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Wyoming Department of Workforce Services Notice to Employees
Health and Safety Protection on the Job

The Wyoming Occupational Health and Safety Act
provides job health and safety protection for workers
employed by general business and industry through-
out the state as well as for all employees of the state
and its political sub-divisions.

The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services,
OSHA Division, created by the Act, has primary respon-
sibility for administering the Act, and the Occupational
Health and Safety Commission promulgates rules and
regulations for workplace health and safety standards
as authorized by the Act.

By law: Safety on the job is everybody’s responsibility!

Employers

Each employer shall provide a place of employment
as well as employment which are free from recog-
nized hazards that are causing or that are likely to
cause death or serious physical harm. Each employer
shall comply with occupations’ safety and health
standards, rules, regulations and orders issued pursu-
ant to the Act.

Employees

Each employee shall comply with occupational safety
and health standards and all rules, regulations and
orders issued pursuant to this Act, which are applica-
ble to their own action and conduct.

Employer Reporting Requirements
Report to OSHA all work-related fatalities within 8
hours, and all inpatient hospitalizations, amputations
and losses of an eye within 24 hours.

Inspection

The Act requires that a representative or representa-
tives of the employers and a representative or repre-
sentatives authorized by the employees shall be given
an opportunity to accompany a duly authorized repre-
sentative of the Commission before or during the
physical inspection of any workplace for the purpose
of aiding such inspection.

Where there is no authorized employee representa-

tive, the authorized representative of the Commission
(Compliance Officer) shall consult with a reasonable
number of employees concerning matters of safety
and health.

Violation

If upon inspection Wyoming OSHA Division
determines that an employer has violated the Act, a
citation and notification of penalty will be issued to the
employer within 180 days following the occurrence of
the violation. Each notice of violation will specify a time
period within which the violation must be corrected.

The notice of violation must be prominently posted in
a conspicuous place at or near the site of the violation
until the violation is corrected, or for three working
days, whichever period is longer.

Voluntary Action

Technical Assistance Consultative  Services s
responsible for providing free technical assistance to
all  employers, associations, state and local
governments working within the boundaries of
Wyoming. These services are available upon a written
request from employers. These services include but are
not limited to courtesy visits (without assessment of
penalties), health and safety training and consultative
services.

Complaint

Employees or their representatives have the right to
file a complaint with Wyoming OSHA requesting an
inspection if they believe unsafe or unhealthful condi-
tions exist in their workplace. Wyoming OSHA will
withhold complainant names.

The Act provides that employees may not be
discharged or discriminated against in any way for
filing safety and health complaints or otherwise exer-
cising their rights under the Act. Note: Discrimination
cases do not have a set number of days to issue a
citation for protected activity.

An employee who believes he or she has been discrimi-
nated against through retaliatory action by your
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employer may file a complaint with Wyoming OSHA
Division, Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002 and/or the
Regional Office of OSHA, U.S. Department of Labor, at
the Address listed below this notice within 30 days of
the alleged discrimination.

Penalty

The Act provides for mandatory penalties for serious
and repeat serious violations and for optional penal-
ties for each non-serious or regulatory violation(s).
Penalties can also be required for each day during
which an employer fails to correct a violation beyond
the period set for correction in the notice of violation.
In addition, any employer who willfully and knowingly
violates the Act, can be assessed penalties for each
willful violation. Penalty amounts can be obtained by
contacting Wyoming OSHA at (307) 777-7786 or from
checking rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?mode=1.

Additional penalties are also provided for in the Act:
any willful violation resulting in death of an employee,
upon conviction of an employer, is punishable by a
fine of not more a $10,000 or by imprisonment for not
more than six (6) months, or by both. Conviction of an
employer after a first conviction doubles these maxi-
mum penalties.

All Workers have the right to...

« A safe workplace.

« Raise a safety or health concern with your employ-
er or OSHA, or report a work-related injury or
illness, without being retaliated against.

« Receive information and training on job hazards,
including all hazardous substances in your work-
place.

« Request an OSHA inspection of your workplace if
you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy condi-
tions. OSHA will keep your name confidential. You
have the right to have a representative contact
OSHA on your behalf.

- Participate (or have your representative participate)
in an OSHA inpection and speak in private to the
inspector.

« File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days (by
phone, online or by mail) if you have been retaliat-
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ed against for using your rights.

- See any OSHA citations issued to your employer.

« Request copies of your medical records, tests that
measure hazards in the workplace, and the work-
place injury and illness log.

Employers must...

« Provide employees a workplace free from recog-
nized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate against an
employee for using any of their rights under the
law, including raising a health and safety concern
with you or with OSHA, or reporting a work-related
injury or illness.

- Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.

« Provide require training to all workers in a language
and vocabulary they can understand.

« Prominently display this poster in the workplace.

« Post OSHA citations at or near the place of the
alleged violations for a minimum of 3 days or until
all the citations are abated.

Note: Additional information may be obtained from...
Wyoming OSHA
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
(307) 777-7786 | dws.wyo.gov

THIS NOTICE SHALL BE CONSPICUOUSLY POSTED IN
EACH PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT IN THE STATE OF
WYOMING AS REQUIRED BY THE RULES OF PRAC-
TICE AND PROCEDURE.

Under a place approved by the U.S. Department of
Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration
(OSHA), the State of Wyoming is providing job safety
and health protection for workers throughout the
state. OSHA will monitor the operation of this plan to
assure that continued approval is merited. Any person
may make a complaint regarding the state administra-
tion of this place directly to the Regional Office of
OSHA, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety
and Health Administration, 1999 Broadway #1690,
Denver, CO 80202-5716, Phone: (303) 844-1600.

Revised April 19,2018




N WYOMING STATE MINIMUM WAGE

Per Ho ur

A training wage of $4.25 per
hour is allowed for employees
under age 20 during the first 90
days of employment.




WYOMING UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Claims may be filed by unemployed workers by telephone or by the
Internet. Unemployment insurance taxes are paid by employers.

You are insured under the law

Department of Workforce Services
Unemployment Insurance
Division
PO Box 2760
Casper, WY 82602

Wyoming Claims Center
In-State (307) 473-3789;
Out-of-State (866) 729-7799

Internet Claims
dws.wyo.gov

Unemployment Insurance Information
dws.wyo.gov

Wyoming@Work
(find a job in Wyoming)
wyomingatwork.com
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Mark Gordon Casper, Wyoming 82602 Director
Governor 307-473-3789 = Fax: 307-473-3726 Elizabeth Gagen, J.D.
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Employer Notification to Employees of the Availability of Unemployment
Compensation

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits are available to workers who are unemployed and who
meet the minimum requirements of state UI eligibility laws. You may file a Ul claim in the first
week that employment stops or your work hours are reduced. Failure to timely open a claim and
then file a continued claim for each week may result in the denial of benefits.

You will need to provide the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services, Unemployment
Insurance Division with the following information in order for the state to process your claim:

Your full legal name;

Your Social Security Number;

Your authorization to work (if you are not a US citizen or resident);

Information about where you worked in the past 18 months, including company names,
addresses, and approximate dates you worked there;

Your most recent check stubs, W2s and 1099 forms from the last 18 months; and

6. The amounts of your separation pay, severance, vacation, holiday, sick, bonus pay, and
any wages in lieu of notice you may have received or expect to receive.
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To file a UI claim online, visit: www.wyui.wyo.gov.

To file a UI claim by phone, call: (307) 473-3789

For assistance or more information about filing a UI claim or if you have questions about the
status of your Wyoming UI claim, please contact the Wyoming Department of Workforce
Services, Unemployment Insurance Division at (307) 473-3789 or (866) 729-7799 (if calling
from outside of Wyoming).



WORKERS RIGHTS

Attention Employees

YOUR RIGHTS ARE PROTECTED!

The State of Wyoming requires
labor law to be displayed in a

conspicuous location accessible
to all employees.




TN ATTENTION EMPLOYEES AND APPLICANTS
Wty

S —
SERVICES

This information must be posted at all
times and available for your review. If
you have any questions about these
postings, please call the Wyoming
Department of Workforce Services at
(307) 777-8650 or 877-WORK-WYO.

This workforce product was funded by a grant awarded
by the U.S. Department of Labor's Employment and
Training Administration. The product was created by the
recipient and does not necessarily reflect the official
position of the U.S. Department of Labor. The
Department of Labor makes no guarantees, warranties,
or assurances of any kind, express or implied, with respect
to such information, including any information on linked
sites and including, but not limited to, accuracy of the
information or its completeness, timeliness, usefulness,
adequacy, continued availability, or ownership. This
product is copyrighted by the institution that created it.




WYOMING WORKERS" COMPENSATION ACT

Your employer may have qualified with the Workers’ Compensation
Division for the coverage of injuries arising out of and in the course of
employment. While at work in or about the premises occupied, used
or controlled by the employer. This coverage is required for extra
hazardous industries and occupations. Employers in non-extra
hazardous industries may opt for this coverage level, as well.

In the event of a work-related injury

1. Notify your employer how and when you were injured within
72 hours of the incident.

2. Submit a written report of your injury to Wyoming Workers'’
Compensation within 10 days of the incident. You must
complete and sign the “Wyoming Report of Injury” form. If
your employer does not have any forms, call (307) 777-7441, or
contact your nearest Workforce Center, for information on how
or where to obtain an injury report form.

3. Submit the form to a local Workers’ Compensation office or
representative, or mail it to:

Wyoming Workers’ Compensation
PO Box 20207
Cheyenne, WY 82002

The filing of an injury report is not a claim for lost wages or any other
Workers’ Compensation benefit. You must apply for benefits. To obtain
the appropriate application form, contact Workers’ Compensation. For
more detailed information or assistance concerning benefits and
procedures, call the Wyoming Workers’ Compensation Division at (307)
777-7441 or visit dws.wyo.gov.




ASHA

Occupational Safety
U.S. Department of Labor and Health Administration

Job Safety and Health

IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

= A safe workplace.

= Raise a safety or health concern with
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being
retaliated against.

= Receive information and training on
job hazards, including all hazardous
substances in your workplace.

= Request a confidential OSHA inspection
of your workplace if you believe there are
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have
the right to have a representative contact
OSHA on your behalf.

= Participate (or have your representative
participate) in an OSHA inspection and
speak In private to the inspector.

= File a complaint with OSHA within
30 days (by phone, online or by mail)
if you have been retaliated against for
using your rights.

= See any OSHA citations issued to
your employer.

= Request copies of your medical
records, tests that measure hazards
in the workplace, and the workplace
injury and iliness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact 0SHA. We can help.

Employers must:

Provide employees a workplace free from
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate
against an employee for using any of their
rights under the law, including raising a
health and safety concern with you or
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related
injury or illness.

Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.

Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of
any work-related inpatient hospitalization,
amputation, or loss of an eye.

Provide required training to all workers
in a language and vocabulary they can
understand.

Prominently display this poster in the
workplace.

Post OSHA citations at or near the
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are
available to small and medium-sized
employers, without citation or penalty,
through OSHA-supported consultation

programs in every state.

1-800-321-OSHA (6742) - TTY 1-877-889-5627 « www.osha.gov






