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OLCC joins regional response to retail theft 

Agency maintains stopping “sales to minors” focus 

Bottle Bill Program management transitions 

 
PORTLAND, Ore. – At the regularly scheduled monthly meeting of the Oregon Liquor and 
Cannabis Commission (OLCC) on September 22, 2022, liquor store owners added their 
voices to the chorus of complaints about retail criminal activity going unprosecuted. The 
owners asked if there was action the Commission could take to stem the increase in liquor 
store theft. Commissioners also received updates on minor decoy operations, transitions in 
the Bottle Bill program, appointed a new liquor store owner, approved rules and ratified 
stipulated settlement agreements. 
 
Liquor stores, particularly those in the Portland Metro area, told Commissioners they have 

been beset by blatant strong-arm shoplifters and robbers stealing product, damaging their 
businesses, and intimidating liquor store employees.  
 
In response Jason Hanson, the OLCC’s Compliance Director, reported that the agency has 
joined the Oregon Retailer Crime Association (OR-ORCA). That group is made up of national 
and regional retailers, along with local law enforcement and district attorneys who are 

collaborating on a unified response to the increase in retail crime as well as sharing 
information about organized crime operations. 
 
This past summer the OLCC restarted its minor decoy program, which tests licensees on 
their ability to prevent sales of alcohol and cannabis to minors. As previously reported, the 
results have been abysmal for alcohol licensees, with a compliance rate of 63% for the 
whole state. ”We’re not going to stop these increased operations until these rates improve,” 
said OLCC Executive Director Steve Marks.   
 
Possible steps the OLCC may take to prevent underage sales include: providing licensees 
with increased education about ID checking, more communication with the industry about 
alcohol service oversight, and increasing the penalties for businesses that sell to minors. 
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The Commissioners also took action on three rule packages that included viticulture specific 
wine labeling language, marijuana transfers between state and tribal licensees, and the 
strengthening of the bottle bill redemption network. 
 
Commissioners also recognized the service of OLCC’s first Bottle Bill Program Manager 
Becky Voelkel, who will retire at the end of September after 36 years of service with the 
state of Oregon, including more than 27 years with the OLCC. OLCC Retail Services district 
manager Jim Helget will move over to managing the program after Voelkel’s departure. 
 
Voelkel was instrumental in guiding the program holding retailers accountable while 
ensuring that consumers received their redemption deposits. The Oregon Beverage 
Recycling Cooperative (OBRC) told the Commission that Voelkel was both a “referee” and a 
“shepherd” for the program. 
 
“The bottle bill has gone through enormous change since 2016 through today. We had to go 
from a nickel to a dime, we had container expansion,” said Jules Bailey, OBRC Executive 
Vice-President. “You want someone who’s fair, firm, and fast. She has a fair but firm 

shepherd’s hook. And that’s what it takes to run the best bottle deposit system in the 
nation, somebody like Becky.” 
 
In other action, the Commissioners appointed Paul Pastor to take over as owner of the 
Cannon Beach liquor store, after the recent passing of his father. Dave Pastor was the first 
liquor store owner in partnership with the OLCC to operate a satellite liquor store, which is 
typically open just part of the year during tourist seasons. 
 
The Commissioners also ratified the following stipulated settlement agreements (detailed 
information on specific cases can be found on the OLCC website): 
 

Alcohol Stipulated Settlement Agreements 
 

PARKSTONE WOOD KITCHEN & TAPS (F-COM) in Portland, will pay a $1,485 fine OR 

serve a nine-day license suspension for one violation. 
 
MAIN STREET PIZZA II (L) in Tillamook, will pay a $1,485 fine OR serve a nine-day license 

suspension for one violation. 
 
MID VALLEY MARKET (O) in Odell, will pay a $2,250 fine OR serve a nine-day license 

suspension for one violation. 
 
THE ROCK WOOD FIRED PIZZA & SPIRITS (F-COM) in Hillsboro, will pay a $2,145.00 fine OR 

serve a 13-day license suspension for one violation. 
 
LA PARRANDA NIGHTCLUB (F-COM) in Woodburn, will pay a $2,310.00 fine OR serve a 14-

day license suspension for two violations. 
 

Marijuana Stipulated Settlement Agreements 
 

PANGAEA ORGANICS a marijuana processor, will pay a $4,000 fine AND serve a five-

day suspension OR serve a 21-day license suspension for one violation. 
 
ROOTED COAST CANNABIS a marijuana retailer in Coos Bay, will pay a 9,000 fine OR 
serve a 36-day license suspension for four violations. 
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