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Commission approves changes for cannabis industry 

OLCC’s new rules take effect New Year’s Day 
Rollout of some hemp regulations staggered into 2023 

 

 
PORTLAND, OR. – In a special meeting on December 28, 2021 the Oregon Liquor and 
Cannabis Commission approved significant changes for regulating the legal marijuana 
industry and put in place standards for regulating hemp products sold in Oregon’s general 
marketplace. The changes in the recreational marijuana rules package reflect the cannabis 
industry’s rapid evolution and the blurring of distinctions between hemp and marijuana 
products. 
 
The legal cannabis industry worked with the OLCC during the last 18 months to develop the 
new rules which help streamline regulatory oversight of day-to-day business activities, scale 
back violations, expand consumer choices, and establish safeguards to prevent children 
from accessing hemp products containing THC. The new rules take effect January 1, 2022, 
but the implementation of some of the regulations will extend into 2023. 

 
“These rules try to balance a number of different concerns – consumer health and safety, 
interests of small and large operators in our industry, and public safety concerns around 
loopholes in the Federal Farm Bill of 2018, and the illicit farm production taking place in 
Oregon,” said Steve Marks, OLCC Executive Director. 
 
Two pieces of legislation, House Bill 3000 and Senate Bill 408, approved by the Oregon 
Legislature in 2021 drove several changes. HB 3000 established a framework for limiting 
THC-laden hemp products from being sold unregulated in Oregon. SB 408 provided the 
OLCC with an outline for re-structuring penalties for rule violations made by licensees. 
 
Some of the violation categories dated back to 2016, when Oregon first issued recreational 
marijuana licenses, and when federal intervention was a greater concern. When the new 

rules take effect, Oregon will be better aligned with other adult-use cannabis states, and be 
positioned as a legal export market as the groundwork is laid for federal legalization. 
   
To ensure that hemp products containing large amounts of THC don’t comingle with general 
market products, the Commission approved a rule limiting the general market sale of hemp 
edible products to 2 mg of THC in a single serving, and up to 20 mg THC per container of 
hemp product. That rule is effective July 1, 2022. This approach attempts to establish some 

boundaries in the absence of Federal guidance. 
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Another change requires that non-intoxicating artificially derived cannabinoids go through 
the ordinary regulatory review process required for ingredients in dietary supplements or 
food products. For the OLCC to approve in the future, something like cannabinol (CBN), the 
CBN would need to meet the standard for a New Dietary Ingredient notification, Generally 
Recognized as Safe (GRAS). However OLCC licensees will have an 18 month period of time 
to bring their CBN products into compliance. 
 
“It may not make everybody happy, but it’s a pathway, and I think it solves a lot of the 
issues,” said OLCC Commissioner Matt Maletis. 
 

The rules package reflects an acknowledgement of the legal cannabis industry’s ability to 
follow regulations and the fading threat of Federal government action against the growing 
number of states allowing consumption of medical and adult-use cannabis. The Commission 
approved a large-scale re-categorization of violations, including reducing the types of 
violations that could result in the OLCC canceling a license. This is the third of four steps to 
overhaul the violation and penalty process; in 2022 the OLCC will work on reducing 
penalties for committed violations. 
 
Also, under the new rules, consumers will be able to purchase two ounces of usable 
marijuana – up from one ounce, beginning on January 1st.  Edible concentration limits will 
increase from 50 mg THC to 100 mg per package on and after April 1, 2022, however single 
serving portions (of no more than 10 mg THC) will need to be scored, to make the portion 
sizes obvious. 
 
Home delivery will now be allowed across city and county lines as long as local authorities 
approve of it. This new rule will enable consumers who currently live where delivery doesn’t 
exist to be served by a business in a city or county that already has delivery. Previously, 
delivery was limited only to the city or county where a cannabis retailer is located. The 
OLCC plans to add a new section to its website, so licensees and consumers are aware of 
any changing delivery zones. 

 
Additional rule changes included reducing the time and cost for licensees to report 
marijuana plant tagging and harvests into the state’s Cannabis Tracking System and 
improving licensees’ ability to self-distribute their products. 
 
“We did listen to the public and did make significant changes to these rules and I want to 
reiterate that we have come a very long way,” said Marks. “And this industry established 
success for Oregon. We are creating a successful business market, a successful consumer 
market. This is another big turn of progress.”  
 
In anticipation of the upcoming market changes, OLCC will now begin accepting label 
applications for marijuana edibles that exceed 50 mg THC in the package. Edibles that 
exceed 50 mg THC will not be eligible for sale until April 1, 2022, regardless of 
whether a label has been approved. 

 
A draft of the newly approved rules can be found on the OLCC website. 
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