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Job Safety and Health

IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

= A safe workplace.

= Raise a safety or health concern with
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being
retaliated against.

= Receive information and training on
job hazards, including all hazardous
substances in your workplace.

= Request a confidential OSHA inspection
of your workplace if you believe there are
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have
the right to have a representative contact
OSHA on your behalf.

= Participate (or have your representative
participate) in an OSHA inspection and
speak In private to the inspector.

= File a complaint with OSHA within
30 days (by phone, online or by mail)
if you have been retaliated against for
using your rights.

= See any OSHA citations issued to
your employer.

= Request copies of your medical
records, tests that measure hazards
in the workplace, and the workplace
injury and iliness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact 0SHA. We can help.

Employers must:

Provide employees a workplace free from
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate
against an employee for using any of their
rights under the law, including raising a
health and safety concern with you or
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related
injury or illness.

Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.

Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of
any work-related inpatient hospitalization,
amputation, or loss of an eye.

Provide required training to all workers
in a language and vocabulary they can
understand.

Prominently display this poster in the
workplace.

Post OSHA citations at or near the
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are
available to small and medium-sized
employers, without citation or penalty,
through OSHA-supported consultation

programs in every state.

1-800-321-OSHA (6742) - TTY 1-877-889-5627 « www.osha.gov
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Employer’s Liability and Workers’ Compensation

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

This employer, State of Oregon , has complied

with the provisions of Title 21 of the Vermont Statutes, Annotated §687, by
obtaining Workers’ Compensation Insurance coverage through:

Zurich American Insurance Company, Policy WC 9663435-10, phone 800-987-3373

(Insurance Carrier)

Workers’ Compensation benefits for lost time, medical expenses, disability or
death because of a work-related injury are available through the above named
company.

* An injured employee MUST immediately notify his/lher employer of
an injury.

* The employer MUST file an Employee Claim and Employer’s First Report
of Injury (Form 1) with the Vermont Department of Labor within 72 hours
of the notice of an injury that requires medical attention or results in time
lost from work. The employer must also provide a copy of the Form 1 to
the injured worker and to the insurance carrier.

» If the employer fails to file a First Report, an employee may file a

Notice of Injury and Claim for Compensation (Form 5) with the Vermont
Department of Labor within six months of the date of injury.

* Information concerning injured worker rights and benefits is
available on the department’s Workers’ Compensation website at
http://www.labor.vermont.gov or by calling (802) 828-2286.

Equal Opportunity is the Law

The State of Vermont is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer. Applications from women, individuals with disabilities, and
people from diverse cultural backgrounds are encouraged. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with
disabilities. 711 (TTY/Relay Service) or 802-828-4203 TDD (Vermont Department of Labor).

WC-10 (12/05)



Safety and Health

The Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Code

Youlhavela

Protection on the Job ﬁﬁiﬂ@aéﬁb
andjhealthy,

(Title 21 V.S.A. Chapter 3, Sub-Chapters 4 and 5, and
the rules adopted (there under) provides job safety
and health protection for workers.

The purpose of the law is to assure safe and healthful

working conditions throughout the State.

¢ You have the right to notify your employer or VOSHA about work-
place hazards. You may ask VOSHA to keep your name confidential.

You have the right to request a VOSHA inspection if you believe that
there are unsafe and unhealthful conditions in your workplace.

You or your representative may participate in the inspection.

You can file a complaint with VOSHA within 30 days of discrimina-
tion by your employer for making safety and health complaints or
for exercising your rights under the Vermont Occupational Safety
and Health Act.

You have a right to see VOSHA citations issued to your employer.
Your employer must post the citations at or near the place of the
alleged violation.

Your employer must correct workplace hazards by the date indicat-
ed on the citation and must certify that these hazards have been
reduced or eliminated.

You have the right to copies of your medical records or records of
your exposure to toxic and harmful substances or conditions.

Your employer must post this notice in your workplace.

The Statute provides that employees may not be discharged or dis-
criminated against in any way for filing safety or health complaint-
sor otherwise exercising their rights under the Code.

The Statute also provides that employees who are discriminated
against may bring a private action in Superior Court for appropriate
relief Including reinstatement, triple wages, damages, costs and
reasonable attorney’s fees.

The Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act),

P.L. 91-596, assures safe and healthful working conditions for
working men and women throughout the Nation. To obtain more
information on OSHA federal programs, call 1-800-321-OSHA or
visit OSHA’s website at www.osha.gov.

The Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Administration
(VOSHA), in the Vermont Department of Labor, has the primary
responsibility for administering the OSH Act in Vermont. To file a
complaint, report an emergency, or seek VOSHA advice or assis-
tance call 1-800-287-2765.

Under a plan approved October 1, 1973, by the U.S. Depart-
ment of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration
(OSHA), the State of Vermont is providing job safety and health
protection for workers throughout the State. OSHA will monitor
the operation of this plan to assure that continued approval is
merited. Any person may make a complaint regarding Vermont’s
administration of this plan directly to the Occupational Safety
and Health Administration, John F. Kennedy Federal Building,
Room E-340, Boston, MA, 02203, Telephone (617) 565-9860.

ASSISTANCE AND INFORMATION:

The plan provides that employers and employees may request free
voluntary compliance consultative or training assistance, which is
provided by non-enforcement Project WorkSAFE personnel.

1-800-287-2765
www.labor.vermont.gov

IT'S THE LAW!

Further information, including copies
of the Code and of specific safety and
health standards, may be obtained by
contacting:

Project WorkSAFE

Department of Labor

5 Green Mountain Drive

P. 0. Box 488

Montpelier, Vermont 05601-0488
Telephone (888) SAFE-YES
Toll-free at 1-888-723-3937.
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