
Oregon Commission for the Blind Public Record Requests 
Frequently Asked Questions 

What is a public record? 
Public record is defined in Oregon law as any writing that contains information relating to the conduct 
of the public's business...prepared, owned, used or retained by a public body regardless of physical 
form or characteristics. ORS 192.410(4)(a)  “Writing" means handwriting, typewriting, printing, 
photographing and every means of recording, including letters, words, pictures, sounds, or symbols, 
or combination thereof, and all papers, maps, files, facsimiles or electronic recordings. ORS 
192.410(6) 

How long does it take to receive records? 
The Oregon Commission for the Blind's standard is 10 business days to communicate with you and 
either supply the requested records, give you an estimate of the time and cost to produce the 
records, or let you know OCB cannot fill the request and the reason. The time required to produce all 
responsive records may be longer than 10 business days. 

How much will it cost to acquire the records I seek? 
Labor 

There is no charge for the first 30 minutes of staff time. After that, charges are assessed for staff 
time that includes researching, locating, compiling, editing or otherwise processing information and 
records. Fees for staff time: 

• $25.00 per hour for clerical level staff
• $40 per hour for managerial level staff
• $75 per hour for professional level staff

DOJ or other applicable legal fees are charged at the actual hourly rate set by statute ORS 
192.440(4)(b). 

Photocopies 
Based on current state printing and distribution price list. 

CD or other media storage device 
Actual cost according to statewide price agreement with provider of office supplies. Due to the threat 
of computer viruses, the department does not permit requestors to provide their own disks or other 
media storage devices. 

Electronic transmission 
There is no charge to send you documents by email or another electronic transfer method. 

Delivery 
The actual cost for delivery of records such as postage or courier fees. 

Certification 
$5.00 for each true copy certification. (Each document, not each page.) 

Direct further questions to: 
 OCB.PublicRecordsRequests@ocb.oregon.gov 
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