whom the child may be released; 

(f) The name and telephone number of the school that the child attends, if 
applicable; 

(g) Name and telephone number of child's medical provider(s) or emergency care 
facility, if known; 

(h) Immunization record or exemption as required by OAR 414-210-0225 
Immunizations);     

(i) Authorization to obtain emergency medical care and to transport the child for 
emergency medical treatment; 

(j) Developmental and health history of any problems that could affect the child's 
participation in child care; 

(k) A written care plan for any child with a specific need as described in OAR 414-
210-1050. The written plan must be readily accessible to caregivers caring for 
the individual child; and 

(l) Verification that parents have received a copy of the provider’s policies.  

(2) A provider must ensure that all children’s records are immediately accessible to 
caregivers during hours of operation for use in an emergency or for children with 
chronic health issues or specific care needs. 

(3) A provider must ensure that all children’s records are kept current at all times.  

(4) A provider must permit parents, upon request, to review records and reports 
concerning the parent’s own children, with the exception of child abuse and neglect 
reports.    

414-210-0225  Immunizations 

(1) A provider must comply with Oregon Health Authority’s administrative rules (see OAR 
333-050-0040) relating to the immunization of children. If a child is enrolled in a public 
or private elementary school, immunizations are not required to be documented by 
the child care facility.  

(2) A provider may provide care for children who are in foster care or experiencing 
homelessness while parents/guardians are taking necessary actions to comply with 
immunization requirements of the facility. 
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414-210-0230  Parental Permissions 

(1) A provider must have the following current permissions from parent(s) when 
applicable:  

(a) Documentation of permission for a person not listed in the child’s records to pick 
up the child; 

(b) Signed and dated permission for each medication, prior to administration, that 
includes: 

(A) The child’s name; 

(B) The name of and the reason for the medication; 

(C) The dosage, dates, and times to administer the medication, and how the 
medication will be given; and 

(D) Whether the medication needs to be refrigerated. 

(c) For chronic medical conditions, a provider may obtain permission for 12 months 
or less with specific instructions including when administration is needed, such as 
diaper cream and inhalers (also see OAR 414-210-1030, Medications). 

(d) Prior to transporting a child, a provider must have the following information: 

(A) The child’s name; and 

(B) A specific pick-up and drop-off plan that addresses the location, times, 
and transfer of supervision. 

(e) Prior to a school-age child arriving or leaving the facility on their own. 

(f) Permission to bathe a child, if necessary. 

(g) Prior to a field trip or other activity away from the immediate neighborhood. 

(h) Prior to a child participating in a high risk activity, such as swimming or mountain 
biking, and share a safety plan with parents. 

(i) Prior to using photographs or recordings of the child publicly (e.g. social media, 
advertisements). 

(2) If a family served by a provider is experiencing homelessness, the provider must make 
efforts to follow OAR 414-210-0230 (1). If the provider is unable to acquire written 
parental permissions, permissions may be received verbally, when documented by the 
provider, or electronically, such as through a text message or e-mail. 

414-210-0235  Arrival and Departure 

(1) A provider must require that any person bringing a child to the home remain with the 
child until the child is accepted by a caregiver. 

(2) A provider may only release a child to a parent or another person named and 
identified by the parent(s). A person picking up the child must show identification if not 
known to the caregiver. 

(3) Except as excluded by a court order, parents must be permitted access to their child 
and all child care areas while their child is in care. Advance notice is not required. 
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414-210-0240  Caregiver Records 

A provider must maintain a current personnel record for any substitute provider,  in paper or 
electronic format, which includes: 

(1) The CBR confirmation letter sent from CCLD to the provider. If the provider does not 
yet have a CBR confirmation letter for the caregiver, the provider must have written 
documentation the provider has verified with CCLD that the caregiver is enrolled in the 
CBR and linked to the home. Documentation must include the date, time, and name of 
the CCLD staff member the provider spoke with; 

(2) Current pediatric CPR and first aid training certification; 

(3) Current food handler certification, prior to serving or preparing food; and 

(4) Evidence of participation in an orientation. 

414-210-0250  Program Records 

A provider must maintain the following program records, either in paper or electronic format:   

(1) The current day’s attendance for each child in care as defined in OAR 414-210-0400(1). 
The daily attendance record must include: 

(a) The child’s full name; and  

(b) Times recorded as children arrive and depart so that the record shows the 
children in attendance at any given time. 

(2) Documentation of any substitute provider caring for children, including their name, 
date providing care, and arrival and departure times.  

(3) Written reports of injuries as identified in OAR 414-210-1020(1). 

(4) A visitor log to document all adults, excluding persons authorized to drop off and pick 
up a child, that includes name, relationship to home (e.g., volunteer, vendor, guest, etc.), 
and recorded time in and out of the home. 

(5) Documentation of the administration of any medication that includes: 

(a) The child’s name; 

(b) Medication administered; 

(c) The date and time when medication was administered; 

(d) The dosage or amount of medication administered; and 

(e) Any side effects exhibited by the child.  

(6) Written record of suspected child abuse and neglect reports made to the Department 
of Human Services Child Welfare or law enforcement. 

(7) Written records regarding emergency preparedness and fire prevention such as dates 
of drills.  
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414-210-0255  Record Retention and Access 

(1) The following records must be kept for one (1) year: 

(a) After their initial creation for identified Program Records in OAR 414-210-0250; 

(b) After termination of employment for identified Caregiver Records  in OAR 414-
210-0240; 

(c) After termination of care for documentation of parent permissions listed in OAR 
414-210-0230; 

(d) After termination of care for identified Children’s Records in OAR 414-210-0220; 
and 

(e) After initial creation, vehicle records identified in OAR 414-360-1230(2). 

(2) A provider must make all records required by these rules available to CCLD at all 
times. 

(3) A provider must have at least one caregiver on site who can access any records that 
are stored in paper or electronic formats.  

(4) Electronic records, including but not limited to Children’s Records and current day’s 
attendance, must be portable for use during an emergency evacuation. 

(5) If using electronic records, a provider must have procedures in place to ensure prompt 
access, including an on- or off-site electronic back-up method to ensure access in the 
event of data loss. 

414-210-0260  Items Available for Review 

(1) A provider must display the following near the entrance, or in some other area of the 
home where they may be clearly viewed by parent(s) and caregivers of children in 
care: 

(a) The most current registration issued by CCLD; 

(b) All serious valid complaints and serious non‐compliance letters for 12 calendar 
months from the date of the letter; 

(c) A notice of any current or pending legal sanctions posted immediately and 
while in effect, including throughout any appeal period;  

(d) The DELC website [www.oregon.gov/DELC] and phone number [1-800-556-
6616], and a statement advising parents that they can access information about 
their child care provider on the child care safety portal; and 

(e) A notice that the items listed in (3) of this rule are available. 

(2) A provider shall display a floor plan identifying the locations of the following near the 
entrance, or in some other area of the home where they may be clearly viewed by all 
individuals responsible for evacuation procedures: 

(a) Exits; 

(b) Primary evacuation routes; 



414-210-0270  Notifications 

Registered Family Child Care Rules | CCLD-0086 | pg.20 
 

(c) Secondary evacuation routes; and 

(d) Fire extinguishers. 

(3) A provider must have the following items available in a prominent and frequently 
visited location for the parents and public to view: 

(a) The most recent CCLD inspection and rules for registration of child care homes 
are available upon request; 

(b) The most recent water test results summary provided by CCLD (also see OAR 
414-210-0820, Water Supply and Plumbing); 

(c) Information on how to report a complaint to CCLD regarding registration 
requirements; 

(d) The Oregon Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline number and requirement to report 
suspected abuse or neglect; 

(e) A notice that parents must be permitted access to their child and all child care 
areas while their child is in care. Advance notice is not required. 

(f) The provider’s behavior and guidance policy;  

(g) Emergency numbers to include 9-1-1, where available, or local law enforcement, 
local mental health crisis line, fire department, and ambulance service; and 

(h) A plan to ensure that any visitor or other adult not enrolled or conditionally 
enrolled in the CBR does not have unsupervised access to children. 

414-210-0270  Notifications 

(1) A provider must notify CCLD by 5:00pm the next business day of the following items: 

(a) A change in mailing address, when different from the physical address;  

(b) A change in phone number;  

(c) A known legal action or child abuse or neglect investigation, such as an arrest, 
criminal investigation or charge, or Victim Protection Order, involving any person 
for which a registered family child care is required to request a background 
check;  

(d) A permanent closure;  

(e) Any damage to the building that affects the provider’s ability to comply with the 
rules for Registered Family Child Care Homes; 

(f) An incident that exposes children to an imminent risk of harm, such as a child 
leaving the home without the provider’s knowledge or being left alone on or off 
site or in a vehicle;  

(g) An animal bite to an adult or child that occurs on the premises or that occurs 
away from the home when participating in child care activities;  

(h) An accident involving transportation, unless there were no injuries and only 
minor damage to the vehicles;  
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(i) Any serious injury or incident involving a child;  

(j) A child who is given the incorrect dosage of any medication;  

(k) A child who took or received another person’s medication;  

(l) The death of a child while in care or death of a caregiver;  

(m) Other dangers or incidents requiring emergency response such as a fire 
or temporarily relocating children; and 

(n) Any time prohibited discipline or prohibited actions occur (also see OAR 414-210-
0710, Prohibited Discipline and Actions). 

(o) Any incident where physical restraint is used (also see OAR 414-360-0720, 
Physical Restraint). 

(2) Any caregiver who has reason to believe a child has been abused or neglected is 
required to report the matter immediately to the Oregon Child Abuse Hotline (1-855-
503-7233), Department of Human Services Child Welfare, or a law enforcement 
agency. This requirement applies 24 hours a day. This requirement applies to any 
suspected physical, sexual or emotional abuse; child neglect, child endangerment, or 
child exploitation; inappropriate sexual contact between two or more children; or 
attempted suicide or threats of suicide by a child. 

(3) A provider must immediately notify the Oregon Health Authority of a known case, in 
individuals associated with the home, of a child care‐restrictable disease, as defined in 
Oregon Administrative Rule, OAR 333‐019‐0010. 

(4) A provider must immediately notify parents or an emergency contact if the parent 
cannot be reached and document if their child: 

(a) Does not arrive on their own at the home as scheduled, such as when a school-
age child is walking to the home or when a child is transported from another 
program;  

(b) Is not present at the pick-up location as scheduled;  

(c) Is involved in an incident that placed the child at risk such as being lost, missing 
or left alone on a playground,  a field trip, or in a vehicle;  

(d) Has experienced any suspected allergic reactions, or has ingested or had 
contact   with the allergen even if a reaction did not occur;  

(e) Was not administered medication in accordance with directions;  

(f) Received emergency medication for a life-threatening condition such as 
epinephrine;  

(g) Sustains an injury that may need evaluation by a medical professional or any 
impact to a child’s head; 

(h) Has been exposed to poison;  

(i) Has been fed human milk or formula intended for another child (see OAR 414-
210-0610, Feeding Infants and Toddlers);  
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(j) Is bitten by an animal or another child, when the skin is broken or when an 
evaluation by a physician may be needed;  

(k) Is separated from the group due to an illness;  

(l) Dies while in care; or  

(m) Is involved in any incident where physical restraint is used (also see OAR 414-
360-0720, Physical Restraint). 

(5) A provider must immediately notify parents in writing if a condition or restriction is 
placed on the license.  

(6) A provider must notify parents upon child pick-up of: 

(a) Significant changes in their child's physical or emotional state; 

(b) Known injuries such as cuts, scratches, and bites from other children requiring 
first aid treatment; 

(c) A child care restrictable disease or infestation exposure from a caregiver or 
another child; 

(d) Any medication administered to their child; 

(e) An animal bite to a child, when the skin is not broken; and 

(f) Implemented emergency plans and procedures, except for drills. 

(7) A provider must notify parents if there will be a substitute provider and the substitute's 
name. In the event of an emergency, a good faith effort will be made to notify parents 
that a substitute will be caring for the children. 

(8) Prior to the occurrence, a provider must notify families of any planned field trips 
including estimated departure and return times and the destination. 

(9) A provider must have a method for notifying families when any child or caregiver has a 
child care restrictable disease, as defined in Oregon Administrative Rule, or food 
poisoning (also see OAR 414-210-1010, Illness);   

(10) CCLD will notify parent(s) or guardian(s) of children under 12 months of age enrolled in 
the home of any valid non‐compliance with OAR 414-210-0620(1)(a)(A) through (C), 
OAR 414-210-0620(1)(b) and (c), and OAR 414-210-0630(1)(a) through (l). 

414-210-0300  General Caregiver Requirements 

(1) A provider must ensure that all caregivers, volunteers and household members who 
have supervised or unsupervised access to child care children:  

(a) Comply with registration rules;  

(b) Recognize and act to correct hazards to physical safety, both indoors and 
outdoors;  

(c) Demonstrate good judgment as evidenced by responsible behavior that 
reasonably ensures the health and safety of children; and  
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(d) Have not consumed nor are under the influence of any substance that impairs 
their ability to care for children. “Under the influence" means observed abnormal 
behavior or impairments in mental or physical performance leading a 
reasonable person to believe the individual has used alcohol, any controlled 
substances (including lawfully prescribed and over-the-counter medications), 
marijuana or inhalants that impairs their performance of essential job function 
or creates a direct threat to child care children or others.  

(2) A provider and any caregiver must: 

(a) Be physically capable of performing duties related to child care;  

(b) Relate to children with courtesy, respect, acceptance, and patience;  

(c) Demonstrate realistic expectations for behavior based on the age, abilities, and 
needs of children;  

(d) Recognize and respect the uniqueness and potential of all children, their 
families, and their cultures;  

(e) Report suspected abuse, neglect, and exploitation in accordance with Oregon 
law (also see OAR 414-210-0270, Notifications); and  

(f) Have the required training and experience for the position they are filling.  

(3) A provider must ensure that any person who has demonstrated behavior that could 
endanger the health, safety or wellbeing of a child is not on the premises during child 
care hours and is not allowed access to children in care. Residents of the home are 
considered to have access to the child care children even if they are not generally at 
home during hours of operation.   

(4) Any caregiver known or appearing to have a child care‐restrictable disease, as defined 
in OAR 333‐019‐0010, a symptom of physical illness as described in OAR 414-210-
1010(1)(b)(A) through (K), or a mental incapacity that poses a threat to the health or 
safety of children shall be relieved of their duties.  

414-210-0310  Central Background Registry Enrollment 

(1) The provider must be enrolled in CCLD’s CBR prior to the issuance of a registration. All 
other caregivers, and residents of the child care home 18 years of age or older must be 
enrolled or conditionally enrolled in CCLD’s CBR prior to the issuance of an initial or 
renewal of a registration. 

(2) Residents of the child care home who are under 18 years of age must be enrolled or 
conditionally enrolled in the CBR by their 18th birthday. 

(3) A provider must receive confirmation from CCLD that an individual 18 years of age or 
over, is enrolled or conditionally enrolled in the CBR before the individual can: 

(a) Reside in the child care home; 

(b) Stay overnight on the premises for longer than 14 consecutive days, not to 
exceed a total of 30 days in a calendar year, unless not required to enroll in the 
CBR as provided in subsection (4) of this rule; 
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(c) Work in the child care home; or 

(d) Volunteer in the child care home. 

(4) Individuals 18 years of age and older that reside on the premises in living spaces other 
than the child care home (including, but not limited to, Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs) 
or other Alternative Housing units, tiny homes, recreational vehicles (RVs), trailers, 
garage apartments, etc.) are not required to enroll in the CBR if all of the following 
conditions are met:  

(a) Those residing in or visiting the living space are not known by the provider to be 
suspended or to have  been denied or removed for cause from the CBR; 

(b) The living space can be accessed without entering the child care home;  

(c) Those residing in or visiting the living space have no opportunity for access to 
child care children without the permission of the provider and presence of a 
caregiver employed in the child care home. For the purposes of this rule, an 
individual has opportunity for access to child care children if they are able to be 
close enough to touch or have a conversation with a child care child inside or 
outside the home.   

(d) Child care is never conducted in the living space and child care children do not 
have access to the living space; and  

(e) The living space offers basic necessities such as running water, a bathroom, and 
cooking appliances, without having to enter the child care home during 
operating hours or when child care children are present.   

(5) The provider, caregivers, and other individuals that are required to be enrolled in the 
CBR must maintain current enrollment in the CBR at all times while the registered 
family child care license is active. 

(6) Individuals with conditional enrollment in the CBR shall not have unsupervised access to 
children. 

(7) Any visitor to the child care home or other adult who is not enrolled in the CBR shall not 
have unsupervised access to children. 

(8) A provider must have safeguards in place to prevent a visitor’s unsupervised access to 
children, including a sign-in and sign-out process that captures: 

(a) The individual’s name and relationship to the registered family child care (e.g. 
volunteer, vendor, guest, landlord, etc.); and 

(b) Arrival and departure times. 

(9) A provider must ensure that individuals whose CBR enrollment has been revoked, 
denied, or suspended, are not on the premises during operating hours or when child 
care children are present; have contact with children in care; or live on the premises of 
the child care home (including, but not limited to ADUs or other Alternative Housing 
units, tiny homes, RVs, trailers, garage apartments, etc.). 
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(10) If additional information is needed to assess a person's ability to care for children or to 
have access to children, CCLD may require references, an evaluation by a physician, 
counselor, or other qualified person, or other information. 

414-210-0320  Duties and Qualifications of the Provider 

(1) A provider is responsible for: 

(a) Maintaining compliance with all registered family child care rules and all 
conditions placed on the registration; and 

(b) Supervision of children in care. 

(2) A provider must: 

(a) Be at least 18 years of age; 

(b) Have competence, sound judgement and self-control when working with 
children;  

(c) Be mentally, physically, and emotionally capable of performing duties related to 
child care; and 

(d) Meet initial training requirements identified in OAR 414-210-0370(1). 

(3) The provider or a substitute provider must be on the premises during all hours of 
operation.  

(4) The provider must have no other employment, paid or unpaid, either in or out of the 
home, during hours child care children are in care. 

(5) A registered family substitute provider must: 

(a) Be at least 18 years of age and enrolled in the CBR; 

(b) Meet Orientation and Initial training requirements (See OAR 414-210-0370(3)); 

(c) Be familiar with the registration requirements; 

(d) Have access to all records required for registration; and 

(e) Be authorized and able to correct deficiencies. 

414-210-0370  Orientation and Initial Training 

(1) When a person submits a new application for registration as a registered family child 
care, CCLD shall, prior to approving the registration, receive evidence from the 
applicant that the person has completed: 

(a) Introduction to Registered Family Child Care Part I and Part II; 

(b) Introduction to Child Care Health & Safety Training; 

(c) A minimum of two hours of training on child abuse and neglect that is specific to 
Oregon law; 

(d) Safe Sleep for Oregon’s Infants; 
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(e) Current certification in pediatric  CPR and  first aid. CPR training must have 
practical hands-on instruction. CPR courses that involve an on-line component 
with hands-on instruction may be accepted. Strictly on-line CPR training is not 
acceptable; 

(f) Foundations for Learning child development training; and 

(g) Current Oregon’s food handler’s certification. 

(2) The provider’s Oregon food handler’s certification and pediatric CPR and first aid 
certification must remain current while the registration is active.  

(3) A provider must ensure that prior to having unsupervised access to children, substitute 
providers: 

(a) Receive an orientation. An orientation must include, but is not limited to: 

(A) A review of the rules for registered family child care homes; 

(B) The written plan for emergency preparedness that addresses evacuation, 
relocation, shelter-in-place and lockdown procedures and responding to 
medical emergencies, illness and injuries, allergic reactions, and other 
incidents; 

(C) The prevention and control of infectious diseases; 

(D) Building and premises safety including identification and protection from 
hazards such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 

(E) The handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate 
disposal of bodily fluids; 

(F) Safe sleep practices, prevention of shaken baby syndrome,  abusive head 
trauma, and child maltreatment; 

(G) The provider’s policies, as required under OAR 414-210-0200, Policies; and 

(H) Procedures for reporting suspected child abuse or neglect. 

(b) Complete the following: 

(A) Introduction to Child Care Health and Safety; 

(B) A minimum of 2 hours of CCLD approved training on recognizing and 
reporting child abuse and neglect that is specific to Oregon law;  

(C) Safe Sleep for Oregon's infants; 

(D) Current certification in pediatric CPR and first aid within the first 90 days of 
hire. On-line CPR training is only acceptable if it includes hands-on 
instruction. Pediatric CPR and first aid certification must be kept current 
while working in the registered family child care home; 

(E) Foundations for Learning child development training; and 

(F) Obtain an Oregon food handler’s certification prior to preparing and 
serving food and/or bottles. 
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414-210-0380  Ongoing Training 

When a provider submits a renewal application, CCLD shall, prior to approving it, receive 
evidence from the provider that the provider has:  

(1) A current certification in pediatric CPR and first aid. CPR training must have practical 
hands-on instruction. CPR courses that involve an on-line component with hands-on 
instruction may be accepted. Strictly on-line CPR training is not acceptable; 

(2) A current Oregon food handler certification pursuant to ORS 624.570; and 

(3) During the two years preceding the license renewal date, a provider must complete at 
least 10 clock hours of formal training or education related to child care. 

(a) At least 6 clock hours of the 10 hours of training must be in child development;  

(b) At least 1 clock hour of training in the Core Knowledge Category (CKC) of health, 
safety, and nutrition (HSN) in the first 12 months of the licensing period; and 

(c) An additional 1 hour in CKC of HSN completed in the second 12 months of the 
licensing period.  

414-210-0385  Training Criteria 

(1) A provider and any other caregivers must have an active account with ORO. Caregiver 
training must meet the following requirements: 

a. Be approved by ORO; and 

b. Be at least 1 hour in duration. 

(2) The following core knowledge categories (CKCs) are accepted for the child development 
and early childhood education requirement: Diversity, Family and Community Systems, 
Human Growth and Development, Health Safety and Nutrition, Learning Environments and 
Curriculum, Observation and Assessment, Special Needs, and Understanding and Guiding 
Behavior. 

(3) During subsequent years of licensure, caregivers may count the following repeated 
training as part of the 10 clock hours of training: 

a. 2 hours of CCLD approved training on recognizing and reporting child abuse and 
neglect that is specific to Oregon law but only every 3 years; and 

b. A Set 2 (intermediate) or Set 3 (advanced) training as described by ORO can be 
repeated once, provided it was not taken within the previous 2 years. 
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414-210-0400  Children in Care 

(1) A provider may care for a maximum of 10 children. This includes:  

(a) All child care children, as defined in OAR 414-210-0100(9);  

(b) The provider’s own children, including foster children, age 9 years or younger;  

(c) Any other children age 12 years or younger for whom the provider is responsible; 
and 

(d) Any child(ren) age 17 years or younger, including the provider’s own children, foster 
children, child care children or other children for whom the provider is responsible, 
with special needs or disabilities who require a level of care that is above normal 
for the child’s age.  

(2) Of the 10 children in care, a provider may care for:  

(a) A maximum of six children preschool age or younger, of which only two children 
may be under 24 months of age.  

(b) Four school-age children, in addition to the six children preschool-age or younger.  

(c) More school-age children if there are fewer than six children preschool-age or 
younger, as long as there are no more than 10 children in the home at any one time.  

(3) Other children, including but not limited to relatives, neighborhood children or friends of 
the provider's children, are included in the maximum number of 10 children allowed in care 
if present in the child care home during operating hours on a regular basis or if present on 
an occasional basis without being directly supervised by the child’s parent or other adult 
who is not also caring for child care children.  

(4) No child younger than 6 weeks of age can be in care in a registered family child care 
home. This does not include the provider's child(ren). 

414-210-0500  Supervision 

(1) The provider or substitute provider must ensure that children have the full attention of 
caregivers at all times who must: 

(a) Be aware of what each child is doing; 

(b) Be near enough to children to assist and respond when needed; 

(c) Be within sight or sound of children at all times, without relying on audio or video 
devices. Children out of direct visual contact shall be monitored regularly and 
frequently and must be in approved activity areas; 

(d) Be physically present when there are children under the age of 36 months playing 
outside; and 

(e) Be physically present when kindergarten-age or younger children are playing 
outside, unless the outside play area is fully fenced and hazard free. 

(2) A provider must provide sufficient light in any room where children are napping or resting 
so that caregivers can clearly see each child’s face from any point in the room. 
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(3) Background noise (e.g. music, sound machine, white noise machine) must not be so loud as 
to prevent a caregiver from being able to respond to the needs of the children. 

(4) When the caregiver is in a separate room from children, doors shall be kept open wide 
enough so the caregiver can easily step into the room to do frequent audio and visual 
checks of the children. 

414-210-0510  Creating a Healthy Climate for Children 

(1) When communicating or interacting with children, a provider must maintain an 
environment for healthy, culturally responsive child development. Examples of this may 
include: Giving encouragement and positive feedback, modeling active listening and 
respectful communication, speaking to children at their eye level, giving kind greetings 
and goodbyes, validating feelings and ideas, using a calm and encouraging tone of 
voice, and being curious about the individuality of every child and family. 

(2) A provider must encourage positive interactions between children. Examples of this 
may include: modeling social skills and empathy, helping children understand the 
feelings of others, providing support to children who find it difficult to make friends, and 
encouraging play between children of all abilities and backgrounds. 

(3) When lifting or moving a child, caregivers must do so in a manner that provides safety 
and comfort for the child.  

414-210-0520  Daily Routine & Activities 

(1) A provider must give the children’s needs first priority, ensuring they get adequate care 
and attention.  

(2) Immediate attention shall be given to the emotional and physical needs of the children.  

(3) A provider must follow a consistent daily routine that allows for flexibility to respond to 
the needs of the individual children and group of children.   

(4) The daily routine must include:  

(a) Regular activities such as eating, napping, and toileting;  

(b) A balance of active and quiet activities;  

(c) Individual choice time and group activities; and  

(d) Daily indoor and outdoor activities. 

(5) A provider must not provide or allow children preschool-age or younger to have more 
than 5 hours of screen time per week. School-age children may not be provided or 
allowed more than 10 hours of screen time per week.  

(a) Screen time is defined as time spent using electronic devices, including, but not 
limited to computers, television, tablets, phones and game consoles but does 
not include assistive or adaptive technology for children with disabilities. 
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(b) Usage times may be extended for physical activity guidance, special events, 
projects (i.e., coding lessons), distance/online learning, and homework. 

(c) All media exposure must be developmentally and age appropriate, non-violent, 
and culturally sensitive. 

(6) A provider must ensure daily outdoor play for each child, regardless of age, provided 
weather and environmental conditions do not pose a health or safety risk.  

(7) There must be activities for children according to their ages, interest, abilities and 
cultures. Children’s activities must include opportunities for movement, gross and fine 
motor, pretend play, art, and literacy. 

414-210-0600  General Requirements for the Care of Infants and Toddlers 

(1) For infants and younger toddlers, a provider must obtain the following information 
(also see OAR 414-210-0220, Children’s Records):  

(a) Schedule of feeding;  

(b) Types of food introduced and timetable for new foods;  

(c) Sleep schedule; and  

(d) Child's way of communicating and being comforted.  

(2) A provider must be responsive to each infant and toddler’s individual, physical, and 
developmental needs.  

(3) A provider must allow infants and young toddlers:  

(a) To form and follow their own pattern of sleeping and waking periods;  

(b) Opportunities throughout the day to move freely in a safe, clean, open, and 
uncluttered area; and  

(c) Opportunities to interact and be near one another.  

(4) A provider must not leave an awake child in a play yard, for the purposes of playing, 
for more than 30 minutes in any 2 hour period.  

(5) Restrictive infant equipment, including, but not limited to, bouncers, exersaucers, 
swings, infant seats, high and low chairs or structured infant carriers may be used for 
no more than 30 minutes in any 2 hour period.  

(a) Children who are actively engaged in eating, outdoor walks, or car rides can 
exceed the 30 minute limit for restrictive infant equipment used in these 
activities.  

(b) Car seats may not be used except for transportation purposes.  

(6) Throughout the day, a provider must engage each infant and toddler in frequent, 
multiple, and social interactions by providing physical contact and individual attention 
(e.g., being held, rocked, talked to, sung to, and taken on walks inside and outside the 
home).  
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(7) A provider must encourage the development of self-help skills (dressing, toileting, 
washing, eating) as children show interest.  

(8) All caregivers must take appropriate precautions to prevent shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma.  

414-210-0610  Feeding Infants and Toddlers 

(1) A provider must ensure that children under 12 months of age shall comply with the 
following requirements for those children:  

(a) A provider must have and follow a written feeding plan and schedule that 
includes the types and amounts of formula, human milk, and food that is 
obtained from the child’s parent(s) and updated regularly.  

(b) A provider must feed the child on their own feeding schedule and fed when 
hungry.  

(c) A provider must clearly mark formula, human milk, bottles, and food provided 
by the parent(s) with the child's full name and date and refrigerate if required.  

(d) A provider may not give infant formula to an infant who consumes human milk, 
without parental consent.  

(e) A provider must give human milk only to the child specified to receive it by the 
parent(s).  

(f) Human milk must:  

(A) Be labeled with the child's full name and the date expressed;  

(B) Be stored for no more than:  

(i) 24 hours in the refrigerator when thawed or defrosting; or  

(ii) Six months from the expression date in the freezer.  

(C) Be refrigerated or frozen until immediately before warming; and  

(D) Not reused after 2 hours from serving.  

(g) When formula is served, the caregiver must follow the manufacturer's 
instructions for mixing, storing, and discarding of any formula, unless requested 
by the child’s parent(s) and with a medical practitioner’s written permission.  

(h) Whole milk, skim milk, 1 percent milk, and 2 percent milk must not be served 
unless requested by the child's parent(s) and with a medical practitioner’s 
written permission.  

(i) A provider must not serve juice of any kind to infants, unless advised by a 
medical practitioner.  

(j) When bottle feeding, bottle may only contain formula or human milk, and may 
not be combined with cereal, fruit juice, or other foods without a medical 
practitioner’s written permission.  
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(k) A provider must not give infants under six months of age water to drink without 
written approval by a medical professional.  

(l) A provider must warm bottles only in one of the following ways: under running, 
warm tap water; using a commercial bottle warmer; stove top warming 
methods, or slow-cooking device; or by placing them in a container of warm 
water.  

(A) Bottles must not be warmed in microwave ovens.  

(B) Once warmed, a bottle must not be returned to the refrigerator or re-
warmed.  

(m) Solid foods fed to infants must be selected from the Child and Adult Care Food 
Program Meal Pattern (CACFP):  

(A) Solid foods must not be fed to infants less than four months of age; 

(B) Commercially packaged baby food must be served from a dish and not 
directly from the factory-sealed container;  

(C) Leftovers in the serving container must be discarded; and  

(D) Solid foods, with the exception of finger foods, must be fed with a 
spoon.  

(n) Honey or food containing honey must not be served to infants.  

(2) When bottle feeding, a provider must:  

(a) Hold infants up to 6 months of age and older children who cannot hold their own 
bottles or sit alone; and 

(b) Ensure the infant’s head is elevated while being fed. 

(3) A provider must not lay a child of any age down with a bottle or training cup. 

(4) A provider must not prop a bottle by any means at any time. 

(5) When feeding solid foods, a provider must ensure that infants are fed in an upright 
position. 

414-210-0620  Furniture and Equipment for Infants and Toddlers 

(1) A provider must provide an individual crib, portable crib, or play yard for each infant. 

(a) Each crib, portable crib, or play yard must: 

(A) Comply with Consumer Product Safety Commission(CPSC) standards for 
use by infants and have documentation from the manufacturer or retailer 
stating that either the crib was manufactured after June 28, 2011 or the play 
yard was manufactured after February 28, 2013; 

(B) Have a firm, flat, non-inclined sleep surface; 

(C) Have a clean, firm, tight-fitting mattress. The mattress must: 
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(i) Be designed to fit the specific equipment used, with no gap between 
the mattress and sides of the product; 

(ii) Be covered in a durable, washable, waterproof, form-fitting material; 

(iii) Be firm enough that it maintains its shape and does not indent or 
conform to the shape of the infant’s head; and 

(iv) Be covered in a tight-fitting sheet that remains tightly-fitted with 
normal use and does not have any slack or bunching. 

(b) Bassinets are prohibited.  

(c) Stacking, wall, or modular cribs are prohibited.   

(d) Sheets must be changed when soiled, before use by another child, and at a 
minimum of once a week.   

(2) Crib bumper pads must not be on the premises of a registered family child care home.   

(3) To support traditional indigenous practices, a provider may allow cradleboards or 
other traditional indigenous sleep equipment to be used as a sleep surface for infants. 
Caregivers must be careful to not over-bundle or overheat an infant while using the 
equipment.   

(4) If a provider uses high chairs, the chairs must comply with current Consumer Product 
Safety Commission (CPSC) standards and have:   

(a) A broad base to prevent tipping;   

(b) A latch to keep a child from raising the tray; and   

(c) T-shaped straps or a guard to prevent a child from becoming entrapped or 
sliding out.  

(5) If a provider uses clip-on chairs, the chairs must have straps to prevent a child from 
sliding out.  

(6) A provider must provide a variety and adequate supply of developmentally 
appropriate materials that are stimulating to a child’s senses. Materials must not be a 
choking hazard including toys and removable parts with a diameter less than 1-¼ 
inches, plastic bags, Styrofoam, and rubber or latex balloons. 

(7) A provider may not use the following equipment for infants, which have been identified 
as unsafe for infants by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and the 
American Academy of Pediatrics:  

(a) Baby walkers, which are devices that allow an infant to sit inside and are 
equipped with rollers or wheels and move across the floor; 

(b) Baby doorway jumpers, which are devices that allow an infant to bounce while 
supported in a seat by an elastic "bungee cord" suspended from a doorway;  

(c) Accordion safety gates; and 

(d) Unstructured infant slings or wraps.  
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414-210-0630  Safe Sleep 

(1) In addition to safe equipment (OAR 414-210-0620), a provider must follow safe sleep 
practices for infants to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) as 
follows: 

(a) While sleeping, infants must be monitored frequently to ensure they are 
breathing, not overheated, not in distress, and do not need assistance. 

(b) Infants must be placed on their backs on a flat, firm, non-inclined surface for 
sleeping. 

(c) Infants who can roll from back-to-front or back-to-side may remain in the sleep 
position they assume. 

(d) Except for a plain pacifier, there must not be any items (e.g., pacifier clips, 
bottles, toys, pillows, stuffed animals, blankets, bumpers) in or attached to the 
crib, portable crib or play yard. 

(e) Infants must not have their heads or faces covered by items such as blankets or 
linens at any time. 

(f) There must not be any items (e.g. blankets, tents, sheets) placed over the top or 
on the sides of a crib, portable crib or play yard. 

(g) Items that may cause suffocation or strangulation such as headwear (e.g. 
hoods, hats, headbands), bibs, necklaces, and garments with ties or drawstrings 
must be removed from the infant and sleep equipment prior to laying an infant 
down to rest. 

(h) Swaddling or other clothing or covering that restricts the infant's arm or leg 
movement is prohibited at all times, even if the child is not sleeping. 

(i) Weighted blankets, weighted clothing, or other weighted objects must not be 
placed on or near the sleeping infant. 

(j) If the caregiver is engaged in an activity with child care children and is carrying 
a sleeping infant in a structured infant carrier, the caregiver must move the 
infant to a safe sleep surface as soon as the activity is finished. 

(k) A caregiver may hold a sleeping infant provided the caregiver can immediately 
observe, see, or feel any signs of distress. The caregiver must be awake, alert, 
and focused on the infant; and 

(l) If an infant arrives asleep in a car seat or falls asleep in a place other than their 
crib, portable crib or play yard, the caregiver must immediately move the infant 
to an appropriate sleep surface. 

(2) Alternative sleep positions may only be used with an CCLD approved exception 
request, which must include a medical reason and instructions from a physician. 
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414-210-0650  Diaper Changing and Toileting 

(1) A provider must change wet or soiled diapers promptly. Unless the child is asleep, a 
child’s diaper must be checked at a minimum of every 2 hours, or more frequently to 
meet the individual child’s needs. Diapers must be changed when a child exhibits 
behavior that suggests a wet or soiled diaper. 

(2) If infants and toddlers are in care, a provider must have a diaper changing area. 

(a) The diaper changing area must be located so that handwashing can occur 
immediately after diapering without contact with other surfaces or other 
children. 

(b) The diaper changing surface must be sturdy, smooth, non-absorbent, easily 
cleanable, and free of  tears or repairs.  

(c) The diaper changing surface must be kept free of all objects except for 
diapering items and not used for other purposes. 

(d) Children must never be left unattended on an elevated changing surface.  

(e) A disinfecting solution must be kept in each diaper-changing area ready for 
immediate use and stored out of children’s reach. 

(3) If a provider uses cloth or reusable diapers, the soiled diapers must: 

(a) Not be rinsed; 

(b) Be placed in a securely sealed, moisture-proof bag; 

(c) Be stored in a separate disposal container; and  

(d) Be cleaned by a commercial laundry service or given daily to the child’s parent 
or guardian.  

414-210-0660  Cleaning and Sanitizing Infant and Toddler Areas 

(1) A provider must clean and sanitize infant and toddler toys regularly and when soiled. 

(2) A provider must wash, rinse, and sanitize the following after each use: 

(a) Bottles and training cups, if used; and 

(b) High chairs, tables and chairs. 

(3) A provider must wash, rinse, and disinfect the following immediately after use: 

(a) A diaper-changing surface; 

(b) Toilet training seat inserts or potty chairs; and 

(c) Bathtub or other receptable used for bathing a child, and 

(d) Any surface contaminated with bodily fluids. 
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414-210-0700  Behavior and Guidance 

(1) A provider must have a written policy on behavior and guidance of children that is 
simple and understandable to the child, the parent(s), and all caregivers (also see OAR 
414-210-0200, Policies). 

(2) A provider’s behavior and guidance policy must include the use of positive guidance to 
help children develop self-regulation, self-direction, and respect for others through 
these approaches: 

(a) Setting and teaching simple, consistent, clear and positive rules and limits that 
children can understand; 

(b) Setting up the environment for success with engaging activities that encourage 
positive behavior and self-regulation; 

(c) Reinforcing positive behaviors with encouragement and descriptive praise; 

(d) Taking steps to prevent problems before they occur and explaining safe, 
natural and logical consequences related to a child’s behavior; 

(e) Helping children recognize and appropriately express their feelings and 
understand the feelings of others; 

(f) Modeling and teaching social skills such as taking turns, cooperation, waiting, 
treating others kindly, and problem solving; and 

(g) Redirecting or helping a child change their focus when necessary. 

(3) A provider must ensure that only caregivers shall provide guidance to a child. 

(4) A provider must provide guidance that is fair, consistently applied, timely, and 
appropriate to the behavior, age, and development of the child. 

(5) A provider must appropriately intervene to stop the unfair treatment of a child based 
on the individual child’s family, gender, race, ethnicity, economic status, ability, religion, 
or cultural background. Interventions may include, but are not limited to: 

(a) Redirecting an inappropriate conversation or behavior; 

(b) Being aware of situations that may involve unfair treatment of a child, 
responding appropriately, taking actions to prevent future occurrences; and 

(c) Refusing to ignore the unfair treatment. 

414-210-0710  Prohibited Discipline and Actions 

A provider must not use or threaten to use any of the following prohibited actions even if 
requested by parents: 

(1) Rough or harsh handling of children or use of corporal punishment in any form, 
including, but not limited to hitting, spanking, slapping, shaking, swatting, throwing, 
jerking, pinching, biting, or other measures that produce physical pain; 

(2) Bind or restrict a child's movement unless permitted under OAR 414-210-0720, Physical 
Restraint; 



414-210-0720  Physical Restraint 

Registered Family Child Care Rules | CCLD-0086 | pg.37 
 

(3) Using unauthorized prescription or non-prescription drugs or chemicals for discipline or 
to control behavior; 

(4) Confining or isolating a child in an enclosed or darkened area (e.g., a locked or closed 
room, bathroom, closet, or box for punishment); 

(5) Withdrawing, denying or forcing food, rest, or toileting; 

(6) Forcing or compelling a child to eat or placing soap, food, spices, or foreign substances 
in the child’s mouth; 

(7) Exposing a child to extremes of temperature; 

(8) Yelling harshly or using profane or abusive language; 

(9) Punishing or demeaning a child for toileting accidents or refusing to eat food; 

(10) Allowing any form of mental or emotional punishment or verbal abuse, including 
but not limited to public or private humiliation, name calling, teasing, ridicule, 
intimidation, making derogatory or sarcastic remarks about a child's family, race, 
gender, religion, or cultural background, rejecting, frightening, neglecting, or corrupting 
a child; 

(11) Demanding excessive physical exercise, excessive rest, or strenuous postures; or 

(12) Requiring a child to remain silent or inactive or removing a child from all activities or the 
group for excessive periods of time. 

414-210-0720  Physical Restraint 

(1) A provider may only use physical restraint if:  

(a) A child’s safety or the safety of others is threatened; and  

(b) The provider has complied with all elements of Behavior and Guidance listed in 
OAR 414-210-0700(2)(a) through (g).  

(2) Physical restraint must be:  

(a) Limited to holding a child as gently as possible to accomplish restraint;  

(b) Limited to the minimum amount of time necessary to control the situation; and  

(c) Developmentally appropriate.  

(3) A provider must not use bonds, ties, blankets, straps, or weights (including an adult 
sitting on a child) to physically restrain children.  

(4) A provider must discontinue the use of physical restraint if they sense a loss of their 
own self-control or concern for the child when using physical restraint.  

(5) If physical restraint is used, a provider must:  

(a) Report the use of physical restraint pursuant to OAR 414-210-0270, Notifications;  

(b) Assess any incident of physical restraint to determine if the decision to use 
physical restraint and its application were appropriate; and  
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(c) Document the incident in the child's file, including the date, time, duration, 
caregivers involved, and what happened before, during, and after the child was 
restrained.  

(6) If physical restraint is used more than once on a specific child, the provider must 
develop a written plan with input from individuals who have knowledge of the child’s 
behaviors, including, but not limited to: the child's primary care provider, mental health 
provider, school counselor, and the parents or guardians, to address underlying issues 
and reduce the need for further physical restraint. A provider must notify CCLD when a 
written plan has been developed. 

414-210-0810  Home Structure and Safety 

(1) A registered family child care may only conduct care in space designed or remodeled 
as living quarters.  

(2) Apartments located on the second floor and above are not eligible for licensure no 
matter the configuration of exits. 

(3) The exit requirements listed in OAR 414-210-0810(4) apply to: 

(a) Registered family child cares with initial licensure on or after July 1, 2025; or 

(b) An existing registered family child care that applies for a change of address on 
or after July 1, 2025. 

(4) All floors of the home used for child care activities must have two exits.  

(a) One exit on each floor must be a door that exits directly outside to ground level 
and meets the following requirements: 

(A) The door may not exit through a garage or carport. 

(B) The door must be able to be opened from the inside without the use of a 
key, or special knowledge or effort.  

(C) The interior pathway leading to the door must not: 

(i) Be within three feet of a permanently installed cooking appliance; 
nor  

(ii) Be required to pass through a storage room or through a room that 
can be locked to prevent access. 

(b) The second exit may either be a door that exits directly outside to ground level 
or an operable window that meets the following requirements: 

(A) A minimum net clear opening of 5 square feet;  

(B) A minimum net clear height of 24 inches;  

(C) A minimum net clear width of 20 inches;  

(D) The bottom of the opening located no more than 44 inches from the 
finished floor; and  
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(E) The bottom of the opening located no more than 48 inches off of the 
ground outside of the home. If higher than 48 inches, steps or a platform 
must be placed under the window to reduce the distance to 48 inches.  

(5) The exit requirements listed in OAR 414-210-0810(6) through (7) apply to: 

(a) Registered family child care homes with initial licensure prior to July 1, 2025; or 

(b) A location previously licensed by CCLD at any time.  

(6) All floor levels used by children must have access to two usable exits to the outdoors. 
For the purposes of this rule “usable exit” is defined as an unobstructed door or window 
through which the provider and the children can evacuate the home in case of a fire or 
emergency. Doors must be able to be opened from the inside without a key.   

(a) For homes built before July 1, 2010, window openings must be at least 20 inches 
wide and at least 22 inches in height, with a net clear opening of five square feet 
(at least 720 square inches) and a sill no more than 48 inches above the floor.   

(b) For homes built after July 1, 2010, window openings must be at least 20 inches 
wide and at least 24 inches in height, with a net clear opening of five square feet 
(at least 720 square inches) and a sill no more than 44 inches above the floor  

(7) If a basement is used for child care purposes, the requirement for two usable exits 
may be met by one of the following:   

(a) A sliding glass door or swinging door to the outside and a window that meets 
the definition of a useable exit; or   

(b) A window which meets the definition of a useable exit and an internal stairway 
to ground level that has unobstructed and direct access to the outdoors.  

(c) If a window, which meets the definition of a usable exit, is used:  

(A) Steps must be placed under the window to allow children to exit without 
assistance; and   

(B) The window must be kept in good working condition.   

(d) If a window used as an exit has a window well, a mechanism must be in place 
to allow children to exit the window well.   

(e) The provider must complete a daily inspection to ensure that evacuation routes 
are clear and usable exits, including doors and escape windows, are operable.   

(8) Second floors (does not apply to providers registered continuously at the same 
address before 2009, unless the provider has moved the child care license to a new 
residence):   

(a) Child care children shall not sleep on the second floor or above;   

(b) Care shall not be provided for infants and toddlers on the second floor or 
above;   

(c) Night care shall not be provided on the second floor or above;  

(d) Children may be allowed on the second floor to use the bathroom if the only 
bathroom is on the second floor;   
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(e) Care can be provided for preschool and school-age children on the second 
floor or above, if:   

(A) There are two staircases to the ground level and all children are mobile 
enough to exit safely; or   

(B) The designated fire code official has approved the use of the upper floor.  

(9) A provider must ensure that children do not have access to heating equipment such as 
furnaces, fireplaces, stoves, steam and hot water pipes, and electric space heaters. 

(10) A registered family child care’s heating equipment must be safe to operate. 

(a) Flammable materials including papers, curtains, and furniture must be at least 3 
feet from furnaces, fireplaces, and other heating devices.  

(b) Fireplaces, fireplace inserts, and wood/corn pellet stoves, if used, must: 

(A) Have a secure, stable protective barrier; and 

(B) Be inspected and cleaned annually. 

(c) Portable electric space heaters must: 

(A) Be attended while in use and be off when unattended; 

(B) Have an automatic shut off feature for tipping over and overheating; 

(C) Have protective covering to keep hands and objects away from the electric 
heating element; 

(D) Bear the safety certification mark of a nationally recognized testing 
laboratory; 

(E) Be placed only on the floor; 

(F) Be properly vented, as required for proper functioning; and 

(G) Be used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 

(11) Activity areas must be adequately lighted and ventilated. 

(a) Doors and windows which are opened for ventilation must be equipped with 
fine-meshed screens.  

(b) After painting or laying carpet, the child care home must be aired out 
completely for at least 24 hours with good ventilation before children are 
allowed to return. 

(12) A registered family child care’s electrical system must not a pose a risk to children. 

(a) Unused electrical outlets accessible to children preschool-age and younger 
must be tamper-resistant or have outlet covers that are not easily removed by 
children. 

(b) Electrical wiring and power strips with surge protectors must be inaccessible to 
child care children.  

(c) Electrical cords must be in good working condition, not torn or frayed, and not 
have any exposed wires 



414-210-0820  Water Supply and Plumbing 

Registered Family Child Care Rules | CCLD-0086 | pg.41 
 

(d) Extension cords may only be used for a brief, temporary purpose and must not 
replace direct wiring. 

(13) When the indoor temperature is lower than 68°F or higher than 85°F, a provider must 
utilize strategies to help children stay warm or cool. 

(14) A provider must ensure the following home safety measures:  

(a) Phone service is available in the home during operating hours. 

(b) Floors must be free of splinters, large unsealed cracks, sliding rugs and other 
hazards. 

(c) Windows above the ground floor that are accessible to children preschool-age 
and younger must be equipped with a lock to prevent opening more than 4 
inches. 

(d) Vertical blinds, continuous looped blinds, and drapery cords must either be out 
of reach of children or have tension or tie-down devices to hold the cords tight. 

(e) Indoor platforms and lofts more than 30 inches in height must have protective 
barriers. 

(f) A movable barrier, e.g. baby gate, must be placed at the top and/or bottom of 
all stairways accessible to infants and toddlers.  

(g) Clear glass panels must be clearly marked at children’s eye level.   

414-210-0820  Water Supply and Plumbing 

(1) A registered family child care's water supply must be from a public water supply or 
well, and must be tested for lead, unless the registered family child care uses an CCLD 
approved alternative water source. 

(2) A provider must test each faucet used for drinking or food preparation for lead in the 
water, unless the home uses an CCLD approved alternative water source. 

(3) If the water supply does not meet applicable levels established in (4), the provider 
must obtain a sufficient supply of potable water, such as bottled water, to ensure 
compliance with rules for drinking and cooking until treatment or an alternate source 
is obtained. The faucet must not be used for consumption or food preparation until 
the lead levels have been mitigated. 

(4) After initial testing, a provider must test all drinking water faucets or fixtures for lead 
at least once every 6 years from the date of the last test. There must be no more than 
15 parts per billion (ppb) of lead. 

(5) All testing must be performed by a laboratory accredited by the Oregon Laboratory 
Accreditation Program according to standards set under OAR chapter 333, division 64 
in effect as of September 30, 2018. All sample collection and testing must be in 
accordance with the EPA’s 3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking Water in Schools and 
Child Care Facilities, Revised Manual from October 2018, adopted by reference. 
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(6) A provider must submit all test results to CCLD within 10 calendar days of receiving 
the results from the laboratory. The test results must be accompanied by a written 
statement that identifies the location of each drinking water faucet or fixture tested. 

(7) If test results show that water from any drinking water faucet or fixture has unsafe 
levels of lead, a provider: 

(a) Must prevent access to that drinking water faucet or fixture immediately after 
receiving the test results and until mitigation is complete; 

(b) Must use only bottled or packaged water to meet the requirements of this section; 

(c) Must submit a corrective action plan to CCLD for approval within 60 days of 
receiving the test results. The corrective action plan must identify an appropriate 
mitigation strategy in accordance with Module 6 of the EPA’s 3Ts for Reducing Lead 
in Drinking Water in Schools and Child Care Facilities, Revised Manual from October 
2018, adopted by reference; 

(d) Must implement the mitigation method within 30 days of approval by CCLD; and 

(e) May consult with the Oregon Health Authority for technical assistance. 

(8) A provider must keep a copy of the most recent test results on site at all times. 

(9) If a provider does not use any of the on-site plumbing fixtures to obtain water for 
drinking, cooking, preparing infant formula, or preparing food, the provider must: 

(a) Submit a written statement at the time of renewal to CCLD identifying the 
alternative source of water and confirming that the provider does not use any 
on-site plumbing fixtures for drinking, cooking, or preparing food; and 

(b) Notify CCLD in writing if the alternative source of water changes. 

(10) If a faucet has not been tested within 6 years, a provider must discontinue using that 
faucet until testing is completed and the results are below 15 parts per billion (ppb) of 
lead. 

(11) If using a private well, additional testing must be completed prior to initial license and, 
at a minimum, every two years after initial testing.  

(a) Well water must be tested for:  

(A) Coliform and E.coli bacteria;  

(B) Nitrate; and   

(C) Arsenic.  

(b) Testing must be completed by an Oregon Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 
Program (ORELAP) accredited laboratory.  

(c) Test results must be submitted to the local public health authority for evaluation.    

(d) If the well water does not meet safety standards, the provider must discontinue use 
of the water source, as per recommendation of the local public health authority. 
The provider must establish and implement a mitigation plan under the guidance of 
the local public health authority, until such time that the well water is deemed safe 
for use. 
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(e) For registered family child care homes initially licensed prior to July 1, 2025, testing 
identified in (11) must be completed prior to the next renewal and at a minimum 
every two years after initial testing. 

414-210-0830  Toilets, Hand Washing Sinks, and Bathing 

(1) A registered family child care home must have at least one flush toilet and one 
handwashing sink available to children at all times.   

(a) Toilets must be supplied with toilet paper.   

(b) All handwashing sinks must:  

(A) Have mixing faucets with both hot and cold running water. Registered family child 
care homes with certification in effect on September 15, 2002, shall comply with the 
requirement for mixing faucets when bathroom facilities are remodeled.   

(B) Have soap and single-use towels or clean cloth towels that are laundered daily or 
when visibly soiled; and 

(C) Not be used for preparation of food or drinks, or dish washing.   

(c) Easily cleanable steps or a broad-based platform with a non-slip surface so that 
children can use the toilets and sinks comfortably and without adult assistance must be 
provided.  

(2) If infants and toddlers are in care there shall be a bathtub, baby bathtub, plastic basin, or 
similar size shallow sink available for bathing children.  

414-210-0840  Prevention and Management of Hazards 

(1) A provider must ensure that the following items are inaccessible to children as defined in 
OAR 414-210-0100(19): 

(a) All toxic or potentially dangerous items; 

(b) Cleaning, sanitizing and disinfecting supplies and equipment; 

(c) Poisonous plants; 

(d) Tobacco products, smokeless or vaping devices;  

(e) Alcohol; 

(f) Flammable materials, including matches and lighters, and corrosive materials; 

(g) Knives and other sharp objects; and 

(h) Motorized yard or power tools. 

(2) Toxic substances must be stored separately from medication, food service equipment, 
and food supplies. 

(3) Products must be stored in the original labeled containers. Any smaller containers or 
solutions mixed by caregivers must be labeled with the contents of the container. 
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(4) A provider must take steps to prevent children’s exposure to the following, if they exist on 
the premises: 

(a) Any sources of lead and lead based paint. Painted surfaces must be in good condition, 
both inside and outside, to avoid exposing children to lead-based paint; 

(b) Asbestos; 

(c) Toxic mold; and 

(d) Other identified toxins and hazards. 

(5) A provider must recognize, address or remove potentially dangerous items and situations, 
using protective barriers to prevent children’s access, if needed. Caregivers must: 

(a) Regularly inspect the indoor and outdoor play areas and equipment for hazards, such 
as missing parts or broken equipment, sharp edges, splinters, and trash;  

(b) Ensure open containers of water such as bathtubs, buckets, and mop pails are 
emptied immediately after use;  

(c) Ensure sand boxes are free of animal waste and trash; and 

(d) Ensure that all plastic bags that are large enough to fit over a child’s head are 
inaccessible to children. 

(6) A provider must not permit the use of any tobacco products such as cigarettes, cigars, 
and smokeless or vaping devices, drug paraphernalia, hemp, marijuana and marijuana 
infused products on the premises during operating hours or when child care children are 
present. This includes: 

(a) In the child care home; 

(b) In the outdoor play area; 

(c) Within 10 feet of any entrance, exit, or window that opens or any ventilation intake that 
serves an enclosed area; or 

(d) In any vehicles where child care children are present or on any field trip. 

(7) All marijuana, marijuana derivatives and associated paraphernalia must be stored 
through one of the following methods: 

(a) Under a child safety device or child safety lock; or 

(b) In a locked room. 

(8) No one shall grow or distribute marijuana on the registered family child care premises.  

(9) No one shall consume alcohol on the registered family child care premises during 
operating hours or when child care children are present.  

(10) No one shall possess, use or store illegal controlled substances on the registered family 
child care premises.  

(11) Firearms, BB guns, pellet guns and arrows must be kept under lock, such as a key, 
combination, or biometric lock. A child safety lock or trigger lock does not meet this 
requirement. 

(a) Ammunition must be stored and locked separately. 
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(b) Firearms, BB guns, and pellet guns must be kept unloaded. 

(12) A provider must prevent access to all pools and other bodies of water such as hot tubs, 
spas, ponds, creeks, fountains, ornamental ponds, rain barrels. 

(a) Pools and hot tubs must be made inaccessible through one of the following methods: 

(A) A locking, rigid cover; 

(B) A minimum four foot high fence that begins at ground level, and all gates and 
doors that allow access are locked;  

(C) Four foot non-climbable sides with pool ladder removed or inaccessible; or 

(D) In a locked room or all doors that access the area are locked.  

(b) For registered family child cares with licensure prior to July 1, 2025, ornamental and 
natural ponds within the child care outdoor play area must be made inaccessible 
through one of the following methods: 

(A) Enclosed by a secure barrier and locked with either a key or a combination lock; 

(B) A grate on top of a small pond of sufficient strength and rigidity to prevent 
children from falling into the water. The grate must be locked or secured to 
prevent removal; or 

(C) A locked door to the outside area where the pond is located as long as the door 
is always locked during operating hours and children are not using the outside 
area where the pond is located. 

(c) For registered family child cares with licensure on or after July 1, 2025, ornamental or 
natural ponds are prohibited in the child care outdoor play area. Registered family child 
cares licensed prior to July 1, 2025 are prohibited from adding a new ornamental pond 
or natural pond to the child care outdoor activity area. 

(d) If the premises has an unfenced bay, creek or other body of water that is accessible to 
the child care children, the provider must be physically present with children of all ages 
while outdoors, or the children must play in a specified area from which the body of 
water is not accessible.  

(13) A registered family child care must keep the home free of insects, rodents, and other 
pests. 

(a) Automatic insecticides dispensers, vaporizers, or fumigants must not be used.  

(b) Pest control products must not be applied or used when child care children are 
present. After their application, child care children must not enter the area until 
indicated by the manufacturer's instructions. 

(14) A provider must take precautions to protect children from vehicular traffic: 

(a) Require drop off and pick up only at the curb or at an off-street location protected 
from traffic; and 

(b) Assure that any caregiver who supervises drop-off and loading can see and assure 
that children are clear of the perimeter of all vehicles before any vehicle moves.    
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414-210-0850  Maintenance and Sanitation 

(1) The registered family child care home and grounds shall be kept clean and free of 
litter or rubbish and unused or inoperable equipment, and vehicles.  

(a) All garbage, solid waste, and refuse must be disposed of regularly, in a safe and 
sanitary manner.  

(b) Outdoor garbage storage must be inaccessible to children.   

(2) Unused appliances, such as old refrigerators or freezers, that present a risk for 
entrapment, must be secured so as to prevent entry. 

(3) A provider must maintain the building, equipment, and vehicles in good repair, in a 
clean and sanitary condition.  

(a) Floors, walls, ceilings and fixtures of all rooms must be kept clean and in good 
repair.  

(b) Surfaces and objects that are frequently touched must be routinely be cleaned, 
sanitized and disinfected.  

(c) The kitchen and bathrooms used for child care must be cleaned and sanitized 
or disinfected as needed and at least daily.  

(4) All toys, equipment and furniture used by children must be cleaned, rinsed and 
sanitized regularly and whenever soiled.  

(a) Water tables, similar containers, and water toys must be emptied and sanitized 
daily or more often if necessary.  

(b) Bedding must be cleaned at least weekly, or more often if soiled and before use 
by another child.  

(c) If using mats and cots, they must be cleaned and sanitized at least once a 
week, or more often when soiled and before use by another child.  

(5) A provider must immediately clean up any spills of bodily fluids, such as urine, feces, 
blood, vomit, and other bodily fluids as follows:  

(a) Caregivers must use disposable, nonporous gloves when handling bodily fluids;  

(b) Surfaces must be cleaned and disinfected;  

(c) Blood-contaminated material must be disposed of in a tied or sealed plastic 
bag and discarded immediately;  

(d) Gloves must be removed immediately after use, placed in a tied, sealed, or 
otherwise closed plastic bag and discarded immediately; and  

(e) Hands must be washed after using and disposing of the gloves.  

414-210-0860  Fire Protection 
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(1) Doorways, evacuation routes, and exits must be kept free of materials, furniture, 
equipment and debris to allow unobstructed access to the outdoors. The provider 
must complete a daily inspection to ensure that evacuation routes are clear and exits, 
including doors and escape windows, are operable. 

(2) Flammable and combustible materials: 

(a) Must be stored in the original container or a safety container; 

(b) Must not be stored within 4 feet of furnaces, other flame or heat-producing 
equipment, or fuel-fired water heaters; and 

(c) If over a gallon, kept in an unattached building, such as a shed or garage. 

(3) Heating and air vents, filters and dryer vents must be cleaned regularly to prevent lint 
build-up. 

(4) Items with open flames must not be used, expect for the brief supervised use of 
candles.  

(5) There must be at least one 2-A-10 BC rated fire extinguisher on each floor of the 
home, unless the floor is not under the direct control of the provider. 

(a) Fire extinguishers on floors where child care occurs must be designated on the 
floor plan required in OAR 414-210-0260(2) and either mounted or stored along 
the primary evacuation route. Fire extinguishers must be easily accessible and 
visible. 

(b) If fire extinguishers are stored in a cabinet or closet, they must be mounted and 
there must be a sign indicating that the fire extinguisher is located inside. 
Obstructions, including furniture, storage of supplies, or any other items shall not 
be placed in a manner that blocks access to the cabinet or closet. 

(c) The provider must inspect the fire extinguishers monthly and the inspection 
must be documented. 

(6) Smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors must be: 

(a) Installed on each floor level of the home and in any area where children nap. If 
installed outside of a room used for napping, it must be located within 6 feet of 
the doorway to the room;  

(b) Maintained in operating order; and 

(c) Tested monthly to ensure they are in working order. The test must be 
documented.  

(7) Fire drills must be practiced monthly at various times during child care operating hours. 

(a) Fire drills must include a drill using an alternate evacuation route at least once 
per year. 

(b) A fire drill must be conducted when required by CCLD during an announced 
visit. 
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(c) Caregivers must have an alert method (for example, a smoke alarm, strobe 
light, loud bell or whistle) to warn the occupants of the home of an emergency 
or drill. 

(d) A provider must demonstrate efforts to complete full evacuation of caregivers 
and child care children within three minutes. If unable to evacuate within three 
minutes, the provider must engage in additional efforts including one or more of 
the following: 

(A) Using evacuation cribs, strollers/buggies, or wagons; 

(B) Providing caregivers with additional training;  

(C) Giving children specific tasks to complete during the drill, such as holding 
onto a safety walking rope;  

(D) Providing children with clear and direct instructions that are age-
appropriate about what is happening during the drill;  

(E) Reviewing and editing emergency plans and evacuation routes;  

(F) Conducting additional evacuation drills;  

(G) Incorporating fire safety planning into curriculum; and  

(H) Other strategies identified by CCLD. 

(e) One other aspect of the emergency preparedness and response plan in 
addition to the monthly fire drills shall be practiced at least every other month 
and must follow the recording requirements listed in OAR 414-210-0860(8). 

(8) A provider must maintain a written record of each emergency preparedness drill 
showing:  

(a) The date and time;  

(b) The exits used;  

(c) The number and age range of children evacuated;  

(d) The total number of people in the home at the time of the drill;  

(e) The amount of time taken to evacuate the home;  

(f) The name of the person conducting the drill; and  

(g) The alert method used. 

414-210-0900  Furniture, Equipment and Play Materials 

(1) A provider must ensure furniture, equipment and play materials used by child care 
children are maintained in a hazard free condition.  

(2) Broken play materials, furniture and equipment must be removed from areas 
accessible to child care children.  

(3) Play materials and equipment must: 
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(a) Be safe, clean, durable, well constructed, and made from lead-free non toxic 
materials; and 

(b) Provide for a wide variety of choices and activities, specified in OAR 414-210-0520, 
Daily Routine and Activities. Materials and activities must reflect the cultures and 
interests of children and families in care.  

(4) Activities that include a tool that could pose a safety risk (e.g., iron, glue gun, 
woodworking tool) are limited to preschool and school-age children. 

(a) Caregivers must first instruct children in the tool’s proper use and safety measures. 

(b) Caregivers must be within arm’s reach of the children participating in the activity to 
reduce the risk of injury. 

(5) A provider must provide an individual bed, mat, cot, or other sleep equipment for 

(a) Each toddler and preschool-age child at nap time; 

(b) Each school-age child who wants to rest; and 

(c) A child that needs to be isolated due to illness. 

(6) Mats, cots, and other sleep equipment must:  

(a) Be durable and in good repair; and 

(b) Be able to be cleaned and sanitized. 

(7) Floors mats must be: 

(a) Designed for sleeping; and 

(b) Covered in a water-resistant material. 

(8) A provider must ensure that each child 12 months or age and older is provided with 
individual bedding consisting of at least a sheet or blanket.  

(9) Family beds or sofas may be used with individual bedding. 

(10) If a child’s parent requests, siblings may share the same bed. 

(11) The upper level of bunk beds may only be used for children 10 years of age and older 
and must have a bed rail and safety ladder in place. 

414-210-0920  Outdoor Play Area 

(1) Elevated play equipment taller than 18 inches may not be placed on concrete, asphalt, 
lumber, or similarly hard surface. 

(2) Any non-portable piece of climbing or swinging equipment must be anchored securely. 

(3) A provider must provide a shaded area accessible to children in the outdoor play 
areas. Shade may be provided by trees, buildings, or shade structures.  

(4) Trampolines, other than rebounders, are prohibited.  

(a) Rebounders are permitted only when used according to manufacturer’s 
instructions. 
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(b) If a trampoline is in the child care activity area, a provider must ensure that child 
care children cannot access the trampoline. 

(5) Inflatable equipment such as: bounce houses, moon walkers, and giant slides, etc., are 
permitted when used according to manufacturer’s instructions. Caregivers must be 
present and physically positioned to respond if needed.  

(6) A provider must provide outdoor gross motor activities that address a variety of skills 
(for example, climbing, balancing, throwing, catching, pedaling, and steering).  

(7) A provider must encourage the use of helmets and have them available for children 
while using a bicycle, tricycle, balance bike, kick scooter, skateboard, roller or in-line 
skates. 

(8) A provider must comply with Oregon bicycle laws while child care children are riding 
on public paths or roadways. 

414-210-1000  Handwashing 

(1) Caregivers and children must wash their hands with soap and warm running water:  

(a) After using the toilet; 

(b) After diaper changing; 

(c) After assisting someone with toileting; 

(d) Before handling food; 

(e) Before and after eating; 

(f) Before assisting with feeding; and 

(g) When switching between working with raw foods and ready-to-eat foods. 

(2) Caregivers and children must either wash their hands with soap and warm running 
water or use hand sanitizer with alcohol content between 60-95%: 

(a) After wiping the nose; 

(b) After coughing or sneezing; 

(c) After outside activities; and 

(d) After handling pet toys or touching animals, other than dogs or cats.  

(3) Hand sanitizer must be stored out of reach of children. 

(4) Hand sanitizer must not be used on children under 24 months of age. 

(5) Application of hand sanitizer on older toddlers and preschool-age children must be 
supervised by an adult. 

(6) When handwashing is not possible, but required by OAR 414-210-1000(1)(a) through (g), 
e.g. on field trips and on the playground, moist towelettes and hand sanitizer with 
alcohol content between 60-95% must be used together.  

(7) For children who are not able to wash their own hands, caregivers may wash children’s 
hands with a single-use cloth rather than under running water. 
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414-210-1010  Illness 

(1) A provider must not accept a child into care who:  

(a) Is diagnosed as having or being a carrier of a child care restrictable disease, as 
defined in Oregon Health Authority administrative rules, except with the written 
approval of the public health administrator or licensed health care provider; or  

(b) Has one or more of the following symptoms of illness, except with the written 
approval of the public health administrator or licensed health care provider:  

(A) Fever over 100.4°F. A child with a fever over 100.4°F may return if fever free 
for 24 hours without the aid of medication.  

(B) “Diarrhea”, which means three or more watery, bloody, or loose stools in 24 
hours, the sudden onset of loose stools, or a child is unable to control bowel 
function when previously able. A child with diarrhea may return 48 hours 
after diarrhea resolves or with written clearance from a licensed healthcare 
provider.  

(C) Vomiting at least one time, where there is no explanation for the vomiting. A 
child who vomits without explanation may return 48 hours after the last 
episode of vomiting or with written clearance from a licensed healthcare 
provider.  

(D) Severe or persistent coughing. A child with severe or persistent coughing 
may return after symptoms are improving for 24 hours or with written 
clearance from a licensed healthcare provider.  

(E) Unusual yellow color to skin or eyes. A child with unusual yellow color to skin 
or eyes may return to care with written clearance from a licensed 
healthcare provider.  

(F) Open sores or wounds discharging bodily fluids. A child with open sores or 
wounds discharging bodily fluids may return to care after rash is resolved, 
when sores and wounds are dry or can be completely covered with a 
bandage, or with written clearance from a licensed health care provider.  

(G) Stiff neck and headache with one or more of the symptoms listed above  

(H) Uncharacteristic lethargy, decreased alertness, increased irritability, 
increased confusion, or a behavior change that prevents active 
participation in usual school activities. A child with any of the above 
symptoms may return to care when symptoms resolve, return to normal 
behavior, or with written clearance from a licensed health care provider.  

(I) Difficulty breathing or abnormal wheezing. A child with difficulty breathing 
or abnormal wheezing may return to care after symptoms are improving 
for 24 hours.  

(J) Complaints of severe pain. A child with complaints of severe pain may 
return to care after symptoms are improving.  
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(K) Eye lesions that are severe, weeping, or pus filled. A child with eye lesions 
that are severe, weeping, or pus filled may return to care after symptoms 
resolve or with written clearance from a licensed healthcare provider. 

(2) If a child who has been admitted into care shows signs of illness, as described in this 
rule, a provider must: 

(a) Separate the child from the other children in a location where the child can be 
supervised by caregivers and carefully observed at all times; 

(b) Notify the parent to remove the children from care as soon as possible; and 

(c) Until the parent arrives, provide the child with an individual cot, mat, or bed that 
can be easily cleaned and disinfected after use. 

(3) If any child, caregiver or volunteer has a restrictable disease, as defined in Oregon 
Health Authority, Public Health Division Chapter 333, Division 19 Investigation and 
Control of Diseases: General Powers And Responsibilities, a provider must: 

(a) Immediately report the incident or illness to the local health department; 

(b) Follow the health department’s recommendations on exclusion and readmission of 
children and caregivers; and 

(c) Post a notice for the parents of all children who attend the home. 

(4) A provider must develop a written care plan at the time of enrollment, or when an 
allergy is identified, for each enrolled child who has an allergy that poses a threat to 
the child’s health, safety and wellbeing. The plan must include instructions regarding 
the allergen and steps to be taken to avoid the allergen; signs and symptoms of an 
allergic reaction; and a detailed treatment plan including the names, doses, and 
methods of prompt administration of any medication in response to allergic reactions. 
In addition: 

(a) The parent must be notified immediately of any suspected allergic reactions or if 
the child consumed or came in contact with the allergen, even if a reaction did not 
occur; 

(b) If epinephrine is administered, emergency medical services must be contacted 
immediately, and, CCLD must be notified by 5:00pm the next business day.  

(c) All caregivers involved in care of the child must be trained on the written care plan; 
and 

(d) Specific food allergies must be shared with all caregivers that prepare and serve 
food. 
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414-210-1020  Injuries 

(1) A provider must complete a report of any serious injury or incident, and include: 

(a) The child’s full name and age; 

(b) The date of occurrence, time, type, circumstances, witnesses, and location at the 
home or off-site; 

(c) Time and date of notification of parents; 

(d) The signature of the reporting caregiver; and 

(e) The signature of the parent indicating that they reviewed it or received a copy of 
the report within 48 hours of when the incident occurred. An email or text with 
confirmation of receipt will count as a parent signature. 

(2) A provider must maintain, at a minimum, the following first aid supplies at the home, in 
any vehicle used to transport children in care, and for group activities away from the 
home: 

(a) Non-medicated adhesive bandages (assorted sizes);  

(b) Adhesive tape;  

(c) Sterile gauze pads (various sizes)  

(d) A sling, or a large triangular bandage;  

(e) Bottled water (for cleaning wounds or eyes);  

(f) Liquid handwashing soap or handwashing gel;  

(g) Sealed antiseptic towelettes or solution to be used as a wound cleaning agent;  

(h) Scissors;  

(i) Tweezers; 

(j) Disposable latex-free, powder-free gloves;  

(k) Plastic bags (for disposing of blood and other body fluids);  

(l) Mercury-free and glass-free thermometer;  

(m) Cold pack;  

(n) Chlorine bleach or other disinfectant for cleaning of blood and other bodily fluids;  

(o) Flexible rolled gauze; and  

(p) A chart or handbook of first aid instructions. 

(3) A provider must ensure that the first aid supplies are readily available to caregivers 
and kept inaccessible to children. 

(4) A provider must maintain the first aid supplies in a clean and sanitary manner and 
replace them as needed, including expired items. 
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414-210-1030  Medications 

(1) Before a provider gives a child any prescription or non-prescription medication, including, 
but not limited to, pain relievers, cough syrup, and nose drops, the provider must: 

(a) Have a signed, dated, written authorization by the parent(s) on file (also see OAR 414-
210-0230, Parental Permissions); 

(A) For chronic medical conditions, a registered family child care may obtain 
permission for 12 months or less with specific instructions including when 
administration is needed, such as inhalers. 

(B) Parental authorization over the phone is permitted for single dose 
administration of non-prescription medication. The date and time of the consent 
must be documented and signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 

(b) Ensure that the original container is labeled with the name of the medication, dosage, 
and directions for administration and storage. 

(A) For prescription medication, the label must include the child’s name, the date 
the prescription was filled, the prescribing physician's name, and length of time to 
give the medication. 

(B) If parent instructions differ from the container instructions, a registered family 
child care must have a licensed physician's written instructions for that medication. 

(C) Medication must not be administered after the expiration date. 

(D) Any medication provided by the parents must be labeled with the child’s name. 

(c) Ensure that cleaned and sanitized medication measuring devices are used when 
providing medication to a child care child, if applicable. 

(2) A provider must immediately document any medication administered, listing the name of 
the child, type of medication, date, time, and dosage given, any side effects exhibited by 
the child, and the signature of the person administering the medication. 

(3) A provider must inform parent(s) daily of all medications administered to their child. 

(4) If medication is provided by the parent, a provider must administer medication only to the 
child for whom it is intended, and follow the directions on the label. 

(5) A provider must ensure that medication is stored through one of the following methods: 

(a) Under a child safety device or child safety lock; or 

(b) In a locked room. 

(6) Emergency medication may either be inaccessible to children as defined in OAR 414-210-
0100(19) or kept with a caregiver. 

(7) A provider must keep medications requiring refrigeration in a separate tightly-covered, 
leakproof container clearly marked "medication" and inaccessible to children. 

(8) The application of sunscreen and diaper cream does not need to be documented, but a 
provider must: 

(a) Have annual written parental authorization; 
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(b) Use only as needed and according to manufacturer’s instructions; 

(c) Inform parents of the type of sunscreen used if provided by the registered family child 
care; 

(d) Label the item with the child’s name if provided by the parent, and use only for that 
child; and 

(e) Allow children to apply sunscreen to themselves with direct caregiver supervision and 
written parental approval. 

414-210-1050  Care of Children with Specific Needs 

When caring for a child who has or is at increased risk for a chronic physical, developmental, 
behavioral, or emotional condition and who requires health and related services of a type or 
amount beyond that required by children generally, a provider must have a written care plan. 
The written care plan must include the following, when applicable: 

(1) A list of the child’s diagnosis/diagnoses;  

(2) Contact information for the primary care provider and any relevant sub-specialists 
(i.e., endocrinologists, oncologists, etc.);  

(3) Medications to be administered on a scheduled basis;  

(4) Medications to be administered on an emergency basis with clearly stated 
parameters, signs, and symptoms that warrant giving the medication written in 
language that is easy to understand;  

(5) Procedures to be performed and person responsible for training staff members;  

(6) Allergies;  

(7) Dietary modifications required for the health of the child;  

(8) Activity modifications;  

(9) Environmental modifications;  

(10) Stimulus that initiates or precipitates a reaction or series of reactions (triggers) to 
avoid;  

(11) Symptoms for caregivers to observe; 

(12) Behavioral modifications;  

(13) Emergency response plans, both if the child has a medical emergency, and special 
factors to consider in a programmatic emergency, like a fire;  

(14) Any necessary special skills training and education for caregivers and the person 
responsible for training staff members; and  

(15) Any individualized services (e.g. occupational therapy, speech services) that will be 
provided at the home. If the individualized service required the child be out of direct 
supervision of caregivers, parental permission is required. 
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414-210-1100  Food and Food Service 

(1) A provider must ensure that all food and beverages are selected, stored, prepared, 
and served in a sanitary manner. 

(a) Potentially hazardous foods and drinks must be stored and maintained below 41°F. 

(b) Food must be prepared and served in accordance with the minimum standards 
identified in food handler certification.  

(2) Children must not be in the kitchen or food preparation areas when foods are being 
prepared unless a caregiver is present and children are protected from hazards such 
as hot foods, sharp utensils, etc.  

(3) Food-contact surfaces, service utensils, and tableware must be easily cleanable and in 
good repair.  

(4) Single service items such as paper plates, cups and napkins, and plastic utensils may 
be used only once and must be discarded after use. 

(5) Children that are in care more than 3 ½ consecutive hours must be served a meal or 
snack every 3 ½ hours. 

(6) Children arriving after school must be served a snack. 

(7) Children scheduled to attend prior to 7:00 am or after 6:30 pm must be offered 
breakfast or dinner. 

(8) If applicable, children in night care must be provided meals and snacks in accordance 
with OAR 414-210-1500, Night Care. 

(9) A provider must ensure that all meals, snacks, and beverages follow current USDA 
Child and Adult Food Program (USDA-CACFP) meal pattern requirements, including 
portion sizes. 

(a) Foods of minimal nutritional value, such as gelatin or desserts, may only be served 
occasionally and cannot replace nutritious foods.  

(b) A provider must not serve foods that are associated with young children's choking 
incidents to children under 3 years of age including, but not limited to: hot dog slices, 
raw carrots, whole grapes, hard candy, gum, nuts, peanuts, popcorn, rice cakes, 
chips, gel candies, and marshmallows. Children older than 3 years of age may be 
served these food provided that the foods are cut in such a way as to minimize 
choking hazards. 

(c) Special diets, not including vegetarian diets, may only be served to a child with 
written instructions from a registered dietician or medical practitioner and written 
parental consent.  

(d) A provider must make additional servings available if a child remains hungry. 

(10) A provider must serve beverages consisting only of water, milk, or nutritionally 
equivalent milk substitute, and fruit or vegetable juice. 

(a) Fruit and vegetable juice must be pasteurized 100 percent juice. 

(b) Milk must be Grade A pasteurized and fortified milk. 
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(c) Pasteurized powdered milk and evaporated milk must only be used in cooking. 

(d) A parent may request that their child not be served milk. A provider must obtain 
written parental permission to not serve milk to a specific child. This must be at the 
parent’s request, on a case-by-case basis, and not a program-wide policy. 

(11) A provider may serve a child food provided by the parent of the child only when: 

(a) Food is brought on a daily basis and is ready to eat, requiring no preparation; 

(b) All food and beverage containers must be labeled with the child’s name; 

(c) Each child’s food must be monitored daily by a caregiver to ensure that the food 
meets nutritional requirements identified in OAR 414-210-1100(9); and 

(d) The provider must have sufficient food available to supplement any meal or snack 
that does not meet the nutritional requirements as specified in OAR 414-210-1100(9). 

(12) Drinking water must be freely available to child care children.  

414-210-1200 Transportation and Field Trips 

(1) If a provider transports children, the provider must be in compliance with all applicable 
state laws, including current vehicle insurance that covers the driver, the vehicle, and all 
occupants. 

(2) A provider must not transport children in vehicles or parts of vehicles not designed for 
transporting people, such as truck beds, campers, and trailers. 

(3) When children are taken on field trips, a provider must ensure that: 

(a) Caregivers check a written list of children on the field trip frequently to account for 
the presence of all children and: 

(A) Prior to boarding and exiting the vehicle; and 

(B) Any time the group changes locations on site (e.g. when moving from one 
exhibit to the next). 

(b) When 6 or more children are taken on a field trip: 

(A) Each child must wear an easily identifiable item, such as a label, shirt or 
wristband, listing the name and telephone number of the registered family child 
care; and 

(B) Caregivers are easily identifiable. 

(4) If firearms and ammunition are stored in the vehicle, they must be stored as specified 
in OAR 414-210-0840(11). 

(5) Only the provider or a substitute provider may transport child care children and must 
meet the following requirements: 

(a) Have a valid driver’s license appropriate for the type of vehicle driven; 

(b) Do not have any medical condition or use alcohol, drugs, tobacco or any 
medication that could compromise driving, supervision, or evacuation abilities; 
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(c) Operate the vehicle in a legal and safe manner; and 

(d) Eliminate distractions such as the use of earphones or cell phones. 

(6) A provider may allow a parent to transport children other than the parent’s own 
children without a provider or substitute provider present in the vehicle, only if the 
parent meets substitute provider qualifications and transportation requirements as 
provided in these rules, and is enrolled in the CBR. 

(7) A provider must never leave children unattended inside or outside of a vehicle. 

(8) A provider must maintain the following items in the vehicle as well as at the home: 

(a) An operable phone; 

(b) Proof of vehicle insurance; 

(c) Emergency medical information on each child including parents’ contact 
information, special medical needs, medications, allergies, the name and phone 
number of the child’s doctor, and emergency medical authorization forms; 

(d) When transporting children with chronic medical conditions (such as asthma, 
diabetes, or seizures), their emergency care treatment plans, supplies and 
medication; and 

(e) A first aid kit that is easily accessible to staff and not children, and with contents 
specified in OAR 414-210-1020(2), Injuries). 

(9) A provider must ensure the following safety practices are followed: 

(a) The vehicle doors are locked when the vehicle is moving and when not in use. 

(b) The motor is turned off, the brake set, and the keys removed whenever the driver 
leaves the vehicle. 

(c) No vehicle window, except that of the driver, must be opened to more than 50 
percent of its capacity when children are on board. 

(d) Children's entire bodies must remain in the vehicle. 

(e) Safe conduct to and from the vehicles and safe off-street loading spaces must be 
provided. 

(A) Children must be loaded and unloaded only at the curb or at an off-street area 
protected from traffic on the same side of the street as the building they will 
enter. 

(B) If children must cross a street, they must be accompanied by an adult. 

414-210-1230  Passenger Restraints and Vehicles 

(1) A provider must meet the following passenger restraint and seating rules to ensure 
children’s safety during transportation: 

(a) The manufacturer’s maximum seating capacity for the vehicle is not exceeded; 
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(b) Child passenger restraint systems and seat belts must be used according to law, 
meet federal motor vehicle standards and installed in accordance with the 
manufacturer’s instructions; 

(c) Restraint systems are properly maintained, such as not expired, recalled, or 
previously involved in a crash; 

(d) Child care children are not permitted to ride in the front seat of a vehicle; and 

(e) All adult passengers in a vehicle transporting children, other than a large school bus, 
must be properly restrained by safety belts before starting the vehicle and at all 
times the vehicle is in motion. 

(2) A provider must ensure that all vehicles used for transportation meet the following: 

(a) Vehicles, including school buses, are in compliance with all applicable state and 
local motor vehicle laws. 

(b) If a provider uses vans designed for 10 or more passengers and manufactured 
prior to 2010: 

(A) Travel speed may not exceed 50 mph; and 

(B) The vehicle must have an annual safety inspection by a garage, dealership 
or auto repair shop. Proof of inspection must be on the form provided by 
CCLD or on a form provided by the inspector which contains the same 
information. 

(c) Vehicles have a current license plate and registration as required by Oregon 
state transportation laws, including vehicles driven by volunteers. 

(d) Vehicles are maintained in good repair and safe operating condition at all times. 

 

414-210-1300  Swimming and Water Activities 

(1) A provider must have written permission from each child’s parent before engaging in 
any swimming activities. 

(2) A provider must provide constant sight and sound supervision of children around any 
bodies of water. 

(3) A provider must not use a swimming pool unless it has been licensed by the Oregon 
Health Authority or delegated agent pursuant to OAR Chapter 333, Division 60. (Also 
see OAR 414-210-0840, Prevention and Management of Hazards regarding access to 
pools and other bodies of water.) 

(4) In natural bodies of water, such as shallow surf, lakes, rivers, and streams, a provider 
must limit activity to wading by children 36 months of age and older and must not 
allow swimming. 

(5) A provider must not permit children to use or have access to a hot tub, spa, portable 
wading pool, or other similar equipment. 
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(6) If a provider has on-site swimming or is responsible for off-site swimming, the 
provider’s written emergency plan (required by OAR 414-210-0210, Emergency 
Preparedness and Response) must also include pool and swimming safety. 

(7) At all times when children are engaged in swimming and wading activities on or off the 
premises, a provider must: 

(a) Ensure that caregivers are in or at the water and prepared to enter; 

(b) Ensure that caregivers remain in direct physical contact with infants at all times 
and not more than an arms length from 1-year-olds; 

(c) Meet the following caregiver-to-child ratios: 

(A) Six weeks of age to 36 months - 1:1; 

(B) Preschool-age – 1:6;  

(C) School-age – 1:10. 

(D) The age of the youngest child in a mixed-age group determines the 
caregiver-to-child ratio. 

(d) Verify that all caregivers counted in the caregiver-to-child ratios are able to 
swim if the water is more than 48 inches dep; 

(e) Ensure that a certified lifeguard is present and on duty at all times. The lifeguard 
may not count in caregiver-to-child ratios; and 

(f) Review safety rules with children each time they participate.  

(8) Water activities that involve a sprayer or spray feature using potable water that is not 
re-circulated or collected may be conducted by the provider. 

414-210-1400  Animals 

(1) A provider must ensure that any animal accessible to child care children is: 

(a) In good health and shows no signs of carrying disease; 

(b) Friendly toward children with no signs or history of aggression; 

(c) Kept free of fleas, ticks, and worms; 

(d) Fully immunized according to a licensed veterinarian's recommendations, 
including rabies vaccinations for dogs. Proof of current compliance with 
immunizations shall be kept on file in the home; and 

(e) Kept in a cage or tank with the exception of cats and dogs. 

(2) All animals shall be kept away from food preparation surfaces. If animals have access 
to food preparation surfaces, the surfaces shall be cleaned and sanitized prior to meal 
preparation. 

(3) A provider may not allow an animal with any history of biting to be in child care activity 
areas during operating hours or while child care children are present. 
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(4) A provider must take precautions when encountering any animals unfamiliar to the 
caregivers, such as a stray. 

(5) A provider may allow an animal, other than a cat or dog, such as a poisonous animal, 
reptile, amphibian, monkey, hook-beaked bird, chicken, duck, hermit crab, rodent or 
ferret on the premises only if: 

(a) The animal is housed in and remains in a cage, tank or other measure which 
precludes any direct contact by children; or 

(b) The animal is present as part of an educational program run by a zoo, museum 
or another professional animal handler. 

(6) A provider must ensure that all contact between an animal and a child is supervised by 
a caregiver who are close enough to remove the child immediately if the animal shows 
signs of aggression or distress or the child shows signs of treating the animal 
inappropriately.  

(7) Parents must be made aware of the presence of any animals on the premises. 

(8) Animal waste items such as litter boxes and pet training pads shall not be located in 
areas accessible to children or areas used for food storage or preparation. 

414-210-1500  Night Care 

(1) A provider is subject to these rules when providing night care as defined in OAR 414-
210-0100(26). 

(2) A provider must: 

(a) Be awake for the arrival and departure of each child in night care; and 

(b) Be present on the same floor level as the child care children who are sleeping. 

(3) All individuals 18 years of age and older, inclusive of guests sleeping in the home during 
night care hours, must comply with OAR 414-210-0310, Central Background Registry 
Enrollment. 

(4) Night care must not be provided on the second floor or above. 

(5) During night care, a provider must have a method for illuminating evacuation routes. 

(6) The following accommodations must be provided to sleeping children: 

(a) Each child who spends the majority of their sleeping hours per night in night 
care must have an individual bed and mattress, or another sleeping 
arrangement that provides adequate support to a child's body and of a size 
appropriate to the age of the child. The mattress must be fitted with a 
waterproof cover. 

(b) Each child who does not spend the majority of their sleeping hours in night care 
must have an individual crib, portable crib, play yard, cot, mat, or bed with 
bedding as specified in OAR 414-210-0620 Furniture and Equipment for Infants 
and Toddlers and OAR 414-210-0900 Furniture, Equipment, and Play Materials. 
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(c) The upper level of bunk beds must be used only for children 10 years or older 
when a bed rail and safety ladder are in place. 

(d) Other than infants, children must be provided with sheets, pillows, pillowcases, 
and blankets. 

(e) Sheets, pillowcases, and blankets must be laundered at least weekly, when 
soiled, and before use by another child. 

(7) When bathing is provided:  

(a) There must be at least one bathtub or shower available to children.  

(A) The bathtub or shower must have appropriate equipment to prevent 
slipping.  

(B) Glass shower doors or glass tub enclosure must be constructed with safety 
glass. 

(b) There must be individual washcloths and towels for each child. 

(c) Privacy must be maintained for school-age children when bathing and changing 
clothes. 

(d) Children must not bathe with other children unless a parent(s) has given written 
permission for siblings to bathe together. 

(8) Each child must have the opportunity to brush their teeth with an individual toothbrush 
and toothpaste labeled with their name. 

(9) A provider must meet the nutritional needs of children in evening and night care as 
specified in OAR 414-210-1100, Food and Food Service. 

(a) Dinner must be provided to children in night care if a child is at the child care 
home after their dinner time or has not had dinner before entering night care. 

(b) A nutritious snack must be offered to all children after dinner service and before 
bed. 

(c) Each child present at the time breakfast is scheduled must be served breakfast, 
unless the parent(s) specifies otherwise. 
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414-210-1610  Sanctions-Suspension, Denial, and Revocation 

(1) CCLD may immediately, and without prior notice, suspend a provider’s registration when, 
in the opinion of CCLD, such action is necessary to protect the children from physical or 
mental abuse or a substantial threat to health, safety or well‐being. Such action may be 
taken before an investigation is completed.  

(2) If a provider’s registration has been suspended, the provider must:  

(a) Immediately notify, verbally or in writing, all parents of the suspension;  

(b) Immediately provide CCLD with all names, work and home telephone numbers and 
addresses of the parent(s) or legal guardian(s) for each child; and  

(c) Post the suspension on the main entry door where it can be viewed by parents and 
others for the duration of the suspension.  

(3) If necessary to protect children, CCLD may give public notice of denial, suspension or 
revocation action taken. The type of notice will depend on individual circumstances.  

(4) If a provider does not request a hearing and the conditions which resulted in suspension 
have not been corrected, the provider’s registration shall be revoked.  

(5) Registration may be denied or revoked if a registered family child care home:  

(a) Fails to meet requirements or correct deficiencies;  

(b) Fails to correct conditions which resulted in suspension;  

(c) Fails to provide CCLD with information requested;  

(d) Refuses to allow an inspection or allows an inspection only after CCLD has obtained a 
warrant;  

(e) Is operated or maintained in a manner which is harmful to the health, safety or 
wellbeing of children in care;  

(f) Employs caregivers or has residents in the home who are not enrolled in the CBR or 
whose CBR enrollment is suspended;  

(g) Is operated by a provider who is currently suspended or has been removed from or is 
otherwise not enrolled in the CBR;  

(h) Knowingly provides inaccurate information to CCLD or causes staff to do so;  

(i) Is subject to denial or revocation for cause as provided by OAR 414-075-
0010(17)(b)(A)-(F) or 414-075-0130(8)(a) and (c);  or 

(j) Interferes with the good faith disclosure of information by staff or a volunteer 
concerning the abuse or mistreatment of a child in the registered family child care 
violations of registration requirements, criminal activity at the home, violations of state 
or federal law or any practice that threatens the health and safety of child care 
children, or otherwise engages in conduct prohibited by ORS 329A.348.  

(6) If a provider’s registration has been denied or revoked, the provider must immediately 
notify all parents of the closure and shall post a notice of the closure where it can be 
viewed by parents and others. The notice shall remain posted for a minimum of 2 weeks.  
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(7) A provider may appeal any decision to suspend, deny or revoke the certification, subject 
to the provisions of chapter 183, Oregon Revised Statutes.  

(8) CCLD may report any action to deny, suspend, or revoke a provider’s registration to the 
Department of Human Services, USDA Child Care Food Programs, or Child Care Resource 
and Referral System.  

(9) If a provider’s registration has been denied or revoked for cause, the provider is not 
eligible to reapply for a registration family child care registration for 5 years after the date 
of CCLD’s final order denying or revoking the certification for cause.  

(10) If any person, who is enrolled in the CBR, has been charged with, arrested for, or a 
warrant is out for any of the crimes which CCLD has determined indicate behavior which 
may have a detrimental effect on a child, with final disposition not yet reached, 
registration of such person to own or operate a registered family child care may be 
denied or suspended or revoked until the charge, arrest, or warrant has been resolved if 
the person continues to own, operate, be employed in or reside in the child care home, or 
have access to children in the home.  

(11) A provider’s registration may be denied, suspended or revoked if an individual has child 
abuse or neglect history or an open child protective services, child abuse or neglect, or law 
enforcement case that would make the individual ineligible for enrollment in the CBR. 

414-210-1620  Civil Penalty 

(1) CCLD may assess a civil penalty of up to $750 per violation of these rules or terms and 
conditions of registration.   

(2) CCLD may assess a civil penalty in addition to any other appropriate legal action, 
considering:   

(a) Numbers of previous violations of the same rule;   

(b) Circumstances surrounding the rule violations; and   

(c) Prior warnings, technical assistance, or legal actions regarding the certified child 
care center’s compliance with the rule.   

(3) For a serious violation, as defined in OAR 414-210-0100(44), a provider may be subject to 
a civil penalty not to exceed $750 for each violation.   

(4) For a non‐serious violation, a provider may be subject to a civil penalty of $250 for each 
violation.   

(5) CCLD may assess a separate civil penalty for each day for which CCLD has made a 
valid finding that a provider is in violation of ORS 329A.250 to ORS 329A.450, these rules, 
or the terms and conditions of certification. CCLD may assess civil penalties for multiple 
days in a single action.   

(6) An individual or entity that provides child care subject to registration or certification in a 
home or facility that is not registered or certified with CCLD may be subject to a civil 
penalty not to exceed $1,500 per day of operation of the uncertified or unregistered 
facility.   
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(7) Notwithstanding CCLD’s decision to impose a civil penalty for one or more rule 
violations, CCLD may also take action to deny, suspend or revoke a certification for the 
same rule violation or violations.   

(8) A provider may appeal any decision to impose a civil penalty, subject to the provisions 
of chapter 183, Oregon Revised Statutes.   

(9) Failure to pay a civil penalty in which CCLD has issued a final order by default or a final 
order after a contested case hearing shall be grounds for denial or revocation of a 
provider’s registration.  

  
 
STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 329A.260, ORS 329A.992 
STATUTES/OTHER IMPLEMENTED: ORS 329A.330, ORS 329A.992, ORS 329A.030 
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These rules apply to all child care facilities including certified centers, family child care 
homes, exempt child care providers, recorded programs, regulated subsidy programs, 
and those who may be conducting unlawful care. This ruleset covers the processes and 
policy which governs how CCLD/DELC proceeds in regulatory matters such as 
investigations, unlawful care, allowable exempt care, when a provider may be 
represented by their union in a contested case hearings process, or procedures for when 
an individual is prohibited from providing care. These rules help to provide transparency 
and a road map for providers and the public in understanding how the agency proceeds 
in these important matters. These rules are reflective of the regulatory authority given to 
DELC in ORS 329A and ORS 326.430. 

Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 414, Division 075  
General Rules for Child Care Facilities 
December 7, 2023 

Edition published 12/11/2023 

Department of Early Learning and Care 
Child Care Licensing Division 

This copy of the rule book is available on the Department of Early Learning and Care 
website.  Additional copies may be downloaded at any time.  

For more information or the latest updates, visit 
www.oregon.gov/delc 

Questions? Email CCLD.Customerservice@delc.oregon.gov 
Call 1-800-556-6616  

You are entitled to language assistance services and other accommodation at no cost. If 
you need help in your language or other accommodations, please contact the Office of 
Child Care at 503-947-1400. 

http://www.oregon.gov/delc
mailto:CCLD.Customerservice@delc.oregon.gov
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414-075-0000 Applicability of Rules
(1) Except as otherwise specified, these rules apply to all licensed license-exempt,

exempt, and unlicensed child care providers and facilities including:

(a) All licensed facilities including registered family child care homes, certified family
child care homes, certified child care centers, and certified school-aged child care
centers;.

(b) License-exempt child care and exempt care facilities that are required by statute
to only employ or contain individuals who are enrolled in the Central Background
Registry, including but not limited to, recorded programs and subsidized care
facilities;

(c) Exempt care facilities providing or claiming to be providing care defined to not be
child care in ORS 329A.250(4)(b)(A) through (H); and

(d) Facilities, providers, and persons providing or alleged to be providing unlawful
care as defined in OAR 414-075-0230.

(2) These rules supplant and do not supersede the rules contained in Chapter 414,
Divisions, 61, 175, 180, 205, 305, 310, 350, 400, 425, and 450 and pertaining to specific
child care program types.  In the event of a conflict between such rules and these
rules, these rules control.

(3) If any court of law finds that any clause, phrase, or provision of these rules is
unconstitutional or invalid for any reason whatsoever, this finding shall not affect the
validity of the remaining portion of these rules.
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414-075-0010 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in OAR 414-075-0000 through 414-075-0300, 
have the following meanings: 

(1) “Certified Family Child Care Home” or “CF” means a child care facility operated in a
building designed as a single family home or other dwelling that is certified to care
for no more than 16 children at any one time.

(2) “CCLD” means the Child Care Licensing Division in the Department of Early Learning
and Care.

(3) “Central Background Registry” or “CBR” means CCLD’s registry of individuals who
have been approved to be associated with a child care facility in Oregon pursuant to
ORS 329A.030 and OAR 414-061-0000 through 414-061-0120.

(4) "Child Care Child" means any child six weeks of age or older and under 13 years of
age, or a child with special needs under the age of 18 who requires a level of care
that is greater than that of their same aged peers, for whom a licensed or subsidized
child care facility, or a facility for which a license is required, or a license-exempt child
care facility as defined in this rule, has supervisory responsibility in the temporary
absence of the parent.

(5) “Child Care Facility” means any facility that provides child care to children, including
a certified child care center, certified school-aged child care center, certified family
child care home, and registered family child care home. It may include those known
under a descriptive name, such as nursery school, preschool, kindergarten, child play
school, before and after school care, or child development center, and does not
include license-exempt child care or exempt care, as defined in this rule. This term
applies to the total child care operation. It includes the physical setting, equipment,
staff, provider, program, and care of children.  It does not include a license-exempt
child care facility as defined in this rule.

(6) “Child Abuse or Neglect” means as defined as “abuse” in ORS 419B.005 including but
not limited to physical abuse, emotional abuse, sexual abuse, negligent treatment or
maltreatment, and threat of subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm to the
child’s health or welfare.

(7) “Child Protective Services” or “CPS” means the program as defined in OAR 413-015-
0115.

(8) “Civil Penalty” means a fine imposed by CCLD for violation of one or more
applicable rules or statutes.

(9) “Complaint” means written or verbal information received from any source that a
facility is providing or has provided care in a manner potentially in violation of a state
law or administrative rule within the authority of CCLD.

(10) “Employee” means an individual engaged to work full or part time in a facility. This
includes all caregivers and any individual who functions other than as a caregiver for
children.
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(11) “Exempt Care” is care provided by a caregiver that is within an exception to the 
definition of “child care” in ORS 329A.250(b)(A) through (H) or as otherwise provided 
by rule (see OAR 414-075-0250(3) and is not described in ORS 329A.250(4)(a)(A) or 
(B).    

(12) “Exempt Care Facility” means a facility that provides only exempt care as defined in 
this rule.  

(13) “Exempt Prohibited Individual” means an individual who is by law prohibited to 
provide child care or exempt care, except to children related to the individual by 
blood or marriage within the fourth degree of sanguinity as determined by civil law, 
as defined in ORS 329A.252(1)(a) through (e) and described in OAR 414-075-230. An 
exempt prohibited individual is ineligible for enrollment in the Central Background 
Registry except for limited enrollment as described in 414-061-0020(27)(b). 

(14) “Facility” means an individual, group of individuals, or entity that is caring for or is 
alleged to be providing care for any child younger than 13 years or younger than 18 
years with special needs who requires a level of care that is greater than that of their 
same-aged peers for whom the individual, group of individuals, or entity has 
responsibility in the temporary absence of the parent, legal guardian or custodian .   

(15) “Family” for purposes of determining if children are from the same family or if a child 
is in care by a member of the child’s extended family as referred to in OAR 414-075-
0250 means a group of individuals related by blood, marriage or adoption, or 
individuals whose functional relationships, such as residing together, are similar to 
those found in such associations. 

(16) “Finding” means a written determination by CCLD staff with respect to information 
received, a complaint, or an observed noncompliance with a requirement in ORS 
329A.030 or ORS 329A.250 through 329A.500 or rules adopted by the Early Learning 
Council pursuant to ORS 329A.030 or ORS 329A.250 through 329A.500.   

(17) “For Cause” means that the reason for a denial or nonrenewal of a license or 
enrollment in the CBR or the revocation of a license or removal from the CBR was 
based on a determination that: 

(a) With respect to a CBR application or enrollment, an individual was found not 
suitable after a review of history, including but not limited to criminal, child abuse 
and neglect, negative foster care certification, or negative adult protective 
services history, and of information related to the history; or 

(b) With respect to a license, the licensee failed or fails to meet licensing requirements 
and is or has operated in a manner which is harmful to the health and safety or 
wellbeing to children. For purposes of this rule, “harmful” means posing a risk of or 
actually causing physical, emotional, or mental damage to child care children, and 
includes but is not limited to any violation of:  

(A) A requirement designed to protect children from physical hazards;  

(B) Applicable guidance and discipline rules involving inappropriate punishment; 
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(C) A requirement to exclude from the facility a person who has demonstrated
behavior that may have a detrimental effect on children;

(D) A requirement to report suspected child abuse or neglect;

(E) A requirement involving safe sleep for infants; or

(F) Applicable supervision rules resulting in:

(i) A child escaping the facility;

(ii) A child being left behind from or on a field trip without supervision; or

(iii) A child being injured when the injury could have been prevented with
proper supervision.

(18) “Investigation” means the collection and review of information received by CCLD of
prompted by an allegation of a rule or statute violation including but not limited to a
cross-report of a child abuse and neglect received by law enforcement or the ODHS,
or other information received by CCLD. An investigation includes but is not limited to
a tandem investigation as defined in this rule and includes any activities as listed in
ORS 329A.390(7) or OAR 414-075-0130.

(19) “Licensed” means the state of having an active registration or certification issued by
CCLD.

(20) “License” means an authorization from CCLD to operate a registered family child
care home, a certified family child care home, a certified child care center, or
certified school-age child care center.

(21) “Licensee” means an individual to whom a registration or certification has been
issued by CCLD.

(22) “License-Exempt Child Care” means child care that is not required to be licensed
because it is provided as described in ORS 329A.250(5)(a) through (i).

(23) “License-Exempt Child Care Facility” means a facility that provides only license-
exempt child care as defined in this rule.

(24) “Noncompliance” means being in violation of a requirement contained in statute or
rule for the applicable type of facility.

(25) “Observed Noncompliance” means a noncompliance observed by CCLD staff
including information observed in a facility’s records.

(26) “Occasional care” means care that is provided for no more than 70 days in any
calendar year for the purpose of the supervision and guidance by a person, sponsor,
or organization not ordinarily engaged in providing child care for children, as defined
in this rule, for not more than 70 days, or for enrichment activities that coincide with
the non-school days in the Oregon public school system.

(27) “ODHS” means the Oregon Department of Human Services.

(28) “Ordinarily engaged in providing care” means that the facility has been issued a
current child care certification or registration, is a license-exempt child care facility as
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defined in this rule or represents or advertises to the public as available to provide 
care for children on an ongoing basis.  

(29) “OTIS” means the Office of Training, Investigations and Safety in ODHS. 

(30) “Parent” means a parent, custodian, or guardian exercising physical care and 
having legal custody of the child. 

(31) “Person” means an individual human being, an entity to whom CCLD has issued a 
record or a license to operate a certified child care center or certified school-aged 
child care center, or an individual or entity operating a license exempt child care 
facility.   

(32) “Premises” means the physical location used or alleged to be used by a facility to 
provide care subject to regulation or investigation by CCLD, including all indoor and 
outdoor areas not directly used for child care.  

(33) “Provider” means an individual in whose name a license or approval to receive 
payment for subsidized care is issued.  

(34) “Recorded Program” means a facility to whom CCLD has issued a record to 
operate a preschool or school-aged recorded program. 

(35) “Registered Family Child Care Home” or “RF” or “Registered Facility”  means in a the 
residence of a provider to whom CCLD has issued a license to operate a facility in 
the family living quarters pursuant to these rules and OAR 414-205-0000 to 414-205-
0170.  

(36) “Regular operating hours” means the days and hours of operation as requested by 
a child care facility and approved by CCLD, except:  

(a) A registered family child care facility that has not requested and obtained 
approval by CCLD of regular operating hours:  

(A) Providing night care is considered to have operating hours of 24 hours per 
day, seven days a week, if providing night care.  

(B) Not providing night care is considered to have operating hours of 5:00 am to 
9:00pm, Monday through Friday.  

(b) Regular operating hours also include any time that a child enrolled in or regularly 
attending a certified or registered facility is present at the facility including before 
or after the approved operating hours, unless:  

(A) The child resides in the facility; or 

(B) The child is present at a registered or certified family child care home for a 
social event as described in OAR 414-075-0250(2)(b).  

(37) “Sensitive Allegations” means allegations that in the judgment of CCLD staff should 
not be discussed in the hearing of child care children who are present and old 
enough to understand a conversation that would necessarily include discussion of 
sexual activity or sex abuse or any individual’s personal medical information or 
medical or disability diagnoses. 
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(38) “Staff” means, as applicable:  

(a) For a facility, the provider and any other individuals employed in the facility 
regardless of compensation, including a volunteer who is in the facility for more 
than a single activity; or 

(b) For CCLD, any individual employed by the agency or authorized to act on behalf 
of the agency, including but not limited to investigators, licensing specialists, 
managers, or other employees. 

(39) “Subsidized Care” means the care, supervision and guidance on a regular basis of a 
child, unaccompanied by a parent, guardian or custodian, provided to during a part 
of the 24 hours of a day, paid for in whole or in part by public funds administered by 
the Department of Early Learning and Care. 

(40) “Subsidized Care Facility” means any facility that provides subsidized care to 
children, including a day nursery, nursery school, child care center, certified, 
registered or exempt family child care home or similar unit operating under any 
name, for which payment for child care is made by the Department of Early Learning 
and Care.   

(41) “Superseding Finding” means a finding in a findings letter that replaces a finding 
included in a previously issued letter.    

(42) “Tandem Investigation” means an investigation conducted by CCLD jointly with 
representatives from partner agencies, including but not limited to ODHS and its 
divisions or units.  

(43) “Unlawful Care” means care provided by a person or entity who is not licensed or 
recorded when a license or record is required pursuant to ORS 329A.255, ORS 
329A.280 or ORS 329A.330, and as described in OAR 414-075-0230. 

(44) “Unlicensed” means the status of providing care without an active license issued by 
CCLD including while providing license-exempt child care or exempt care.   

414-075-0130 Complaints and Investigations  
(1) Unless already open regarding the same allegations, a complaint will be opened 

based on CCLD’s receipt of any of the following concerning licensed facilities, 
recorded programs, or unlicensed facilities alleged to be providing care for which a 
license or record is required:   

(a) A cross-report of child abuse or neglect from law enforcement agencies, ODHS, 
or OTIS, including a report that was closed at screening; 

(b) A report or information from or forwarded by another state or local agency or 
governmental unit;     

(c) A report or information from facility staff; or  

(d) Information received from the general public. 
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(2) CCLD will encourage an individual or entity making a complaint to provide CCLD 
with their identity and contact information, subject to ORS 329A.390(4) prohibiting 
CCLD from disclosing the name, address, or other identifying information about the 
individual or entity that made the complaint, except as follows:   

(a) CCLD may share contact information for the individual or entity that made a 
complaint within the CCLD or with any agency or individual performing a tandem 
investigation with CCLD related to the complaint for purposes of confirming 
factual information or obtaining additional information; and  

(b) CCLD may disclose to an individual that it received a cross-report from law 
enforcement agencies, ODHS, or OTIS when such cross report is the child abuse 
or neglect history that has triggered a review of the individual’s suitability for 
enrollment in the Central Background Registry, but may not disclose the name, 
address or other identifying information about the individual or entity that made 
the report to law enforcement, ODHS, or OTIS.  

(3) CCLD may investigate any complaint that alleges a violation of a health and safety 
requirement received regarding any facility, including licensed facilities, recorded 
programs, and subsidized care facilities, as provided by these rules when the 
allegations indicate noncompliance with a provision in ORS 329A.250 to 329A.500 or 
a provision in Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 414, Divisions, 175, 180, 205, 305, 
310, 350, 400, 425 or 450. 

(4) CCLD may investigate any complaint that a facility as defined by these rules and 
including but not limited to individuals providing or claiming to be providing exempt 
care, is providing unlawful car as described in OAR 414-075-0230.   

(5) CCLD may investigate any facility for which CCLD has reason to believe or has 
received information that child care is being provided without a required 
certification, registration, or record.  

(a) For purposes of determining if the child care requires a certification, registration, 
or record, CCLD may request the facility to provide information concerning the 
identities of the children in care and how they are related to the caregiver and to 
each other. 

(b) If the facility does not provide CCLD with the information concerning the identities 
and relationships of the children in care as requested, CCLD may assume that 
care for a group of more than three children requires a certification, registration, 
or record from CCLD.  

(6) CCLD may conduct an in-person visit at any reasonable time of any facility to 
investigate a complaint. 

(a) An in-person visit is at a reasonable time at any time at least one child care child 
is in care at a licensed facility or is alleged to be in care at the facility. 

(b) An in-person visit is at a reasonable time at any time CCLD reasonably believes a 
child may be in care at an unlicensed facility. 
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(7) CCLD staff may, but is not required to, use any method of investigation authorized by 
ORS 329A.390(7). In conducting an investigation CCLD staff may:  

(a) Make one or more visits to the facility under investigation to inspect the premises. 

(b) Receive, take, record, document, and review evidence. 

(c) Interview staff, volunteers, parents of child care children, or other individuals who 
have  

relevant information.  

(d) Request documents related to the matter under investigation. 

(e) Inspect and observe the operations of the facility.  

(f) Investigate collaboratively with partners. 

(g) Take the depositions of witnesses, including the person under investigation, in the 
manner prescribed by law for depositions in civil actions;  

(h) Compel the appearance of witnesses, including the person under investigation, in 
the manner prescribed by law for appearances in civil actions; 

(i) Require answers to interrogatories;  

(j) Compel the production of books, papers, accounts, documents or testimony that 
pertains to the matter under investigation; and 

(k) Issue subpoenas. 

(8) A registered, certified, recorded, or subsidized care facility must provide records or 
other documentation, and allow CCLD access to the facility for the purpose of 
conducting an investigation as required or permitted by ORS 329A.390 or these rules.  
CCLD or the Department as applicable:  

(a) May revoke for cause or deny for cause renewal of a registration, certification, 
record, or approval of subsidized care facility if access to the facility or its records 
has not been permitted.   

(b) May obtain a search warrant to obtain access to a facility as provided by ORS 
329A.410 when access has not been permitted.  

(c) May revoke for cause or deny for cause renewal of a registration, certification, 
record, or approval of subsidized care facility when access was denied and later 
permitted only pursuant to a search warrant. 

(9) If the provider denies CCLD access to the premises or to facility staff for purposes of 
conducting an investigation of a complaint, CCLD may reach a valid finding based 
solely on other evidence independently obtained and that reasonably could have 
been corroborated or contradicted by information from the visit or interviews that 
the provider did not allow. 

(10) A provider or licensee must provide truthful, complete, and accurate information to 
CCLD staff in connection with any application, records or reports including 
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attendance records, written or verbal communication, inspection, visit, or 
investigation. 

(a) When an applicable rule requires information to be provided immediately, it must 
be provided during the visit or if not in connection with a visit within 24 hours of 
CCLD’s request.  

(b) Information not required by rule to be provided immediately must be provided 
within 48 hours of CCLD’s request for it to be considered in the investigation.  
CCLD may issue a finding without reviewing information provided more than 48 
hours after CCLD’s request.  

(11) An individual who is questioned by CCLD in connection with an investigation of a 
complaint may refuse to answer specific questions or provide documents by stating 
that the refusal is based on the privilege against self-incrimination, including when 
the answer to the question or the documents, if produced by the individual, would 
furnish a link in the chain of evidence needed for a criminal prosecution.  CCLD is not 
required to inform an individual of this rule prior to questioning the individual.  

(12) CCLD may conduct compliance verification visits to a facility for the purposes of 
confirming compliance or continued compliance. 

(13) CCLD may conduct an unannounced complaint or compliance verification visit at any 
reasonable time. When deemed appropriate in the judgment of CCLD staff, including 
when the complaint contains sensitive allegations as defined in these rules, CCLD 
may choose to conduct interviews or portions of interviews during the complaint or 
compliance verification process by telephone, video-conference, or email in addition 
to an in-person visit.  

(14) The facility must prioritize children’s needs during any in-person visit and may not 
rely on the presence of CCLD staff at the facility to justify noncompliance with any 
requirement.  

(15) CCLD staff are not required to assist the facility in achieving compliance in response 
to an observed noncompliance and CCLD staff: 

(a) May not be counted by the facility for purposes of meeting ratio requirements. 

(b) May not contact parents to pick up children for purposes of achieving compliance 
with capacity, ratio, or group size or composition requirements.  

(c) May suggest to the facility specific actions to achieve compliance, including 
sending children home to achieve compliance with capacity, ratio, or group size 
or composition requirements.  

(d) May document whether a facility took immediate steps to achieve compliance or 
refused to do so.  

(16) The CCLD staff assigned to investigate a complaint must review and consider all 
evidence and documentation timely submitted by the facility as required by 414-075-
0130(10) prior to issuing findings. 
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(17) When the requirements for issuance of an emergency order of suspension or
conditions are met, CCLD may take action prior to completion of an investigation
based on facts confirmed in the pending investigation.

(18) A CCLD investigation of a complaint is ongoing until CCLD staff has issued findings
with respect to all potential noncompliances alleged in the complaint or identified in
the investigation.

(19) Unless the facility has closed before CCLD issues a finding on a complaint, CCLD staff
may issue one of the following findings with respect to each complaint investigated
by CCLD, and may issue separate findings with respect to each potential regulatory
or statutory violation based on the fact(s) confirmed in the investigation:

(a) Valid, when a reasonable person could conclude the noncompliance occurred
based on the evidence; or

(b) Invalid, when a reasonable person could not conclude that the noncompliance
occurred based on the evidence; or

(c) Unable to Substantiate, when a reasonable person could not decide whether the
noncompliance occurred because of conflicting evidence or because information
is not available.

(20) An individual may become an exempt prohibited individual if they surrender their
registration, certification or CBR enrollment during a CCLD investigation. See OAR
414-075-0230.

(21) If a facility has closed before CCLD has issued a finding on a complaint because of a
voluntary surrender or lapse of the license including because a timely renewal
application was withdrawn, CCLD may complete the investigation and issue findings
or may close the investigation as incomplete.  If CCLD has closed an investigation as
incomplete, CCLD may resume the investigation at any time including if the licensee
applies to reopen the license or for another license.

(22) A CCLD investigation for which findings on all allegations have been issued to the
facility will be reopened only as follows:

(a) CCLD will reopen an investigation if it has information that was not considered in
the initial investigation that if confirmed could change the outcome, and CCLD
has determined that reopening the investigation is necessary.

(b) CCLD must notify the facility when it has reopened an investigation.

(c) CCLD staff conducting the reopened investigation must issue superseding
findings following the investigation that is reopened whether or not the outcome
of the original finding is changed.

(23) A child care facility may not interfere, discourage, or attempt to prevent a parent,
legal guardian, current or former employee or volunteer from disclosing information
to CCLD, law enforcement, any other entity with legal or regulatory authority over
the facility, or to a child’s parent concerning allegations of any of the following as
provided by ORS 329A.348:
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(a) Abuse or mistreatment of a child in the child care facility; 

(b) Violations of licensing requirements; 

(c) Criminal activity at the facility; 

(d) Violations of state or federal laws, or 

(e) Any practice that threatens the health and safety of a child in the child care 
facility. 

(24) Interference with good faith disclosures as described in section (23) of this rule 
includes: 

(a) Terminating or threatening to terminate care of a child if the parent or legal 
guardian of child discloses the information; or 

(b) Asking a parent or legal guardian of a child or, employee or volunteer to sign a 
nondisclosure or similar agreement prohibiting the disclosure of the information; 
or 

(c) Communicating to or training a current or former staff, volunteer, parent, or legal 
guardian that they may not or should not disclose information. 

414-075-0230 Exempt Prohibition, Unlawful Care, Civil Penalties  
(1) An individual is an exempt prohibited individual as a result of any of the following 

circumstances as provided by ORS 329A.252: 

(a) The individual has had their registration, certification, or record denied for cause 
or revoked for cause.  

(b) The individual is not enrolled in the Central Background Registry because of 
removal for cause or denial for cause.  

(c) The individual voluntarily surrendered their child care license or enrollment in the 
Central Background Registry during a CCLD investigation or after CCLD has given 
the individual notice of an administrative action against the individual or the 
individual’s facility.    

(d) The individual is suspended from the Central Background Registry.  

(e) The individual is licensee of a license that is suspended.  

(f) The individual has been issued a final order to cease and desist by CCLD after a 
contested proceeding or that has become effective because the individual did 
not request a hearing.   

(2) An exempt prohibited individual may not provide child care or exempt care as 
defined in these rules except for their own children or children related to them within 
the fourth degree of sanguinity as determined by civil law. 

(3) An exempt prohibited individual: 
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(a) Remains an exempt prohibited individual for five years after the most recent 
dates of a circumstance resulting in the status as described in section (1) (a) 
through (c) and (f) of this rule and continues to be an exempt prohibited individual 
unless and until re-enrolled in the Central Background Registry. 

(b) Is no longer an exempt prohibited individual if the sole basis for the status is a 
suspension as described in section (1) (d) or (e) of this rule and CCLD has 
withdrawn the suspension by final order. 

(c) May be enrolled in the Central Background Registry with a limited enrollment as 
defined by OAR 414-061-0020(27)(b) if meeting all requirements for a limited 
enrollment. 

(4) “Unlawful Care” means care provided by the following to a child not related to the 
person within the fourth degree of sanguinity as determined by civil law: 

(a) By a person who is not licensed or recorded when a license or record is required 
pursuant to ORS 320A.255, ORS 329A.280 or ORS 329A.330. 

(b) By an exempt prohibited individual as provided by ORS 329A.252(2)(b). 

(c) By a person who is not licensed or recorded when a license or record is required 
pursuant to ORS 320A.255, ORS 329A.280 or ORS 329A.330. 

(d) By a person enrolled in the CBR under a limited enrollment: 

(A) As defined in OAR 414-061-0020(25)(a) when the care violates a restriction or 
condition agreed to by the person; or 

(B) As defined in OAR 414-061-0020(25)(b) when providing care while having 
unsupervised access to a child care child who is not the child of the person.  

(e) In the home of a child, to children all from only one family in addition to children 
who reside with the person, or to no more than three children in addition to 
children who reside with the person, by an individual who is not enrolled in the 
CBR and was issued a founded or substantiated disposition for child abuse: 

(A) On or after January 1, 2017 involving a child who died or suffered serious injury 
as defined in ORS 161.015. 

(B) On or after September 1, 2019 and in the last seven years, when the founded 
or substantiated disposition of a child abuse or neglect report involved any 
child for whom the individual was providing care in the following settings:  

(i) In a licensed or license-exempt child care facility as defined in these rules;  

(ii) By a babysitter or other person in the home of the child;  

(iii) By a person related to the child within the fourth degree of sanguinity as 
determined by civil law; 

(iv) By a person who cares for children from only one family in addition to 
children who reside with the person;  
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(v) By a person who cares for no more than three children in addition to any 
children who reside with the person; or  

(vi) By a person who is a member of the child’s extended family, as 
determined by CCLD on a case-by-case basis.  

(5) A person who has provided unlawful care as defined in these rules, including but not 
limited to unlawful care by an exempt prohibited individual, may be subject to a civil 
penalty of not more than $1,500 per violation.  

(a) CCLD may provide a warning rather than assess a civil penalty for a person’s first 
instance of providing unlawful care if CCLD determines the person was not 
aware that the care was unlawful care as described in section (4) of this rule or 
that a license was required.  

(b) The civil penalty assessed against a person determined by final order to have 
provided unlawful care on a single day will be $750 for the first instance of 
unlawful care for which a penalty is assessed.   

(c) Each additional day that person provides unlawful care is a separate violation for 
which CCLD may assess a civil penalty of not more than $1,500 for each day the 
person is determined by final order on default or after a contested case hearing 
to have provided unlawful care.  

414-075-0250 Operating Hours and Care Not Requiring a License 
(1) A facility may provide care without a license if the facility:   

(a) Provides care in the home of the child by a babysitter or other person;  

(b) Is the child’s parent, legal guardian or custodian;  

(c) Is related to the child by blood or marriage within the fourth degree;  

(d) Is a member of the child’s extended family unit, as determined by CCLD on a 
case-by case basis;  

(e) Provides only occasional care as defined in these rules;  

(f) Is a provider of medical services;  

(g) Provides care for children from only one family, in addition to any children who 
reside with the person;  

(h) Provides care for three or fewer children, in addition to any children who reside 
with the person;  

(i) Provides care for preschool-age children that is primarily educational for 4 hours 
or less per day and where no preschool-age child is present at the center for 
more than 4 hours per day;  

(j) Provides care for school-age children that is not intended for child care purposes 
and is primarily a single enrichment activity, such as swimming lessons, dance 
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lessons, tutoring, music lessons, sports practice, or any single class in any subject, 
where no child attends for more than 8 hours per week;  

(k) Provides group athletic or social activities sponsored by or under the supervision
of an organized club or hobby group. This exclusion applies only to the time
engaged in the group athletic or social activities;

(l) Is operated by a school district, charter school, political subdivision of this state, or
a government agency;

(m) Operates as a parent cooperative for no more than 4 hours a day and:

(A) Care is provided on a rotating basis by parents that are members of the
cooperative; and

(B) Are overseen by a board of directors responsible for developing written
program policies and procedures that are shared with all members.

(n) Provides care while the child's parent for the child remains on the premises and is
engaged in an activity on-site, and:

(A) The facility informs the parent that the facility’s program is not licensed by the
state;

(B) Activities in which the parent is engaged do not include work; and

(C) Caregivers are always able to contact the parent.

(o) Provide youth development activities, as defined in ORS 329A.250(14), to school-
age children during hours that school is not in session and which does not take the
place of a parent’s care.

(2) Care provided to children who do not reside in a licensed facility requires a license if
provided by a licensed facility during the licensed facility's regular operating hours, as
defined in these rules.

(a) Care provided to a child who is enrolled in a licensed facility who arrives before or
remains after the facility’s regular operating hours and is in care for any part of
the facility’s regular operating hours requires and is subject to all requirements of
the facility’s license.

(b) A child who ordinarily receives care at a registered or certified child care home
facility and is present at the facility outside of the facility’s regular operative hours
for a social event is not subject to the requirements of the facility’s license only if
the facility has informed the parent that that the facility is not providing child care
and that the care is not subject to license requirements.

(A) Care described in paragraph (2)(b) of this rule is not eligible for payment from
the Employment Related Day Care program.

(B) Care for a child who is enrolled in a licensed child care is subject to all
requirements of the facility’s license if any of following exist regardless of
whether the facility has informed the parent that the care is not subject to
license requirements:
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(i) The parent pays the facility for the care;

(ii) The child is in care for the purpose of providing care, supervision and
guidance while the child’s parent is unavailable due to work, school, or
another activity; or

(iii) The child is in care outside the facility’s regular operating hours on a regular
basis.  A facility regularly providing care outside its regular operating hours
must notify CCLD and request approval to change the operating hours to
include the days and hours that care is regularly provided.

(3) Care may be provided without a license:

(a) At the location of a license-exempt child care facility, as defined in these rules, by
a caregiver operating or employed by a license-exempt child care facility, for
their own child or any child who resides with the caregiver before, during, or after
their hours of employment at the license-exempt child care facility, as allowed by
the license-exempt child care facility.

(b) By a person, including a person who operates an exempt care or license-exempt
child care facility, providing occasional care as defined in these rules during
summer, winter and spring school breaks if the facility is ordinarily closed during
such breaks.  A licensed facility may not provide occasional care during periods
that the facility is closed unless the license has been surrendered or has expired.

(c) In the following combinations of exempt care:

(A) Care by a babysitter or other person in the home of the child, in addition to
one or more children who reside with the babysitter or other person.

(B) Care by a child’s parent, legal guardian, or custodian, in addition to children
who are related to the child’s parent, legal guardian, or custodian by blood or
marriage within the fourth degree as determined by civil law.

414-075-0300 Union Representation in Contested Case Hearings
(1) A labor union representative who is not an attorney holding an active license issued

by the Oregon State Bar may represent the following providers in a contested case
hearing conducted by the CCLD or the Department:

(a) The licensee under a registered or certified family child care home license; or

(b) An individual who provides subsidized care in the home of the individual or the
home of the child that is not required to be licensed.

(2) When representing a provider, a labor union representative may present evidence,
examine and cross-examine witnesses and make arguments relating to the:

(a) Application of statutes and rules to the facts in the contested case;

(b) Actions taken by CCLD in the past in similar situations;

(c) Literal meaning of the statutes or rules at issue in the contested case;
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(d) Admissibility of evidence; and

(e) Proper procedures to be used in the contested case hearing.

(3) A labor union representative may not make legal argument on behalf of the provider.

(a) “Legal argument” does not include arguments listed in section (2)(a) through (e) of
this rule.

(b) “Legal argument” includes arguments on:

(A) The jurisdiction of CCLD to hear the contested case;

(B) The constitutionality of a statute or rule or the application of a constitutional
requirement to the CCLD; and

(C) The application of court precedent to the facts of the particular contested
case proceeding.

(4) Union representatives must read and be familiar with the Code of Conduct for Non-
Attorney Representatives at Administrative Hearings, which is maintained by the
Oregon Department of Justice and available on its website at:
https://www.doj.state.or.us/wp-
content/uploads/2017/06/code_of_conduct_oah_contested.pdf (Amended October
1, 2011).

(5) If the administrative law judge determines that statements or objections made by
the labor union representative appearing under section (1) of this rule involve legal
argument as defined in this rule, the administrative law judge shall provide a
reasonable opportunity for counsel for the provider to appear and present argument
at the hearing or to file written legal argument within a reasonable time after
conclusion of the hearing.

(6) A labor union representative must obtain and provide to CCLD and to the Office of
Administrative Hearings (OAH) the written authorization of the provider to being
represented by the labor union representative prior to beginning representation or
communicating with CCLD or the OAH on behalf of the provider regarding the
contested case.

(7) An authorized labor union’s representation of a provider in a hearing may include the
activities described in section (3) of this rule and:

(a) Communicating with CCLD without the presence of the provider regarding
procedural matters including but not limited to scheduling;

(b) Assisting the provider in preparing and filing proposed exhibits and witness list;

(c) Making stipulations of fact;

(d) Agreeing or objecting to the admissibility of evidence based on relevance; or

(e) Being with the provider during any settlement negotiations including by telephone
or video-conference.

(8) An authorized labor union’s representation of a provider in a hearing may not include:
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(a) Entering into binding settlement agreements on behalf of the provider;

(b) Issuing subpoenas for witness attendance at the hearing.

(A) If a provider determines that a necessary witness is unwilling to testify, the
provider or an authorized labor union representative may request that CCLD
subpoena the witness by submitting a written request including the name,
phone number, physical address, and description of anticipated testimony to
CCLD no less than 30 calendar days before the date scheduled for hearing.

(B) CCLD is not required to subpoena witnesses on behalf of the provider unless
CCLD agrees that the testimony of the witness is necessary for a full and fair
hearing.

(C) CCLD is not required to subpoena witnesses on behalf of the provider for a
hearing on an emergency order suspending a license or Central Background
Registry enrollment or imposing a condition on a license.

(D) CCLD will notify the provider or authorized labor union representative of
whether it will issue a subpoena pursuant to the request within 10 business
days of receipt of the request.

(E) If CCLD does not agree to subpoena the witness as requested pursuant to this
subparagraph, the provider may retain counsel to represent them in the
hearing and issue the subpoena.

(9) A provider who is or becomes represented by an attorney in a contested case
hearing may not be simultaneously represented by an authorized labor union
representative, and the notification of representation by an attorney shall operate to
rescind any prior authorization for a labor union representative to represent the
provider.

(10) Sections (3) through (8) of this rule do not apply to an attorney who appears as
counsel for the provider in a contested case before CCLD or the Department.
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