Preferred Worker Program: Oregon’s Best Kept Secret

Presenters: Christy Johnson, Re-employment Specialist
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Objective

Encourage safe and suitable
employment for Oregon workers whose
on-the-job injury has resulted in work
restrictions by offering assistance to
eligible workers and the businesses that
employ them.




Funding

@
A\ .
a The Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) ‘ ®
-
“ OAR 436-105-0006 - ®
A payroll assessment calculated on the basis
of hours worked by all paid workers, owners,
Worker and officers covered by workers’ Employer
1.0¢ / hour worked 1.0¢ / hour worked

compensation insurance in Oregon, and by all
workers subject to Oregon’s workers’
compensation laws.
2.0¢ / hour worked into the WBF

https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/Pages/wbf-program.aspx



https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/Pages/wbf-program.aspx

W B F F d d ORS 656.210 ORS 656.628
u n e Supplemental Workers with

disability Disabilities

Expe 1 d itu res payments Program

ORS 656.622
Re-
employment
Assistance
Program

ORS 656.625
Reopened
Claims
Program

ORS 656.054
ORS 656.506 & 656.735
Retroactive Noncomplying
Program employer
payments

BOLI expenses for activities
related to alleged injured
worker discrimination

Expenses of the Oregon Payments due to workers who
Institute of Occupational have not received payment
Health Sciences of OHSU from an insurer in default

investigation
ORS 656.630 ORS 656.445 ORS 656.605



PWP Eligibility OAR 436-110-0310

A person is designated a preferred
worker because they have
permanent work restrictions due to
an accepted disabling Oregon
workers’ compensation claim that
prevents return to their job at
injury.




PWP Benefits OAR 436-110-0345

Tools and equipment
This benefit provides the tools
and equipment that an
employer requires their
workers to have.
(52,500, $5,000)

Clothing Training
A clothing benefit is available to Funding for training and
ensure that a worker will have certifications is available to
the necessary work clothes. give the worker the skills
($500, $1,000) to get the job done.
(51,000, $2,000)

131‘

All categories can be used as often as necessary until the lifetime maximum is reached!



Other Possible Assistance OAR 436-110-0345

— ==
Moving @ Union dues
(51000)

Occupational

certifications

($500, $1,000) m‘ m
OO oo U

Miscellaneous Transportation
($2,500) ($1,000)

All categories can be used as often as necessary until the lifetime maximum is reached!



Employer Benefits

Premium exemption
OAR 436-110-0325

An employer does not pay workers’
compensation premiums or premium
assessments on a preferred worker for

three years.

Claims cost reimbursement
OAR 436-110-0330

Protects the employer from the costs of
a new claim if the preferred worker has
a new injury during the three year
exemption period.



Wage Subsidy OAR 436-110-0335

$40,000 lifetime maximum
to provide up to 50% of their gross wages
reimbursed for up to 6 months.




Worksite Creation OAR 436-110-0345(2)(i)

If 2 worker is hired into a new
position with an eligible employer,
we can help create the worksite.

($5,000, $10,000)



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
 Grow Business with Worksite Creation


Worksite Modification OAR 436-110-0350

Worksite modification will enable a
worker to perform their job within
their permanent restrictions
caused by a compensable injury or
occupational disease.

(535,000, $50,000)



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Discuss general WSM



For More Information

Christy Johnson
971-304-4778
Christy.L.Johnson@dcbs.oregon.gov

www.OregonPWP.com
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