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OLCC Commissioners Ratify Stipulated Alcohol Violations, Licensing 
Settlements and Takes Action on Rules 

Commission Adjusts Alcohol Purchasing Hours to Accommodate Vulnerable Populations  

 
PORTLAND, OR. – At its regularly monthly meeting on April 16, 2020 the Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
considered the concerns of older adult shoppers and persons with underlying medical conditions, in approving 
a temporary rule allowing OLCC licensed retailers to begin selling beer, wine and cider beginning at 6:00 AM, 
an hour earlier than previously allowed. Some grocery stores have been accommodating Oregonians vulnerable 
to the COVID-19 virus by opening their doors as early as 6:00 AM for these high-risk shoppers.  
 
Many of this segment of shoppers were unaware that sales of alcoholic beverages could start no earlier than 
7:00 AM, and complained to grocers and their elected representatives. The OLCC heard concerns that 
vulnerable populations wanting to purchase beer, wine, and cider were faced with choosing to make multiple 
trips to the store, or shopping when there were more customers present, thus putting these populations at 
higher risk. 
  
Commissioners, also adopted temporary amendments that clarify and align delivery privileges for licensees 

making deliveries of malt beverages wine or cider. These amendments will ease some approval requirements.  

 
“The impact of social distancing impacted these businesses quickly and severely,” said Steve Marks, OLCC 

Executive Director. “While these delivery methods were previously available to licensees, the Commission is 

streamlining delivery options to enable these licensees to continue with but a fraction of the business 

operations that they had prior to the COVID-19 public health crisis.” 

 
Commissioners heard a presentation of oral arguments and rendered decision in the following contested case: 

 
Ashley Groves - Service permitee, Ashley Groves, shall be suspended for 10 days unless a civil penalty in the 

amount of $250 is paid within 10 days of the issuance of the final order for drinking alcoholic beverages while on 

duty at a licensed premise. Further, the Commission adopted staff’s exceptions to remove the second charge of 

allowing a patron to mix, dispense or serve alcoholic beverages for or to themselves for on premise 

consumption.   

 
Commissioners ratified the following violation fines and suspensions based on stipulated settlement: 
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FIDO’S (F-COM) in Tigard, Licensee will install age verification and pay a $330 civil penalty or serve a two-day 

suspension for one violation. 

Licensee is VSR Corporation; Scott Porter, President/Secretary/Stockholder; Vee Porter, 

VP/Treasure/Stockholder. 

LU’S SPORTS BAR AND LOUNGE (F-COM) in Tigard, will serve a 23-day suspension or a $3,795 civil penalty for 

two violations. 

Licensee is Lu’s Buffet, Inc.; Xu Jian Lu, President/Secretary/Treasurer/Director/Stockholder. 

 
WHOLE FOODS MARKET in Tigard will pay a $1,485 civil penalty or serve a nine-day suspension one violation.  

Licensee is Whole Foods Market Pacific NW, Inc. Keith Manbeck, President; Albert Percival, Secretary; Whole 

Foods Market, Inc., Stockholder; Anthony Gallo, President; Heather Stern, Vice President/Secretary; Michael 

Deal, Director; Walnut Sub Properties, LLC, Stockholder; Walnut Sub Enterprises, LLC, Member; Michael Deal, 

Manager; Amazon.com Services, Inc., Member; Michael Deal, President/Secretary/Treasurer; Jeff Van Hove, Vice 

President; Amazon.com, Inc., Stockholder. 

 
WOODBURN MEGA FOODS in Woodburn, will pay a $1,485 civil penalty or serve a nine-day suspension one 

violation.  

Licensee is B & E4, LLC; Bobby Ellis, Managing Member; Julie Ellis, Member. 

 
RINGO’S BAR & GRILL in Beaverton surrendered its license on March 12, 2020, and the Commission accepted 

the surrender. Licensee will accept a Letter of Reprimand for one violation. 

Licensee is Sunshower, Inc.; Joseph Ringo, President/Director/Stockholder; Kathleen Ringo, 

Sec/Director/Stockholder. 

 
Temporary action taken on:  

 
OAR 845-006-0425 - Hours of Sale. The temporary amendments to this rule would allow the sale of alcohol to start 

at 6:00 am; and thus, enable Oregonians who are at a higher risk for severe illness, such as older adults, to be in the 

store at a time when there are fewer customers in the store. These amendments are effective April 17th through 

October 13th, 2020.  

 

OAR 845-005-0424 - Guidelines for Approval of a For-Hire Carrier’s Plan for Delivery of Malt Beverages, Wine or 

Cider. The temporary amendments align permissible delivery hours for carriers with the hours provided to direct 

shipper permit holders and off-premises sales licensees during the COVID-19 pandemic. These amendments are 

effective April 17th through October 13th, 2020. 

 

OAR 845-005-0417 - Qualifications for Direct Shipment and Retail Delivery of Malt Beverages, Wine, or Cider to a 

Resident of Oregon. The temporary amendments eliminate the requirement for licensees, who are able to deliver 

malt beverages, wine and cider to Oregon residents, to obtain prior approval for same-day delivery. 

 

A copy of the Stipulated Settlement Agreements for Alcohol Violation Cases can be found on the OLCC website, 

on the Laws & Rules page under the Final Orders section. 
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