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Frequently Asked BLPCT Applicant Questions 
1. Q: Does my education qualify?

A: The Board does not review transcripts or courses in advance of an application. You can review 
the Board’s education requirements here.  

2. Q: How do I apply?
A: Apply online through the Applicant Portal. 

3. Q: Where can I get fingerprinted?
A: Please see the Board’s fingerprinting instructions. Fingerprinting must be completed by the 
applicant no more than 90 days prior to submitting an application. 

4. Q: Can the Board accept documentation from the applicant?
A: The Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists conducts primary 
source verification of applicants' education, examination, training, and other jurisdictional 
licenses, registrations, or certifications (if applicable). Acceptable sources include documents sent 
directly from the educational institution, supervisor, approved examining organization, or other 
state licensing/credentialing authority. It is the applicants' responsibility to arrange for their 
documents to be sent to the board. 

5. Q: What is my application status?
A: Please log into the Applicant Portal.to ensure that all documents and forms are received. If you 
are unsure about which forms to submit, please review the document connection in your portal. 
For documents marked as “Not Received,” please reach out to the respective person or agency 
responsible for submitting information on your behalf. For documents in need of correction, please 
follow the instructions provided in the comment section. 

6. Q: When can I take the Oregon Law & Rules Exam?
A: You may take the Oregon Law and Rules Examination after your application is 
approved. Please note that the exam will be sent via the board's automated system once the 
application is approved. Associates will receive another link along with their intern 
promotion email.

7. Q: Why do I need to complete the Educational Record Form?
A: Applicants that have graduated from a regionally accredited university must complete this 
form.  

8. Q: Can you verify my out of state license online?
A: No. You must have a license verification submitted directly from the other board you are 
licensed with.  

https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Pages/Education.aspx
https://oblpct.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/oblpct/application/#/login
https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Documents/Fingerprint_Instructions.pdf
https://oblpct.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/oblpct/application/#/login
https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Pages/Forms.aspx
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9. Q: How many hours of post-degree supervised clinical experience does
Oregon require?

A: A minimum of 3 years (36 months) of supervised clinical experience, including at least 
1,900 hours of supervised direct client contact, are required for licensure. Refer to the Experience 
page for full detail. 

10. Q: I’m a reciprocity applicant, does the Board have to verify my post-
degree hours?

A: Yes. The reciprocity method is for applicants who are currently licensed as an LPC or LMFT 
(or comparable license) in another jurisdiction and seek acceptance of education and supervised 
work experience previously completed. Post-degree supervision must be documented on the Post-
Degree Supervised Work Experience (Form 2). 

11. Q: I can’t get ahold of my post-degree supervisors.
A: It is the applicant’s responsibility to document attempts to locate a former supervisor and to 
provide sufficient evidence of those attempts to the Board.  

12. Q: I accrued post-degree supervision hours in Oregon before applying
for licensure, will these be accepted?

A: For hours accrued in Oregon on or after June 30, 2002, to count towards the licensure 
requirements, the person must be in a Board-approved associate registration plan. 

13. Q: Have you received my competency exam?
A: If you initially received authorization from Oregon, your exam scores will automatically be 
sent to the Oregon board. However, if you received authorization in another jurisdiction or took 
the exam in Oregon but didn't receive a prior authorization from us, you will need to take a 
proactive step to ensure your scores are sent to the Oregon board. It takes 6-8 weeks from the date 
an exam was taken for the score to be received and posted to your applicant portal. 

14. Q: How do I receive communication from the board?
A: The board's automated system sends important notices via email. We recommend adding this 
address to your safe or contact list: oblpct@thentiacloud.net. Please note that this email address 
does not receive replies. 

https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Pages/Experience.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Documents/Post-Degree_Experience%208-29-23.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Documents/Post-Degree_Experience%208-29-23.pdf
mailto:oblpct@thentiacloud.net



