
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN

HARDSHIP PERMIT APPLICATION 
Mail application and all requirements to:  DMV, 1905 LANA AVE NE, SALEM OR 97314 

- NOT ISSUED FOR COMMERCIAL (CDL) DRIVING PRIVILEGES -  

SECTION 1  ▼     DRIVER INFORMATION     ▼
DRIVER LICENSE / CUSTOMER NUMBER DATE OF BIRTH 

FULL LEGAL NAME (Print: last, first, middle) CONTACT PHONE NUMBER 
(          ) 

RESIDENCE ADDRESS (Address will be used to update your driver record/license) (MUST be an Oregon resident) 

MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT (Address will be used to update your driver record/license)  

SECTION 2 ▼     DRIVING FOR WORK      ▼
NAME OF EMPLOYER, COMPANY, ETC.  

Are you self-employed?   
WORKSITE ADDRESS EMPLOYER PHONE NUMBER 

  (          )
Check work days: Mileage to work (one-way):

Do you drive on the job?  
List counties driven while on the job (Counties must connect):

* If yes, employer letter must verify you are required to drive on the job.YES* NO

YES NO

STK# 300224

List Work Shifts (specify am/pm): 
Do NOT include drive times. DMV will determine and add driving time to your work shifts, depending on mileage listed. Example: If you 
note your work shift is 7am-3:30pm, DMV will list your drive times as 6am-7am and 3:30pm-4:30pm.

No more than 12 hours of driving time allowed per day. You must sign your name at the end of this application.

Must also submit employment verification if you drive on the job (see reverse side).

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN

am
pm

Time meeting starts:Check meeting days:

Name of meeting:

Driving time for treatment is separate from and not included in the 12-hour driving time limit. Use a separate piece of paper if necessary. 
NOTE: Requests for several meetings may be denied due to limited space on the permit. Please note preferred meeting first. 

SECTION 3 ▼     ALCOHOL / DRUG / GAMBLING TREATMENT    ▼

Name of meeting:

Check meeting days: Time meeting starts: am
pm

Name of meeting:

Check meeting days: Time meeting starts:
pm
am

(Continued on Next Page)735-6044 (1-24)

  ▼     APPLICANT SIGNATURE    ▼SECTION 4
By signing this application, I certify that all documentation and information I provide to DMV is true and correct. I understand it is a crime to 
knowingly make a false application for driving privileges. The offense is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by jail time, a fine or 
both. DMV will deny, cancel and/or suspend my permit or driver license if I make a false statement or present false documentation.

X
DATEAPPLICANT SIGNATURE (Full Legal Name)

I must notify DMV in writing if information on this application changes. The permit, once issued, constitutes my consent to abide continuously 
to all conditions, requirements and restrictions while driving.

Hardship permits are subject to the fees, provisions, conditions, prohibitions and penalties applicable to a license, including 
Oregon residency and no suspensions in any other state. You may use a separate paper to submit any required or 
additional information.

Do you drive employer’s vehicle(s)?    YES NO

Do you need to be issued a  
replacement driver license?   YES NO

CITY STATE ZIP

CITY STATE ZIP

CITY STATE ZIP

am
pm

Time meeting ends:

Time meeting ends:
pm
am

pm
am Time meeting ends:

Address of meeting: City:

City:Address of meeting:

Address of meeting: City:



DRIVING FOR GROCERIES:

The Driver Sanctions Unit will review your application and notify you of any additional requirements you must complete before a permit 
can be issued. If you have additional requirements and you do not comply with all requirements within 60 days, your application will be 
denied and you will need to re-apply for the permit, which includes submitting all new documents and a $75 application fee. 
Once your application is approved and all requirements are met, DMV will mail you a hardship permit or letter instructing you to go to a 
field office to have the hardship permit and driver license issued. Your driving privileges are not valid until you have obtained both the 
hardship permit and a valid driver license.
Read your hardship permit carefully and only drive within the restrictions listed. You must also maintain any conditions required for your 
permit such as the SR-22 Insurance Certificate and Ignition Interlock Device throughout the length of the permit. 

Please keep a copy of your application and any documents you submit to DMV.
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ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
Ignition Interlock Device (IID): If you are required to have an IID as a condition of a DUII Diversion Agreement or due to a 
conviction for DUII, you need to submit an installation report verifying you have installed an IID in the vehicle(s) you operate. For a 
list of IID vendors, go to https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/Pages/Ignition-Interlock-Device-Program.aspx
Medical appointments: If you are applying to drive yourself or an immediate family member to and from medical treatment 
required on a regular ongoing basis, you need to submit a letter from the physician verifying the need for regular medical 
treatment. Along with a physician letter, submit the following information:

WHAT’S NEXT?

▼      REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL HARDSHIP PERMITS      ▼

Fees 
Application (completed and signed) 

Application Fee…………..…… $ 75  (Non-refundable ORS 807.240(6)) 
Reinstatement Fee………..….. $ 85 

              TOTAL    $160  (Check or money order) 

SR-22 Insurance Certificate – Have an automobile insurance company file an Oregon SR-22 certificate with DMV. 

on company letterhead; signed and dated; that states job duties that include driving, and provides information regarding what 
times and in which counties you must drive to perform those duties.

List the days, times, and Oregon counties you will be driving in to seek employment. 
Hours must be between 8am and 5pm.

If self-employed, submit a copy of your current business license (must show your name and business name); a copy of your 
signed tax statement for the preceding year; or two other documents such as a current customer signed business receipt, 
advertisements, signed contracts, signed and dated letters from customers, etc. 

Employment Verification – If employed, and you need to drive on the job, submit a letter from your employer verifying employment: 
Must be the original SR-22 (no copies or faxes). DMV will not issue the permit until the SR-22 becomes effective. 

Seek Employment – (valid 120 days) Check this box if you are unemployed and need the permit to seek employment. 

•

•

735-6044 (1-24)

FAMILY MEMBER NAME (Please Print) RELATIONSHIPFAMILY MEMBER ADDRESS

PHYSICIAN ADDRESS PHYSICIAN TELEPHONE #PHYSICIAN NAME (Please Print)

▼ ▼

▼ ▼

Name of school:

Necessary services allow you to drive to and from grocery shopping, drive you or your children to and from school or childcare, drive to 
and from medical appointments and drive to care for elderly family members. With the exception of elderly care, any family member you 
drive for necessary services must live in the same household. These drive times count toward your 12-hour driving limit.

▼     NECESSARY SERVICES    ▼

Time (select one):
8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

1:00 p.m.– 5:00 p.m.8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Time (select one):

am
pm

Start time:

Check medical appointment days (select two days):

Name of medical office:

Check grocery shopping day (select one day):

Name of grocery store:

DRIVING FOR SCHOOL:

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
Check school days (all that apply):

Name of elderly family member:

Check elderly care days (all that apply):

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN

If a hardship permit is issued for a length shorter than the length of suspension, a renewal fee will be charged in order to renew 
the hardship permit. Renewal Fee……..........…..….. $ 54 

or

or

DRIVING FOR MEDICAL CARE:

DRIVING FOR ELDERLY CARE:

End time:am
pm

MON     TUE      WED     THU      FRI  

Counties:

Address of school: City:

Address of grocery store: City:

Address of medical office: City:

Address of elderly family member: City:

am
pm

Start time: End time:am
pm

or 5:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m.

Name of childcare center:

am
pm

Start time:

DRIVING FOR CHILDCARE:

MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
Check childcare days (all that apply): End time:am

pm

Address of childcare center: City:

am
pm

Start time: End time:am
pm

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/Pages/Ignition-Interlock-Device-Program.aspx

735-6044
ODOT/DMV
Hardship Permit Application - Not Issued for CDL Driving Privileges -
11.0.0.20130303.1.892433
Oregon DMV Logo; OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION DRIVER AND MOTOR VEHICLE SERVICES; 1905 LANA AVE NE, SALEM OREGON 97314
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
HARDSHIP PERMIT APPLICATION 
Mail application and all requirements to:  DMV, 1905 LANA AVE NE, SALEM OR 97314 
- NOT ISSUED FOR COMMERCIAL (CDL) DRIVING PRIVILEGES -  
SECTION 1
 ▼     DRIVER INFORMATION     ▼
DRIVER LICENSE / CUSTOMER NUMBER
DATE OF BIRTH 
FULL LEGAL NAME (Print: last, first, middle) 
CONTACT PHONE NUMBER 
(          ) 
RESIDENCE ADDRESS (Address will be used to update your driver record/license) (MUST be an Oregon resident) 
MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT (Address will be used to update your driver record/license)  
SECTION 2 
▼     DRIVING FOR WORK      ▼
NAME OF EMPLOYER, COMPANY, ETC.  
Are you self-employed?   
WORKSITE ADDRESS
EMPLOYER PHONE NUMBER 
  (          )
Check work days: 
Mileage to work (one-way):
Do you drive on the job?  
List counties driven while on the job (Counties must connect):
*
If yes, employer letter must verify you are required to drive on the job.
YES*
NO
YES
NO
STK# 300224
List Work Shifts (specify am/pm): 
Do NOT include drive times. DMV will determine and add driving time to your work shifts, depending on mileage listed. Example: If you note your work shift is 7am-3:30pm, DMV will list your drive times as 6am-7am and 3:30pm-4:30pm.
No more than 12 hours of driving time allowed per day. You must sign your name at the end of this application.
Must also submit employment verification if you drive on the job (see reverse side).
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
am
pm
Time meeting starts:
Check meeting days:
Name of meeting:
Driving time for treatment is separate from and not included in the 12-hour driving time limit. Use a separate piece of paper if necessary. NOTE: Requests for several meetings may be denied due to limited space on the permit. Please note preferred meeting first. 
SECTION 3
▼     ALCOHOL / DRUG / GAMBLING TREATMENT    ▼
Name of meeting:
Check meeting days:
Time meeting starts:
am
pm
Name of meeting:
Check meeting days:
Time meeting starts:
pm
am
(Continued on Next Page)
735-6044 (1-24)
  ▼     APPLICANT SIGNATURE    ▼
SECTION 4
By signing this application, I certify that all documentation and information I provide to DMV is true and correct. I understand it is a crime to knowingly make a false application for driving privileges. The offense is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by jail time, a fine or both. DMV will deny, cancel and/or suspend my permit or driver license if I make a false statement or present false documentation.
X
DATE
APPLICANT SIGNATURE (Full Legal Name)
I must notify DMV in writing if information on this application changes. The permit, once issued, constitutes my consent to abide continuously to all conditions, requirements and restrictions while driving.
Hardship permits are subject to the fees, provisions, conditions, prohibitions and penalties applicable to a license, including Oregon residency and no suspensions in any other state. You may use a separate paper to submit any required or additional information.
Do you drive employer’s vehicle(s)?    
YES
NO
Do you need to be issued a 
replacement driver license?   
YES
NO
CITY
STATE
ZIP
CITY
STATE
ZIP
CITY
STATE
ZIP
am
pm
Time meeting ends:
Time meeting ends:
pm
am
pm
am
Time meeting ends:
Address of meeting:
City:
City:
Address of meeting:
Address of meeting:
City:
DRIVING FOR GROCERIES:
The Driver Sanctions Unit will review your application and notify you of any additional requirements you must complete before a permit can be issued. If you have additional requirements and you do not comply with all requirements within 60 days, your application will be denied and you will need to re-apply for the permit, which includes submitting all new documents and a $75 application fee. 
Once your application is approved and all requirements are met, DMV will mail you a hardship permit or letter instructing you to go to a field office to have the hardship permit and driver license issued. Your driving privileges are not valid until you have obtained both the hardship permit and a valid driver license.
Read your hardship permit carefully and only drive within the restrictions listed. You must also maintain any conditions required for your permit such as the SR-22 Insurance Certificate and Ignition Interlock Device throughout the length of the permit. 
Please keep a copy of your application and any documents you submit to DMV.
Page 2
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
Ignition Interlock Device (IID): If you are required to have an IID as a condition of a DUII Diversion Agreement or due to a conviction for DUII, you need to submit an installation report verifying you have installed an IID in the vehicle(s) you operate. For a list of IID vendors, go to https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/Pages/Ignition-Interlock-Device-Program.aspx
Medical appointments: If you are applying to drive yourself or an immediate family member to and from medical treatment required on a regular ongoing basis, you need to submit a letter from the physician verifying the need for regular medical treatment. Along with a physician letter, submit the following information:
WHAT’S NEXT?
▼      REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL HARDSHIP PERMITS      ▼
Fees 
Application (completed and signed) 
Application Fee…………..…… $ 75  (Non-refundable ORS 807.240(6)) 
Reinstatement Fee………..….. $ 85 
              TOTAL    $160  (Check or money order) 
SR-22 Insurance Certificate – Have an automobile insurance company file an Oregon SR-22 certificate with DMV. 
on company letterhead; signed and dated; that states job duties that include driving, and provides information regarding what times and in which counties you must drive to perform those duties.
List the days, times, and Oregon counties you will be driving in to seek employment.Hours must be between 8am and 5pm.
If self-employed, submit a copy of your current business license (must show your name and business name); a copy of your signed tax statement for the preceding year; or two other documents such as a current customer signed business receipt, advertisements, signed contracts, signed and dated letters from customers, etc. 
Employment Verification – If employed, and you need to drive on the job, submit a letter from your employer verifying employment: 
Must be the original SR-22 (no copies or faxes). DMV will not issue the permit until the SR-22 becomes effective. 
Seek Employment – (valid 120 days) Check this box if you are unemployed and need the permit to seek employment. 
•
•
735-6044 (1-24)
FAMILY MEMBER NAME (Please Print)
RELATIONSHIP
FAMILY MEMBER ADDRESS
PHYSICIAN ADDRESS
PHYSICIAN TELEPHONE #
PHYSICIAN NAME (Please Print)
▼
▼
▼
▼
Name of school:
Necessary services allow you to drive to and from grocery shopping, drive you or your children to and from school or childcare, drive to and from medical appointments and drive to care for elderly family members. With the exception of elderly care, any family member you drive for necessary services must live in the same household. These drive times count toward your 12-hour driving limit.
▼     NECESSARY SERVICES    ▼
Time (select one):
8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
1:00 p.m.– 5:00 p.m.
8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Time (select one):
am
pm
Start time:
Check medical appointment days (select two days):
Name of medical office:
Check grocery shopping day (select one day):
Name of grocery store:
DRIVING FOR SCHOOL:
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
Check school days (all that apply):
Name of elderly family member:
Check elderly care days (all that apply):
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
If a hardship permit is issued for a length shorter than the length of suspension, a renewal fee will be charged in order to renew the hardship permit.
Renewal Fee……..........…..….. $ 54 
or
or
DRIVING FOR MEDICAL CARE:
DRIVING FOR ELDERLY CARE:
End time:
am
pm
MON     TUE      WED     THU      FRI  
Counties:
Address of school:
City:
Address of grocery store:
City:
Address of medical office:
City:
Address of elderly family member:
City:
am
pm
Start time:
End time:
am
pm
or
5:00 p.m.– 9:00 p.m.
Name of childcare center:
am
pm
Start time:
DRIVING FOR CHILDCARE:
MON       TUE      WED      THU      FRI       SAT      SUN
Check childcare days (all that apply):
End time:
am
pm
Address of childcare center:
City:
am
pm
Start time:
End time:
am
pm
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