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Job Safety and Health

IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

= A safe workplace.

= Raise a safety or health concern with
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being
retaliated against.

= Receive information and training on
job hazards, including all hazardous
substances in your workplace.

= Request a confidential OSHA inspection
of your workplace if you believe there are
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have
the right to have a representative contact
OSHA on your behalf.

= Participate (or have your representative
participate) in an OSHA inspection and
speak In private to the inspector.

= File a complaint with OSHA within
30 days (by phone, online or by mail)
if you have been retaliated against for
using your rights.

= See any OSHA citations issued to
your employer.

= Request copies of your medical
records, tests that measure hazards
in the workplace, and the workplace
injury and iliness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact 0SHA. We can help.

Employers must:

Provide employees a workplace free from
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate
against an employee for using any of their
rights under the law, including raising a
health and safety concern with you or
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related
injury or illness.

Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.

Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of
any work-related inpatient hospitalization,
amputation, or loss of an eye.

Provide required training to all workers
in a language and vocabulary they can
understand.

Prominently display this poster in the
workplace.

Post OSHA citations at or near the
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are
available to small and medium-sized
employers, without citation or penalty,
through OSHA-supported consultation

programs in every state.

1-800-321-OSHA (6742) - TTY 1-877-889-5627 « www.osha.gov




Form VWC1

WORKERS'
COMPENSATION NOTICE

The employees of this business are covered by the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act. In case of injury by accident or
notice of an occupational disease:

THE EMPLOYEE SHOULD:

1. Immediately give notice to the employer, in writing, of the injury or occupational disease and the date of
accident or notice of the occupational disease.

2. Promptly give to the employer and to the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission notice of any
claim for compensation for the period of disability beyond the seventh day after the accident. In case of fatal
injuries, notice must be given by one or more dependents of the deceased or by a person in their behalf.

3. In case of failure to reach an agreement with the employer in regard to compensation under the act, file
application with the Commission for a hearing within two years of the date of accidental injury or first
communication of the diagnosis of an occupational disease.

4. If medical treatment is anticipated for more than two years from the date of the accident and no award has
been entered, the employee should file a claim with the Commission within two years from the date of the

accident.

NOTE: The employer's report of accident is not the filing of a claim for the employee.

THE EMPLOYER SHOULD:

1. At the time of the accident, give the employee the names of at least three physicians from which the
employee may select the treating physician.

2. Report the injury to the Commission through your carrier or directly to the Commission.

3. Accurately determine the employee's average weekly wage, including overtime, meals, uniforms, etc.
Questions may be answered by contacting the Commission. A booklet explaining the Workers' Compensation Act is
available without cost from:

THE VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION
333 E. Franklin St
Richmond, Virginia 23219
1-877-664-2566

www.workcomp.virginia.gov

Every employer within the operation of the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act MUST POST THIS NOTICE IN A
CONSPICUOUS PLACE in his place of business.
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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Health Protection

THE VIRGINIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH (VOSH) LAW, BY AUTHORITY OF TITLE 40.1 OF THE LABOR LAWS OF
VIRGINIA, PROVIDES JOB SAFETY AND HEALTH PROTECTION FOR WORKERS. THE PURPOSE OF THE LAW IS TO ASSURE
SAFE AND HEALTHFUL WORKING CONDITIONS THROUGHOUT THE STATE. THE VIRGINIA SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES
BOARD PROMULGATES AND ADOPTS JOB SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS, AND EMPLOYERS AND EMPLOYEES ARE
REQUIRED TO COMPLY WITH THESE STANDARDS. THESE STANDARDS MAY BE FOUND AT THE FOLLOWING WEB ADDRESS:
http://www.doli.virginia.gov/doli_requlations/doli_requlations.html. YOU MAY ALSO CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND
INDUSTRY OFFICES LISTED BELOW TO RECEIVE PRINTED COPIES OF THE VIRGINIA UNIQUE STANDARDS AND OBTAIN THE
NAMES OF PUBLISHERS OF THE FEDERAL IDENTICAL STANDARDS.

Employers

Each employer shall furnish to each of his employees employment and a
place of employment free from recognized hazards that are causing or are
likely to cause death or serious harm to his employees, and shall comply with
occupational safety and health standards issued under the law.

Employees

Each employee shall comply with all occupational safety and health
standards, rules, regulations and orders issued under the Law that apply to
his own actions and conduct on the job.

Inspection

The Law requires that a representative of the employer and a
representative authorized by the employees be given an opportunity to
accompany the VOSH inspector for the purpose of aiding the inspection.

Where there is no authorized employee representative, the VOSH inspector
must consult with a reasonable number of employees concerning safety and
health conditions in the workplace.

Citation

If upon inspection VOSH believes an employer has violated the Law, a
citation alleging such violations will be issued to the employer. Each citation
will specify a time period within which the alleged violation must be corrected.

The VOSH citation must be prominently displayed at or near the place of
alleged violation for three days or until the violation is corrected, whichever is
later, to warn employees of dangers that may exist there.

Proposed Penalty

The Law provides for mandatory penalties against private sector employers
of up to $14,270 for each serious violation and for optional penalties of up to
$14,270 for each other—than—serious violation. Penalties of up to $14,270
per day may be proposed for failure to correct violations within the proposed
time period. Also, any employer who willfully or repeatedly violates the Law
may be assessed penalties of up to $142,691 for each such violation.

Public Sector employers, all departments, agencies, institutions or other
political subdivisions of the Commonwealth, are subject to the penalty
provisions of 16VAC 25-60-260.

Criminal penalties are also provided for in the Law. Any willful violation
resulting in the death of an employee is punishable, upon conviction, by a fine
of not more than $70,000 or by imprisonment for not more than six months, or
by both. Subsequent conviction of an employer after a first conviction doubles
these maximum penalties.

Complaint

Employees or their representatives have the right to file a complaint with the
nearest VOSH office requesting an inspection if they believe unsafe or

unhealthy conditions exist in their workplace. VOSH will withhold, on request,
names of employees filing complaints. Complaints may be made at the
Department of Labor and Industry addresses shown below.

Discrimination

It is illegal to retaliate against an employee for using any of their right under
the law, including raising a safety or health concern with the employer or
VOSH, or reporting a work-related injury or iliness.

An employee who believes they have been discriminated against for
exercising their rights under the Law, may file a complaint with the
Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry within 60
days of the alleged discrimination.

CASPA

Complaints about State Plan Administration: Any person may complain to
the Regional Administrator of OSHA (address below) concerning the
Administration of the State Safety and Health Program.

State Coverage

The VOSH program shall apply to all public and private sector businesses in
the State except for Federal agencies, businesses under the Atomic Energy
Act, railroad rolling stock and tracks, certain Federal enclaves, and
businesses covered by the Federal Maritime jurisdiction.

Voluntary Activity

Voluntary efforts by the employer to assure its workplace is in compliance
with the Law are encouraged. Voluntary Safety and Health Consultation
and Training Programs exist to assist employers. These services may be
obtained by contacting the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry
addresses

Recordkeeping

Employers now have a new system for tracking workplace injuries and
illnesses. OSHA’s new recordkeeping log (Form 300) is simpler to understand
and use. Using a question and answer format, the revised recordkeeping rule
provides guidance for recording occupational injuries and illnesses and
explains how to classify specific cases. Smaller employers (10 or fewer
employees) are exempt from most requirements. To see if your industry is
partially exempt, visit the OSHA Website at www.osha.gov/recordkeeping/
pub3169text.html.

Accident Reporting

All fatalities must be reported to VOSH within eight (8) hours. All injuries or
illnesses that result in an in-patient hospitalization, amputation or loss of an
eye must be reported to VOSH within twenty-four (24) hours. Failure to report
may result in significant monetary penalties.

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Main Street Centre

600 East Main Street, Suite 207
Richmond, Virginia 23219
VOICE (804) 371-2327

FAX (804) 371-6524

Headquarters

Main Street Centre

600 East Main Street, Suite 207
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 371-2327

Central Virginia/Richmond
North Run Business Park
1570 East Parham Road
Richmond, VA 23228
(804) 371-3104

www.doli.virginia.gov

U.S. Department of Labor OSHA
Regional Administrator The Curtis
Center, STE 740 West 170 South
Independence Mall West
Philadelphia, PA 19106-3309
(215) 861-4900

Northern Virginia/Manassas
9400 Innovation Drive, Suite 120,
Manassas, VA 20110.

(703) 392-0900

Tidewater/Norfolk
6363 Center Drive
Building 6, Suite 101 Suite B
Norfolk, VA 23502
(757) 455-0891

Southwest/Roanoke
Brammer Village

3013 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, VA 24019
(540) 562-3580

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH OFFICE LOCATIONS

Abingdon -

The Johnson Center gr

468 East Main Street, 3&4‘ ;
Suite 114, B i
Abingdon, VA 24210 T

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

(276) 676-5465

Lynchburg

3704 Old Forest Road Gary G. Pan

Commissioner
Lynchburg, VA 24501

(434) 385-0806

Verona

P.O. Box 772

201 Lee Highway
Verona, VA 24482
(540) 248-9280

VIRGINIA SAFETY AND HEALTH
CODES BOARD

EMPLOYERS: THIS POSTER MUST BE DISPLAYED IN A PROMINENT PLACE IN THE ESTABLISHMENT TO WHICH YOUR EMPLOYEES NORMALLY REPORT TO WORK.
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