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Job Safety and Health

IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

= A safe workplace.

= Raise a safety or health concern with
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being
retaliated against.

= Receive information and training on
job hazards, including all hazardous
substances in your workplace.

= Request a confidential OSHA inspection
of your workplace if you believe there are
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have
the right to have a representative contact
OSHA on your behalf.

= Participate (or have your representative
participate) in an OSHA inspection and
speak In private to the inspector.

= File a complaint with OSHA within
30 days (by phone, online or by mail)
if you have been retaliated against for
using your rights.

= See any OSHA citations issued to
your employer.

= Request copies of your medical
records, tests that measure hazards
in the workplace, and the workplace
injury and iliness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact 0SHA. We can help.

Employers must:

Provide employees a workplace free from
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate
against an employee for using any of their
rights under the law, including raising a
health and safety concern with you or
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related
injury or illness.

Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.

Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of
any work-related inpatient hospitalization,
amputation, or loss of an eye.

Provide required training to all workers
in a language and vocabulary they can
understand.

Prominently display this poster in the
workplace.

Post OSHA citations at or near the
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are
available to small and medium-sized
employers, without citation or penalty,
through OSHA-supported consultation

programs in every state.

1-800-321-OSHA (6742) - TTY 1-877-889-5627 « www.osha.gov




State of New Mexico Workers’ Compensation Administration

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT

If You Are Injured At Work
Si Se Lastima En El Trabajo

1) Notice -- In most cases you must
tell your employer about the accident
within 15 days, using the Notice of
Accident Form.

2) You have the right to information and
assistance from an information specialist
known as an Ombudsman at the

Workers’ Compensation Administration.

3) Claims information -- Contact
your employer’s Claims Representative
(see box below).

1) Aviso. -- En la mayoria de los casos
usted debe de avisarle a su empleador del
accidente dentro de los primeros 15 dias
usando las formas de Aviso de Accidente.

2) Usted tiene el derecho a informacion y
ayuda contactandose con un especialista
en informacion conocido como
“Ombudsman” en la Administracion
para la Compensacion a los Trabajadores.

3) Informacion acerca de Reclamaciones. --
Contactese con el representante de
reclamaciones de su compaiiia.

Employer’s Insurer / Claims Representative:

Name:

Zurich Claims Services

800-987-3373

Phone #:

PO Box 49547

Address:

Colorado Springs, CO 80949-9537

Note: Employer must fill in insurer / claims representative information.

YOUR RIGHTS

If you are injured in a work-related accident:

Your employer / insurer must pay all
reasonable and necessary medical costs.

You may or may not have the right to choose your
health care provider. If your employer / insurer has
not given you written instructions about who chooses
first, call an ombudsman. In an emergency, get
emergency medical care first.

If you are off work for more than seven days, your
employer / insurer must pay wage benefits to partially
offset your lost wages.

If you suffer “permanent impairment,” you may have
the right to receive partial wage benefits for a longer
period of time.

Ombudsmen are located at the following offices:
Albuquerque: Farmington: Hobbs:
1-866-967-5667 1-800-568-7310 1-800-934-2450
1-505-841-6000 1-505-599-9746 1-575-397-3425

Las Cruces:
1-800-870-6826
1-575-524-6246

SUS DERECHOS

Si se lastima en el trabajo:

Su empleador / asegurador debe de pagar por los gastos
médicos necesarios y razonables.

Es posible que usted tenga, o no tenga, el derecho de
escoger el proveedor de servicios para la salud. Si su
empleador / asegurador no le ha dado instrucciones por
escrito de quien es ¢l que selecciona primero, preguntele
o llame a un ombudsman. En una emergencia,

obtenga asistencia médica de emergencia primero.

Si usted esta fuera del trabajo por mas de siete dias,
su empleador / asegurador debe de hacerle un pago
compensatorio de prestaciones para compensar
parcialmente la pérdida de su salario.

Si usted sufre “dafio permanente,” usted puede tener
el derecho a recibir prestaciones parciales de salario
por un periodo de tiempo mas largo.

Roswell: Santa Fe:
1-866-311-8587 1-505-476-7381
1-575-623-3997

Las Vegas:
1-800-281-7889
1-505-454-9251

If You Need HELP Call:

Ask for an Ombudsman

Si Usted Necesita Ayuda Llame Al:

Pregunte por un Ombudsman

1-866-WORKOM P (1-866-967-5667)

Visit our website at: https://workerscomp.nm.gov

For FREE copies of this poster and Notice of Accident Forms call: 1-866-967-5667
USE A NOTICE OF ACCIDENT FORM TO REPORT YOUR ACCIDENT TO YOUR SUPERVISOR

EMPLOYER: You are required by law to display this poster where your employees can read it. Post the
Notice of Accident forms with it. The poster without the Notice of Accident forms does not comply with law.
You have other rights and duties under the law.

Rev. 11/18

POST FORMS HERE

New Mexico Workers’ Compensation Administration
2410 Centre Avenue, Albuquerque, New Mexico 87106
PO Box 27198, Albuquerque, New Mexico 87125-7198
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Ste. 3
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R022607 MMP

Employees:

e You have the right to notify your employer or OSHA about workplace hazards. You may ask OSHA
to keep your name confidential.

¢ You have the right to request a New Mexico OSHA inspection if you believe that there are unsafe or
unhealthful conditions in your workplace. You or your representative may participate in the
inspection.

¢ You can file a complaint with New Mexico OSHA within 30 days of discrimination by your employer
for making safety and health complaints or for exercising your rights under the New Mexico
Occupational Health and Safety Act.

e You have a right to see OSHA citations issued to your employer. Your employer must post the
citations at or near the place of the alleged violation.

¢ Your employer must correct workplace hazards by the date indicated on the citation and must certify
that these hazards have been reduced or eliminated.

¢ You have the right to copies of your medical records or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful
substances or conditions.

e Your employer must post this notice in your workplace.

¢ You must comply with all OSHA standards issued under the OSH Act that apply to your own actions
and conduct on the job.

Employers:
o Employers must furnish your employees a place of employment free from recognized hazards.
e Employers must comply with the OSHA standards issued under the OSHA Act.

The Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act). P.L. 91-956, assures safe and healthful
working conditions for working men and women throughout the Nation. The Occupational Safety and
Health Administration, in the U.S. Department of Labor, has the primary responsibility for
administering the OSHA Act. The rights listed here may vary depending on the particular
circumstances. To file a complaint, report an emergency, or seek free OSHA advice and assistance, call
1-877-610-6742 or (505) 476-8700 or email at Complaints. OSHA @state.nm.us. Our fax number
is (505) 476-8734. For information or assistance relative to the State Occupational Health & Safety
program, please refer to address to the left side of poster.

The Federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration monitors the operation of the state program to assure its
continued effectiveness. Anyone wishing to register a complaint concerning the administration of the New Mexico
Occupational Health and Safety Program may do so by contacting U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety
and Health Administration, 525 Griffin Street, Room 602, Dallas, Texas 75202 at (972) 850-4145.

Empleados:

e Usted tiene el derecho de notificar a sun empleador o a la OSHA sobre peligros en el lugar de trabajo.
Usted también puede pedir que la OSHA no revele su nomber.

o Usted tiene el derecho de pedir a la OSHA de Nuevo Mexico que realize una inspeccion si usted piensa
que en su trabajo existen condiciones peligrosas o poco saludables. Usted o su representante pueden
participar en esa inspeccion.

o Usted tiene 30 dias para presentar una queja ante la OSHA de Nuevo Mexicé si su empleador llaga a
tomar represalias o discriminar en su contra por haber denunciado la condiciéon de seguridad o salud
o por ejercer los derechos consagrados bajo la Ley OSH de Nuevo Mexicé.

e Usted tiene el derecho de ver las citaciones enviadas por la OSHA a su empleador. Su empleador debe
colocar las citaciones en el lugar donde se encontraron las supuestas infracciones o cerca de mismo.

e Su empleador debe corregir los peligros en el lugar de trabajo para la fecha indicada en la citacion y
debe certificar que dichos peligros se hayan reducido o desaparecido.

o Usted tiene derecho de recibir copias de su historial o registro médico y el registro de su exposicion a
sustancias o condiciones toxicas o daiinas.

o Su empleador debe colocar este aviso en su lugar de trabajo.

e Usted debe cumplir con todas la normas de seguridad y salud ocupacionales expedidas conforme a la
Ley OSH que sean aplicables a sus propias acciones y conducta en el trabajo.

Empleadores:
e Usted debe proporcionar a sus empleados un lugar de empleo libre de peligros conocidos.

e Usted debe cumplir con las normas de seguridad y salud ocupacionales expedidas conforme a la Ley
OSH.

La Ley de Seguridad y Salud Ocupacionales de 1970 (1a Ley), P.L. 91-596, garantiza condiciones
ocupacionales seguras y saludables para los hombres y las mujeres que desempeiien algin trabajo en
todo el Estado de Nuevo México. La Administracion de Seguridad y Salud Ocupacionales (OSHA), es la
responsable principal de supervisar la Ley. Los derechos que se indican en este documento pueden
variar segun las circunstancias particulares. Para presentar un reclamo, informar sobre una
emergencia o pedir consejos y asistencia gratis de la OSHA, llame 1-877-610-6742 or (505) 476-8700
o email Complaints.OSHA @state.nm.us. Niumero de facsimil - (505) 476-8734.

La Administracion de Salud y Seguridad Ocupacional Federal supervisa la operacion del programa estatal para
asegurar su eficacia continuada. Alguien deseando registrar una queja acerca de la administracion de OSHA por
parte del Estado, puede hacer asi por ponerse en contacto New Mexico Environment Department, Occupational
Safety and Health Administration, 525 Griffin Street, Room 602, Dallas, Texas 75202, numero de telefono
(972) 850-4145.






